Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat

Unconstructed but in no way unfinished. This is a simple unconstructed sport jacket of the finest wool in a black-and-charcoal herringbone, but the finish both inside and out is exceptional for a casual jacket. The tailoring is worthy of Savile Row, but the look is definitely relaxed. Lined sleeves for easy on-and-off. Three-button front. Three interior pockets. Center-back vented hem. Wool sportcoat in charcoal. Pure wool with acetate sleeve lining. Dry clean. Made in USA.Long even sizes: 40-48.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
15 of 25(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Review 1 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NICE,
March 30, 2013
By: bird2dog
from Georgetown, KY
"This jacket fits good and looks great. Quality appears to be upper level, tailored style fit, and true to size. I would order another one if Orvis had more color choices."
Review 2 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
trading-up,
March 12, 2013
By: TJFofBoston
from Boston
"Sorry to say I had to return this item – the size was correct but the lack of a full lining made it look ‘sloppy’ and ‘poorly’ tailored, the shoulders drooped and the fabric appeared to hang. Wonderful fabric though but it does need a lining to keep a ‘clean’ look. I’m switching to Item SI6P86 [Lightweight Highland Tweed Sport Coat] it appears to be a much better coat – fully lined – and a good price."
Review 3 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smart purchase!,
January 29, 2013
By: goodandorderly
from Napa, Ca.
"excellent fit, good customer service choosing the correct size. Looks great on me."
Review 4 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A splendid jacket,
January 17, 2013
By: Edquardo
from Georgia
"This jacket is wonderful.
it's warm and quite soft (for tweed)
I highly recommend it
"
Review 5 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect gift,
January 6, 2013
By: GarWood5800
from Lexington, Mi.
"I purchased the Wicklow Donegal sport coat for my husband as a birthday gift, he is extremely difficult to fit as he has long arms and broad shoulders. He tried it on and it was a perfect fit, we love the fabric and it's style is classic. We couldn't be happier it really is the perfect gift. Many thanks for selling top quality merchandise."
Review 6 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not your ordinary coat,
January 4, 2013
By: Minhang
from Phoenix Az
"Delivery was spot on time! Sometimes you buy something and it looks and feels a little special - like putting on a favorite pair of slippers. I wanted something a bit more dressy than a sweatshirt to wear around the house when its nippy. This less formal sports coat serves my purpose, and with a bit of pinach"
Review 7 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sport Coat,
December 28, 2012
By: StarkRd
from Alexandria, Va.
"Great weight and it fit perfectly (one size large)."
Review 8 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not up to Orvis quality,
December 14, 2012
By: Gjbmd
"Poor quality overall. Sleeves set to high,seams bulky and material flimsy"
Review 9 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite jacket,
December 14, 2012
By: miloutwo
from Athens, Ga
"Ever since the eighties, I've hated padding in the shoulders of sport coats and suits; I've had unlined, unstructured jackets in cotton, but never in wool. When this one was put on sale, I ordered it, going up a size because of all the reviews that said it ran small: error. It was too big, but I liked both the wool and the tailoring. I went down two sizes, exchanging it for a 40R: Bingo. It fits perfectly; I dont feel like a superhero or a football player (because of too much padding); it's warm and I'm happy."
Review 10 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and casual,
October 16, 2012
By: airframe44
from Bay Area
"An unlined, fairly heavyweight wool Irish wool sportcoat in a 'country/rustic' style, suitable for restaurant, party or pub. True to size."
Review 11 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok,
September 7, 2012
By: Hanmiu
"Nice coat however why are there small dots of different colors? Does not go well with the dark grey."
Review 12 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great if it fits,
May 29, 2012
By: atm1
"I regretfully returned this coat because the fit was wacky, as others have noted. It looks great. I am 6'3'' and thin--size 40 was correct around the chest, wide in the shoulders, and short in the arms. Also a bit lighter-weight than expected. Suggest trying but be prepared to return."
Review 13 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Needs Better Description,
January 4, 2012
By: Welshchap
from CA
"The fabric is very good. The colour is darker than what the catalogue shows. It is a three button but I needed to take it to be pressed for it to look like that. It came pressed to two buttons. I wish there had been a weight description. It would also have been useful to say whether this was a generous fit, average fit, or slim fit."
Review 14 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Is As Good As Its Word,
January 3, 2012
By: OldBoy
"I bought the jacket in its flapless, ventless form a year ago, and while I was pleased with its quality and fit I returned it because the interior was tacked together at a single point, and I feared a carelessly inserted arm would tear it apart.
I've received the updated 3-interior-pockets version and believe Orvis has addressed my qualms and those expressed by other reviewers successfully. If you can live with pocket flaps, you won't go wrong."
Review 15 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in Orvis,
October 31, 2011
By: PaulWisconsin
from Wisconsin
"The sport coat that Orvis shipped me had flaps on the pockets, which I did not want. The coat shown in their catalog and online, at that time, did not have pocket flaps. Despite the fact that Orvis shipped me a product different than the one shown in their catalog, they would not refund the shipping costs"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable,
October 27, 2011
By: GregWis
"I agree with other reviewers that you should order a size larger. I did and it fits perfectly. Very casual appearance -- great with jeans. Also rather heavy, but that means it's warm."
Review 17 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First real Orvis disappointment,
October 18, 2011
By: Dylansdad
from Kalamazoo, Michigan
"I have purchased several items over many years from Orivis, this was the first time I was truly disappointed. I found the fabric was a bit heavy and the hand was not as I anticipated. These might still have worked for me, but the tailoring was unacceptable. The top button did not match with the lapels and was dysfunctional. The overall fit was not true to size, rather a size too large or just certainly way too large for me around, while the sleeves seemd a little short. I am a pretty consistent size 44 regular, from any normal sources for many years. This was not the result. It was more like a "stout" size. The item did not match the written description at all in terms of quality and fit. Sad."
Review 18 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Different Kind of Coat,
October 4, 2011
By: Danoindenver
from Denver, CO
"The quality of the fabric is over the top. And the coat is totally unstructured. The way I see it this would be the perfect coat to wear when it is a cold day in the office with blue jeans and boots. There isn't mucyh lining in side. So it is sorta querky? But I like it!"
Review 19 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect fit right out of the box,
January 3, 2011
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I took a cue from previous reviewers-thank you- and ordered one size larger than my usual, and it fit perfect right out of the box. Nice appearance, I am satisfied with this product. One small criticism however, this coat only has one small inside pocket instead of the usual 2 or 3."
Review 20 for Wicklow Donegal Sport Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Short,
December 30, 2010
By: Nicked
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I would echo the other reviewers that this coat was misrepresented. It was much too small for me Plus the quality seemed marginal at best.
I see that my time and money are better spent by visiting a brick and mortar store and trying on the thing before I purchase it. It takes more than glowing adjectives to make a good product"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 9, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize for the coats sizing was not as expected. Our product specialists are in the process of reviewing this item for possible improvements. We gladly offered this customer a full refund for the purchase. You can shop with confidence at Orvis-every item we sell is backed by our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee!