Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames

Fishing sunglasses with a smaller frame design for slimmer, small to average face shapes. In black frames with rose lenses and tortoise frames with amber lenses. Tri-Spectrum polycarbonate sunglasses start with frames of the highest quality injected nylon with rubber nose pads and temple tips for a secure fit even in the wettest conditions. These glasses offer excellent coverage for harsh light and are extremely lightweight and durable.The polycarbonate lenses have a repel coating providing anti-static, anti-fog, and water repellent technology. 3-layer blue-violet anti-reflective coating providing maximum back glare protection that reduces internal reflection. 100% UVA and UVB protection. Optical quality lenses. 99% Polarization efficiency. In amber. Impact and scratch resistant.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Review 1 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb quality,
December 7, 2014
By: gforcegerry
from Suffolk, UK
"Really are superb quality. I have the rose coloured lens and find them as good on the flats in the Gulf or Indian ocean as I do on small English rivers."
Review 2 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Great!,
May 7, 2013
By: ColoradoFlyFisherman
from Quakertown, PA
"The sunglasses exceeded my expectations. I had accidentally broken my old glasses and was afraid the replacements would not be as good. These glasses work terrific. Highly recommended to anyone who fly fishes."
Review 3 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lens Color Options,
April 19, 2013
By: TG4Bama
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"I have never had a bad pair of sunglasses made by Orvis. I have had 4 different models/styles and loved them all as much as the next. Only thing I don't like is how they have moved away from black (darker) lenses or the other mulit colored reflective lenses. I use mine everyday and don't think amber is dark enough for my everyday use. They need to offer more lens selections. Other than that best glasses I have ever had. Just hope I don't break or lose the ones I have now because of current lack of lens color options"
Review 4 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acklin Prescription Sunglasses,
March 19, 2013
By: MichiganDrDave
from Northern Michigan
"My second pair of Rx sunglasses from Orvis. Left my beloved pair in Saskatchewan in November. Ordered the Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins. Weight is next to nothing. Great fit and quality lens. Impressive on progressive lenses."
Review 5 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
La vie en rose,
March 16, 2013
By: zpyarl
from Arlington, VA
"I bought the Acklins with rose lenses for fishing and everyday use. I had a pair of Smith polarized with grey lenses that I liked with some exceptions: they were too dark for me under overcast sky, or when going from sun to shade. I was also in need to remove the sunglasses to tie knots and use my camera. My reason to get another pair was to get one that would not be as dark. I initially went for the Deschuttes frame, but they did not fit me. The Deschuttes are very big, and I found the Acklins to be more modern. I also initiially wanted the amber color, but went with the rose instead. The amber made everything very yellow. Not an issue for fishing, but I didn't want that for everyday use. The rose tint is very subtle.
I am very happy with those sunglasses. First they are a lot less dark than my other grey polarized, but still offer excellent control. Driving facing the sun is not a problem. So I met my goal. What I was not expecting is how much of a difference high quality lenses can make. It is sort of like HD vision compared to my Smith. I came to realize that the reason I removed my glasses for tying knots was in part because the Smith don't have such high quality lenses, not just because they are darker.
So again, very happy. I highly recommend. They are also very light and not too tight around the ears."
Review 6 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellant buy,
February 21, 2013
By: sandman2
from big pine key fl.,traverse city mi.
"as well made if not better than my ocean waves and received sooner than expected and had correct presciption lense and now i fish both fresh and flats with same acklins, light weight and shows bones well"
Review 7 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 15, 2013
By: bird2dog
from Georgetown, KY
"These replaced a pair of Maui Jim's that I had for 15/years. I struggle from many brands being tight which give me head aches. These are wonderful, fit perfect, and perform excellent. Am currently looking a purchasing another pair."
Review 8 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great RX Sunglasses,
January 2, 2013
By: kanzas
from Wild Wild West
"Ordered these sunglasses last spring and after they arrived I could see very clearly with them. Retired and took a 6 week vacation in yellowstone fly fishing. Used them everyday !"
Review 9 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water and Land Worthy,
July 26, 2012
By: dawarrior5
from San Antonio, TX
"First off, thanks to ORVIS in getting me the sunglasses while on a trip. Been in and around deserts and water for the last 7 days with the glasses and they are great. Boy what a difference, and the cost is a much better deal than it's higher priced competitors.
Totally awesome service!
"
Review 10 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best glasses I've owned,
March 20, 2012
By: TommyTN
from Missoula, Mt
"This is the second pair of Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins glasses that I have owned and after I broke the first pair there was no questions on what my next pair would be. . . the same glasses. The polarization on the lenses make the deep water in eddies and pools crystal clear. These glases make driving in the early morning sun nice and easy then when you get on the water it is clean and clear."
Review 11 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
January 18, 2012
By: Hunter49
from Diboll,tx
"For limited use I have been very pleased. The fit and look is great. Have not used them fishing so will hold my comments about ability to see fish."
Review 12 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great optics,lightweight fishing glasses.,
November 21, 2011
By: Grannom
from Worcester,pa
"Excellent service.Product arrived in timely fashion."
Review 13 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great clarity,
October 27, 2011
By: RickTN
from TN
"Very lightweight glasses. The gold tint with polarizer helps see through reflections on the water surface. The glasses rise up on my nose when wearing a hat though so I give it a 4. Too new to comment on durability. Good hard carrying case and soft sock."
Review 14 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Awesome Sunglasses,
March 9, 2011
By: Breamfly50
from Central-Mississippi
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! Light weight and comfortable but the view in the water is spectacular! Incredible the clarity in the water with these lenses. And to top it off, folks comment on the good looks. :-) I would highly recommend these glasses. Thanks again Orvis!"
Review 15 for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunglasses,
October 11, 2010
By: scranton
from Pinehurst, NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received my new sunglasses and used them a week later on a fly fishing trip at Bald Head Island, NC. I could clearly pick out the Red Drum. Glasses were great. I couldnt believe the clarity with my new prescription glasses. I would recommend this product."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zeiss Polycarbonate Acklins Sunglasses Frames
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1