Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Sure Step Folding Wading Staff

Wade safely and easily with our folding fishing staff. Sturdy, strong, yet lightweight aluminum section unfolds fast and locks into place securely. Double shock cord construction. Carbide tip. Easy-grip handle. Folding fishing wading staff has sheath with lanyard. In 51" and 59".
Average Customer Rating:
3.522 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
15 of 23(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Review 1 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wading Staff Falls Short,
June 23, 2014
By: Albud1962
from Pennsylvania
"Had to replace a wading staff as I left my original streamside. This was the only one available at the fly shop and a little pricey. Used on several trips and had a hard time dissembling it to place in car.
On my last trip the tip of the staff separated from the tube and I had to pound the tube and the tip to get back in. The tip is still loose and I suspect will eventually come off the end again.
Really hoping for better construction for the price."
Review 2 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wading Staff,
September 24, 2013
By: Siriustoo
from Canada
"Good wading staff provided you do two things:
Put parrafin wax on the joints to lessen sticking
Store the wading staff extended to prevent the cords from stretching.
"
Review 3 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs Some Improvement,
August 22, 2013
By: Bstew306
from Portland, OR
"Bought this wading staff for a trip last week on the lower Deschutes. VERY slippery! Unfortunately I would not recommend this product for two reasons. First, the belt loop on the holster is too narrow. I wore my Simms G3 waders and found I could not fit the Simms belt buckle through the belt loop. Ended up having to tie the wading staff to my belt without the holster. Would have thought this holster would be universal? Second I found the staff very difficult to separate once it was wet. Getting in and out of a jet boat multiple times carrying this staff got old in a hurry. Ended up returning it the Orvis store yesterday for a full refund. I think I'll spend he extra $50 for the Simms model."
Review 4 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disapointed with design,
June 20, 2013
By: Mrtony
from Conway, NH
"received this as a gift. After a few days on the Rapid River in Maine the staff developed splits in the tubing and all the sections just mushed up inside each other. Sent it back to Orvis still waiting on return. Would not recommend this product."
Review 5 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wading staff,
April 23, 2013
By: bigbob2
from Ohio
"holder could be leather not plastic. the advertisement talks about inserts that cause easier collapse when placing in holster, not true, same as other make I have. Would not buy again, It also is not as rigid as I thought it would be."
Review 6 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenient safety,
January 3, 2013
By: Ottoone
from Roanoke, VA
"This lightweight wading staff packs in it's holster out of the way attached to your wader belt, yet assmbles ready to use in seconds. The comfortable cork handle makes this staff easy to use. Highly recommended for added saftety and steadier wading in streams."
Review 7 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 2, 2013
By: satisfiedbuyer
"Delivered ahead off schedule. Functions very well. I have one already and gave this as a gift"
Review 8 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very disappointing,
February 10, 2012
By: FlyfishingStu
from Raleigh NC
"As you can read from a number of other reviews, this staff has an inherent problem and that is the elastic shock cord that keep the sections together and assembled. I, like others, enjoyed this staff the first time I used it as it worked very well. However, the second time it would not stay together as the shock cords had become strectched. It acteed like a limp noodle. I returned it, got another, and again after the first use, it had the same problem - another limp noodle. I have tried to fix the problem myself by tying an overhand knot in the cord to shorten and tighten it. This has helped but I am not sure how long this will last. Until Orvis corrects this defect, do not buy this wading staff. You will be disappointed."
Review 9 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 29, 2011
By: Ketta
"My friend had seen this product and wanted one. I gave it as a gift and he loves it. It has many uses, can be used to steady you in the snow as well as in the rivers."
Review 10 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does the job,
December 25, 2011
By: TenaciousP
"This staff is a little disappointing. The bungee fails to hold the pole firmly together. It does a bit better now that I store it open. (I went to the store and they were all the same, not tight.)
I would want this over none at all, but wished it was a bit better locking...
Overall, I love having this on the belt for an emergency."
Review 11 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disasppointed,
December 18, 2011
By: summerrun
from Seattle, WA
"I have used two of these wading staffs recently with the same result. The first time out they worked just fine, but on the 2nd use, the sections would not stay together. It appeared the elastic was coming loose or stretching too much. This made them essentially unusable, and both have been returned. I am disappointed a product of such poor quality carries the Orvis brand name."
Review 12 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good.,
September 26, 2011
By: flyfishingguide
from Rexburg, Idaho
"seems to assemble easily and is strong. Little bulky though."
Review 13 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for the price,
September 23, 2011
By: idahojj
"used it recently on the Big Wood,which has notoriously difficult river rock.It worked well.Easy to open and close"
Review 14 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Realy Like What I See, But,
September 6, 2011
By: Kailua
"I fish for trout in rocky NH rivers that run high and fast in the Spring. I reviewed the stats on a lot of different wading staffs from a large number of retailers. I wanted sturdy, affordable (no more than mid-range price), short collapsable sections to wear out-of-way on belt, durable pouch, double shock cord for reliability, cork handle, integral lanyard with bead on tag end, and proper height when assembled. The sure-step folding wading staff met all those criteria. I'm 5'7 and the 51" size is perfect. Only problem is that upon assembly right out of the box a nylon insert in one of the lower male sections got stuck in the adjoining female section, i.e., it won't come out. Shouldn't prevent use (haven't tried it yet), but its not working entirely properly either. Expected more of Orvis. Disappointed but otherwise reasonably impressed with this product. Will be checking with Orvis to see what if anything can be done."
Review 15 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Be safe,
September 6, 2011
By: knothead
from Snoqualmie, Washington
"I have bad knees and the Orvis Wading staff really helps me cross streams and rivers. It is very strong, stable and comes apart easily. It gives me much more confidence while crossing a strong river current. I highly recommend it."
Review 16 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not as good as you'd expect from Orvis,
August 31, 2011
By: Daron
"Had to exchange mine within 2 weeks. Simply put, the elastic failed to tension the pieces together - by comparison, I have a Simms wading staff (similar price)which has served me well for over 3 years despite fairly rough use. I expected a more robust design from Orvis."
Review 17 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 2nd one,
August 30, 2011
By: waynej
from live in wisconsin fish here and western rivers
"Replacing older used staff bought from orvis 11 years ago. Handing used one down to grandson. Still in good shape"
Review 18 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wading staff,
April 21, 2011
By: shamar
from Darnestown, Maryland
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I owned a now collapsable wading stick before, but I wanted one that could be worn on my belt more easily. this one does the job. I bought one for my wife also. only challenge I had was to replace the 59 with a 51 even though I am 6'1" tall the 51 size works better for me."
Review 19 for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The walking stick,
October 11, 2010
By: Sordello
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The stick is well made and work as stated. And would not even think about entering a stream without it. The one thing that would give it 5 out of 5 stars all the way down would be a added option of a rubber bottom. But still an outstanding purchase."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sure Step Folding Wading Staff
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4