Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Reel Cases

Protect, store, and transport your fly reels easily, on or off your fly rod. Slip the reel in the new special-constructed Safe Passage material and neoprene sleeve and wrap the adjustable band tightly. In three sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REEL COVERS,
April 14, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Just as I expected. Nicely constructed. Seems like they should last a while. Guess we will see."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly reel cases,
April 8, 2014
By: rgdmd
from Boston
"Terrific product. NO FLY REEL CASE SHOULD EVER BE MADE WITHOUT AN OBVIOUS, ACCESSIBLE, VISIBLE, CHANGEABLE, GOOD WAY TO DESCRIBE THE REEL, LINE, ETC. CONTAINED WITHIN. Yet Orvis seems to have to corner on this market. I'm buying yet more of these to use for my other (non-Orvis) reels. Well executed, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basic Case,
March 10, 2014
By: Chris44123
from Fort Bragg, NC
"Just what I needed, nothing fancy but will protect my extra BBS spool for salt water fishing. Really good price for the product."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Reel Case Available,
February 20, 2014
By: Seeker6801
from Cedar Hills, UT
"Got this reel case for my Battenkill Large Arbor II- it gives a nice, snug fit. The material is tough- stretchy neoprene and cordura nylon. I'm confident my reel is protected!"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase,
January 16, 2014
By: 1mark
"protect your reel why on the rod Easy to use on ad off with valcro"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel Case,
December 17, 2013
By: JosephR
from Excelsior Springs, MO
"Very well made. I like the fact that it can protect your reel while it's on the rod."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
October 29, 2013
By: Jawilliams81
from Georgia
"This reel protector is perfect for keeping your favorite reel protected and ready to go"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel cover.,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"If you need a reel case, this one is probably the right one. A great plus that it can be used both with the reel on the rod and when you are just storing or transporting the reel by itself. The ID pocket makes it easy to identify the reel if you got more than one. The materials give a good quality feeling."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel case with Clear ID Pocket,
June 20, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"As everyone else has said this is a great reel case. I like the quality and color.
But what I really like is the clear plastic pocket. I can put information on the line, amount of backing, etc. without having to take out the spool or reel and trying to remember what was on it.
I use the Medium with my Mirage III reels and spool."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always on,
May 1, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've now got a case for all my reels. This is a great way to keep them protected and clean. Whether the reel is on the rod or in the bag, I have a case around it. Undoubtedly, It's saved a few of my reels."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits fine,
April 30, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"Simple durable design in a reel case. In moving away from a vest to a lanyard I found I do not need the extra reel with me in the back of the vest so it is fine in this new home. Well made."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best ever,
February 21, 2013
By: backpack
from Missoula,MT
"Good product,Quality. Reel case covers reel by itself or attached to your fly rod.Good Idea! l like the color of mine(blue)"
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple but effective,
November 30, 2012
By: TroutBumBSH
from Charleston, WV
"Makes great protection traveling from one honey hole to another."
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where my reel lives when it's not in use.,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"All of my reels, whether they be Orvis or not, are in these cases. They're well made, and have plenty of cushion to adsorb even higher falls onto rocks. I like the idea of the front clear pouch as well."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Reel Case,
May 23, 2012
By: Maybee
from Clackamas River, Oregon
"I find this a greater product for when i have the rods half assembled and using them on my raft. They are also nice for the hood of m y truck. I have bought two."
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protects the reel great,
February 8, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I use this all the time. Its nice to have that extra cover- it works great and to give your reel a little more protection is well worth the price of the cover."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: Retired08
"Great quality, easy to get reels into
and out of case. Protects reels from
scratches and dings.
"
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good deal,
November 27, 2011
By: Ed42
"A bought a mid arbor reel and this case came with it. Liked it so much I bought one for my son. Great buy for the money."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It adds life to your reels,
November 8, 2011
By: Stroker
from Henry's Fork, ID.
"I should have bought these covers when I bought each reel that I owen.
I drive up and down Henery's fork every day in a pickup or jeep. I have at least 2 rigs ready to go. I bought these covers and have notice my reels are not getting beaten up.
I'm telling everyone to get these.
Tight Lines
"
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are Back :),
August 2, 2011
By: HappyFlyfisherman
from Florida
"I have used an earlier version of this product to protect my reels. Some of those reels are now over 10 years old and are still in very good condition. The product works.
I am happy that Orvis has decided to sell these again. I needed one for a new reel. Now I am "good". The new product has all the protective properties of the old one."