Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Reel Cases

Protect, store, and transport your fly reels easily, on or off your fly rod. Slip the reel in the new special-constructed Safe Passage material and neoprene sleeve and wrap the adjustable band tightly. In three sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Reel Cover,
December 18, 2014
By: Rottweilerman
from Newbury Park, California
"Now I have two. Execellent product for protecting my reel when not in use."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed,
December 16, 2014
By: riserr
from South Carolina
"The reel cases that I ordered were just what my Boyfriend and I needed! We like to go fly fishing together and these cases makes it easy not to break or mess up the reel while traveling. I recommend this product !!!"
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great case for transport,
November 18, 2014
By: Dtag
from Utah
"I really like this case. It provides safe coverage when moving trough the willows and covering lots of ground. The added safety of a padded reel coverage for those accidental drops is a bonus. I put my email address in the clear pouch in hopes that an honest angler finds the rod/reel if I ever leave it behind."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
November 17, 2014
By: ronp605
from Cedar Park, TX
"After having purchased an entry level Encounter 5 wt outfit, I wanted to find a case to protect the reel. The Safe Passage reel case was a perfect fit. Quality materials and sturdy construction should insure the protection of my reel for years to come. Thanks for a quality product at a reasonable price."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
took them to Africa,
October 28, 2014
By: seadog68
from Solebury, Pa
"Just returned from a tiger fishing adventure in Tanzania and fount that they kept my reels safe while banging around in the bottom of the aluminum boat. Good product."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit,
October 13, 2014
By: arrjuan
from Vega Baja, PR
"It fits perfect on my reel. And love the camo fabric on it."
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Reel Cases,
October 4, 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Orvis Safe Passage Reel Cases are what I expected to receive. They fit my fly reels perfectly and they will provide years of protection to my favorite fly reels. The digital camo is very attractive and I have recommended them to my fishing friends and family"
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
September 22, 2014
By: FuriousFly
from Florida
"This product is great, the pouch fits the size reel that is says it is supposed to fit. It does exactly what I was wanting it to do, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a bit oversized,
September 1, 2014
By: FJWJ
from New Braunfels, TX
"I bought two of the same color; should have mixed the colors to differentiate the reels. They appear well made and they do what they're designed to do...protect the reel in transit. They seem to run a bit large, Bought the medium for 5wt reels and they're bulky."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 13, 2014
By: RolandB
from Methuen, MA
"A great way to protect your reels or extra spools. Small price to pay to protect your expensive investment."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel Cases,
May 12, 2014
By: BreamflyC10
from Madison, MS
"Bought these to use in my new Titan Rod Vault to protect my reels when I put the rods in there for transport. Perfect fit and works very well for this use. Thanks again Orvis for a great product!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REEL COVERS,
April 14, 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Just as I expected. Nicely constructed. Seems like they should last a while. Guess we will see."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly reel cases,
April 8, 2014
By: rgdmd
from Boston
"Terrific product. NO FLY REEL CASE SHOULD EVER BE MADE WITHOUT AN OBVIOUS, ACCESSIBLE, VISIBLE, CHANGEABLE, GOOD WAY TO DESCRIBE THE REEL, LINE, ETC. CONTAINED WITHIN. Yet Orvis seems to have to corner on this market. I'm buying yet more of these to use for my other (non-Orvis) reels. Well executed, Orvis!"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basic Case,
March 10, 2014
By: Chris44123
from Fort Bragg, NC
"Just what I needed, nothing fancy but will protect my extra BBS spool for salt water fishing. Really good price for the product."
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Reel Case Available,
February 20, 2014
By: Seeker6801
from Cedar Hills, UT
"Got this reel case for my Battenkill Large Arbor II- it gives a nice, snug fit. The material is tough- stretchy neoprene and cordura nylon. I'm confident my reel is protected!"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good purchase,
January 16, 2014
By: 1mark
"protect your reel why on the rod Easy to use on ad off with valcro"
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel Case,
December 17, 2013
By: JosephR
from Excelsior Springs, MO
"Very well made. I like the fact that it can protect your reel while it's on the rod."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
October 29, 2013
By: Jawilliams81
from Georgia
"This reel protector is perfect for keeping your favorite reel protected and ready to go"
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel cover.,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"If you need a reel case, this one is probably the right one. A great plus that it can be used both with the reel on the rod and when you are just storing or transporting the reel by itself. The ID pocket makes it easy to identify the reel if you got more than one. The materials give a good quality feeling."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Reel Cases
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel case with Clear ID Pocket,
June 20, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"As everyone else has said this is a great reel case. I like the quality and color.
But what I really like is the clear plastic pocket. I can put information on the line, amount of backing, etc. without having to take out the spool or reel and trying to remember what was on it.
I use the Medium with my Mirage III reels and spool."