Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Endura Bootfoot Hippers

The bootfoot hip wader model lets you get them on and off fast. Thinsulate™ lined for warmth. Waders have two adjustment straps, with quick-release buckles, one to cinch the upper opening tighter to your leg and the other to secure the hip boot to your belt and adjust its height.Whole sizes only: 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
1
16 of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Review 1 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rubbed Skin of Leg,
February 4, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"These boots did not come to me as ordered. The boot came as an olive green color with a boot foot without a felt sole. I used them twice resulting in pain on my left leg from chaffing. I reached into the boot and found the section were the upper was glued to the rubber boot had an imperfection or bump. I returned them. I have been waiting for Orvis to produce another hip wader other than this model."
Review 2 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Hipboots,
September 21, 2013
By: Lymer
from Ontario, Canada
"Lightweight, Easy on/off. Easy storage and very durable. I was worried that my trips through heavy brush and such would poke a hole through the material easily. so far so good but i know i am tempting fate. None the less they have held up very well through some thick cover.
Agree please re-consider discontinuing this product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hip Waders - NOT!,
August 24, 2013
By: BigSkyRich
"Have had these for a couple of years - developed significant leaks in both - soaked feet and ankles - called customer service - 4-6 week turnaround for repairs plus $40.00 - not what I would expect - quite disappointed - probably will shop elsewhere moving forward"
Review 4 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hipper,
August 13, 2013
By: bigmarine
from Denver, Colorado
"This is the 2nd pair of these hip-boots I've owned and they are terrific. Long lasting, comfortable, lightweight. I am informed by our local Orvis store that they are being discontinued. Strongly suggest that your review this decision."
Review 5 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NOT for Men Only,
November 27, 2012
By: Rappy
"I do shallow river fishing, streams, and lakes. Rarely do I go deep. I also needed some good boots so I figured why not. The box arrived yesterday (my xmas gift to myself). Easy to put on but since I wear a size 8.5 womens, the boot was a little big and wide. Added a sock and that improved the situation, may add another once I get these babies wet, Only thing I think would improve these waders for women and make them true unisex, a draw cord at top around legs. Just a bit baggier then I care for.
Can't wait to see the Blue River again... will add additional review after I test them out.
"
Review 6 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The quality has been cut,
June 12, 2012
By: H123
"I'm returning this product because they have cut back on the quality and changed the sole. I had a full length felt sole that was wider and now has a small after fab attached heal. In hip waders you want stability and now they are no better than what you can get from competitors for much less cost. It is breathable and that is the reason for 2 stars. This is not the Orvis quality I have come to expect. With Orvis I see products get better but not in this case and if you cut the quality you should cut the price. Half should be a good starting point."
Review 7 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great stocking foot hip wader,
May 8, 2012
By: winedude
"light and very comfortable. Wear size 13 shoe yet XXL size foot too big for me on this model."
Review 8 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very Disappointed,
March 30, 2012
By: yotekllr
from Freehold, NY
"I bought a pair of these hippers, tried one on and immediately returned them. I tried to figure out a way to use the strap to hold them up, but could not. The bottom of the boot is narrow and the felt is very thick and narrow and they felt as if I was going to roll my ankle. I would have tried them, however they are way over-priced."
Review 9 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bootfoot Hipper Made,
March 14, 2012
By: HipperFisher
from Lakewood, CO
"I have been fishing bootfoot hippers for the last 15 years and have owned products from 5 other companies, these are by far the best of all! I use these constantly, even when my buddies are in their chest waders. I love the light weight and the freedom of these hippers. The Orvis pair has the most sturdy, protective boot of all and with the added Thinsulate is warmer in the times of year when most needed. These also have the most bulletproof feel to the breathable material while still being quite breathable. The cut of the material is good, not baggy like some. With proper care these boots will outlast many others."
Review 10 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I need,
February 16, 2012
By: 1Cody
from Scotland, U.K.
"Easy to put on and store away, used then after work when the day light starts to fade,quick and easy to put on and start fishing, looking forward for the longer and warmer days to try them out on for longer."
Review 11 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent waders!,
December 29, 2011
By: 6ft4wt
from Willowemoc, NY
"This is my second pair, the first lasted through several years of heavy use."
Review 12 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Strap Design,
December 12, 2011
By: troutfish222
from Broadway, Va.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These boots fit my 5'10" frame just fine but the strap design is more suitable for someone 6'10" - the straps are useless. The problem is the 6 inch strap the buckle is attached to - it should be on a much shorter strap, if not attached to the waders directly. I am attaching a picture of this strap along with a picture of the same buckle strap on a 20 plus year old pair of Orvis waders that I'm replacing.
I was equally frustrated with Orvis' inability to tell me whether this design is defective or are they ALL designed like this. They suggested I return or exchange for another pair, but I did not want to exchange for another pair with the same problem. I can modify these, I just didn't feel I should have to considering their cost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Product SpecialistDecember 28, 2011
An Orvis Product Specialist immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the straps. This situation was rectified to our customer's satisfaction.
Review 13 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oftentimes, Hippers are more than enough,
November 5, 2011
By: mellowgeorge
"I am new to the sport and I spent a long time deliberating between getting full chest waders vs hip waders. The obvious factor is price. Also, the rivers where I live are relatively shallow.
These hippers work great. They cover my entire leg (as opposed to hippers that only go up to mid-thigh) so the risk of getting water into the hippers are pretty much nil.
The grip of the felt soles was superb.
I had to exchange for a bootsize one size smaller than my shoe size and the fit is perfect.
Because this is an integrated bootfoot, there is not a lot of flexibility at the ankles, so care should be taken and not wade too fast."
Review 14 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
November 4, 2011
By: rsl7501
from Colorado
"Great quality and typical Orvis attention to detail."
Review 15 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does what its supposed to do,
October 28, 2011
By: daystalker
from upstate ny
"Just used these waders for the 1st. time. Boot size a little loose at the anckle but with heavy sock and liner had no hot spots anywhere. Easy to walk in and comfortable after 2 hrs in the water. No leaks,good traction,easy on and off. Think the upper leg opening is a bit on the large side. Insulated boot a big plus."
Review 16 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They get the job done,
September 6, 2011
By: troutchaser2
"I put a pair of Superfeet in them and they feel great and are a lot quicker to get on than waders and boots."
Review 17 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 6, 2011
By: Ratchman
"I don't use hipp boots very often unless I am fishing a meandering stream in Pa farm country or mountain brook trout stream. I have owned every reputable hip boot on the market and none stand up to the Orvis boot...thanks again for another great product."
Review 18 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design change,
June 5, 2011
By: fisher1
"These boots are comfortable, well constructed and wonderfully lightweight. I had to replace my favorite pair from Orvis after a mouse chewed holes in them. But my previous pair (same style) had a velcro calf strap inside which gave more support. It was disappointing to see that this strap was no longer part of the design, and that the new fit isn't as secure. But the quality of these boots is far superior to other brands I've seen."
Review 19 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for $$$,
June 3, 2011
By: DimaRV
from Full time RV traveler based in FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Excellent wader for shallow streams.
Just tried them and I am very happy!!!
For the last 6.5 years I traveled the US & Canada, fished almost all the best trout streams listed in the book published by "Trout Unlimited".
Always used my fly-fishing equipment from Orvis and it worked great even when I broke my 5 weight rod in Montana and got replacement with new one in no time, thanks to Orvis.
"
Review 20 for Endura Bootfoot Hippers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review of Endura Bootfoot Hippers,
March 2, 2011
By: Chanda
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These Hippers were bought for my 12 year old son who is learning to Spey Cast. Because he is still growing I could not afford to buy him Chest Waders and wading boots that he would outgrow in a year or two. These Hippers are just the thing because of their length he cannot wade in to deep water and he he stays safer that way. If in 2 years he out grows them I can hand them down to his sister who can then wear them for a couple of years to boot. The Hippers are perfect, well made and convenient. He has used the Hippers for the last 3 weeks and really enjoys them he can get in and out of them in minutes and for him thats really important."