Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School

The Orvis Tennessee Fly Fishing School is held at The Lodge at Buckberry Creek in Gatlinburg, the gateway to Great Smoky Mountain National Park, and just 11.5 miles from the Orvis Retail Store in Sevierville. Some of the South's best fishing is available in the area with 800 miles of fishable trout water in Great Smoky Mountain National Park alone! The Lodge at Buckberry Creek make this is a great location to combine the Orvis Fly Fishing School with a family vacation. Other outdoor activities include hiking, horseback riding, tubing and nearby white water rafting. With shopping, art galleries, Dollywood, Splash Country and other local attractions, the Gatlinburg/Sevierville area offers fun for the entire family. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Instruction and Accommodations,
October 21, 2013
By: ChuckGehring
from The Lodge at Buckberry Creek, Gatlinburg, TN
"My wife and I just finished the 2-day Fly Fishing Class in Gatlinburg last week 17, 18 October 2013, the instruction was nothing short of exceptional. Our Instructor Dave was great. His ability to demonstrate, tutor and diagnose problems was fantastic. Dave’s instructional experience provided him with the flexibility to recognize that when we had problems applying basic casting techniques, he was able to rapidly diagnose a problem then present a different instructional technique to accelerate our learning curve and get us over those beginner’s issues and on to the finer points of fly casting.
Every aspect of the instruction was first rate, from classroom, through practice to actual field application. During the field portion of the class not only did we catch trout (major bonus) but we also learned practical lessons on entomology, scouting, reading the stream, presenting floating flies and nymphs.
If we could change one thing about the class, we would make it a three day class. One very minor issue was the instructional videos; while informative they should be updated and converted to a higher resolution digital format.
We stayed at the Lodge at Buckberry Creek. The Lodge was an excellent host and provided very generous lunches. The rooms were very nice with beautiful panoramic views from the private balconies.
"
Review 2 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
June 25, 2013
By: Goingfishing
from Gatlinburg, TN
"The two day fly fishing school in Gatlinburg (June 13-14, 2013) was outstanding. I was frustrated with my fly fishing experiences and wanted some quality instruction. Dave and Brad provided it and more.
The school was comprehensive covering everything from casting and nots to understanding which flies to use and how. It also included real experience on the river. I came away with much more confidence.
"
Review 3 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time Well Spent,
June 15, 2013
By: OldTiger
from Gatlinburg, TN
"I attended the two-day fly fishing school in Gatlinburg on June 13 and 14. It was everything I had expected for and more. The teaching technique, especially filming the students' casting, contributed to great progress in a short amount of time. Dave and Brad were knowledgable and enthusiastic. More importantly, they were able to convey their knowledge clearly to class participants. The two days were time well spent."
Review 4 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Worth The Time!,
May 24, 2013
By: flyfanatic
from Richmond, TX
"The Gatlinburg course was excellent! Dave and Vic were very helpful (and patient) with teaching me several things I did not know before taking the class. Their enthusiasm for the sport was contagious and their presentation was interesting throughout. The venue for the class was excellent and content was very relevant. Different fishing and casting techinques were presented and practiced in the class that helped me a lot. I recommend this class for beginners/novices without reservation!"
Review 5 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fulfilling a life-long dream,
May 21, 2013
By: DrGreg
from Sevierville, TN
"I remember walking the Green Belt in Boise Idaho and seeing a gentleman fly fishing and thinking I wanted to learn to fly fish. Today I've been able to fulfill a long-time dream and learned from a master!
Our instructor, Dave Carson spent two wonderful days with us showing us the finer details to the sport. He didn't hold back and shared with us from his more than 15 years of experience.
He spent time demonstrating the proper casting techniques, things to keep in mind when reading a stream or river, and picking out the proper fly for the water you're fishing. More than that, we had a chance to try out the range of Orvis' rods and reels. Finally, Dave spent the second morning with us on a river near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
The Buckberry Lodge was a wonderful setting and I'd recommend staying there if at all possible. While a bit remote, it is a beautiful setting and provided a great place for us to practice.
All in all it was a great experience and Dave has fully equipped us to tackle our first stream or river on our own."
Review 6 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent instructor & equipment,
January 5, 2013
By: 92012
from Ridgeland, MS
"I took this class September 22 & 23, 2012. The class material was a perfect blend of practical and technical. We used top of the line Orvis equipment and were introduced to a full range of other equipment. Dave is an outstanding instructor. He answered all questions, and offered numerous practical tips. Dave would set-up any rod and reel that we wanted to try. He also video taped our casting and gave us objective critiques for improvement. I could not imagine a more enjoyable learning experience. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has any interest in fly fishing. I have already recommended it to two of my clients. Overall, a most memorable and enjoyable experience."
Review 7 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Class and Instructors,
September 23, 2012
By: ReelSolution9
from Florida
"Signed up for this class in July. This was one of the best vacations that my husband and I have ever taken. The classroom was top notch and class was perfect - just the right amount of "textbook" and lots of practice. Our instructor, Brad, was fantastic - watched and provided tips and suggestions for improvement while we practiced. When we stopped by the store, we got even more great tips from Dave. I love my fly rod and tying my own flies. This class was the perfect way for me to learn."
Review 8 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great trip,
July 7, 2011
By: GRSJR
from anderson, sc
"It has been not quite a month since my wife and I attended the school. Outstanding experience, our instructor/guides were truly knowledgeable and superb teachers, equipment and facilities were top notch. We only wish there was a refresher/advance class."
Review 9 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE,
June 6, 2011
By: POINTTHERODDOWN
from Sevierville, TN
"This is a great class. Great for the beginning fly fisherman or, someone like me that has used a fly for bluegill or bass and wants to start trout fishing. The staff is remarkable. Dave is a great instructor. TAKE THE CLASS! You will learn a lot."
Review 10 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 30, 2011
By: Eugene
"Just finished the 2 day flyfishing school and would highly recommend if you are beginning. Great instructors ( Dave and Brad) worked with each of us to develop casting skills. Covered lots of information and gave me confidence to go fishing. Used all top of the line helios equipment and if considering purchase the instructors would rig any of the equipment for trial. Instructors were friendly, helpful, patient and truly seemed to love their jobs and fly fishing. Would love to see a followup course with greater emphasis on time spent fishing in the Smokies. Accomodations at Hidden Mountain were quite nice."
Review 11 for Gatlinburg, Tennessee 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Class,
December 27, 2010
By: Urbantreeman
"I took the class in later October and is was perfect. I was just me and my friend with one instructor. He had an oppurtunity to recieve one on one instruction while practicing the techniques. The second day we spent fishing in Smokey Mountain National Park. Had a wonderful time, used the best equipent Ovis has to offer and lunch was great. If you want to learn to fly fish Orvis Fly Fishing School is a great way to learn."