Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School

Perched on a mountaintop overlooking the magnificent Vail Valley and Sawatch Range sits The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, and the location of the Orvis Colorado Fly Fishing School. With 1.7 miles of the Eagle River running through the Cordillera property, this is an ideal location to learn how to fly fish. Cordillera sits on more than 7,000 acres, and after the classes, students can take advantage of other outdoor activities such as hiking on private trails, golf, and horseback riding. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection, and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.98 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 of 49(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful way to learn,
July 15, 2014
By: 4theloveoffish
from Edwards, CO
"What can you say about the beauty of Colorado and the zen of fly fishing. This class was expertly taught by several fishing experts. Jeff, Steve, Tim and Eric. You guys are terrific. Even though I knew the basics of fly fishing. Your collective expertise and ability to see the nuances of a cast was infinitely helpful. I came away feeling more confident about my abilities and will be implementing what you taught me. Thank you for a wonderful experience."
Review 2 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding School,
July 9, 2014
By: novice1
from Edwards ,CO
"The instruction, location and quality of this school, is outstanding and I highly recommend it to anyone starting or wanting to learn more in this sport. Jeff was the primary instructor and Steve was his assistant. Both of these men have a great deal of knowledge and passion for the sport. Jeff has a teaching style, personality and experience base that will leave you wanting more of the sport and more of him. Steve provided some excellent one on one teaching that was so very helpful. Thank you both, and thank you Orvis."
Review 3 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great School - Great Instructor,
July 7, 2014
By: MelisSwell
from Boulder, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Having read all the previous reviews of this 2 day fly fishing school, I was concerned my expectations may have been set too high. Fortunately, that was not the case. I cannot say enough about Jeff Lyon, his passion for fly fishing and his ability to pass that on to his students. I'm pretty sure I even saw him walk on water once! I am a total novice and this school was exactly what I needed."
Review 4 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST!!!,
July 3, 2014
By: Peteyfish
from Iowa
"Just got back from the Orvis school in Edwards and must admit it exceeded ALL my expectations. Jeff is a first class teacher, guide and person. Truly cannot thank him for the time spent with me. I was fortunate to only have one other student there (hello Mel!) and was incredible. He TEACHES you how to fish and every question is answered. I cannot again say how much I truly appreciated his effort and I guarantee will pass the word on and will be back with Jeff as my guide. Well done one and all.
Ty
Peteyfish
"
Review 5 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thumbs up!!,
July 1, 2014
By: 505RotorMedic
from Albuquerque, NM
"I am new to this sport, and I've had no experience with fly fishing. I had a fly fishing rod & reel that had been sitting in my closet for years, and decided it was time to put it to use. I went online to the Orvis website, and after reading the reviews, I was convinced this fly fishing school in Edwards, CO was the class for me. I'm so glad I signed up! Those two days were a blast! Jeff Lyons is a top notch instructor. It was clear that he has a true passion for teaching this sport. He is attentive, he is kind in his critique and explaining techniques/skills, and he is extremely patient. His teaching style makes learning enjoyable. I walked away feeling confident about what I had learned, and I am eager to build on the knowledge Jeff has instilled in me. Thanks, Jeff, for giving me such a great start to this sport. You rock!"
Review 6 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeff Lyon - The Best!,
June 29, 2014
By: FlyFishingNovices
from Edwards, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My partner and I just completed the two-day class in Edwards, CO. Jeff is a marvelous instructor. He is incredibly patient, easy going, and very encouraging. His tips really helped novices like us understand the basics - i.e., when casting, imagine throwing a dart or flinging a piece of jello at a wall. We hope to return next year for another class with Jeff."
Review 7 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Touch of the Masters Hand,
June 8, 2014
By: texas5757
from Edwards, CO
"I just completed the most amazing two days ever. I took fly fishing lessons from a Master, Jeff Lyon. I expected to gain some knowledge and pick up some tips but I was blown away by the class. I highly recommend this school to everyone. Thanks to Orvis and a special thanks to Jeff for making this experience so pleasant. I am hooked for life (no pun intended)!"
Review 8 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every cent and then some!,
June 7, 2014
By: BrokenHandAlW
from Edwards, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I just completed your two-day fly fishing school in Edwards, CO and can't say enough about the quantity and quality of our learning. Most of the thanks has to go to our instructor, Jeff Lyons! He has the patience and knowledge and amazing teaching skills to help novices accelerate quickly in their skills. We liked him so much we asked him to guide us personally for a day.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Thank you so much and we're already talking about the next class we're taking with Orvis!
Al W
"
Review 9 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeff Lyon Phenomenal Instructor,
June 4, 2014
By: HemetEd
from Hemet, CA
"I would highly recommend the two--day class and encourage all to request Jeff.
Jeff is extremely knowledgeable and more importantly a great teacher. His love for the sport fuels his desire to see all get proficient in the basics so you will be able to catch fish. He could probably run a 10-day school, with as much knowledge as he possesses, yet uses the 2-days to maximize the material with the time. Be prepared for lots of hands on...knots, gear, bugs, techniques, practice drills and more... HIGHLY suggest Jeff!
"
Review 10 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Overdue and worth every Penny,
September 29, 2013
By: MNFlyMan
from St. Paul MN
"I have been fly fishing for 3 years using many bad casting habits but still getting some fish. It was time to start breaking the bad habits and Jeff was the great instructor I needed. He was very patient, offered suggestions for improvement, demonstrated the correct casting approach, and provided drills to improve.
Jeffs knowledge of bugs, reading the water, using the proper equipment, and landing your catch was far more than I expected.
I highly recommend the Colorado class and Jeff as the instructor. This experience far exceeded my expectations. I plan to encourage my two fly fishing buddies to attend
before we venture off to MT next year.
"
Review 11 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely weekend,
August 18, 2013
By: DallasFisherz
from Edwards
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Jeff Lyon was a wonderful instructor. Our family took the the trip to celebrate a birthday. Our family consisted of women and one man from a couple generations. Jeff was great and helped each of us learn at our own pace. Edwards makes for a scenic setting to learn this sport.
Jeff had us doing many different drills and exercises to learn technique. Then, he took us to several different locations to actually try our hand(s) at fly-fishing. He was there with us every step of the way to help when our lines got tangled, to change out our flies, and most importantly, to coach us through reeling (or stripping) in our catches!
Jeff was laid back and I never felt dumb asking him a question. I think he has the ability to read people well, and he seemed to kind of anticipate our needs/wants. I hope to go fly-fishing with Jeff again in the future, and I would recommend this school to my friends and family."
Review 12 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginner class,
August 14, 2013
By: TRW1
from Arvada, CO
"My wife bought me the two day class as a birthday gift. My class was small, with just one other person. Jeff Lyon was our instructor. Jeff did a great job and really made the class enjoyable. I felt I came away with a strong understanding of technique and equipment. I would highly recommend this class, and Jeff, to others who may have an interest in the sport."
Review 13 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took the class twice.,
August 14, 2013
By: Austin1311
from Edwards, CO
"I just attended the Edwards fly fishing school and found it so valuable that I took the class again on the day after I finished the first one.
Jeff Lyon revealed great depth of knowledge in the classroom portions of the school and he was excellent in explaining and demonstrating casting techniques. Proper fly casting requires that I undo a lifetime of muscle memory acquired in bait casting and throwing a ball. Jeff's analogies of tossing a dart or flicking paint at a canvas remain helpful as I work on improving my technique.
An important but unexpected bonus was the high caliber of my classmates in both classes.
"
Review 14 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Instructor - Excellent Experience,
August 12, 2013
By: BillandBen
from Edwards, CO
"I have been fly fishing for many years and first attended the Orvis Fly Fishing School almost 20 years ago in Evergreen, CO. Recently my 22 year old son expressed interest in learning the sport, so we attended the two-day school together. The instructor, Jeff, was outstanding. He related well to different people of differing ages and abilities and made it an excellent experience for every student. His love for the sport is clear, and he is contagious. I highly recommend this two-day investment of time."
Review 15 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Learning Experience,
July 18, 2013
By: hillbilly
from Oklahoma
"This was one of the best learning experiences of my life. The advertisements are very accurate regarding the beauty of the area and the detailed and comprehensive curriculum. My wife had given this trip to me as a birthday present, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the area and scenery.
Jeff has a gift for demonstrating proper casting technique and communicating it to others. I learned more in these two days than in many other similar experiences with other groups and came away a much better fly caster. Now I can visualize what I should be doing and practice in a proper manner to improve. Classes and instruction were very personal and designed to the needs of each individual. All participants agreed due to Jeff's gentle guidance we will enjoy fly fishing more. Can't wait to book another trip to fish."
Review 16 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is for all levels!,
July 12, 2013
By: wazzu97
from Plano, TX
"This is a great class for novice and experienced alike. Jeff and company did a great job teaching the basics and were happy to show you some advanced techniques too. I would recommend this class to anyone."
Review 17 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 9, 2013
By: Oregongal
from Portland, OR
"Words cannot express how wonderful this experience was for me. The location is beyond beautiful, the locals are wonderful, and everyone very supportive. I was lucky enough to work with Jeff one-on-one; he was extremely patient and very enthusiastic. What I appreciated most was his ability to cater to the individual - we got out on the water A LOT so I could practice hands on (I literally had no fishing experience, only reading water knowledge). We covered so much information...you really don't realize how much until you walk away. He left no bases uncovered and set me up to be an independent fly fisher woman. This was a month ago; I've already landed my first Rainbow while floating the Grande Ronde and helped many friends re-learn their knot tying. The Deschutes and the Rogue are up next. And I'll likely be seeing you next season for some skill refreshers. Thanks Jeff!"
Review 18 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 7, 2013
By: riverkid
from Edwards, CO
"I was not entirely sure what to expect going into this program, I was assuming some tips on knots and casting. However what I got far surpassed my expectations. Jeff and all the other guys that run this program are very patient and knowledgable as well as easy to be around. I would recommend to any fly fisherman at any level to take this course, there are a lot of things I would never have known without the class. The food is good, the scenery is outstanding, and the results of the class speak for themselves. Needless to say, I've been catching more fish. Thanks guys you run one outstanding program."
Review 19 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome, Learned to Fly Fish,
June 28, 2013
By: RoyandDebbie
from Fort Worth, TX
"We spent Two days with Jeff and Jay as a retired couple learning to Fly Fish. They were great. Jeff had so much knowledge to share about what to look for to know the Fish are biting. Jeff and Jay were so informative and really taught us how to Cast the proper way and different Casting methods. Jeff's style of teaching really made it easy to learn. We are so excited to take our skills and go Fly Fishing. Thank you Jeff!!!!!"
Review 20 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All that I had hoped for....,
June 22, 2013
By: mchhwilliams
from Edwards CO
"The 2-day class with Jeff Lyon was everything I had hoped for. He taught the basic instruction in the classroom and followed up with real life scenarios. The scenery is off the charts as well. Nicely done, Jeff and Orvis."