Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School

Perched on a mountaintop overlooking the magnificent Vail Valley and Sawatch Range sits The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, and the location of the Orvis Colorado Fly Fishing School. With 1.7 miles of the Eagle River running through the Cordillera property, this is an ideal location to learn how to fly fish. Cordillera sits on more than 7,000 acres, and after the classes, students can take advantage of other outdoor activities such as hiking on private trails, golf, and horseback riding. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection, and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.975 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 of 40(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long Overdue and worth every Penny,
September 29, 2013
By: MNFlyMan
from St. Paul MN
"I have been fly fishing for 3 years using many bad casting habits but still getting some fish. It was time to start breaking the bad habits and Jeff was the great instructor I needed. He was very patient, offered suggestions for improvement, demonstrated the correct casting approach, and provided drills to improve.
Jeffs knowledge of bugs, reading the water, using the proper equipment, and landing your catch was far more than I expected.
I highly recommend the Colorado class and Jeff as the instructor. This experience far exceeded my expectations. I plan to encourage my two fly fishing buddies to attend
before we venture off to MT next year.
"
Review 2 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely weekend,
August 18, 2013
By: DallasFisherz
from Edwards
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Jeff Lyon was a wonderful instructor. Our family took the the trip to celebrate a birthday. Our family consisted of women and one man from a couple generations. Jeff was great and helped each of us learn at our own pace. Edwards makes for a scenic setting to learn this sport.
Jeff had us doing many different drills and exercises to learn technique. Then, he took us to several different locations to actually try our hand(s) at fly-fishing. He was there with us every step of the way to help when our lines got tangled, to change out our flies, and most importantly, to coach us through reeling (or stripping) in our catches!
Jeff was laid back and I never felt dumb asking him a question. I think he has the ability to read people well, and he seemed to kind of anticipate our needs/wants. I hope to go fly-fishing with Jeff again in the future, and I would recommend this school to my friends and family."
Review 3 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginner class,
August 14, 2013
By: TRW1
from Arvada, CO
"My wife bought me the two day class as a birthday gift. My class was small, with just one other person. Jeff Lyon was our instructor. Jeff did a great job and really made the class enjoyable. I felt I came away with a strong understanding of technique and equipment. I would highly recommend this class, and Jeff, to others who may have an interest in the sport."
Review 4 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took the class twice.,
August 14, 2013
By: Austin1311
from Edwards, CO
"I just attended the Edwards fly fishing school and found it so valuable that I took the class again on the day after I finished the first one.
Jeff Lyon revealed great depth of knowledge in the classroom portions of the school and he was excellent in explaining and demonstrating casting techniques. Proper fly casting requires that I undo a lifetime of muscle memory acquired in bait casting and throwing a ball. Jeff's analogies of tossing a dart or flicking paint at a canvas remain helpful as I work on improving my technique.
An important but unexpected bonus was the high caliber of my classmates in both classes.
"
Review 5 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Instructor - Excellent Experience,
August 12, 2013
By: BillandBen
from Edwards, CO
"I have been fly fishing for many years and first attended the Orvis Fly Fishing School almost 20 years ago in Evergreen, CO. Recently my 22 year old son expressed interest in learning the sport, so we attended the two-day school together. The instructor, Jeff, was outstanding. He related well to different people of differing ages and abilities and made it an excellent experience for every student. His love for the sport is clear, and he is contagious. I highly recommend this two-day investment of time."
Review 6 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Learning Experience,
July 18, 2013
By: hillbilly
from Oklahoma
"This was one of the best learning experiences of my life. The advertisements are very accurate regarding the beauty of the area and the detailed and comprehensive curriculum. My wife had given this trip to me as a birthday present, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the area and scenery.
Jeff has a gift for demonstrating proper casting technique and communicating it to others. I learned more in these two days than in many other similar experiences with other groups and came away a much better fly caster. Now I can visualize what I should be doing and practice in a proper manner to improve. Classes and instruction were very personal and designed to the needs of each individual. All participants agreed due to Jeff's gentle guidance we will enjoy fly fishing more. Can't wait to book another trip to fish."
Review 7 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is for all levels!,
July 12, 2013
By: wazzu97
from Plano, TX
"This is a great class for novice and experienced alike. Jeff and company did a great job teaching the basics and were happy to show you some advanced techniques too. I would recommend this class to anyone."
Review 8 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 9, 2013
By: Oregongal
from Portland, OR
"Words cannot express how wonderful this experience was for me. The location is beyond beautiful, the locals are wonderful, and everyone very supportive. I was lucky enough to work with Jeff one-on-one; he was extremely patient and very enthusiastic. What I appreciated most was his ability to cater to the individual - we got out on the water A LOT so I could practice hands on (I literally had no fishing experience, only reading water knowledge). We covered so much information...you really don't realize how much until you walk away. He left no bases uncovered and set me up to be an independent fly fisher woman. This was a month ago; I've already landed my first Rainbow while floating the Grande Ronde and helped many friends re-learn their knot tying. The Deschutes and the Rogue are up next. And I'll likely be seeing you next season for some skill refreshers. Thanks Jeff!"
Review 9 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 7, 2013
By: riverkid
from Edwards, CO
"I was not entirely sure what to expect going into this program, I was assuming some tips on knots and casting. However what I got far surpassed my expectations. Jeff and all the other guys that run this program are very patient and knowledgable as well as easy to be around. I would recommend to any fly fisherman at any level to take this course, there are a lot of things I would never have known without the class. The food is good, the scenery is outstanding, and the results of the class speak for themselves. Needless to say, I've been catching more fish. Thanks guys you run one outstanding program."
Review 10 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome, Learned to Fly Fish,
June 28, 2013
By: RoyandDebbie
from Fort Worth, TX
"We spent Two days with Jeff and Jay as a retired couple learning to Fly Fish. They were great. Jeff had so much knowledge to share about what to look for to know the Fish are biting. Jeff and Jay were so informative and really taught us how to Cast the proper way and different Casting methods. Jeff's style of teaching really made it easy to learn. We are so excited to take our skills and go Fly Fishing. Thank you Jeff!!!!!"
Review 11 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All that I had hoped for....,
June 22, 2013
By: mchhwilliams
from Edwards CO
"The 2-day class with Jeff Lyon was everything I had hoped for. He taught the basic instruction in the classroom and followed up with real life scenarios. The scenery is off the charts as well. Nicely done, Jeff and Orvis."
Review 12 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Teacher,
June 20, 2013
By: asenal
from Breckenridge, Co
"I have fished with guides numerous times and in many different places and nobody has ever simplified some of the basics the way jeff was able to do effortlessly. he is extremely patient but knows when to call you out when you are doing something wrong, He is a great teacher."
Review 13 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW, what an experience.,
June 19, 2013
By: Waremi
from Orlando, FL
"After leaving Evergreen CO 20 years ago I had not touched a fly rod. Recently as I have been traveling for business less, I decided to pick it up again and I can tell you that Jeff Lyon has me back in the swing of things. After my two days with Jeff I was on the upper Colorado Saturday morning, evening and Sunday morning. Yes I caught fish and nearly missed my flight back to Florida. Jeff's patience and presentation is outstanding and he never rushed anything, like family!
Thanks Jeff Lyon and God Bless!
"
Review 14 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, what a class.,
June 14, 2013
By: GuillermoS
"This class with Jeff Lyon made a tremendous impact on my fly fishing ability. Jeff is a great instructor and during the two day class i feel like i got my moneys worth just out of the casting instruction that he gave us! I would strongly recommend to anyone experienced fly fisherman or people who haven't even picked up a rod to take this class with Jeff Lyon. Great instructor and great guy.
Thanks Jeff!"
Review 15 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Instruction,
June 11, 2013
By: TJJack
from Edwards, CO
"Prior the spending the weekend with Jeff Lyon and John I had no real fishing experience. Both Jeff and John were excellent instructors, determined and motivated to help but not pushy or impatient. Their advice was extremely helpful and their depth of knowledge was is extensive. I highly recommend signing up for this school."
Review 16 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above and Beyond,
October 15, 2012
By: dko24
from San Diego, CA
"I signed up for the two day September fly fishing school in Colorado because of the good reviews. I thought it would be a great way to get into the sport since I have only fly fished once in my lifetime. I arrived to find myself being the only student. It turned out to be the best thing ever. My instructor Jeff Lyon was excellent. By the end of the Saturday class I was able to overhead cast, rollcast, and riverload cast. Jeff has a passion that makes the learning process fun and interesting. On Sunday he took me out to the Colorado River for on the river training. Jeff showed me the importance of setting a good drift and mend it into a perfect drift. We caught a lot fish and I had a great time. I would highly recommend this class with Jeff Lyon."
Review 17 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
July 18, 2012
By: MHH62
from Edwards, CO
"I just returned from the 2 day school with my daughter who will graduate from college next year. I wanted to get back into fly fishing and wanted her to learn.
Jeff Lyons was our instructor. The school far exceeded our expectations. Not only did Jeff make sure we learned the fundamentals so we could fly fish on our own confidently, his passion and love for the sport was inspirational and left us wanting to learn more.
Lots of fish stories to be made in the future.
Thanks Jeff!"
Review 18 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding School,
July 16, 2012
By: JFL77
from Edwards, CO
"Wow! What an interesting, educational and informative two days. Jeff, our instructor, couldn't have been more helpful. His presentation of the material was clear, concise and very useful. His knowledge is not just from a book but is from experience. I would highly recommend this school to anyone with an interest in flyfishing."
Review 19 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Learning Experience,
July 9, 2012
By: Merril
from Layton UT
"Just had a great time with Jeff and Jay at the Edwards Fly-Fishing School. My daughter and I came in with basically no fishing experience. This was perfect for us. Jeff has a great school and can teach to whatever level you show up at. He is a great teacher, has in depth knowledge and can put it to use on the water. My daughter caught her first fish ( a beautiful rainbow trout) and it will be something she will never forget! You cant go wrong with this school!"
Review 20 for Edwards, Colorado 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our new passion,
July 9, 2012
By: newlyhooked
from Edina, MN
"My dad, brother, and I just returned from the two-day school with Jeff. In short, we all left with a new skill that we hope to use for the rest of our lives! Even as fishing rookies (with no fly fishing experience), Jeff was extremely patient with our learning, and gave us all plenty of one-on-one coaching. Jeff took full advantage of the unpredictable weather, and let us jump right into casting from the first minute. We had plenty of time casting on the water - both still ponds and running streams. Jeff made sure we mastered each basic technique before moving on to more advanced steps, but always kept the lessons interesting. We all left the class with both the confidence to fish, and the right variety of basic gear, all recommended by Jeff. We cannot wait to get out and tune our skills! Jeff's passion for the sport is incredible, and his eagerness to teach others to fly fish is remarkable!"