Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Shearling Barn Coat

The barn coat is a staple of the country lifestyle wardrobe, but rarely will you see one of this caliber. Made of the finest leather shearling, not only is this coat warm enough for near arctic wear, it is magnificent in look and quality. Six-pocket leather coat has upper slash pockets and lower front patch pockets with access from the top or side entry for hands. Interior drawstring waist cincher to tighten the jacket at the waist in cold weather. Button cuffs. In brown. Genuine leather shearling. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36).
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Barn Coat
Review 1 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearling Barn Coat,
October 3, 2013
By: JackyO
from London
"The Coat arrived a little too promptly as the weather hadnt gotten cold enough to wear it yet but it feels great, the colour is true to its pics online and the fit is fantastic. Looking Forward to Winter. Oh and I really hope that you guys restock the english shearling jacket, as that will be my next purchase"
Review 2 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Highest Quality,
September 27, 2013
By: Homerwin1
from Atlanta, GA
"I Purchased a size small and the fit was perfect though my normal size is medium.I'm absolutely pleased with this coat. It looks just like the picture on the website, and the coat feel great on me."
Review 3 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Undecided,
February 18, 2013
By: healsing
from New York, NY
"For the most part I am pleased with the Barn Coat. The tailoring is good. The color is exactly as shown in photos. The large size is a little bit snug for me and I am small so the coat is cut small. I'm in my late fifties. It's been difficult to find a shearling that isn't tailored for a younger person. This coat has a classic look. The collar is just right and doesn't overpower as with so many other shearlings. The coat surprisingly does not have the "Marlboro man" or western look even though it is a barn coat. It is a bit dressier than that and can easily be worn with dress pants.
I bought the coat on sale and at that price the coat was a really exceptional value compared to what is available elsewhere.
Drawbacks:
The suede is shedding to the point that it looks like my chinos are dirty. I assume that this will subside.
The slant front pockets are too high and not usable in a comfortable position. The bottom pockets have a second pocket for side access which compensates for the awkward top pockets. This saved the day for me. I do not wear gloves and warm side pockets are a must.
The coat is warm but doesn't live up to the claims in the description of "arctic" weather. I think there should be another drawstring at the bottom for very cold days. It's 17 degrees here and the bottom half of the coat remains very chilly because it is all open.
If the shedding subsides I will keep the coat."
Review 4 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barns Shearling Coat,
November 20, 2012
By: Lichman
from Toronto, Canada
"Shipping was super quick and the coat arrived as described. The quality of the coat was excellent and consistent with the price point."
Review 5 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not up to Orvis High Quality,
November 14, 2012
By: Teddy6
from Jackson Hole
"The shearing almost looked Faux. 90 % of my post retirement clothing is from Orvis, this is my first disappointment. Everything else is of highest quality."
Review 6 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Coat,
August 28, 2012
By: JPJ1
from Ontario, Canada
"I own over 60 coats, there is not an occasion where I do not have the right garment, and this is one that I have looked for, for for years and it fits Canadian winters.
Orvis quality throughout, yes the colour is slightly lighter than shown but so what.
Highly recommend."
Review 7 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jekyl & Hyde,
July 23, 2012
By: BeachboyUK
from Devon, UK
"I always read the reviews of a product before purchasing the item so I was not sure about this coat.When it arrived i opened the box and within a couple of minutes the coat was back in and ready to be returned to Orvis for a refund. Much lighter in colour than shown Shearling of a very average quality. The size was smaller than i had been told by about 3 inches. After some thought i decided to exchange for the larger size, A week later the coat arrived in size large. Again about 4 inches smaller than stated which was the perfect fit for me. But the quality of this second coat is OUTSTANDING the Shearling is of a superb quality. Its as though the two coats were made by different manufactures using different quality materials. Hence the review title."
Review 8 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Extremely Warm!,
May 24, 2012
By: Treed111
from Texas
"Tried this coat on in my house, Almost had a heat stroke before I could get it off. 6' 180 lbs. and the large was a little too small for me. Also didn't like the cut, narrow shoulders and wide at the bottom."
Review 9 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket except for colour,
April 5, 2012
By: Wooster
"A good alignment between advertised size and actual fit. The photos depict the jacket as darker in hue than the jacket was when it arrived. Even on sale, I had to spend $50.00 and send it back because of the marked difference in colour. Otherwise it seemed to be very well done."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Average Looking; Detail Lacking,
March 28, 2012
By: OCULUS
from Rensselaer, NY
"I was not impressed with this jacket, particularly the collar. The shearling color is beige (good for hiding dirt, but it looks dirty to start) and the shape and construction of the collar is just not up to Orvis standards. My biggest fault is that the black nub of thread from button sewing underneath collar, shows on the front of the collar as a black fleck on the beige shearling! It is not a generous-size and the edge stitching looks cheesy.
Nice soft, fine shearling that does not make you feel upholstered. Color is a bit pale (and bland) from illustration.
Overall, it just doesn't make it, especially at this price point. Sorry, but it was returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great outdoor coat,
March 14, 2012
By: CountryboyMike
from CT
"Very comfortable and warm jacket. Size Med fit is great for a 6 foot, 180 lbs person. The color is a little lighter than how it appears on-screen, however it's now one of my favorite jackets."
Review 12 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
February 25, 2012
By: Peruvian
from Florida
"Just received my jacket and am very pleased with it....High quality materials and perfect fit...Beautiful to look at....Ready for Jackson Hole...."
Review 13 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well tailored,
January 17, 2012
By: Bawannaconga
"Fits beutifully and the shearling isof the highest quality."
Review 14 for Shearling Barn Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I give 4 stars,
November 24, 2011
By: Royu
from Sierra Madre, CA
"I bought this barn coat. Quality is very good. Cut is perfect to me in medium. But I returned it, because I don't like the upper slash pockets. It make me feel a little uncomfortable when I put on it with the coat open. I knew nothing is perfect, but if I spent $2000 on this item, I would like this coat very satisfactory."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shearling Barn Coat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1