Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Switch Line

Made specifically for Orvis Switch rods. Coloured back taper lets you know the “sweet spot” for a setup. 125' total length. 34' head. WF5 300 grains. WF6 340 grains. WF7 380 grains. WF8 450 grains. WF9 520 grains. WF10 580 grains. Pale yellow with olive back taper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Switch Line
Review 1 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A 'reel' bargain,
July 9, 2013
By: Essex
from Newcastle, UK
"A great product and excellent value. It's a delight to use, irrespective of casting style. When Spey casting, the line loads readily and shoots well. It is an ideal line for the sea trout enthusiast, offering both distance and finesse."
Review 2 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 wt SWITCH LINE,
April 4, 2013
By: Luiz
from Kings Mountain, NC
"I am using my 5 wt switch line on a HLS 4wt rod. This is the best casting line of all the Orvis lines I own.
I have also used it on a vintage bamboo 5 wt rod with equal results.
"
Review 3 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jack of all trades master of none,
April 2, 2013
By: Dunc
from Upper Magalloway River, Maine
"A good all-around switch line, capable of overhead, scandi and traditional spey casts. I also use it as a salmon line on a single-handed eight or nine weight rod.
Super long belly would probably be great for nymphing...if that's what you're into.
Not the best for shooting line while scandi or skagit casting, but does allow for a soft presentation.
"
Review 4 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Line,
February 4, 2013
By: stokes
"Havent used this line yet,still winter.Put it on my reel and the line is excellent quality."
Review 5 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very versatile line...,
November 20, 2012
By: joinercape
from Cape Cod, MA
"Great line, perfectly matched to my rod. With the addition of Orvis poly leaders, it has become a versatile system for akk my fishing on the Cape."
Review 6 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Line,
October 19, 2012
By: Apalmer
from Hudson Valley, NY
"I have this line on a 8/9 weight 11' switch rod I use for salmon. Backing is Orvis Gel spun and a 10' poly leader at the front end. The line casts like a bullet. There is no hinging at the head and line connection because the head is built in. There is little physical effort in casting forward required to have a nice D-loop as I have experienced in some line and head combinations. The line is supple and easy set for cross t or double spey cast. There is a contrast color to aid in setting an anchor point, but I found on my rod, at least, the best anchor was a little forward of it and really don't use it. Likely handy for someone getting used to a spey cast. I found this to be a simple straight forward setup that works well, Very pleased."
Review 7 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value Product,
September 3, 2012
By: spilunkr
from Fort Collins, CO
"I purchased the Orvis Switch Line for a new switch rod I aquired. It loads the rod well and casts remarkably well especially considering this is my first attempt at learning to do switch and spey casts. The change in color really helps to get the head portion of the line in the correct location for a cast."
Review 8 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very smooth,
July 11, 2012
By: Falaises
"I have now used this line with an 8Wt switch rod a couple of times. It is quite capable of being used single handed although it performs very well with 2 handed casting. I find the best casting point for me is about one foot outside the sweet spot part of the line. Really pleased with it so far."
Review 9 for Switch Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic all around switch line!,
May 19, 2011
By: FishGuide
from Emigrant, Mt
"I spent 4 months this past fall using the new switch line for a variety of conditions pursuing steelhead. I can say that the line functions beautifully from short precise presentations of skated dries to longer shots with a super sinking poly leader. I definitely recommend using the poly leaders to compliment the line, as they balance the line much better than a traditional heavy mono leader. It was amazing to me that I was able to roll cast a very heavy nymph rig with this as well, hitting seams in the larger rivers that were just out of reach with my 10" 7wt single hander."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Switch Line
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2