Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat

A perennial favourite with men, this featherlight waistcoat is made of the finest Scottish lambswool for a warm but unintrusive layer under a blazer or by itself to deflect the chill. Rib-knit strapping around the edges holds the sweater's shape. Five-button front with slightly pointed front bottom hem. Two pockets with navy and heather grey stripe lining to match the lining in the back yoke. In grey. 100% Scottish lambswool. Hand wash.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Review 1 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 31, 2013
By: Dontneedanickname
from Dayton, Oh
"Reviews I read before purchasing this sweater indicated it was too short. I am 6'2" and 195 lbs. and the large fits perfectly."
Review 2 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK,
October 15, 2013
By: LargeMan
from Manchester
"Great quality but, for me, it could have been longer in the body. i am 6 ft 4''. Overall very good."
Review 3 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hmmm..,
June 1, 2013
By: Anonymous
"As others have alluded to already..the fit of this garment is far too poor,too boxy.It was not what I expected and the striping on the yoke at the back is ill judged.Keep things simple.I have to say Orvis do not do themselves favors by having such poor or limited photography of their products.This shall be returned."
Review 4 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant but relaxed,
December 12, 2012
By: josethai
from New Zealand
"This vest is a winner. A perfect blend of elegance and comfort. I wish there were more colours , as they are really nice."
Review 5 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey Vest is an excellent value and quality,
November 2, 2012
By: Mrsmac
from Oxford, MS
"This vest is outstanding for its price. LambsWool is smooth and is cut such that it fits very nicely. This vest holds its shape well. We wish it came in more colors!"
Review 6 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY happy with this sweater!,
January 15, 2012
By: jsdroach
"I'm thoroughly pleased with this sweater and wear it very often to work and around the house. I would love to see more colors offered."
Review 7 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
outdated shape,
January 5, 2012
By: Oklahomawife
from Oklahoma City
"I bought this vest for my husband. He wanted a gray button-down vest for Christmas and this was the only one I could find anywhere…online or in the stores. But when he tried it on, it was too short and boxy. The quality of the wool and craftmanship is good, but the fit is old-fashioned. If it were longer and more fitted, it would be a good vest for my attorney husband who doesn't want to look 10 years older than he is."
Review 8 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm,
December 30, 2011
By: HardtoDress
"At first i was reluctant to get a vest but keeps me warmer than I thought and is comfortable to wear at the office."
Review 9 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fine product,
December 29, 2011
By: zipski
from Simsbury, CT
"Met the typically fine quality product associated with the Orvis brand. Regretably, it was just a little too large across the shoulders and I had to return it. But, the problem laid with my build and not with Orvis. As a side note, I'd like to see Orvis offer more sports shirts that breath. Those that feature "no wrinkle", just don't cut it."
Review 10 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicely Made,
December 29, 2011
By: JNTPIA
from LosAngeles
"Good fit; good quality, good craftsmanship, good materials."
Review 11 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift,
December 29, 2011
By: BaerWorks
from Orcutt , CA
"Excellent quality and size. Perfect for hard to please husband. He especially likes the buttons."
Review 12 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
skimpy sweater vest,
December 29, 2011
By: Avala
from Michigan
"This nice woolen sweater vest for my husband was unexpectedly short--too short to come down to his belt. We loved the knit, the buttons and the basic style but we could not imagine whom it would fit."
Review 13 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
December 22, 2011
By: pepboys
"this is the perfect sweater vest to wear with a blazer. it has a very nice look, a little dressier than a non-button vest. It also works great to wear to the office on cold mornings. Real nice feel to it."
Review 14 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
successful birthday gift,
November 16, 2010
By: silb
from Pawtucket, RI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I gave my husband this vest for his birthday, and he has worn it nearly every day since!"
Review 15 for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 25, 2010
By: gman4302
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good vest. Warm and soft, very confortable. Good fit. I would recommedn it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lamb's-Wool Cardigan Waistcoat
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
2.5 / 5
2.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2