Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Merino Wool Vest

Ideal for layering with any shirt, this soft and warm merino wool vest is fantastic for late-winter occasions. Classic cut, with rib-knit collar, armholes, and hem. Contrasting lining in the back yoke, embroidered with our logo and a detailed fly design. Refined leather trim along the zipper. Sweater vest for men is made of pure merino wool. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Vest
Review 1 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoff's jumper,
March 26, 2013
By: ANG23
from Plymouth, which has'nt got an Orvis store.
"An excellent jumper in the colour that I wanted at a very good price. Very warm for its thickness and smart. This is what I call value for monet."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good sweater, good price,
January 21, 2013
By: DVM739
"Now have 4 of these vests. Especially when on sale, can't beat the price. Prefer the older model without the leather trim on the zipper -- but comfortable when you don't need too much warmth."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice vest,
January 16, 2013
By: ctdr
from GA
"read reviews and ordered a M. I wear a 16.5 shirt and usually go between a L and M on shirts, coats, etc. A M was a perfect fit. It is not thick, but not as thin as the reviews led me to believe. I like it."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice!,
December 28, 2012
By: IAMVB2U
"Purchased as a gift - I was tickled when I received and the recipient loved it! Good quality; nice and soft, but not bulky... Just perfect over a shirt and looks equally nice with slacks or jeans. Versatile and gives you that little bit of extra "toasty" you want this time of year."
Review 5 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SWEATER VEST,
November 14, 2012
By: ortho
from South Carolina, where we still hunt!
"I ORDERED THE YELLOW FIRST. I LIKED IT SO MUCH, I ORDERED THE LIGHT BLUE. I HAVE HAD MANY COMPLIMENTS ON THE FIRST WEARING OF BOTH.
THE ZIPPER LETS YOU CONTROL THE TEMP A BIT, PLUS IT'S CLASSY LOOKING. LOOKS GOOD WITH JEANS, KAKHIS OR DRESS!
"
Review 6 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
September 11, 2012
By: Tater
from Ashton, Idaho
"I liked it so much I just purchased 2 more in other colors."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice lightweight vest,
September 10, 2012
By: JeffMcgmd
from TX
"Soft and lightweight enough to wear when it isn't cold outside. It is thin, so it would look best over a solid color shirt."
Review 8 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sleeveless,
September 8, 2012
By: UncleBilly
from Central Illionis
"Nice maize yellow color, well bit, stretchy but not too much so. Looks great with a blazer and oxford"
Review 9 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Vest,
August 6, 2012
By: CFoley
from Lafayette, Ca
"Comfortable and not too heavy, great under a sport jacket. Hope they offer this every year, just expand the color offerings and it would be a 5 star product"
Review 10 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Vest,
May 17, 2012
By: marken
"The Merino Wool Vest is soft, warm, and very comfortable to wear. I highly recommend it!"
Review 11 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking,
March 17, 2012
By: WCIII
from Port Ludlow, WA
"Well made, great color. Good for layering, light weight"
Review 12 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 20, 2012
By: Dondi
"This vest is a smart addition to my wardrobe. It is beautifully tailored, fits well, and is very warm."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 2, 2012
By: Whatsi
"This is the second vest I have ever owned. The first one was just like it only a different color. This vest is better than one that cost $147 at a country club I belong to. It is lighter, softer and has a much better "V" neck option with the great zipper. I will buy another one soon."
Review 14 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater Vest,
December 30, 2011
By: WayPlmb
from Upstate New York
"This was a gift and the receiver was very pleased with the fit, the color and the quality."
Review 15 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Merino Wool Vest,
December 29, 2011
By: 105al
from London, UK
"Looks nice, but it is NOT very warm. Given its price (@$90.00) I think that it falls short in the warmth and durability catagory, Although it fits nicely under a jacket, it is not the vest I find uesful to wear around the house, or sit and read a book, unless the room temperature were above 67 degrees F."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Vest,
November 28, 2011
By: equineite
from Columbia,SC
"This vest is very handsome, soft and comfortable, so says my husband for whom this was a gift. He looked nice in it as well!"
Review 17 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better in Cashmere,
April 22, 2011
By: Yellowkoala
from Central NJ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Vest is great.... but I have a similar Orvis product made of cashmere (Navy) and it is superior - lighter weight and softer feel. Got it at the Orvis outlet store in Lahaka, PA over a year ago and I've been looking for others ever since."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zippered sweater vest,
March 13, 2011
By: Tom10
from Kansas
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I like this product very much expect it doesn't seem to be quite long enough. I feel that I have to pull down on it when wearing to make it feel right."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 25, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Merino Wool Vest didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.

Review 19 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Good,
March 8, 2011
By: sprog
from Canada
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the yellow one for my father, I think he looks like a giant skittle in it, but he loves yellow. He wears it all the time golfing and on cooler nights. I have since bought him the two blues and the green. I also bought the 3 others for myself and wear them into the office. I think they have a nice look to them and are very comfortable. I get complimented on them every now and then. The one negative I can say about them is that I agree with the other reviews that the material is surprisingly thin. These are not heavy vests.
I originally had trouble with the sizing. I am 5'9, 205 lbs, with broader shoulders. The large was quite big on me. I have since ordered the mediums and they fit much better. Not too loose but not too constraining either.
They are a little expensive but if you are a vest sort of person, they are nice to have."
Review 20 for Merino Wool Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice but lighter than axpected,
March 2, 2011
By: wapitidave
from Wyoming
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Vest has a nice appearance and the fit is as expected for the size. It is much lighter than I expected but will be easy to layer. It will be easy to pack as it is not bulky. I bought it to be able to pack for vacations where the air conditioning is too chilly."