Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat

Don a western-style rancher hat crafted from handsome, resilient, long-wearing 4X buffalo-fur felt. Special braided-leather hatband with buffalo-leather accents and a full lining for a distinctive look. Leather interior sweatband provides a perfect fit. Fur felt rancher hat in stone. Buffalo-fur felt. Brush clean. Made in USA.Sizes: 7, 7⅛, 7¼, 7⅜, 7½, 7⅝. 3½" brim; 4" crown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Review 1 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy,
September 27, 2013
By: Raider62
from Fort Stockton TX
"Guess I'm late to the game since this is a close out. Nice hat for the price. Several reviews mentioned that it is stiff. I work a ranch on the Trans-Pecos region of west Texas and this is no country for a floppy hat. If you steam it it will soften up. My only complaint is that the dye rubs of on my hands."
Review 2 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
September 7, 2013
By: Casey7000
from Dallas,Texas
"I have purchased a number of hats from Orvis as well as other companies. The hats from Orvis are always sized correctly and the quality cannot be beaten. Dependable, durable, and sharp looking."
Review 3 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
June 19, 2013
By: UTAH
from Utah
"Get it before its gone. Stetson Hat for a great price. I will probably replace the band. Nothing wrong with it, but just not my style. Hat is though. Great, quality, solid hat."
Review 4 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stetson,
May 28, 2013
By: Bluemas
from West Chester, PA
"The only thing I like more than the hat was the customer service. The first hat I ordered was to big, Called them up, the sent a new one ASAP and I took the first hat to a local Orvis who took it back without any questions. The companies should do business"
Review 5 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Service,
March 26, 2013
By: SarDoc
from California
"From beginning to end the process and service was professional and courteous. I received my product the Ranchers Hat in perfect condition. I love this hat ! I am thoroughly impressed that in today's sales industry a company like Orvis can provide perfect service. I will definitely be ordering from Orvis again."
Review 6 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks great but!,
November 5, 2012
By: BigEd101
from N Ireland
"I love Orvis products and have many of their hats. I really liked the look of this especially as it is a Stetson. However on opening the beautiful box it was delivered in my feeling was that it was very rigid. Most hats tent to flex/soft when the user picks it up but this hat has been made to have little flex in it. It is rigid. In terms of manufacture it is difficult to fault a Stetson, i have several. My only concern is the rigidness of the manufacturing process/ material used."
Review 7 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding hat,
October 30, 2012
By: Sageman
from Santa Fe, NM / Stratford (UK)
"Top quality Stetson hat. Sturdy, with an ample brim, this good looking hat amply shades my head and face. Sturdy and comfortable in rain or shine, the band provides a little flair without being outlandish. When it went on sale, I was happy to snap it up, and I have been happily wearing it ever since."
Review 8 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hard Headed Rancher,
October 29, 2012
By: Dadz
from Hertfordshire
"I tried on several different Stetsons in Arizona a month before I finally decided to order one from Orvis back in the UK. When it arrived I was dissapointed to find it was hard and uncomfortable. Does the 4X quality mean hard? Purchasers need this information when ordering. I liked the style but it is actually called a Drifter's Hat, not a Rancher's as stated in the Orvis catalogue. The Orvis guide to hat size is useful but I simply measure round my head in inches and divide by Pi to get the correct fit. Will this work for everyone?"
Review 9 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hurricane sandy hat,
October 29, 2012
By: twohats
from plymouth
"the stetson came on time and fitted well
the box lid made a fine wall picture and sits on my wall.
well done orvis
"
Review 10 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
October 26, 2012
By: Bristle
from Bristol UK
"Improvement is impossible - you can't better perfection!"
Review 11 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buffalo Hat,
April 16, 2012
By: Aggie94
from Longview, Texas
"I live in Texas and own a lot of cowboy hats. This is quickly becoming one of my favorites!"
Review 12 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
March 5, 2012
By: Belle1
"The product was of very high quality and in perfect condition. I appreciate the quality of the product, but also the intense care of shipping to make sure I received in the best possible condition."
Review 13 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Accessory For Me,
February 6, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Ordered online
"Wonderful gift from my wife. Going to Montana next summer on a fly fishing trip with friends.........she thought this would enhance my trip out west, and it will! Attractive design, classic western style...........will enjoy wearing for many years to come.
Even have the western boots to complete the "look". Just hope the fish are biting!
"
Review 14 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 30, 2011
By: PACK
from California
"This hat is exceptional. The quality is outstanding and the design is teriffic. It's an understatement to say I like this hat. Worth every penny."
Review 15 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look Out!!,
October 7, 2011
By: Clete
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"If you are at all fmiliar with western ware you will be disappointed if you order this product! May be a brand name, however; they blew it with this one. May be one of their lower end products; Tried it on,looked in the mirror,put it back in the box, and sent it back !!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Stetson,
October 3, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"My father and brother wear Stetson hats, and this one fits the bill nicely as well. Comfortable and stylish. Extremely well made and durable. A+"
Review 17 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Little Large,
September 26, 2011
By: Danoindenver
from Denver, CO
"It came to my house packed perfectly. But was disappointed as it was the wrong size. I remeasured my head and went to the Stetson website and discovered that I was 2 sizes smaller. I look forward to it coming in in the corrected size. Nice quality but will probably replace the leather head band."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spots on brim.,
September 8, 2011
By: GazMan
from Kansas
"Ordered first hat, several spots on the brim. Returned had via UPS, waiting on 2nd hat."
Review 19 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casual and functional,
February 25, 2011
By: KCMAPilot
from Camarillo, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Its a bigger hat than I normally wear but the proportions are great. Looks terrific.
Was a little loose but fitted well with some tape in the sweat band.
Good value quality merchanise. (I buy most of my hats from Orvis; some haven't fit as well as this)."
Review 20 for Stetson® Buffalo-Fur Rancher's Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You get what you see.,
October 4, 2010
By: Petraki
from CT, USA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product. Stiff and will wear better with time. Expected. Love it!"