Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots

In 1914, Wolverine introduced the 1000 Mile Shoe. Today, these venerable boots are crafted just as the originals were, employing time-honored methods and the finest materials. Soft, supple full-grain leather with weathered tones for long wear. Stacked-leather outsole. Four copper eyelets and three copper speed-lace hooks for a sure fit. Genuine leather. Made in USA.Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13. Order one half size smaller than your usual shoe size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.728 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
76 of 81(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Review 1 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, traditional boots.,
June 9, 2014
By: GWS243
from Penn.
"These are a hard-to-find pair of traditional boots. They are very similar to brogue-style boots. They wear like dress shoes."
Review 2 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it,
May 15, 2014
By: jbrownc
from Virginia
"The first time I put these boots on, I knew I would have them fro a long time and they will be my favorites. A little stiff at first, but it is the stiffness that you know is going to conform to your foot and is that of a quality boot."
Review 3 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Boots I Own,
April 30, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"The title says it all... they're the most comfortable boots I've ever owned. I ordered my size in them and they fit just right. I did take them to a cobbler to have a Vibram topy put on to give me better traction and extend the wear into nasty weather days."
Review 4 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality boots, great look,
January 22, 2014
By: Condav99
"Bought a pair of these in Brown. They run half a size big, so order half a size smaller than you actually wear. They look great and after about 2 weeks I had broken them in. A little stiff at first, but now they are really comfortable. Very sturdy so I wouldn't be surprised if these last a really long time."
Review 5 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Looking Boot,
January 20, 2014
By: ChicagoConsultant
from Chicago, IL
"Nice complement to a few other casual and dressy pairs I own. Works well in weekend, urban setting."
Review 6 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great product,
January 1, 2014
By: JLHT
from Northern VA
"I first bought the 1,000 Mile boot in brown for my son. He raved about them, so I bought my husband a pair as well. He said they are really comfortable and did not require breaking in. My son indicated that he would like a pair in black, so for Christmas this year, we gave him a pair in black. He is very happy with them."
Review 7 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wolverine 1,000 mile boot-Priceless! $-...,
December 5, 2013
By: duffymoon
from Spokane WA
"I purchased, wore and was impressed with the comfort and style of the boots! They look great with jeans or slacks. Most importantly, the wearer appears independent & confident with great taste in foot wear...Don't know if I'll ever reach 1,000 miles. My feet however will enjoy the walk...!"
Review 8 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pair of boots,
November 17, 2013
By: JohnWCPA
from West Chester, PA.
"These boots are very nice. I have only have them a few weeks, so they are not completely broken in yet, and I think they become more comfortable every time I wear them. I can confirm that they run about 1/2 size small (I normally wear size 9, and I fit comfortably into the 8 1/2). They also have a beautiful appearance, and are great with jeans."
Review 9 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
October 29, 2013
By: PAKman
from Columbus, Ohio
"I purchased the Wolverine 1000 Miler Boot and just as advertised, terrific on the feet! Soft leather, good looking and wear like a boot that's been broken in right out of the box!
Orvis lives up to their name again!
Thanks
Pete
"
Review 10 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 29, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I have 6 pairs of 1000 mile boots,all different of course and all but 1 pair are size 9.5 and the last pair being a size 9.They all fit about a 1/2 size big except the 9 but I'm able to wear a mid weight sock with them and be comfortable. Regarding the question posed by JReb on 5/6/2013,my advice is wear your thick socks when needed and use a good quality insole with your thinner socks.Finding the right insole may be a challenge but it will be worth it.I have been doing it for years and my boots are fitting me just fine.FYI; I'm a measured 9.5 D but the White Pine 1000 mile boot fits me well in a size 9 D."
Review 11 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Worn through in 5 months,
May 21, 2013
By: Taxidodger
from New York
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"If I was reviewing the 1000 mile boots a month ago I would have given them 5 stars. Comfort and fit is great. I switched to Wolverine from Red Wing boots, which are well made, but didn't fit my foot properly. I was drawn to the claim of quality and longevity of 1000 mile boot.
Last week I wore them in the rain and was puzzled when my sock got wet. I assumed I must have stepped into a deep puddle, but when I took off the boot I noticed that the sole had worn through.
Not sure how many miles I have walked in the 5 months I have had them (I wear them about once or twice a week) but its more like 100, rather than a thousand. Big disappointment.
"
Review 12 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Question,
May 6, 2013
By: JReb
from Maryland
"Got to wondering how these fit when you go from summer to wearing thick socks in winter.
Called Wolverine. They said the leather is so supple these boots fit to your feet and take a set. If in winter you wear thick socks, they will take a wider set to that thickness. When summer comes again, they will not fit as well.
Theoretically you could need two pairs of boots to cover both seasons with the same comfort year round.
Is this really a problem? Does anyone have actual experience in this area?
Also found out that Wolverine classifies these as dress boots, and do not make a "1000 mile" hiking version."
Review 13 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could Walk Forever on First Day...,
May 3, 2013
By: HurricaneGreg
from San Ramon, CA
"As one can imagine, a boat load of shoes are purchased when someone reaches the grand ol' age of 50. Without a doubt, THE best shoes I have ever purchased, PERIOD. So incredibly comfortable right out of the box. Treat yourself to these Wolverine beauties!"
Review 14 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
March 18, 2013
By: Huckelberry
from OKLHOMA
"These arrived very quickly in just a few days after I ordered them. I have found them to be a great boot as I wear them to work and other places, also. You should order them 1/2 size smaller than your regular size as that is what I did and the fit was perfect. Very little break in time and the quality of the boot is very evident. I think I will enjoy these for years to come."
Review 15 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
February 14, 2013
By: handy
"These shoes are amazing; you really could walk 1000 miles in them."
Review 16 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 6, 2013
By: Aschwepps
from Orvis
"This is a real quality shoe/Boot a little tight in the front but have been wearing them a couple weeks now and I starting to stretch out, They're very comfortable and seem like a long-lasting boot. The leather is top-quality, Very glad I bought them"
Review 17 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 14, 2013
By: GARR231
"Nice parir of boots,
To use them for casual wear!
If you plan using them for many hours, maybe not the best recomendation
"
Review 18 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel like Slippers,
January 12, 2013
By: gspointerlover
from Birmingham, AL
"These look great and feel great right out of the box. I have used them for field walking and bird hunting."
Review 19 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb boot,
January 11, 2013
By: Taxidodger
from New York
"Really, really nice boots. The surprise was that I did not need to wear them in at all - did some serious walking in NYC and they were comfortable straight away. These are similar to Red Wing Gentleman's Travelers - also a fine boot, but those required many weeks of painful adjustment before they were comfortable."
Review 20 for Wolverine® 1000 Mile Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots!,
January 11, 2013
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"I purchased a pair of these about a year ago and they quickly became one of my favorite casual boots. Very comfortable without a break in period. Great detailing and finish. I actually really like the traditional leather insole and haven't seen the need for an insert."