Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box

Hold all your go-to patterns in a large, easy, organized fly box. Triangle cut out foam secures flies. Special middle, flip page gives maximum storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
19 of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Review 1 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition,
March 31, 2014
By: brentlee3
from Helena, MT
"I bought the small fly box and is perfect for backpacking. Room for streamers and is great for organizing flies. Love this fly box!!"
Review 2 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly box,
March 21, 2014
By: Eddiebee
from Mammoth Lakes,Ca.
"This fly box has lots of space and very handy to use.I can separate my flies in an organized way that my old box could not.Two thumbs up!"
Review 3 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good fly box,
January 6, 2014
By: troutzer
from Norther California
"I love the extra tab in the middle. Allows me to bring a variety of my favorite flys in a small lightweight but durable design."
Review 4 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Functional Fly Box,
January 3, 2014
By: NCInvestigator
from Greensboro, NC
"For the money, I feel this is the best "bang for the buck," not only in price and quality. The fly box has a very large fly capacity, alleviating the need to carry more than one box. Would definitely purchase another one if needed."
Review 5 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful,
January 2, 2014
By: CharlaDuhe
"The box is compact, easy to carry, and holds my flies perfectly without danger of getting them damaged. Great product!"
Review 6 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box,
December 30, 2013
By: FlyTiersMom
from Richmond, VA
"This box offers durability, portability and huge capacity. It is my son's favorite, and I expect that it will be the one he uses the most. Will be the one I buy again if he needs another one."
Review 7 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All-time Favorite for Nymphs & Wet Flies,
September 5, 2013
By: BestDays
from Madison, WI
"This box, in the size medium, is my all-time favorite for nymphs, scuds and all types of wet flies. It holds a huge bunch of flies (4 or 500) in a light weight compact form factor. So it provides a wonderful fly selection for the small amount of room it takes up in your vest. Liked it so much I bought a spare, but have used the original for years and it is still going strong... designed and built well"
Review 8 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Durable.,
May 7, 2013
By: Angelo87
from NJ
"This was the 1st fly box I owned and I had this box now for 2yrs. I now only keep popper's and bigger Terrestrial patterns. Box is deep enough to hold #6-#10 if that is what you like, and the swing leaf doubles your fly limit. I have dropped it on rocks, mud, water...floats pretty good to. Only con is that it's a bit bulky. But All-in-All this is a fantastic Box."
Review 9 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 22, 2013
By: MrYough
"The best method of keeping nymphs and other wet flies organized."
Review 10 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
posigrip flip page fly box,
December 30, 2012
By: rwilkins
"very nice box and a smoking price. holds lots of flies safely. get one for yourself."
Review 11 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 4, 2012
By: duffey
"I have used the flip page fly box & like the way it holds flies in place & easy to put flies in the box. It also will hold lots of flies & is not to large to put in fly vest."
Review 12 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
May 17, 2012
By: Gilbatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I have the medium sized box which seems to be the perfect size to fit in most pockets. The exterior is just a standard nothing fancy hard plastic cover. The box is perfect for keeping a large depot of nymphs and wets. I wouldnt really recommend getting this for flies smaller than a 6. Should probably keep a seperate box to maintain streamers and terrestrials. The hinge holding the middle page seems to be pretty sturdy. It doesnt exactly fold easily one way or the other however"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could do better,
May 10, 2012
By: cjm037
from Scotland
"I though I could get a good selection of flies in one box and this was to be the answer. Sadly I found the hinge to be of poor quality and the box was a disappointment generally. I have returned to my 2 small box system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 16, 2011
By: Bill037
from New Jersey
"These fly boxes are compact and efficient. They allow you to maximize the amount of flies you carry in a concise package"
Review 15 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three Times in a Row,
November 10, 2011
By: ArizonaTrout
from Oro Valley, Arizona
"I just purchased my 3rd PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box from Orvis. The number of Flies you can carry and store in the large model (576) is fantastic - all your nymphs, midges, baetis, emergers, scuds, soft hackles, BWOs and dry patterns, eggs, san juan worms, small wooly buggers, etc arranged by pattern, color, and size neatly row after row with ease of inserting and removal. The triangle shaped slot beats anything I have found in 55+ plus years of buying and using fly boxes. If you want to conveniently store and have access to all your small dry or wet flies in a single box - this box is it, don't even think of make or style fly box."
Review 16 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not good for dry flies,
May 5, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Portland, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Although I was very excited to fit a wide selection of my wet and dry flies in one fly box, I soon discovered that the middle flip page crushes/flattens the posts on dry flies when there are dry flies affixed opposite each other. The spacing is too tight to accommodate dry flies opposite each other. I ruined about 50 size 12 to 14 flies this way; I wasn't putting really large flies in the box.
This problem might be solved by only mounting wet flies in the middle sleeve opposite dry flies on the foam affixed to the plastic housing, or vice versa. I will try this, but in the meantime caveat emptor."
Review 17 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly box that hold lots of flies,
March 26, 2011
By: cled
from chandler, AZ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i was looking for a great weekend fly box that could hold all my favorite dry and wet flies and this one was perfect. the foam slots are the way to go, they hold the flies in place and i don't rip the foam apart everytime i grab a fly. the size is perfect for me since i use a lanyard and keep all my boxes in the pockets. my only slight negative is that i wish it was waterproof."
Review 18 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a good hinge,
January 1, 2011
By: brone
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I liked the center page and the triangle access points to the foam slits. Holds many flies too. However, the hinge mechanism is merely continuous thin plastic that runs from the top lid to the center page to the bottom lid and is not a real hinge. The hinge is likely to break with continued use, especially if fishing in very cold environments. Although the price is comparable to similar boxes sold by other companies, the cost of this box and similar boxes is too high for a small amount of foam and plastic."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 26, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that he was not happy with the hinge on this box. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our items. Orvis passed this feedback along to the developer of this product for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
October 3, 2010
By: hook549
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"need to make boxes less brittle.had this one day it slid off the trunk of the car and broke a piece out of the side of box.would not reccomend unless you are extra careful not to drop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 26, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and expressed regret that his fly box was broken. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our items. Orvis passed this feedback along to the developer of this product for review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PosiGrip Flip Page Fly Box
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4