Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PosiGrip Threader Fly Box

Hold all your go-to fishing patterns in an easy, organized fly box. Triangle cut foam secures flies. Special threaders make tying on flies easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Review 1 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great storage box,
April 4, 2014
By: jim74
from Keene, NH
"I need a fly box that could give me most of what I was looking for. I needed it to fit in my wast bag and have enough flys with me where ever I go. Whether it was a river or lake and this box fit the bill.
Thanks Jim"
Review 2 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 27, 2013
By: Oldbum
from Syracuse,NY
"This has made getting tricos and other tiny flies tied on so much easier.a blessing for aging eyes.Load em up the night before and go.Great product."
Review 3 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great box,
January 28, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"This is great for all types of flies. I love the idea of the threader built in. It sure beats stealing all of my wife's sewing threaders."
Review 4 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for the EYES,
January 15, 2013
By: bummy
from Howard,PA
"Really helpful for threading the eye of the hook. My eyes are bad and this is a great product. No more fumbling the threader is just the trick I needed. I would recomend this for anyone who has trouble seeing or threading a fly."
Review 5 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good threaders, but box not water proof!,
January 13, 2013
By: Newby49
from St. Louis, MO
"I am just getting into fly fishing, but was a little disappointed box was not waterproof....the 4 threaders that came with the box makes it a worthwhile purchase.....the box will be used to hold extra flies until I have space in my waterproof fly box."
Review 6 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Threaders are a great asset,
November 14, 2012
By: Educator
from Alabama
"This box has become my main box. The slots are spaced well, but the main attribute is the threaders. They make putting the small flies on easy, especially when the fish are biting."
Review 7 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent purchase,
November 13, 2012
By: Deleon
from Tacoma, Wa
"Nice product, well built. It wiil house ny best flies."
Review 8 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box aids old eyes,
October 4, 2012
By: Predatpr
from Molalla Oregon
"The fly threader box is a fantastic idea for us older fly fishermen. I bought it for low light situations, but it works everywhere for me, as I find myself using it for all my tiny flies."
Review 9 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it!,
September 21, 2012
By: Almona47
from Nanuet, NY
"I really like this fly box, and my eyes not being what they used to, the threaders are great...
I'd have given them five stars, but one of the two boxes i bought had a little problem with the hinge, but Orvis having such great customer service, they took it back and exchanged it for another.....
"
Review 10 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLY BOX,
August 2, 2012
By: Elbmarcsdrow
from Upstate, NY
"This is an excellent product. The small fly box is pretty big actually. It holds easily 20 flies that are organized with spaces between different flies. The 3 threaders that come with the box are excellent quality and come in handy when out in the stream and u need to change up your flies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too thick,
August 2, 2012
By: ozarkloafer
from Mountain Home, AR
"Good box In most respects, but a little too deep for me. I would prefer the foam to be closer to the height of the sides, thus easier to place and retrieve flies. A thinner box would be better overall and still carry as many flies."
Review 12 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value,
August 2, 2012
By: msds
from Laconia, NH
"Nice fly box. I like having the threaders available for rapid access of flies and it makes getting the fly onto the tippet, especially the small flies, much easier. The real positive is the cost. This is one of the least expensive fly boxes I have found and it does the job better with more features. After buying 2, I later bought 2 more."
Review 13 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made box,
July 7, 2012
By: Nutbeam
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"When fishing for brook trout I only carry one fly box - a medium size with flat and ripple foam. The flat side for streamers, wets and nymphs, and the ripple side for dries. The disadvantage of this setup is that the wings on the dries get crushed because the box is not deep enough.
I ordered a large size Posigrip fly box because the depth seemed perfect (as it does) to overcome this problem. It also has helped to organize my flies.
Unfortunately, because the Posigrip design does not allow for "staggering" the flies, many (about a quarter) of the slots go unused. I actually had to discard a half-dozen flies (ones that I had never used anyway).
The box is well made and easy to use. The slots hold the flies tightly, even weighted streamers.
"
Review 14 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 21, 2012
By: ppark
"Good quality fly box. I got the small box and it still holds quite a bit of flies. Iike having the threaders. Very happy with my purchase."
Review 15 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good flybox,
May 15, 2012
By: rickz
from downingtown,pa.
"it's great for holding the fly's that you need but not to big to get in the way.it fit right in my vesy with no problems."
Review 16 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly box,
May 1, 2012
By: jjh137
from NEPA
"what can i say orvis makes a great fly box,this was my first time using the threaders that were in the fly box,Wowwhere have they beenmy whole life?,makes getting the tippet thru the hook eye so simple. box is big enough to hold plenty of flys yeet fits in my vest pocket.I would buy another one"
Review 17 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fly box,
April 23, 2012
By: rfishe6
from Bellville Ohio
"I picked this up on sale and it is the only way I would buy it due to cost factor. That being said at the price I paid I am most happy with this box. I would like to see 3 sizes for threaders in the future like the competion has but overall not bad. I have a bit of trouble with my #20's so if tying your own keep the eye clear or you could encounter not beig able to thread properly on the threader."
Review 18 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I Should,
April 8, 2012
By: ToePincher
from Upstate NY.
"Love the threader fly Box.
Makes changing flies so easy I now change when I should Instead of when I have to.
"
Review 19 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good and sturdy,
March 27, 2012
By: Danny22
from Columbia SC
"I found other boxes for almost the same price or slightly more. However I found the Orvis Posi Grip to be surdy and hold the flies jsut were I had placed them. (Not falling out when I open the box). Affordable and shipping was not to bad."
Review 20 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
February 3, 2012
By: majhor
"The quality of threader was quite fragile though functional. One of the threaders came apart with no use but I was able to reconstruct with superglue. The boxes have to be manipulated some for a complete closure. I need affordable threader boxes, and this product is just fine. The interior of the box is quite satisfactory."