Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Skin Forceps

Positive locking forceps with handles in trout skin colors, rainbow, brook, brown. Stainless steel forceps have locking handles to clip on to vest or jacket. Precision jaws offer a strong and positive grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 of 15(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Skin Forceps
Review 1 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun to have!,
March 26, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"These get the job done and are great-looking as well. Would be 5 stars but I feel that the locking system could be a bit smoother. Other than that, they are very good."
Review 2 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slick looking forceps,
December 28, 2013
By: mjag
from Logan, Utah
"Got this for my friend for Christmas. They look really cool. The actual forceps are very beefy and strong looking. These will pull hooks out of fish for a long time to come."
Review 3 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I got the brown trout color for Christmas and I cannot imagine better forceps. Do not rust and lock with great strength. Ironically enough, I unhooked about a dozen browns in a two days with these forceps."
Review 4 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"These forceps are neither too large nor too small. They are just the right size and hold tight. Rainbow pattern is coolest."
Review 5 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Forceps,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are well-bulit, basic forceps. The finish is unique and very durable. I have a pair as a backup."
Review 6 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Forceps!,
January 11, 2013
By: EllenCO
from Western Slope, Colorado
"I received these forceps and the TC nipper in my stocking and they are great! Easy to work with and all the features you would want. Perfect tool for the river."
Review 7 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful tool,
January 9, 2013
By: waterspider
from Fairfax, VA
"I have hemostats but they're too big. These trout forceps are just the right size for convenient storage and getting a purchase on small hooks, thin lines, etc"
Review 8 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would not recommend,
September 3, 2012
By: TeeRav
"First off I do think Orvis makes quality products. Yet, i would not recommend these forceps at all. The trout skin forceps look great. Was a nice piece of bling for my orvis vest. The bling factor is the only good thing I can say about them. They are quite stiff which is uncomfortable. The stiffness I thought I could get over because they looked great. However, today the forcep tip broke off when pinching a barb down on a small fly hook. Now they are rendered useless This was my third day out using the tool. Even if this break was due to a rare quality control issue the forceps are still too stiff. Save your money or invest your money in different forceps."
Review 9 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quite unique,
May 4, 2012
By: craigp3
from Logan,UT
"I was looking for an extra pair of forceps. These are quite unique.
It was fun to have them and use them for the first time this past Saturday.
Not only functional but fun!"
Review 10 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Forceps are junk,
September 29, 2011
By: OklaLarry
from Oklahoma City and Houston
"This has to be one of the worst fly fishing products sold by Orvis. While the "Trout Skin" coating is attractive, the forceps themselves are clunky looking and feeling, extremely stiff to use, almost impossible to engage the small teeth to lock the forceps, and the finger loops are so far apart that the forceps would be virtually impossible for a woman to use. I am a big guy and I have trouble with them. Within 5 minutes of received this order, I was online with Orvis Customer Service requesting a refund which Orvis promptly issued. Their product development people need to look at the design of these things."
Review 11 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 6, 2011
By: TripleTOutfitters
from Fort Worth, Texas
"These forcepts are great they fit in my hands great they work perfect and they look good I get people asking about them every time I go fishing."
Review 12 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meh,
December 19, 2010
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"For $17, I was expecting near flawless forceps. I got these and the pattern coating looks like a cheap sticker on the edge. The hinge is really stiff and looks discoloured / corroded. They are functional though w/ some tlc. Overall, I'm not impressed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 18, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that he was not happy with the finish and hinge on these pliers . Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. We forwarded these comments to the product developer for review. Customer Service also offered to exchange this item or issue a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 13 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice trout pattern edition,
December 11, 2010
By: flyfisher101
from Charlotte, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are great to have on your fly pack. I have the original forceps, but upgraded when I saw the new trout pattern edition in my local Orvis shop. Really nice color, and the forceps are very strong and hold a grasp nicely on anything. I would recommend these to anyone!"
Review 14 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful: yes, well-machined...,
October 5, 2010
By: wycliffec
from Salt Lake City, UT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought a rainbow trout pair of these forceps while on a trip out to San Francisco, really caught my eye while in the shop.
Very well made, solid feel and weight. The coloring is amazing (on all three models).
Only drawback is that they "stick" somewhat when opening. Don't know if mine are skewed in that direction. It takes a generous amount of force and it need to be fairly directed/oppositional to get them to open. You just can't grab and open, you need to make sure to open them in a particular way. Can be frustrating. That said, I'm still happy and hope with a little tinkering &/or time they loosen up.
Also, I'd love to see more gear finished this way, Hope this helps!
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trout Skin Forceps
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1