Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Skin Forceps

Positive-locking forceps with handles in trout skin colours, brook, rainbow, and brown. Stainless-steel forceps have locking handles to clip onto fishing vest or jacket. Precision jaws offer a strong and positive grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
22 of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Skin Forceps
Review 1 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and tough,
July 21, 2014
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Lost my last pair winter steelheading couldn't wait to get new ones. The trout skin forceps are very durable for my steelhead fishing yet still small enough to remove hooks from smaller species. Finish is beautiful and tough. Haven't found a better pair anywhere."
Review 2 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great forceps,
July 20, 2014
By: idahotroutbum
"I used these forceps for everything from pinching barbs to removing hooks. Preformed great and they feel good in your hands."
Review 3 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout skin forceps,
July 18, 2014
By: Fish09
from Harrison Township, MI
"Product was exactly as expected having Orvis quality. As always, ordering through customer service was pleasant. Used my Orvis card and got free shipping. Three good reasons I always buy at Orvis."
Review 4 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
July 2, 2014
By: Ranl
from Winona, Minnesota
"Very useful tool! Like the brook trout skin, makes it more attractive and personal!"
Review 5 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Forceps Ever,
June 28, 2014
By: matt4420
from Leavenworth, Kansas
"I was looking for a set of forceps that were practical, light weight and colorful. That is exactly what I got with these Trout Skin Forceps. I have bought several in the past, but these out perform all of them. These are a must have for all anglers!"
Review 6 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Product!,
June 25, 2014
By: dfullerohio
from Mentor, Ohio
"Got to use it one time and then my 76 year old father saw them. I don't think I'm getting them back. Thank goodness for free shipping on Orvis.com."
Review 7 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice surprise,
June 25, 2014
By: Commander
from Vernon, Texas
"When these forceps arrived they were a nice surprise. I've used a number of forceps over the years and quite frankly couldn't tell much difference. All did their job more less the same. I imagine these will too. The difference is that these are good looking- really cool. I look forward to using them this summer."
Review 8 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok,
June 19, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"Nice looking but a little hard to open and close. Not as easy and smooth as other forceps I have used."
Review 9 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff,
June 17, 2014
By: Darrenschromer
from Queens ny
"I love these forceps. Very sturdy tool for gettin those hard to reach hooks. Trout skin cover is great when hands are wet. Non slip is essential when your trying to get that fish back in the water ASAP. Buy them and you won't regret it"
Review 10 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Pair of Forceps,
June 16, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Excellent mechanical action - opens and closes smoothly.
Grasps hooks firmly.
Attractive, no glare finish.
Durable finish.
"
Review 11 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They look great,
June 7, 2014
By: gcscores
from Vero beach, Florida
"Just your standard hemostats but they have a little extra in the looks department"
Review 12 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not typical Orvis quality,
April 20, 2014
By: rivertribe
from Pennsylvania
"I have always been pleased with Orvis products until now. The second time I went to pinch a barb the metal broke. There seems to be a flaw or poor quality metal."
Review 13 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun to have!,
March 26, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"These get the job done and are great-looking as well. Would be 5 stars but I feel that the locking system could be a bit smoother. Other than that, they are very good."
Review 14 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slick looking forceps,
December 28, 2013
By: mjag
from Logan, Utah
"Got this for my friend for Christmas. They look really cool. The actual forceps are very beefy and strong looking. These will pull hooks out of fish for a long time to come."
Review 15 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I got the brown trout color for Christmas and I cannot imagine better forceps. Do not rust and lock with great strength. Ironically enough, I unhooked about a dozen browns in a two days with these forceps."
Review 16 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"These forceps are neither too large nor too small. They are just the right size and hold tight. Rainbow pattern is coolest."
Review 17 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Forceps,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are well-bulit, basic forceps. The finish is unique and very durable. I have a pair as a backup."
Review 18 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Forceps!,
January 11, 2013
By: EllenCO
from Western Slope, Colorado
"I received these forceps and the TC nipper in my stocking and they are great! Easy to work with and all the features you would want. Perfect tool for the river."
Review 19 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful tool,
January 9, 2013
By: waterspider
from Fairfax, VA
"I have hemostats but they're too big. These trout forceps are just the right size for convenient storage and getting a purchase on small hooks, thin lines, etc"
Review 20 for Trout Skin Forceps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would not recommend,
September 3, 2012
By: TeeRav
"First off I do think Orvis makes quality products. Yet, i would not recommend these forceps at all. The trout skin forceps look great. Was a nice piece of bling for my orvis vest. The bling factor is the only good thing I can say about them. They are quite stiff which is uncomfortable. The stiffness I thought I could get over because they looked great. However, today the forcep tip broke off when pinching a barb down on a small fly hook. Now they are rendered useless This was my third day out using the tool. Even if this break was due to a rare quality control issue the forceps are still too stiff. Save your money or invest your money in different forceps."