Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Targhee Full-Zip Fleece

Versatility is the key to layering and the Targhee offers that with a significant warmth-to-weight ratio. Made with Polartec® Thermal Pro® fleece, this men's fishing jacket is light yet is a very efficient thermal layer and an excellent mid layer or outer layer depending on conditions. Full center-front zip, two zip-closed hand-warmer pockets, one zip-closed chest pocket. Fleece chin flap protects from zipper chafing. A slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. This men's fishing jacket is made with 55% recycled fleece from plastic bottles. Polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
24 of 32(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Review 1 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Returning this Item,
October 22, 2013
By: scoto
from St. Paul,MN
"I have purchased clothing from Orvis every year for over a decade, and the quality is almost always high. There is a weak spot that often crops up, though, and that is the zippers on Orvis jackets. I have had trouble getting zippers to zip up on more than a few Orvis jackets, and this is one of them. I gave the jacket to my wife to see if she could zip it up, but she had the same difficulty. I am returning this item."
Review 2 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Style,
October 13, 2013
By: OBXduck
from Washington, DC
"Feels really light. Unique look. The zipper is a little tough but not unusual for this type. My favorite already."
Review 3 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Jacket/Lousy Zipper,
October 4, 2013
By: JoeMike
from Maine
"Zipper doesn't work. Don't buy it. You'll just be shipping it back (like I am.)"
Review 4 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
August 24, 2013
By: Halky
"Zipper is very difficult to get started at the bottom. The fit is too snug at the top. Material quality is great."
Review 5 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
August 8, 2013
By: BFit
from Juneau, Alaska
"Nice, heavy weight fleece jacket - he loves it. It's well made and classy looking."
Review 6 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around shirt/jac,
March 6, 2013
By: Pang
from Dayton, Ohio
"Perfect shirt that is dressier than a sweat shirt but just as comfortable! Lapel pocket great for cell phone and full front zipper means I don't have to pull it over my head."
Review 7 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Change the zipper and it's a 5 star,
January 3, 2013
By: JChannell
from Augusta, GA
"I received this fleece as a gift and have enjoyed it so far. The fleece is very lightweight yet very warm and blocks wind well. I wore it inshore fishing at the coast the weekend after Christmas. The weather was cloudy, windy and in the upper 40's to low 50's. With a windbreaker over the fleece, I was the most comfortable person on the boat.
I have had issues with the balky zipper that others have noted, but other than that the jacket has been very good. The sleeve length is longer than most jackets, but rolling them up an inch or so solves any problem and it is sometimes nice to have the extra length when the wind is blowing. I am far from a "trim fit" type of guy, but this fleece is plenty roomy for me even if it is advertised as trim fit fo active lifestyles. If Orvis would spend the extra few cents necessary to put a larger zipper on this fleece, it would be a 5 star product without a doubt."
Review 8 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fleece Wear.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"I really enjoy wearing the TARGHEE FLEECE jacket under my Orvis Pro Guide Wading Jacket during the winter months. It's also a great outter layer by it's self, very warm and comfortable."
Review 9 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Fleece, Sans the Awful Zipper,
October 26, 2012
By: ChicagoLobbyist
from Chicago, IL
"I figured I would order this and disregard other's comments on the lousy zipper...my mistake. The zipper is mindbogglingly frustrating, and after a few times trying to zip it up, I quit. I know how to operate a two-way zipper and actually prefer them for my clothing, but this is the worst made zipper of all time. Sent back to Orvis."
Review 10 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fleece,
October 19, 2012
By: TSRI
from New England
"Overall awesome jacket! Cool enough to wear in the high 50s, warm enough to wear when the temps drop. Awesome on a damp day (haven't worn in real rain yet). Pockets are perfect size. Great for a day out running errands with the family, moving back an forth to the gym, or hiking with the guys! Plan on having for a long time!"
Review 11 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is OK,
September 25, 2012
By: dealer
from Texas
"Orvis probably should not of asked for my review on this one, I am a big Orvis fan, but some of the reviews said it has zipper has problems and it does, others said sleeves are too long and they are, have to roll up, good fit through the mid section more tappered than most xl garments, I buy xl for the shoulders and not big belly so that part is good, We paid full price and not worth it. Sorry we did."
Review 12 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Baggy Sleeves,
August 21, 2012
By: Roostr
from Montana
"Although I liked the fabric, finish, and fit in the torso, the sleeves (especially the cuffs) are very baggy, and interfere with activities such as casting, eating and washing my hands"
Review 13 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High Quality Versatility,
July 23, 2012
By: drcoyote
from Rural Indiana
"Great layering piece---sufficient warmth without bulk. Also, a nice looking jacket. Think of this for say, an Alaskan cruise. You get good looks, sufficent warmth (for summertime in Alaska) and not too much bulk. Moss color is very attractive."
Review 14 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
March 27, 2012
By: MikeyLikesIt
"I am really very happy with this jacket. The quality is wonderful --- it fits well and the jacket keeps me warm on chilly mornings. I couldn't be more pleased!"
Review 15 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great All Around Fleece,
March 8, 2012
By: CaptEz
from Charleston, SC
"I"ve had this fleece for about a year and a half now and it's solid.(got two of them, one in Navy and Tobacco) I wore it everyday for two months while guiding in Alaska and its the first fleece I reach for before heading out the door. PolarTec fleece holds up after much abuse, fit is very comfortable, nice colors as well. Trout Bum line has produced some winners!"
Review 16 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Targhee Full-Zip Fleece,
March 6, 2012
By: JohnM
from Cincinnati, OH
"Exactly what was advertised. Lightweight, warm, and attractive. Versatile."
Review 17 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good but not perfect,
January 26, 2012
By: Incrediblehook
from Baldwin, Mi
"I like the design of this fleece but on the one I was sent the pockets were not the same size, I cannot get my hand into the right side pocket. There are also stiches coming out at the waist line that will compromise the garment after being worn a few more times. I will probably have to send this one back and try another one, perhaps this fleece was made on a Friday?"
Review 18 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lots to love about this fleece, BUT...,
January 26, 2012
By: bulldogproductions
from Villanova, PA
"...in the end, I can't recommend it. Here's why:
Let me say first that I have been an Orvis consumer for close to 60 years, having been introduced to the company by my grandfather. They have always carried top quality gear, and my interactions with their staff have always been amiable. It's a great company, which is why this saga seems so anomalous.
A family member purchased four of these fleeces as Christmas presents, and the zippers on all four were difficult or impossible to operate. The "male" side simply wouldn't seat correctly -- or if it did, it was only after great effort.
I received one of those garments, and loved everything about it, except the zipper. Determined to have a good outcome, I called Orvis and requested a replacement. I asked specifically that someone test the zipper before shipment.
Imagine my chagrin when the second fleece arrived with the same issue. That was now five defective units out of five.
At that point, I decided to take things to the next level. I ended up discussing the situation with a senior staff member, who could not have been more engaged or helpful. She arranged for a third fleece to be tested and sent, and I'm happy to say that while the zipper on this one is still a bit temperamental, it works well enough.
The Orvis personnel I spoke with seemed genuinely perplexed at the 100% failure rate on these Targhee zippers, averring that, according to their records, the problem is not widespread.
I really like this fleece, but I can't, in good conscience, recommend it. On the other hand, this whole experience has confirmed what I've always known: Orvis is a standup organization with a five-star staff."
Review 19 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my husband,
January 18, 2012
By: LadyHeadhunter
from Chicago, IL
"My husband wanted a fleece for Christmas. When he got a very popular different brand and tried it on, it was too small. We ordered a larger size, too small in the shoulders, too big in the midsection.
I tell you this b/c we finally looked at the Orivis site and this is the zip up jacket that he got instead and he LOVES it.
He got a 2X since he is 6'3" and around 250lbs with broad shoulders and it fits very nicely. Not too boxy or short-waisted and the sleeves are long enough with his shoulders. The weight is perfect for multiple uses, the colors are nice, and it isn't the same cookie cutter jacket that everyone else has. Great work, Orvis!"
Review 20 for Targhee Full-Zip Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fleece,
January 12, 2012
By: DaveT
from NC
"My new favorite outerwear. Size is perfect and it is very comfortable and warm. Great quality like you would expect from Orvis"