Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Murphy's Pub Vest

After the success of our Murphy's Pub jacket, it only stood to reason we should introduce the vest. This vest is fashioned from the same Donegal tweed as the jacket with a distinctive Irish flair, yet lined in power mesh for modern comfort and performance. Drop-point, five-button front with two reverse-pleated flap pockets. Rear of the vest is the same Donegal tweed. Sueded lapel buttonhole. Leather knot buttons. In brown. Pure wool outer. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Murphy's Pub Vest
Review 1 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Vest,
February 20, 2013
By: bullmcoy
from New England
"The Murphy vest is very well made and very functional. The lapels should probably end at the shoulder which would help it fit better with the Murphy jacket or other type of sport coat. A tad heavy but very warm nice inside pockets which aren't advertised but a nice add on. Just about a half of inch or longer would also make it fit better. don't be afraid to buy it's very good."
Review 2 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Erin go Bragh,
February 2, 2013
By: slider11
from Northwest
"Substantial, well made, Irish, warm...but the comments about the unusually large clunky adjustment buckle are true. What was orvis thinking? Your choices are to live with it poking your back, wrap it up like it comes from the store (so u won't notice?) or have it removed, which if your waist is as big as your chest might work for you.
My waist is 10 in smaller than my chest so I need the buckle and am not sure what I will do, maybe ask a tailor to replace it.
"
Review 3 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Cool,
January 1, 2013
By: IrishClancy
"Great look. Warm. If you aren't Irish this will convert you."
Review 4 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice classic look,
December 31, 2012
By: Pali
from Des Moines Iowa
"its not often something is as advertised this item is.... its a great classey-yet comfortable look"
Review 5 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lump in my back,
October 23, 2012
By: Bocephus
from Milan, TN.
"This vest was quite classy and appropriately named for wearing in a pub. However I returned it because
the buckle on the back adjustment is so thick it is very uncomfortable even slightly painful when leaning against a chair back or car seat. If not for that problem I would have kept it even at the somewhat elevated price. As you know nice vests are hard to find.
"
Review 6 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great details!,
February 10, 2012
By: GWR1
from Milwaukee, WI
"I have purchased a number of Orvis items over the years and this vest is true to their excellent attention to quality and detail. Excellent tailoring and detail - lots of pockets. Be aware that this will keep you nice and warm - but is a little heavy to wear under a sport coat."
Review 7 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Murphy's Pub Vest,
January 17, 2012
By: Bopster
from Ballwin, Missouri
"Very beautiful vest. I love it! Fits well, except I wish it had about another inch or inch and a half length on the body. It is a smidgen short. Other than that it is wonderful."
Review 8 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful vest,
December 30, 2011
By: WoodBe
from Bethesda, Maryland
"Beautifully made; looks great. My husband has wanted this for two years so I bought it for him for Christmas. He loves it and is wearing it everyday!"
Review 9 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
November 15, 2011
By: greengene13
from San Rafael, CA
"Great warmth. Pockets galore for cell phone, pen, keys, readers. And did I say your torso will be warm?"
Review 10 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice vest.,
October 10, 2011
By: Shafted
"Heavy wool and nicely tailored. I only wish it were constructed in Ireland."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where are the matching trousers?,
January 20, 2011
By: ForeignService
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great vest and its matching jacket. I received many a compliment from professional tailors working at various men's clothing stores. Only problem: the buttons. They should be sewn on in a more robust fashion...they tend to fall off. One major question: Where are the matching trousers? Please provide matching trousers for this pair. The overall style, "feel", weight, is classic and hard to find elsewhere. Semper Fi."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thick and Warm,
December 6, 2010
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are not in the store and are looking at this on line or by catalogue, the vest is very thick and very warm. You can wear it under an outer jacket and you do not need your jacket lining.
I also have the matching coat, and love the appearance, but also the function. If we are traveling in winter, I slip the coat off, and just wear the vest in the car. I think it makes a good appearance, and I find it warm and comfortable.
"
Review 13 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it with a Few Caveats,
October 19, 2010
By: IvantheTerrible
from Seattle, WA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's unique and that is worth a lot to me. A few points:
-check the buttons-I had two fall off after the first two wearings
-belt at the back makes a significant lump when you lean back in a chair-I took it to a tailor to remove and he simply cut it off-recommended, as cutting it does not show and I personally had no use for the belt
-non-functional lapel button hole can be used if you push the item (glasses, in my case) through the loose weave on the back of the sewn outline.
-really should be $50 less-but I like it anyway
"
Review 14 for Murphy's Pub Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, it does have Inner Pockets,
October 17, 2010
By: Ivantheterrible2
from Seattle WA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"One of the main reason I like vests is that they give me extra pockets. I initially dismissed this vest based on the description that made no mention of inner pockets, thinking that these are usually mentioned and therefore very likely not present.
After seeing the vest at my local Orvis store, I discovered it has three inner pockets, two standard wallet sized ones AND one exactly iPhone sized. Perfect! Bought it and am now Pubward bound."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Murphy's Pub Vest
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3