Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt

With the rugged warmth and rich, pigment-dyed looks that only our signature 10.5-oz. cotton-blend sweatshirt fabric can provide, this pullover sweatshirt is sure to become an instant favorite. Easy four-button mock-neck styling with rib-knit trim on the neck, cuffs, and gathered hem. Distinctive matching stitching on button placket. Two pockets. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
1
66 of 77(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a sweatshirt type thingy with buttons!,
October 10, 2012
By: Stevonovich
from Battle, East Sussex UK
"Excellent - does exactly what it says on the wrapper!"
Review 2 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner,
October 8, 2012
By: Aulddiy
from Glenrothes
"This is becoming a favourite.
It's comfortable to wear and retains
My body heat well
"
Review 3 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More apple green than sage,
July 9, 2014
By: RockShark
from San Francisco, CA
"This is a comfortable pullover that is good when you need extra warmth. The fit is true to size. I like the fit, weight, and style but the color is more of an apple green than sage. I'm hoping it fades over time."
Review 4 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 7, 2014
By: unidentified
from New Hampshire
"This is my second purchase for the button neck sweatshirt. I now have both colors. They are well made and fit properly for the size ordered. I have also received many compliments on the style and yes they are warm by themselves or under a jacket."
Review 5 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very sharp,
May 1, 2014
By: catbyrd
from Buffaol NY
"excellent fit,style,value.I would say it is the best sweatshirt I own."
Review 6 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and good looks,
April 24, 2014
By: HappyinMaine
"This is my most comfortable and favorite sweat shirt. Fits like a second skin. Sleeves, however could be a bit longer, but it is not a problem. Would highly recommend this shirt."
Review 7 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweatshirt,
March 22, 2014
By: JJOHNSON43
from Raleigh, NC
"Great overall quality. Washing instructions only negative. Comfortable with large elastic cuffs. Might be a bit overpriced but, satisfied with purchase."
Review 8 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Looks,
March 3, 2014
By: HappyinMaine
"Like the styling and especially the color. Selves a bit too short and tight around the wrist. Overall fit is good."
Review 9 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Looking,
February 14, 2014
By: MattH83
from North Texas
"Good looking sweater. I have purchased a "military" looking sweater for the past three years from Orvis and the Commander's Button-Neck was the one this year. My only complaint is the sleeves are a little short. The body is very full but the sleeves don't match. I will NOT return it, just wear them pulled up on Spring days."
Review 10 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
February 9, 2014
By: volsfan
"The Sweatshirt is comfortable and wears very well. It pairs well with jeans as well as casual pants. Very good value for the price."
Review 11 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort,
February 3, 2014
By: johnc2333
from copperas cove, tx
"The shirt is a eye catcher first of all because it's designed different which I like. The collar is design to be placed in several positions which can be beneficial to your scarf. The color is under the radar which means it will go with anything, excellent purchase highly recommended."
Review 12 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING,
January 24, 2014
By: Macko
from Michigan
"The sweatshirt is better than I anticipated!! Over the years I have purchased quite a few items from Orvis & I have high regard for their quality. I particularly like the 1/4 button front I wish all sweatshirts were constructed this way, even hoodies. The fit, color & quality of construction of this product are exceptional."
Review 13 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice material,
January 7, 2014
By: Pharmaretiree
from NW Georgia
"Very good quality garment as usual from Orvis. Four stars instead of five simply because the cuffs were too tight at the wrist."
Review 14 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable, Practical,
December 27, 2013
By: JudyQ
from Landersdale, Indiana
"This shirt made a great Christmas gift. The thick material makes it warm and perfect for winter time casual wear, as well as durable. The cloth is soft, and the stitching is strong. The two kangaroo pouch pockets on the front are very nice for carrying things or just for keeping hands warm!"
Review 15 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable comfort,
December 26, 2013
By: NhojSolkim
from Atlanta GA
"I do not usually write a review but I must say this button neck sweatshirt met all my expectations and some. it is extremely comfortable and casual. I cant imagine anyone can give this item less than a 4/5 . I like the weathered look and the comfortable feel. I would wear this to work if I could get away with it. ( ie to casual and non sterile to wear to the O.R.)"
Review 16 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, beautiful feel.,
December 26, 2013
By: NittiC
from Philadelphia, PA
"Purchased for my husband in Large for Christmas. He is 6'1"+ tall with long arms. The fit is perfect and he loves it. It is beautifully made. A nice surprise was that Orvis included a gift box with tissue, ribbon, and an Orvis sticker."
Review 17 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Xmas Gift,
December 25, 2013
By: TheLeadDog
from Knoxville, TN
"This shirt is really well made and has a great weight to it. Very impressed with the quality."
Review 18 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gift,
December 25, 2013
By: FWBshopper
from Fort Walton Beach FL
"My husband loved the sweatshirt and the sage color is beautiful. Sizing was perfect. Always great products from Orvis."
Review 19 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another super sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: JPSAT
"Great price for a very well made warm and stylish sweater from Orvis. Nice choice of earth-tone colors with sturdy knitted collar."
Review 20 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY BEST PURCHASE THIS SEASON,
December 14, 2013
By: DRIVE
"VERY WELL CONSTRUCTED OUT 'OF FIRST CLASS MATERIAL. I LOVE THE STYLE ESPECIALLY THE 4
BUTTON ORVIS BRANDED NECK.
THE BUTTONS GIVE THE SWEATSHIRT EXTRA STYLE AND
AND HELPS TO SERVE ITS MAIN
PURPOSE-TO KEEP YOU WARM!
"