Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt

With the rugged warmth and rich, pigment-dyed looks that only our signature 10.5-oz. cotton-blend sweatshirt fabric can provide, this pullover sweatshirt is sure to become an instant favorite. Easy four-button mock-neck styling with rib-knit trim on the neck, cuffs, and gathered hem. Distinctive matching stitching on button placket. Two pockets. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.479 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
1
62 of 73(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a sweatshirt type thingy with buttons!,
October 10, 2012
By: Stevonovich
from Battle, East Sussex UK
"Excellent - does exactly what it says on the wrapper!"
Review 2 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A winner,
October 8, 2012
By: Aulddiy
from Glenrothes
"This is becoming a favourite.
It's comfortable to wear and retains
My body heat well
"
Review 3 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweatshirt,
March 22, 2014
By: JJOHNSON43
from Raleigh, NC
"Great overall quality. Washing instructions only negative. Comfortable with large elastic cuffs. Might be a bit overpriced but, satisfied with purchase."
Review 4 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Looks,
March 3, 2014
By: HappyinMaine
"Like the styling and especially the color. Selves a bit too short and tight around the wrist. Overall fit is good."
Review 5 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Looking,
February 14, 2014
By: MattH83
from North Texas
"Good looking sweater. I have purchased a "military" looking sweater for the past three years from Orvis and the Commander's Button-Neck was the one this year. My only complaint is the sleeves are a little short. The body is very full but the sleeves don't match. I will NOT return it, just wear them pulled up on Spring days."
Review 6 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
February 9, 2014
By: volsfan
"The Sweatshirt is comfortable and wears very well. It pairs well with jeans as well as casual pants. Very good value for the price."
Review 7 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort,
February 3, 2014
By: johnc2333
from copperas cove, tx
"The shirt is a eye catcher first of all because it's designed different which I like. The collar is design to be placed in several positions which can be beneficial to your scarf. The color is under the radar which means it will go with anything, excellent purchase highly recommended."
Review 8 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING,
January 24, 2014
By: Macko
from Michigan
"The sweatshirt is better than I anticipated!! Over the years I have purchased quite a few items from Orvis & I have high regard for their quality. I particularly like the 1/4 button front I wish all sweatshirts were constructed this way, even hoodies. The fit, color & quality of construction of this product are exceptional."
Review 9 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice material,
January 7, 2014
By: Pharmaretiree
from NW Georgia
"Very good quality garment as usual from Orvis. Four stars instead of five simply because the cuffs were too tight at the wrist."
Review 10 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Comfortable, Practical,
December 27, 2013
By: JudyQ
from Landersdale, Indiana
"This shirt made a great Christmas gift. The thick material makes it warm and perfect for winter time casual wear, as well as durable. The cloth is soft, and the stitching is strong. The two kangaroo pouch pockets on the front are very nice for carrying things or just for keeping hands warm!"
Review 11 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable comfort,
December 26, 2013
By: NhojSolkim
from Atlanta GA
"I do not usually write a review but I must say this button neck sweatshirt met all my expectations and some. it is extremely comfortable and casual. I cant imagine anyone can give this item less than a 4/5 . I like the weathered look and the comfortable feel. I would wear this to work if I could get away with it. ( ie to casual and non sterile to wear to the O.R.)"
Review 12 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, beautiful feel.,
December 26, 2013
By: NittiC
from Philadelphia, PA
"Purchased for my husband in Large for Christmas. He is 6'1"+ tall with long arms. The fit is perfect and he loves it. It is beautifully made. A nice surprise was that Orvis included a gift box with tissue, ribbon, and an Orvis sticker."
Review 13 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Xmas Gift,
December 25, 2013
By: TheLeadDog
from Knoxville, TN
"This shirt is really well made and has a great weight to it. Very impressed with the quality."
Review 14 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gift,
December 25, 2013
By: FWBshopper
from Fort Walton Beach FL
"My husband loved the sweatshirt and the sage color is beautiful. Sizing was perfect. Always great products from Orvis."
Review 15 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another super sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: JPSAT
"Great price for a very well made warm and stylish sweater from Orvis. Nice choice of earth-tone colors with sturdy knitted collar."
Review 16 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY BEST PURCHASE THIS SEASON,
December 14, 2013
By: DRIVE
"VERY WELL CONSTRUCTED OUT 'OF FIRST CLASS MATERIAL. I LOVE THE STYLE ESPECIALLY THE 4
BUTTON ORVIS BRANDED NECK.
THE BUTTONS GIVE THE SWEATSHIRT EXTRA STYLE AND
AND HELPS TO SERVE ITS MAIN
PURPOSE-TO KEEP YOU WARM!
"
Review 17 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expectations Exceeded,
December 11, 2013
By: AJT99
from Upstate, NY
"Better than I had hoped - great quality and looks broken in already! Plus the arms and torso are nice and long. Great buy... Merry Christmas to me!"
Review 18 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent fit,
December 10, 2013
By: misterweeze
from High Point, NC
"I bought this sweatshirt at a retail location without trying it on. It fit perfectly and is as warm as toast. Really like the wide wrist bands."
Review 19 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great look, feel, and construction,
December 10, 2013
By: LeftyS7
from Reno, NV
"I've found that all of Orvis' sweatshirt-like shirts marked the same size fit differently. This one has slightly long sleeves but I prefer that to sleeves that are slightly short. The material seems to be the same as the dog walking sweatshirts which are a substantial weight but this shirt seems to be slightly larger. The dog walking sweat shirt did stain badly, I've tried all sorts of removers in the wash, none of which have worked. Next step is the dry cleaner so I'll be extra careful with this shirt. I really like the stand up collar which fits me perfectly but I have a long neck. I also appreciate the pockets."
Review 20 for Commander's Button-Neck Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
December 7, 2013
By: Luvfleurs
"Maintains shape, looks new even after repeated washings."