Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Trout Skin Nipper

Ergonomically designed fly-fishing clipper in three trout skin colors, rainbow, brook, brown. Much easier to grip and use than standard nipper. Super sharp Japanese tungsten carbide jaws can handle even the smallest tippets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Skin Nipper
Review 1 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now that's a Nipper!,
June 25, 2014
By: dfullerohio
from Mentor, Ohio
"I don't believe I've ever seen such a wonderful nipper. By far, the best nipper I've ever used! A lot of nippers are cheap and dull. Not this nipper! It's sharp, well made and looks good. I dare say, there's no better nipper on the market."
Review 2 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet Cutters,
March 14, 2014
By: FireFly2
"These are the sharpest tippet cutters I've ever used. Compact and easy to carry."
Review 3 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy essential,
November 23, 2013
By: FLgatorgirl
from Florida
"Everyone needs nippers...might as well put some class to them...and they work great!"
Review 4 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Nips,
July 28, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I've have a couple of pairs of these nippers. They work fine and I like the trout skin affect. The only drawback is that the hook eye reamer is a little stubby and will not clean out the eyes on really small flies otherwise they are great."
Review 5 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool nippers,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I like the wide surface and cool pattern. Very sharp tool."
Review 6 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
trout skin nipper,
May 1, 2013
By: kellyfmtx
from Texas
"These nippers look awesome. I love the trout skin look. The nippers are constructed very nice as well. They cut my tippet with no problems at all. I bought these nippers to replace an older/cheaper pair. I like that they have tungsten carbide in the nippers."
Review 7 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
March 16, 2013
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"Very sharp, & can angle the corner in nicely to get into tricky spots (marabou everywhere or a tangle)."
Review 8 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works and looks great!,
January 26, 2013
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Haven't had an issue yet with these nippers. They are easy to grab, cut well and look fantastic!"
Review 9 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Add some flash,
January 14, 2013
By: NAZdogwalker
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Add a little bit of flash to your fishing setup. These nippers work great and look super cool."
Review 10 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knot's friend,
January 9, 2013
By: waterspider
from Fairfax, VA
"A compact nipper that makes finishing up knot ends easy. Well made, cuts precisely."
Review 11 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
work well and look good doing it,
December 28, 2012
By: patroutguy
"The nippers got here in a hurry. They look excellent and so far, even in the cold, I have had no problems squeezing them. They have cut everything from 6x to 30lb mono with no issues."
Review 12 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small Nippers,
December 19, 2012
By: geoJim
"So far these nippers work great! They are a bit small in hand which could pose a problem for a big handed fellow."
Review 13 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good set of clippers,
October 19, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I got these for my daughter, and stole them back because she doesn't want to fish like I do. I use them as a second set of nippers, but I find myself grabbing them more often then not."
Review 14 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
razor sharp,
May 9, 2012
By: Steve54
from Littleton NH
"very sharp....hooked to a zinger makes it always ready to use....changing flies just got a lot eaiser"
Review 15 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than good looks,
December 27, 2011
By: Gumby26
from Wisconsin
"Have used these for a couple years now and love them. They cut great and have remained sharp. Recently gave a pair to my steelhead fishing buddy."
Review 16 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Nippers,
September 6, 2011
By: TripleTOutfitters
from Fort Worth, Texas
"These are really nice nippers they look great well made just need to be sharper maybe the ones I received just did not get sharpened all the way."
Review 17 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good size for lanyard,
August 31, 2011
By: BlackMarlin
"I use this nipper every week! Good size but lacks force for larger test."
Review 18 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not up to Orvis Quality,
August 6, 2011
By: CasualT
from Western NY
"Only 1 small spot at the very edge of the nippers would cut 7X tippet material cleanly . Would definitly not recommmend. Overpriced for the poor quality."
Review 19 for Trout Skin Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper ever,
January 9, 2011
By: sefr
from Montana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just love this orvis Nipper. all features of this nipper are just awsum. It cuts the line with a very small effort and pin works brilliantly to clean the eye. It also looks very beautiful.Thank you orvis for lunching such a wonderful Nipper."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trout Skin Nipper
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2