Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon

Stay cool in the hot summer sun in a handsome natural straw hat that combines fine Ecuadoran weaving and top-notch American construction. Grosgrain ribbon hatband with exclusive Orvis hat pin. Panama hat for men in tan. Made in USA.Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝), XXL(7¾-7⅞).
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Review 1 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 9, 2014
By: whitey622
"classy and comfortable,nice air flow.keeps my head cool."
Review 2 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a really nice panama,
August 6, 2014
By: mcginty
from Central Mass.
"Its picture doesn't do this hat justice. It looks great on the hatrack and even better on my head.
The weaving and construction of this hat are first rate. The straw itself actually smells good--the aroma hits you as soon as you open the box.
I am a true size 7, and at first the stretch sweatband of the medium felt too tight. After wearing the hat a few
times, the band seems to have
conformed to my head and now feels fine.
Looking forward to wearing this hat for many summers.
"
Review 3 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good design, weaving was off on brim,
July 24, 2014
By: p148697
"had to return it; regretably, there were several small holes in the weaving of the brim. As for sizing, XL was not right for my head (7 5/8 in). Just didn't fit right. really too bad, since it was a beautiful hat and the price was right"
Review 4 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
July 19, 2014
By: DennisM11
from LA, CA
"The customer reviews on Orvis were a big reason why I bought this specific hat versus other Orvis hats as the sun gets very hot [in my opinion] here in LA and it fits nice and firmly on my head and looks great - it's a winner."
Review 5 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hot Weather Hat,
May 28, 2014
By: PapaJim
from Caldwell, TX
"Texas summers demand well-vented hats. Panama straw is my material of choice but tightly woven Panamas hold heat and promote sweating. This is the only Orvis model this season that features decent ventilation. It also stands out for its CoolMax stretchy inner sweat band to custom-tune the fit. The whole package is well worth its price: comfort and sun protection; style and performance all found together. I wear this hat every day."
Review 6 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No Panama hat,
September 14, 2013
By: BigMC
"I have had Panama hats for years. Always looking for replacement. This hat is more like a cowboy hat. Straw is hard not soft as it should be."
Review 7 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for on the Boat,
December 16, 2012
By: Barto2Boats
from Nantwich, Cheshire
"What a wonderful Hat for those sunny days on board my Narrowboat!
It is absolutley ideal and such a fashion icon as well. It's tall enough to allow the air to circulate, and fits like a glove (no pun intended). I would highly reccoment this hat to anyone with a taste for quality looking for a Hat which is certainly 'Fit for Purpose'
"
Review 8 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice hat,
July 6, 2011
By: Lidguy
from Chicago
"Really nice hat. Looks great. I have gotten lots of compliments on it. Sized just right for a 7 5/8. Lined crown protects from sun and vents really cool your head."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookin' Sooo Cool,
June 14, 2011
By: Schoonering
from Long Island, NY
"I am a guy who wears an XXL hat. Finding hats that fit is certainly a challenge; finding a hat that fits AND garners compliments, now that a huge challenge. I wear this hat on the golf course and to the occasional garden party. Alas, It hasn't improved my golf game but it does get noticed at those afternoon parties. Now, if would only make me look 10 years younger."
Review 10 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where is the sun?,
June 8, 2011
By: CotswoldJames
from Burford, England
"I purchased this hat in May and the sun has barely shone since after such a fantastic April. On the bright side, great quality and fit and on the one day it has been warm lately, was vey comfortable and cool. Quite a different and distinctive style that can be worn with casual as well as more formal attire."
Review 11 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good sun hat,
March 10, 2011
By: metroliner
from Rice Lake, WI
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I thought the hat I ordered was a little smaller then the size indicated but think the next size up would be too big and did not want to send this one back to find out if I was right. The other comment about the label was correct, I had to cut it out of the hat as it was very sharp, too bad they can't print the information on the band. Should be a good hat to wear on warm sunny days if our snow ever leaves."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Classy Summer Straw Hat,
June 19, 2010
By: RobertDR
from Boise, Idaho
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just received my new hat and am delighted with its' quality, looks and comfort. And I really like the open mesh weave in the crown, and know that it will come in very handy during muggy, humid days out on the fairways. The color and the banding look like the kind of straw hats Frank Sinatra used to wear (I'm an amateur musician in my spare time) -- you can see him wearing a similar one on one his album covers. Overall, a terrific hat at a very reasonable price."
Review 13 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome!,
May 29, 2010
By: JWL222
from Wauwatosa, WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic Hat. Tons of compliments. One looks as classy as can get while still being considered casual. Also, the hat it teflon treated..."
Review 14 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive & Worth the Money,
April 23, 2010
By: wrbtu
from Long Island Motor Parkway
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've spent hours looking for a good quality vented panama hat on the internet. Most of the hats out there are junky, selling for less than $40 but of poor quality. This hat is better looking than any I found, & the price is reasonable for a hat of this quality. It's not stiff, like a typical straw hat, it's softer, like the more expensive panamas. The open vent sides (with solid top, for sun protection) is ideal for the summers here (hot & humid), & you can feel a nice, slight breeze, even when walking in a no-wind situation. The Inner sweat band is soft & cushioned & comfortable, but it's marred by a stiff, prickly, nylon Orvis tag, which I had to cut out for comfort; surely there's a better way for Orvis to handle that. Also, the packing was less than ideal, & the box arrived crushed. Fortunately, the hat has a "crusher" feature that gives about one inch at the top, so no damage was done to the hat."
Review 15 for Vented Panama Hat with Ribbon
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat for Tropics,
April 13, 2010
By: Edster
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great hat for the tropics. Looks good & allows for airflow so you keep a cool head. Most handy if the humidity is high."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.