Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Foreign Legion Oxford

Explore every rugged corner of the world in the same ultradurable men's canvas sneakers worn by the French Foreign Legion since 1947. Made from tough, breathable 20-oz. pure cotton canvas—dyed and stonewashed for a vintage, broken-in look—and an abrasion-resistant one-piece rubber outsole. Two-piece sock liner; cushioned EVA footbed. Canvas sneakers for men in olive, dark khaki. Cotton canvas and rubber. Imported.Whole and half sizes; 8-11½, 12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foreign Legion Oxford
Review 1 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected,
January 1, 2013
By: zip111
from western Colorado
"Size is accurate. Quality is good.
A casual style for travel.
"
Review 2 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise fit,
November 26, 2012
By: Nanabryce
from Santa Cruz, CA
"Was sure we'd have to return the shoes as ordering shoes over the net is dicey....but, lo and behold, these shoes fit "like a glove" right out of the box...very comfortable and good looking!"
Review 3 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
makes too much of a statement,
November 19, 2012
By: R1234
from VA
"Shoe was a good fit. Color was "too canvas-green" to look either casual or chic. Change the color and sell more shoes."
Review 4 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Break in required,
November 19, 2012
By: WillisC
"I have not gooten blisters on my heels from new shoes in many years, so these canvas shoes were a reminder of some childhood sneakers. They will eventually be fine. They seem well made. I think they get some style points...if they look that bad they must be cool."
Review 5 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile Shoes,
November 14, 2012
By: beege6
from Up North Michigan
"The only reason I gave these shoes a 4 is that they are a little tight in the toe box. Otherwise they are very versatile with a great tread pattern for Michigan winters and quite comfortable."
Review 6 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Casual Shoes,
October 23, 2012
By: LKarry
"Comfortable and look good. I got compliments the first time I wore them."
Review 7 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Funky But Practical,
October 22, 2012
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"I got the green color with the gray rubber soles and trim and I love everything about them. I wear them just about everywhere (haven't taken them to church, yet) and get smiles and comments, all around. All agree, thery're so funky, they're cool. And, scuff? Well, I could be run over by a bus and these shoes would be no worse for wear."
Review 8 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible shoes,
October 5, 2012
By: Sorefoot
"Very uncomfortable, thin insoles. On the way back for return."
Review 9 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great but...,
September 8, 2012
By: IronMac
"I really thought that I had hit the jackpot with this shoe. It was light, rugged and seemed able to deal with hot, humid weather. Unfortunately, I must have missed any mention that this shoe is a bit too narrow for my medium width feet."
Review 10 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Your basic boots-on-the-ground shoe,
August 14, 2012
By: mlatorra
from Las Cruces, New Mexico
"I bought this shoe because I was in need of footwear with functionality somewhere between hiking boots and casual knock-around wear. The Foreign Legion Oxford appeared to fit the bill. After two weeks of breaking it in, I can confirm that this is indeed the case. The shoe is light and rugged, comfortable and tough. When (if?) this pair wears out, I would buy a replacement pair. It's that good."
Review 11 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Everyshoe!,
July 24, 2012
By: Yakatak
from Columbia, SC
"Not many shoes that you can flyfish in, dry them off, and then wear out to the club. The last is narrow, which fits my feet great, but considering the canvas upper, should accommodate wider feet just fine. Simple, quality construction. Now I need a green pair."
Review 12 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foreign Legion Oxford,
July 20, 2012
By: Bricktop
from Greendale, WI
"Excellent Value! These shoes are a no brainer for the money that you spend. The shoes are very stylish, the material is very durable and simplicity is what makes these so awesome. Similar shoes in different brands go for at least twice the cost, but these shoes are the real deal."
Review 13 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waited a long time,
July 17, 2012
By: trapshooter1
from CT
"I admired these shoes for a number of years but wondered about the cloth body. I wonder no more. On sale at a great price so i jumped; very, very comfortable and cool in the hot temps. I wear a size 10 but returned the originals for a 101/2. Nice find Orvis and at a great price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Foreign Legion Oxford,
July 3, 2012
By: cavlt63
from Atlanta
"Neither pair of these shoes fit. They are way too narrow. I suppose they would fit someone who had a foot shaped like a cucumber. Now I have to go through the hassle of a return.
cavlt63
"
Review 15 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes!,
May 25, 2012
By: Tweedyboy
from Ann Arbor, MI.
"These are the first cloth shoes I've had in years. Extremely comfortable. I wore them on vacation with no breaking in. One caveat, While ordering, I asked about the sizing and was recommended to get 1/2 size larger. These were way too big. They were replaced with the smaller size which fit well right out of the box."
Review 16 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pretty good shoes,
May 15, 2012
By: glj6
from Pittsboro, NC
"I buy a lot of shoes. walk all day for work, active on weekends too. I wore these 2 days in a row which is nearly impossible. they fit well, have good support and look good too. I'll probably get a second pair."
Review 17 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
May 3, 2012
By: cajunguy
from Lafayette, La.
"I've only worn these shoes a couple of times but I like them. They're comfortable & seem well made. I wore them for 10-12 hours at an outdoor festival with no problems."
Review 18 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 1, 2012
By: Leonid
"Nice shoes. I am going to use them as a safety pair when going on a business trip"
Review 19 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tired of sneakers?!,
April 2, 2012
By: Lank
from Scottsdale, Az,
"I was tired of wearing sneakers but wanted a good walking shoe that could also be worn to dinner when we are traveling, especially in Europe. This shoe is comfortable, looks good and fits the spot!"
Review 20 for Foreign Legion Oxford
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
January 18, 2012
By: Seniorpaco
from California
"Size is right on the money for my wide foot. Very comfortable. My wife should get a pair and thinking about buying a back up pair."