Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Foreign Legion Boots

Explore every rugged corner of the world in the same ultradurable footwear used by the French Foreign Legion since 1947 with these men's canvas ankle boots. Tough, breathable 20-oz. pure cotton canvas—dyed and stonewashed for a vintage, broken-in look—and an abrasion-resistant one-piece rubber outsole create a boot tough enough to take on the desert of North Africa. Two-piece sock liner; cushioned EVA footbed. Men's canvas ankle boots in dark khaki, olive. Cotton canvas and rubber. Imported. Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
62 of 64(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foreign Legion Boots
Review 1 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Quality and Comfort Shoes,
November 20, 2012
By: Kirill
from Kiev, Ukraine
"Perfect choice for long walk in hot weather. Will be appropriate for summer hunting, I use them for quail shooting when dry. Feet stay dry which is important when worn for a long period. Very light and durable at the same time, I tested them in bush when shooting pheasants. Price to value ratio is excellent, highly recommended! I also use them for carp fishing in summer."
Review 2 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
desert boot,
November 19, 2012
By: OutdoorinAL
from Gulf Shores AL
"This is a very comfortable boot. I live in a warm climate. Although a little expensive, this is a good quality shoe and serves the purpose from casual to light hiking."
Review 3 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lightweight boots you can find!,
October 26, 2012
By: JMT2012
from Lookout Mt., GA
"These boots are perfect for wearing with jeans and khakis. They are very comfortable and fit "true to size". But they are "trail worthy" as well.
This is my second pair of the Palladium "Foreign Legion Boots". I wore the first pair for a month-long trip in Israel and Jordan combing over archaeological sites. I then wore them for a 60+ mile, week long section hike on the John Muir Trail the Sierra Nevada. They performed flawlessly and have worn very well. In all of my travels wearing these boots, I did not have any issues with blisters. They are a superb choice for a lightweight canvas boot. I wanted to purchase another pair to keep in reserve for future adventures. Highly recommended!"
Review 4 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
October 24, 2012
By: adsum12
from Ottawa, ON
"In the past I have worked with French troops serving in tropical countries and I have always envied their boots. Now I have some. The boots are made of canvas so they breathe very well and the rubber soles insulate from the heat. I have also found them to be fairly resistant to dew and light rain. These are not dress shoes but work very well for outdoor work, particularly in gravel or sandy conditions."
Review 5 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Narrowly fine,
October 16, 2012
By: DrRon
from Shaker Heights, OH
"Early in the process of wearing these I like them fine with one reservation. They were available only in Medium width. Since this is the favored boot of the members of the French Foreign Legion, perhaps their feet are narrower than mine. However, they are comfortable in most respects. Their durability will be tested over time. They are getting a lot of use so far."
Review 6 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good buy,
October 5, 2012
By: Diablo
from Jackson, MI
"Comfortable right from the beginning. They have become my shoe of choice, work or home. Have not matched them t with dress slacks and sport coat (which seems to be the rage of the younger set) but the look with demin is great.
Other reviews had concerns about sizing so I ordered two pair, the size I usually buy fit right, so I had to spend extra shipping based on other reviews.
"
Review 7 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Feet,
September 21, 2012
By: 54553247
from Hot Springs Village, AR
"I love the shoes so much that I ordered another pair. They are extremely comfortable and during the hot days of September been easy on the feet. Plan on taking them on my next trip."
Review 8 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice looking...but...,
August 21, 2012
By: lionhart
"First off, I REALLY liked the styling of these boots. Right out of the box, you can definitely tell that these are a pair of quality constructed boots. The canvas is good, the soles firmly attached, and the eyelets are on there to stay. Even the laces are of a good quality. I ordered my standard size, and they fit me perfectly the first time. They are extremely light boots, perfect for those hot days. My issue with them though was the support was lacking, and after wearing them for just a few hours, it became unbearable. I promptly boxed them up, and returned them. I really wished they had worked out, but with little support, it was like I was walking bare on concrete. For this reason alone, I gave these boots 2 stars. If the support had been better, 5 stars all the way."
Review 9 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iconic,
August 18, 2012
By: veldloper
from Calgary, AB Canada
"I have been wearing these boots for more than 40 years, about one pair every two to three years, when I am not in uniform this is what I wear, during summer and dry winter days, for hiking, backpacking or just around town.
They are light, have soles with good grip, keep my feet cool on hot days, are easy to clean - I wash mine by hand although I have washed them in the machine without any adverse effects - easy to pack, and give me just the support I need without unnecessary bulk or weight.
My first three pairs still had the original burlap insoles, no support at all though easy to wash, the present insoles are a lot better.
If for some reason, I hope never, the manufacturer decides to discontinue these boots, I hope to be informed of it ahead of time so I can buy 10 to 20 pair, so as to be sure I never have to "set foot" in those over-engineered, over-priced, over-promoted hideous spaceship resembling synthetic monstrosities passing for hiking-boots these days.
"
Review 10 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Product,
August 14, 2012
By: ralphg
from North Carolina
"Really enjoying this pair of boots. The boots double for casual and when working. Their comortable and durable. Quite well made for the price. Had no expectations and was impressed when received. Can wear with kakis, jeans or shorts."
Review 11 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfy,
August 10, 2012
By: tobester
from Jersey
"Usually wear 11W, ordered 1/2 size up, fit perfect. Ideal hot weather wear, taking on Florida Disney vacation. Removable insole is great idea."
Review 12 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old standard sets new Standard,
July 23, 2012
By: BigStan
from Arlington MA
"I love these. They look good, feel good. Forget the expensive, overly padded, super-soled tech-to-the-extreme footwear. These basic, high quality canvas boots get me over hill and dale with comfort. The one-piece rubber sole is geat for rock climbing and fine for the street as well. A canvas shoe with a rubber sole, what a concept. Who knew?"
Review 13 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid construction,
July 23, 2012
By: Shocked
from Northern Virginia
"Bought these to wear when riding my harley when the temperature exceeds 95. Made for a cooler ride although they would be improved by having non-slip soles. They appear to be a sturdy construction. Ordered the green color. It's a bit of strange shade of green, which doesn't match the picture on the orvis site, but it's not a deal breaker."
Review 14 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SIMPLE IS BETTER,
June 12, 2012
By: DYLANANDY
"Working in Baghdad, I needed a durable boot that would breath in 110 degree temperatures. These boots are wonderful!!! I've ordered two pairs and im about to order my third!"
Review 15 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Wanted,
April 15, 2012
By: hagenhiker
from Truckee, CA
"These boots were comfortable from the beginning and you often forget you are wearing boots. They are perfect for dry warm weather- keeping your feet cool and comfortable. They have excellent traction on slippery slopes due to the large lugs and soft rubber on the sole."
Review 16 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
March 14, 2012
By: Diapason
from Minnesota
"I read the many reviews of these boots (green for me) before ordering and everything I read is right on. These fit well, true to size, were comfortable right out of the box and very cool (literally and also in style)."
Review 17 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 13, 2012
By: Fearless
from Albuquerque,NM
"Gtreat fit,cool and comfortable.....pretty cool looking too."
Review 18 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
February 6, 2012
By: Buckeyeman
from Dallas, Texas
"I have been looking for a comfortable pair of shoes to wear in the yard and to wear with my casual wear during the week. They are very, very comfortable and stylish. I have been asked where I bought them and how do they feel. I am considering ordering another pair in another color as a back up for these. Great look, style and comfort!!!"
Review 19 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
January 31, 2012
By: Hars
"Great boots. I like the fit, comfort, appearance. Great for around town or in the field."
Review 20 for Foreign Legion Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
November 5, 2011
By: MrChristi
from Aransas Pass, Texas
"I needed a pair of boots for Wade Fishing on the Texas Gulf Coast.
The bottom is a mixture of sand, mud and oyster shell. I need boots that are very comfortable and will protect my feet while fishing.
These boots are outstanding!!!
Perhaps this is not part of the original design of these boots!!
But they are perfect for what I need.
"