Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brass Knife

Our smallest pocketknife, perfect for everyday use. Solid brass handles with a stainless-steel blade ensure years of faithful service. Secure lock-back design. 2¼"L when closed. Weighs in at just 0.9 oz. Personalize this small folding pocket knife with engraving, up to 12 letters on the reverse side of the handle. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
18 of 23(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brass Knife
Review 1 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Knife,
December 15, 2014
By: RyanLynch
from CT
"Great Christmas gift for someone who is either not picky or has everything. I went for the engraving which added a nice extra touch.
Very nice and handy small knife and I think (check the website) it is small enough for carry on luggage which is always a plus!"
Review 2 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Size,
December 15, 2014
By: Rayzr
from Sunset Beach, NC
"The size of this knife is perfect for any front pocket without being too weighty and cumbersome. Well made and sturdy with a sharp blade."
Review 3 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Knife doesn't cut it,
December 10, 2014
By: PaulG131
from Pasadena, CA
"This knife is so small its only functional purpose would be as a letter opener. It came in a box with a cutout that is supposed to match the knife, but it does not. It makes for a very sloppy appearance. I would return it, but I had it engraved."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceDecember 22, 2014
This product ships directly from the vendor and even though engraved, we took back the knife with a full refund. We then reached out to the customer and offered him personal assistance in finding the proper knife to fit his needs.
Review 4 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Small,
December 3, 2014
By: TCBR
"The product appears well made, but it is too small for the price."
Review 5 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little knife,
December 2, 2014
By: JW2014
"I received this knife as a gift two years ago and it has been a trusty companion ever since. It is a quality piece that fits perfectly in my pocket. I liked it so much that it will serve as a holiday gift to others this year."
Review 6 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Brass Knife,
September 21, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I bought this knife for everyday use, and I carry it in my briefcase. I appreciate its quality construction, positive lock back, sharp blade and leather-lined box that makes an impressive presentation. I also appreciate Orvis offering this and other unique Col. Littleton USA-made products. Very nice."
Review 7 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Maybe Unhappy,
April 14, 2014
By: emaw12
from Kansas
"This knife is a perfect fit for a purse, blazer/sportcoat pocket. The engraving was nicely done. My issue with this knife is that it is not sharp--not even "kinda" sharp. I purchased this as a gift and had it sent directly to the person I was buying it to give to; needless to say, I am unhappy that I gave it as a gift...without seeing the product first. I would have returned the knife."
Review 8 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He Loves the Knife,
February 25, 2014
By: Judy8473
from Central California
"I purchased this knife for my husband for Valentine's Day and he loves it. Made well and great size! Thanks for the high quality products."
Review 9 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little knife,
February 15, 2014
By: RESmith
"This knife was just what I wanted. The engraving is a nice touch and it arrived sharp. The locking mechanism is an added bonus. Check the size before you order. This is a true pocket knife and may be smaller than expected. Very satisfied customer. It also comes with a moon pie."
Review 10 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It is defiantly Cute,
January 13, 2014
By: HCook
"It's my own fault that I did not check the dimensions. It is very small, but it's cute."
Review 11 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brass Knife,
January 6, 2014
By: DeerMan
"Excellent little pocket knife.
Brass knife with locking blade, very small and compact. Easily fits in any
pants pocket. Nice and sharp too.
Handy for many a little task that may come up. I especially like it for opening packages and letters.
"
Review 12 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little knife!,
January 5, 2014
By: JDS2416
from Cortlandt MANOR NY
"Thank you Orvis for such a great product! I purchased this for my father for a Christmas gift. The engraving came out perfect. He loved the knife. keep up the great work offering elegant and affordable products"
Review 13 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pocket knife ever!,
January 3, 2014
By: JDS2416
from Cortlandt MANOR NY
"Well I bought the knife for gift for my father for Christmas. He is an avid knife collector and has nothing like this little knife. He was instantly impressed with the craftsmen ship and its stunning appearance! He fell in love with the knife right away! He and I both love the fact that it was made right here in the good Ole U.S. of A. !! The company included a nice little note as well as a moon pie ! The item was shipped very quickly and the engraving came out beautiful! Thank You again Orvis for offering sch a wonderful product! You have a customer for life!"
Review 14 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect gift,
December 20, 2013
By: DRinTX
from San Antonio, TX
"I bought three of these knives; two for my employers, and one for my son for his birthday. The craftsmanship is beautiful, the presentation is excellent. These knives are made by Col. Littleton for Orvis. I had each of the ones I purchased engraved, to give them a more personal touch. I expect my son to pass his on to my grandson one of these days."
Review 15 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gentleman's Choice,
December 9, 2013
By: buhlman84
from Idaho
"A true gentleman's pocket knife. Very impressive looking, yet functional. Small enough to go unnoticed in suit trousers."
Review 16 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift,
September 9, 2013
By: CottonConvert
from San Francisco, CA
"Purchased this as a gift for several friends. Small but solid construction - wouldn't use this to carve wood but again it's great gift. Engraving is good - the custom message looks "more recent" than the Orvis logo. Nice presentation in a small cardboard box with leather tray."
Review 17 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Search is over.,
September 2, 2013
By: TexasHillCountry
"I had been looking for a good quality, small, slim, unobtrusive, pocket knife. I found it."
Review 18 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice small knife,
August 3, 2013
By: REHJ
from Long Island, New York
"I like always having a knife with me. This knife is well made and small. It fits in vest pockets, it fits in the secondary small pocket in sports coats, never leaves a bulge in you pants pocket. I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 19 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Knife,
January 17, 2013
By: sweetk
from Carbondale,PA
"I was very happy with the brass knife I got for my Boyfriend for xmas. It arrived three days after I ordered it when I was told it would take two weeks since I got his name on it. The knife came in a nice box with a certificate and a free whoopie pie. It was smaller then I thought but all in all I love the knife and it is something he will keep with him forever."
Review 20 for Brass Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best little knife you can own,
December 15, 2012
By: patrick527
"This knife is a pleasure to own but guard it with your life . I use several times a day and have had to put it away before someone walked away with it . I work with all men and everyone of them has picked it up and admired this little beauty . I have several of your quality products . This knife I would reccomend as a gift for anyone"