Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket

Beautifully tailored, this classic silk hacking jacket is designed to last a lifetime. Woven in rich shades of camel, thyme, and merlot, our exclusive silk Hacking jacket has notched lapels, one chest pocket, front flap pockets, and flat genuine leather buttons. Fully lined in satin-finish polyester. Silk tailored hacking jacket in multi color. Pure silk. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: 6-20; about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Review 1 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
October 9, 2012
By: kyphilly
from Lexington, Ky.
"I bought one size smaller per an earlier review suggestion. It fit perfectly except the sleeve length was a little too long. That can be fixed easily, The material feels soft and is great quality. It is the perfect fall weight and fun to wear."
Review 2 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful jacket,
September 28, 2012
By: Betsey2
from Waynesville, NC
"This jacket has beautiful, vivid colors, mostly gold with dark green, brown, & blue. It has a soft texture since it is silk and has a fragile feel to it. I purchased the stretch moleskin pants in loden green, from Orvis to wear with it . Makes a beautiful outfit."
Review 3 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Fabric and Workmanship,
August 17, 2012
By: LabbyLover
"This jacket is a classic. The fabric and workmanship are beautiful. The picture doesn't do justice to the rich colors. This is an extremely versatile piece--highly recommend it."
Review 4 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanting this for a couple of years,
August 16, 2012
By: dwin
"Yes, when the catalog arrived, My first check was to see if the jacket was still available. I have been keeping an eye on this jacket for a long time. I tried my jacket on and it felt beautiful . The hound tooth tailoring is exceptional at every seam. I am delighted to have it hanging in the closet waiting for its season to arrive."
Review 5 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!,
July 28, 2012
By: MartiC
from Mechanicsville, VA
"Beautiful jacket. I received this today and just love it. Very well made. You will not be disappointed if you get this."
Review 6 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High quality, runs large,
June 12, 2012
By: Brice
from Seattle, WA
"This is a high quality jacket at a great price. I was curious about the thread size used in the weave. I am pleased that a large gauge of smooth silk thread is used so it looks similar to a wool herringbone but with a nice sheen and seasonless weight. The colors are beautiful and versatile.
My only wishes, as others have mentioned, are that the shoulder pads were slightly smaller and that Orvis offered it in petite lengths, as I'll need to tuck the sleeves under or have it altered.
The jacket runs large. I would usually wear a 14 or 12, so I ordered a 12 per others' comments. I could probably even wear a 10."
Review 7 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a hacking jacket,
May 28, 2012
By: fieldmaster
from horse country in S E PA.
"This jacket labeled hacking jacket is actually a jacket- delete hacking, It is too short in t he body and lacks a rear vent. The sleeves are disproportionately long relative to the body of the jacket. One would never wear a jacket like this hacking. It would have been better labeled as a handsome tweed to wear in the country casually or in the city as part of slightly dressier outfits. A suggestion of a size chart would be nice in the catalog. The person who took my phone order was definitely unhelpful with sizing information."
Review 8 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket!,
May 25, 2012
By: Stone1953
from Houston, TX
"I purchased this jacket for my wife as a Mother's Day gift. She was extremely pleased with the cut and fit of the jacket. Also, the material is top quality, another hit Orvis!"
Review 9 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hacking,
May 25, 2012
By: Aikenite
from Aiken, SC
"This jacket was a gift I gave to my wife. She just bought a new horse and plans to Hunt it next season.. So she needed a hacking jacket for early season - cubbing - that is light weight but fashionable. She was very impressed with it and will wear it to ride. I however, was a little disapointed as it appeared in the photo to be double vented; which itis not vented at all. Having a double vent makes it easier to wear while riding as it does not fall beblow the back of the sattle - so as you sit on it. Anyway my wife the true horseman in the family says it is short enough that sitting on it is not a roblem. Wheew... very nice.
Col Bob"
Review 10 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket, But The Color Is....,
May 22, 2012
By: BoniRose
from Minnesota
"This jacket fits well and the fabric is very nice. The description describes the color as "camel," among other things. I have a camel skirt...no comparison, sorry to say. I sent it back.
I would call it "gold."
I realize that colors are objective, but their names do compell many of us to buy...or not."
Review 11 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Quality and Verstility,
May 21, 2012
By: greengaga
from Arcanum, OH
"The silk houndstooth hacking jacket fit great and the finishing details are superior. The mutued but varied colors in the checks provide a multitude of options to coordinate ensembles and add accessories. I unwrapped the shipping box, put on the jacket and wore it right away. It sure spruced up my generic white shirt and chinos along with olive green bib beads languishing in my drawer. The mid weight of the jacket is just right for our mixed May weather."
Review 12 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Returned,
May 4, 2012
By: DianaP
from Chicago
"The jacket's quality was disappointing, unfortunatelly - the fabric was soft and thin. The hacking jacket is supposed to be firm, structured, well fitting. This was neither, it looked cheap. I've returned it."
Review 13 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very smart,
May 1, 2012
By: Ongarbridge
from Near London
"Excellent quality, smart, well sized.
Will look great anywhere.
A superb addition to my wardrobe.
"
Review 14 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 23, 2012
By: Boothe
from Akron, Ohio
"This jacket has vibrant colors and wonderful texture. It is a perfect mix and match jacket for many different colors of dress slacks. It is fun to wear."
Review 15 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unfortunately, too big for me,
October 29, 2011
By: Prillie
from Bryn Mawr, Pa.
"Normally I can find my size in stores, I am a small, but you don't have anything to fit me- why not have a fit for women my size.
If you introduced xxsmall petites, you would make so many of us happy.
"
Review 16 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dress for Success,
September 15, 2011
By: Smuck
"This silk houndstooth jacket can be used for very dressy occasions, but also dresses down a bit for a slightly more casual look. It goes with almost anything, and has a good fit. The one down side is that there are no longer inside pockets designed to hold air tickets or passports."
Review 17 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very elegant,
August 27, 2011
By: Gentleman
from Horsham, PA
"The catalog photo and internet shots do not do justice to this vibrantly colored jacket. The colors blend but are quite distinctive. Maria likes the fit of the Small size as she is petite. Sleeve length is just right which is always a concern. Well tailored and a good value."
Review 18 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silk Houndstooth Blazer,
July 29, 2011
By: TowneandCountry68
"Fine Jacket/Blazer with casual day sunshiny flair! Reviewing this as a petite mature female, the fit is
proportionally different than the above model. The length still works but the sleeves needed t be folded
back. I kinda like it still, it reminds me a vintage store
find. The quality, inner lining and buttons is reminiscent
of a classic jacket. For Petites the biggest negative would be the large shoulder pads.
"
Review 19 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful jacket,
November 11, 2010
By: MyChins
from King George, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was looking for a blazer like jacket to wear with wool camel slacks. This jacket was perfect! It's light weight so you can keep it on all day and you can layer it with vests and blouses or wear a turtleneck sweater. Either way it looks very expensive. The colors are very nice and not too bright and the fit is right on. Love this jacket, it was exactly what I was looking for."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk Houndstooth Hacking Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth every penny and then some,
August 30, 2010
By: VauxCal
from Philadelphia, Pa.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Beautifully cut, perfect fit, I am <5 ft 4 and about 115 lbs, the jacket is a size six and even the sleeve ends just where it should. The colors in the jacket are compatible with a lot of my wardrobe because they are fairly neutral. Buttons on the sleeves actually work a great finishing touch! It is a wonderful jacket and worth every penny. I am an interior designer and have always believed that when working with a modest budget, buying one or two fine quality pieces for a room creates an illusion of good quality throughout. I feel this way about this jacket; because of its' excellent quality my bargain blouse or skirt appears to be of the same high quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.