Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Double-Faced Check Shirt

This black-and-white-checked shirt features a smaller check pattern inside—just fold back the button cuffs to reveal the coordinating interior. Soft cotton. Long sleeves, point collar, rounded shirttail hem with side vents. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12); about 26" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Review 1 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
who buys a folded item,
March 6, 2013
By: maud51
"no one in their right minds would buy anything that is folded why not display the whole shirt. Is there a large hole in the back that you don't want anyone to see and to save on fabric just the one sleeve???"
Review 2 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic gingham shirt,
December 29, 2012
By: mjeaniepi
from Daphne, AL
"Very nice black and white large print gingham shirt., well made. The fit is generous compared to shirt sizes from other companies.. Heartily recommend this shirt!"
Review 3 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
liked the large check and lining,
October 10, 2012
By: philpot
from kansas
"Just what I was looking for in a shirt. Wear it with a red vest or a red mock turtleneck under it, with black slacks and a "eye catching" outfit."
Review 4 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great check,
October 2, 2012
By: McDawg
"Shirt is true to size
Fabric is a little heavier than I expected - it's 100% cotton but feels like a light flannel"
Review 5 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size out of balance,
September 6, 2012
By: Mamomm
"Neck opening is way too large....out of proportion."
Review 6 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality construction,
September 3, 2012
By: Knitpicker
from knitpicker
"I love the small check facing on the shirt....a quality item."
Review 7 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
August 14, 2012
By: Shutterbug
from Kentucky
"The material is great. The fit is great. Washed well and I even put it in the dryer on low heat for a few minutes to tumble out wrinkles and soften it up. The instructions on the label say "hang to dry," but I don't like the stiffness of clothes that are hung to dry... It is cotton, so it did shrink a little, but I ordered it large enough to allow for my preference to use the dryer."
Review 8 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Double-faced Check Shirt,
August 6, 2012
By: Silly2Pup
from Kentucky
"The double-faced shirt is all I hoped it would be. It's a classic, looks very
chic with the sleeves turned up and the interface showing. Love, love, love it and all Orvis styles.
"
Review 9 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alterations,
August 1, 2012
By: sqmy
from La Jolla, CA
"This is a very nice shirt, but was not fitted enough for me. I was going to return it, but then took it to the tailor and had him put darts in the back and the front. Much better! I am thin, and Orvis clothes are sometimes for a fuller figure, and maybe not "polished" enough."
Review 10 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cute idea but falls short,
July 30, 2012
By: CarmGirl
from Carmichael, CA
"Was not aware it was fully lined, probably because the fabric is too lightweight to stand alone. I will wear it though, like the style, it just would of been a nicer shirt made out of better fabric."
Review 11 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orvis Review,
November 7, 2011
By: Blonde
"The black/white checked shirt looks cute, but I'm concerned that the fabric is too loosely woven to stand up. I won't wash it because it may shrink. So it will be dry-cleaned. Orvis NEEDS TO UPDATE ITS STYLES AND COLORS. TOO MANY PASTELS/WEAK COLORS AND OLD-LADY STYLES. BORING CATALOG BECAUSE IT'S SO REPETITIVE. STYLES BAD IN-STORE. TOO MUCH CATALOG ORDERING + SHIPPING COSTS. FIT ISN'T CONSISTENT EITHER. UPDATE YOURSELF, ORVIS!!!"
Review 12 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Four season shirt,
September 28, 2011
By: genealogist
from Atlanta, GA
"The pattern is very bold, but works well for me as a over shirt with red shell. I bought it to go under the pictured vest, but wear it more often this way. Woven material is patterned on both sides--large outside, small checks inside. The light cotton will wear well in Atlanta, GA
all four seasons.
"
Review 13 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice shirt,
September 26, 2011
By: lkhs
"I bought this to go with the red vest. I like the two together. I prefer front chest pockets on my shirts so that would be my only comment. Have not had it long enough to wash and see how it holds up. It isn't super soft as I had hoped but washing may help."
Review 14 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and Comfortable Shirt,
September 18, 2011
By: Appleannie1
from Springfield, VA
"I ordered the red vest last year, and the shirt was not available when I decided to order it. I was surprised to see it again this year and liked the look of the shirt and vest together so decided to order it and am very pleased with it.
It is very soft and feels wonderful. With two layers, it is a little bit warmer so I think it will be better when the weather gets a little cooler.
"
Review 15 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice everyday blouse!,
September 13, 2011
By: Leanne
from Steilacoom, WA
"It was a surprise to find that the smaller check lining in this blouse is entire: not just inside of the cuffs and collar, which is quite common. This makes the blouse a little warmer, as well as much nicer than expected. It also washes and irons well, which is not always the case with fully lined garments. I purchased a M, and it is a tad larger than some M sized blouses, and that may be important to you if you are concerned about sizing. If you are interested in a black/white checked shirt for the fall, this is a good one."
Review 16 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy,
August 27, 2011
By: Classy2
from Spring, TX
"I bought the red quilted vest last year that was featured with this shirt. They both look great together. Instant class. Orvis reduces my shopping time to just minutes instead of hours."
Review 17 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
October 26, 2010
By: Karen89
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this shirt and want another one but they are all gone. Please bring them back.
It is hard to find such a top quality shirt these days. Most are cheap junk."
Review 18 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
September 21, 2010
By: TooBad
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I was disappointed (twice) with the quality of workmanship on this shirt. Buttoholes fray on first opening. Men's shirts are excellent. Why can't women's shirts be the same?"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 10, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the shirt did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure this jacket is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 19 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please, Orvis, carry more like this!,
September 3, 2010
By: blackdogfh
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wonderful blouse. Fabric is wonderful. Drapes beautifully. Washes well -- I dried it on low for 10 minutes and then hung to line dry -- no ironing! A blue check would have been fabulous too. I bought the red; am ordering the black."
Review 20 for Double-Faced Check Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firm favourite,
August 19, 2010
By: jpsmom
"Everything about this blouse pleases me. The material is soft; it is comfortable; it is well made and well cut; it launders beatifully and it looks good. Am definitely considering buying a second."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.