Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Silky Microfibre Big Shirt

Ease into autumn with a women's lightweight big shirt that always looks great; our silky microfibre is easy to care for and resists wrinkles. The big shirt has a point collar, button cuffs, and a straight hem with 3" side vents; about 28" long. In black. 100% Polyester. Washable. Sizes: L.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Review 1 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific top,
October 23, 2012
By: Sycamore
from Illinois
"Nice material and drap. Just right for chilly days. Fits perfectly over a blouse or knit top. Unfortunately, only black was available in my size or I would have bought ivory and dusky purple as well."
Review 2 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 6, 2012
By: wacky
from San Francisco, CA
"sleeves too long--I have short arms; I always prefer 3/4 sleeves. wrinkles hard to remove, even after washing."
Review 3 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Up to usual standard,
August 22, 2012
By: Dore
from Norfolk
"Colour great. Sleeves too long for me but have fixed that."
Review 4 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt,
August 18, 2012
By: elvy
from Wiltshire UK
"Nice fabric, good drape and well made. Unfortunately I had to return this item for a smaller size as it was too large although supposedly the size I usually take. The smaller size is good but still on the generous side especially in the sleeve length"
Review 5 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but runs large,
August 17, 2012
By: Nomane
"Sizing chart lead me to ordering a medium. Runs larger, small would have been better. Color, styling and quality is good."
Review 6 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
useful & adaptable,
August 4, 2012
By: shirtlover
from Hampshire UK
"I originally wanted a silk shirt, but it was not available. This is a good shirt, though a bit heavier than I originally wanted. Good quality, though I would have liked more button detail, ie. closer together, bit more interesting. I'll probaby change them. Good fit, on the large side, but that's OK. Comfortable to wear and could be 'dressed up' for evening, or worn with jeans. All round, a good useful shirt. Haven't washed yet, but packing creases ironed out well."
Review 7 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice for travel,
July 10, 2012
By: Dennie
"I have this shirt in both black and dusty purple and it is good for travel. initial wrinkles are hard to get out and require pressing with an iron on the light setting, but after that, the shirts are pretty care free. They can be worn alone as big shirts or as light jackets. Since they run big, I had to order a medium rather than the large that I wear in other Orvis tops."
Review 8 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ok,
March 27, 2012
By: Annet
from spartanburg sc
"There were 2 things Ii was a bit disappointed by
1) it arrived with wrinkles, and they would not shake out
2) I fear this is not a very breathable product
"
Review 9 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Blouse,
November 25, 2011
By: JBurk
from Barstow, CA
"This is a great product but it runs very large. My sister had to order a medium sized blouse even though she usually wears large sized blouses."
Review 10 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
October 24, 2011
By: GBID
"The description of this shirt is a little misleading. It is not "silky". It is a medium - heavy weight shirt. I wore it the other night and found that it is "BIG" -- almost too big. I ordered size L as I usually wear a size 14. I thought the shirt was comfortable, but a bit long."
Review 11 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely shirt,
October 13, 2011
By: Reds
"This shirt is really pretty, and fits well. I am very pleased with it."
Review 12 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition to my wardrobe,
September 29, 2011
By: Cabbie
from Cardiff
"A very nice micro fibre texture good fit and colour,I like this style and material."
Review 13 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So comfortable!,
September 3, 2011
By: RottieLady
"This shirt is extremely comfortable and, along with the matching tank, has received many compliments! I bought the purple and am thinking of getting it in black as well.
The big shirt fits large. I bought both tank and shirt in medium but might order the next shirt in small."
Review 14 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Invincible shirt for Travel,
February 17, 2011
By: screenwriter
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While I certainly understand the complaints of the previous reviewer, the quality of this shirt is undeniable. The fabric is light and rarely wrinkles, even after a long day on a plane or sitting at a desk at work. The style is extremely versatile and can be worn with fine gabardine or worn jeans. It can also serve as a nifty nightshirt when you're on the road. I only wish it came in a lot more colors..."
Review 15 for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in Florida,
February 10, 2011
By: Wildflower
from Florida
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"As with many blouses and sweaters and jackets.....the sleeves were WAY too long. I have had to return so many items that I have absolutely LOVED but the sleeves were down over my fingertips. Also, I found that this shirt did not fit well in the shoulders."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 27, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked her for her honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the fit wasn't as expected on our Silky Microfiber Big Shirt. Our live chat agents are happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before you place an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Silky Microfibre Big Shirt
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3