Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Gunnison Western Shirt

True western style with remarkable attention to detail sets this plaid shirt apart. Chambray accents, faux-tortoise snaps, and taped interior collar band. Western-style fit—cut trimmer than our standard shirt fit. Men's plaid western shirt in blue. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.27 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
2
65 of 74(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gunnison Western Shirt
Review 1 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Summer shirt,
August 8, 2013
By: BBtex
"Breathes well. Lightweight. Runs a bit large in size."
Review 2 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spot On,
July 30, 2013
By: Rayland
from Danville, CA
"This shirt is wonderful. It instantly became one of my favorites and I have a lot of shirts (just ask my wife).It does run a shade large so I ordered one size down. Great feel, great weight and super look."
Review 3 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent quality and good fit.,
July 30, 2013
By: Bobsky
"Was worried about the size reading other reviews, but the shirt fitted just right for me usually wearing Large. However, I did expect the material to be of a bit better quality. Still decent purchase and I give it four stars."
Review 4 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT shirt!!!!,
July 30, 2013
By: JasonB
from Boston
"I LOVE this shirt. Looks and feels great!!!! Excellent quality!!!!"
Review 5 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
July 7, 2013
By: Txmike
from Memphis
"This shirt was on sale and was a great value. I ordered it online and orvis shipped super quick. The fit is as expected except for the length which runs a bit long if you plan on wearing the shirt untucked. I'm otherwise very happy with the shirt and would recommend it."
Review 6 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great shirt, fit is off,
July 1, 2013
By: Terpning
from Oregon
"I have a slim, athletic build though I am not an athlete. This shirt is well made and the fabric feels sensuously soft against your skin so it will be hard to keep people in your life from "borrowing" it. I returned mine because while the size chart indicated I was a medium and it fit great in the shoulders, it was huge in the torso. It is not a trimmer cut as described,"
Review 7 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
June 29, 2013
By: Samc05
from Syracuse NY
"Shirt fits right, wears well, and looks good. Pleased with purchase and all service. Orvis does is righ!"
Review 8 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
June 28, 2013
By: WahooDick
from Northern Neck, VA
"Excellent fit, fine colors, outstanding tailoring and detail, wonderful snap "buttons" I'm extremely pleased."
Review 9 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 28, 2013
By: Codeemax
from Lenexa, KS
"Shirt is comfortable and fits well. Snaps are secure. Design is definitely Western but nothing fancy.
A great shirt for casual occasions or with a jacket or vest.
Excellent buy.
"
Review 10 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
June 28, 2013
By: TDNight
from Blue Bell, PA
"This shirt is great - the color is as pictured and the cotton is so soft and comfortable."
Review 11 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heckofa Shirt,
June 10, 2013
By: Flycaster99
from Bellevue, WA
"I saw this shirt when in the local Bellevue WA store, liked it, but did not purchase it....when I returned to purchase it, it ws gone...imagine my delight when I saw it available on the online/outlet store! I would have paid retial for it, great shirt, good construction, fits great....MORE colors please!!"
Review 12 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snap shirt,
May 22, 2013
By: Omah
from Lancaster, Pa.
"What is most charming about the shirt is the snaps! Hubby prefers shirts with snaps. I was hoping the fabric would be more crisp. Beautiful plaid."
Review 13 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Shirt,
May 8, 2013
By: Gr8tbuy
from Los Altos, Ca
"The Gunnison Western Shirt looks even better in person than in the catalog. Very true sizing and very comfortable to wear. Anyone wanted to add a great looking western shirt to their wardrobe should get this shirt. Pairs perfectly with an old pair of jeans and well worn Cowboy boots. A classic!"
Review 14 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good casual shirt,
March 31, 2013
By: spartacus72
from Richmond, VA
"I stepped a little outside of my conservative element with this shirt and I did not regret it. The white stiching contrasts a little more than the picture appears to show, but it has a nice effect with how it contasts with the black snap buttons. The shirt is a slimmer fit around the middle than the typical Orvis cut shirts, but a large fits me fine, at a 34 waist, 44 chest. Sleeve length was good, maybe just a hair short, but an XL would have been too big all the way around."
Review 15 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Western!,
March 16, 2013
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"A true "western" shirt with snaps and the classic shoulder/chest design. Fits a touch large so consider sizing down 1 size. Medium was just right for me, & I typically buy large button ups."
Review 16 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt. Sizing off.,
March 4, 2013
By: skwala1
from Minnesota
"As others has noted, this is a great shirt, but the sizing is way off. Very baggy in the middle and at least 3 inches too long. I have many western style shirts and most are a narrow fit. Ordered a large, and ended up returning for a medium.
Love the fabric and weave. Should make a great fishing shirt.
"
Review 17 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good shirt,
February 28, 2013
By: DJames
"Great color, well constructed. Lighter weight than anticipated. Like most Orvis shirts the sleeves are a bit short."
Review 18 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
How about Sizing for Normal Guys,
February 15, 2013
By: JimmyJ
from Philly
"I was ready to buy this shirt until I saw the comments about sizing. This has been a major beef for me for years. I am 5'10" 160 lbs. and could not buy an Orvis shirt because the Medium (smallest size offered until recently) was a tent on me. I was excited when the small size was added about a year ago, but remain disappointed that even the smalls are made for guys a lot wider and taller than me. The comment I saw about many other brands offering slim fits is on the money. About time Orvis changes its assumption about sizing everything for overweight guys, and pays attention to the current trend to wear shirts untucked, a tough choice with Orvis shirts when they go down to mid-thight.."
Review 19 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt, but a little big,
February 11, 2013
By: CENL
from TN
"I love the shirt, the material, the look and feel, however the sizing is pretty large. I'm 5'11", 175lbs, and ordered a medium based on other reviews. The body of the shirt is still pretty big. The sleeve length is about right though. I love Orvis shirts, just feels a little inconsistent on the sizing."
Review 20 for Gunnison Western Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Shirt,
December 17, 2012
By: Jspreasy
from WV
"Shirt is definitely over sized. I'm 6' and weigh 170 lbs and usually wear an XL or L. With this shirt I bought a MEDIUM. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK THE SIZE CHART or ask an online representative. Shirt is thin but fabric is soft. Really like this shirt."