Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fly Line Cleaning Pads

Three disposable fly line cleaning pads in a small plastic, flip-top container. Ideal fly-fishing accessory for storing in your fly vest or pack to help give your fly line “like new” performance. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Review 1 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Pads,
August 12, 2014
By: RIangler
from RI
"These pads make cleaning your fly line easy, and then your line is ready to use...no wait time. Great product! Thanks!!"
Review 2 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No excuses,
June 13, 2014
By: royzboy
from Los Angeles, CA
"No reason to have a dirty line. Ever. These cleaning pads make it fast and easy to clean you line. And they are small enough to tuck in your chest pack so you always have them on hand."
Review 3 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for a quick clean,
May 1, 2014
By: JesseGinnever
"These are nice for carry in your pack. Easy way to quickly clean your line, if you don't have time to soak the line."
Review 4 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hints for use,
April 6, 2014
By: jpresson
from SE Virginia TU
"For 38 years I've used the dish detergent/warm water/soak/scrub/mucilin green- tub method of cleaning and dressing my fly lines. I thought they were clean. Not!! The Orvis cleaning pads are much better and quicker to use, BUT.... there's a secret to using them as they were designed to be used.
I lay out two clean towels on the table, placing the reel to my left. I then pull off the line from the reel in loose coils onto the towel on my right. Then choosing the juiciest pad from the container tub, I pull the line through the pad into loose coils on top of the reel/towel on my left; some streaks of dirt will be evident on that first pad surface. HERE'S THE SECRET!: Let that juiced-up line sit there for 3-5 minutes to let the cleaning goop do its job!. Now flip that cleaning pad over and pull the fly line though a second time...you will not believe how much dirt and crud comes off the fly line in the second pass, striping the pad...incredible!! Some lines require 3 or 4 passes so that the final patch shows nothing, no stripe of dirt. I can clean/condition 12-15 dirty fly lines this way in an hour or so with one package, and these lines are now really CLEAN and conditioned.
Now for the bonus! I throw away those three dirty patches, mark the top of the container with a Sharpie, and put three or four round cotton flannel .38 pistol or .30 caliber rifle cleaning patches into the empty container, and squeeze a dollop of Orvis Hi-Flote onto the top patch, and close it up and put it into my pocket so it melts into the cotton patches. Then each day before fishing I pull 30-40 feet of the fly line though the Hi-Flote treated patches before rigging up. These few minutes taken, while studying the water, makes a big difference to me in drag reduction, mending ease, and line pick-up, and the line doesn't acquire as much microscopic detritus from the water after a day fishing.
Somehow, the Orvis cleaning pad solution seems to loosen and float out the microscopic dirt particles embedded into the fly line surface, which any dish detergent washing method I've used cannot do. The second or third swipe of the Orvis cleaning pad proves this. Overall, an amazing product; and very economical both in cost per line, and the immense time saved per line treatment. John"
Review 5 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect pack away line cleaners,
July 17, 2013
By: Swingflies
from Downingtown, PA
"How simple is it....they take up no room and do an excellent job. no more struggling at mid day with a dirty line! Worth every penny."
Review 6 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
November 27, 2012
By: Despo
from VT
"Easy to use and convenient to carry in your vest. works as well as any other product I've used."
Review 7 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
October 10, 2012
By: wcook70891
"Very please with cleaning pads, best I have ever used. would not go fishing without them."
Review 8 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gen3 Fly Line Cleaning Pads,
August 29, 2012
By: ncbspres
from Winston-Salem, NC
"These pads are very, very handy! It is amazing how well they clean the line and even more amazing how much dirt one can pick up on the line during a fishing outing!"
Review 9 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 27, 2011
By: RedRiverTroutBum
"Ready to use from the container and takes up minimal space in my boat bag."
Review 10 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work great,
August 30, 2011
By: elkmtnsrider
from Western Colorado
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I keep these in my kit to keep my line clean and casting smoothly. I like these so much I purchased several to give to friends"
Review 11 for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 9, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These are great for giving a line a quick cleaning, and line shoot so much more easily when it's clean. My only suggestion is that when using the pads, you take from the bottom of the package as all the cleaning solution seems to settle there."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fly Line Cleaning Pads
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2