Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot

Lightweight studded wading boots for women.Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. The EcoTraX soles on these women's fishing boots have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. Women's fly-fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported. Women's sizes: 6-11. 3 lbs. 2oz. in a size 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
22 of 26(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need in Alaska,
August 4, 2014
By: ifishak
"Purchased as a gift for my wife, great fit, necessary for Alaska, new law, NO felt soles anywhere."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable ever,
May 20, 2014
By: Dakell
"These boots are super comfortable .they make it easy to walk in streams. Can not wait to put them on again"
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Freddy Flintstone,
April 12, 2014
By: COflyFisherlady55
from Winter Park, CO
"The boots should be ordered one size SMALLER than you normally wear . If you have a low volume foot you will discover that you need a "Fred Flintstone" foot to wear these!! (I am a size 7, b width narrow heel.)
I have ordered the size smaller hoping they will work.....
"
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase!,
April 3, 2014
By: PAFishermanWife
from St. Marys PA
"Just tested these last night with my husband. He is teaching me how to fly fish. When I 1st received the boots I tried them on with my waders and thought they were too small (I wear a size 8, ordered size 8). The wader was bunched up in the toe box. However once I suited up and tried the boots/waders in the water the boots fit perfectly."
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing,
January 2, 2014
By: JBirdH
from Hilton Head Island, SC
"Great boots....finally a pair for women, but fit is off. Normally I wear a 7, but had to replace with a 6."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchase,
October 9, 2013
By: martingh
from Patagonia,Argentina
"These boots have a perfect performance in the dydimo contaminated zones of our rivers.
Also on the roundish slippery rocks present in many of our patagonian rivers.
"
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots!,
July 16, 2013
By: WinnemuccaKid
from Reno, NV
"Great fitting boots. They were easy to walk in and kept my feet dry. I am very pleased with my purchase."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sized very very large,
June 21, 2013
By: Hasenpfeffer
from Arlington, Va.
"I really want to like these boots but have not been able to use them because the sizing is so incredibly large. I have not been able to find the right size for my foot. I normally take a size 8.5 or sometimes even a 9 women's shoe. So I followed the instructions and ordered a size 8 in this boot. When they arrived they were way too big. Picture clown shoes. So I exchanged them by mail for a size 7. The new size 7 boots just arrived and they, too, are way too large. My feet are swimming in them. Now, I am frustrated and have absolutely no idea what size to order. The boots sure look nice but they are unwearably large. While the Orvis customer service has been cordial and sympathetic, the sizing is so unusual that they don't know what to suggest. I am at a loss."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size is on the generous side,
March 8, 2013
By: Fishykitty
"I ordered a size 7 to replace my current size 8 in competitor 1 boot, the latter being too big for me.
However Orvis Size 7 was as large as the competitor 1 size 8. Not wanting to chance it, I ordered sizes 7 and 8 from another competitor 2. Again, Orvis size 7 was much larger than the 7 and even slightly longer than the competitor's 8.
My normal hiking boots and running shoes are usually 7 to 7.5 in sizing, so i thought 7 would be safe. Obviously didnt get a chance to use it but hope this review will help those in choosing a size."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great women's boots,
October 20, 2012
By: Fish216
"It's hard to find wading boots for women without felt soles. These fit nicely, though a little snug. The next size up would be too big. They feel a little looser in the water."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
decent boots but wide,
August 13, 2012
By: northfork61
"these seem to be good boots for the price, but they are fairly wide and hard to lace up tight because there is not a separate tongue"
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading boots I've ever purchased!,
June 18, 2012
By: Alaskagirl
from North Pole, AK
"Outstanding wading boots. We do a lot of walking when we fish for Sockeye Salmon in Alaska and these wading boots are comfortable to wear all day and provide the support of quality hiking boots. Very impressive grip on slippery rocks even when crossing rivers with strong current."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
June 14, 2012
By: Jane826
from Tucson, AZ
"These do run large. I'm usually a 7 1/2 or 8 in regular shoes and I ordered these in a 7 to make sure they would accommodate wader neoprene socks and heavy socks under that. They felt loose, but I tested them this weekend on the north fork of the White River in Northern Arizona and along the Little Colorado. Great traction on rocky bottoms. Very comfortable for a longish hike upstream into the White. I won't be wearing my other wading boots -- felt bottomed and pretty nice -- again, unless I have to. I'm really happy with this product."
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Boots!,
April 30, 2012
By: FishingGal
from Colorado
"I am a novice fly fisher and ordered these on-line, because I couldn't find my size (women's 6) anywhere in town. Used them for the first time the day after they arrived on my first ever fly fishing trip in Colorado and caught a lot of trout (not bad for a newbie). A perfect day with warm, dry feet, thanks to these boots. Great purchase and service from Orvis."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Boots,
December 31, 2011
By: Tchout
"Fit appears perfect based on catalog guide. Purchased with Orvis stocking-foot waders. Good match."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent wading boot,
December 30, 2011
By: Jd54
from Farmington, CT
"Comfortable, durable and easy to put on/take off. I'd recommend this boot very highly."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
July 25, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I purchased these for me wife so she could safely and comfortably accompany me on some of my fly fishing/hiking trips. The hiking only boots weren't cutting it in terms of grip and safety while wading. She has been very pleased with the grip while wading slick rocks in streams/rivers and also very happy with the support. What really impresses us about these boots is how light and comfortable they are for those long hikes into fishing locations. Many other wading boots perform well in the water but are just too bulky and heavy to be practical for a long hike in. Great product!"
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
April 12, 2011
By: FishMI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a Michigan Steelhead fishing trip planned and realized my old boots needed replacement. These boots were a last minute purchase and I was worried about them. But with 19 degree mornings and 6-9 inches of snow and layers within my wader's neoprene footy, they tracked great in the water and also on the snow. Please know I wear an 8 1/2 shoe and the directions say to order a size and a half smaller. I ordered an 8 and it was perfect with the layers I needed in my waders. Yes, they are a bit pricey but VERY comfortable AND the boot eyelets are well constructed............much better than I'd had ever before."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Good soles - bad uppers,
May 18, 2010
By: noDidymo
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"These boots were a disappointment. I am a stream ecologist and was so glad to see that Orvis was offering non-felt soled boots that would help prevent the spread of invasive species like mud snails and Didymosphenia. I need to spend all day walking and moving through a river in my boots and this pair just didn't perform well. While the rubber soles provide good grip on slippery algae covered rocks and are easy to disinfect with respect to not transporting invasive aquatic species, the sizing is way off. I had to return the mail order boots to get the right length. I wear a women's 10 and finally the 8 fit. I don't really think these are women's boots, even though that is what the box says because when I compared them to the men's boots at an Orvis store, the women's 9 was bigger than the men's 8. The last they are built on is way too wide. Even tightly laced there was too much play of my foot and ankle, it was to easy to roll over my ankle. The upper material is not stiff enough to provide proper support and the removeable insoles are flimsy and provide no arch support whatsoever. I ended up replacing the insoles with "Superfeet" insoles."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that these boots didn't meet her expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Women's Wading Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing Tip,
May 8, 2010
By: HIja
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wear a women's shoe size 7 and a half medium. On the advice of an Orvis sales rep, I bought these boots in a size 8 which was way too big. I reordered the boots in a size 7 and they fit well with a bit of room to spare which is what I like. So I would size down, instead of up, if you wear a half size in your shoe size. The boots are nice looking and easy to get on and off."