Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Regal Vise

The performance of Regal vises lies in the unique design of the head/jaws, which consistently hold the hook in place better than any competitive vises. Allows for immediate change in hook sizes with no adjustments. Tie a dozen midges, nymphs, dry flies, and streamers all in one sitting with no hassle adjusting the jaws. Each Regal Medallion Series vise rotates 360 degrees and pivots 220 degrees up and down. Pedestal features bronze pocket base with 5 cutouts for holding hooks and beads. Traditional jaw holds hooks from 1/0 to 22 with ease. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Regal Vise
Review 1 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece of Kit,
December 5, 2014
By: FlyTieUK
from Solihull. United Kingdom
"I have only been tying flies for a year or so and like many I started with a budget vise just in case I was totally useless at it! As my tying progressed and I became more skilled it soon became obvious that the design of my budget rotary vise was getting in the way needing lots of hand contortions to lay material on the back of a hook especially the smaller sizes.
I also found that I had little use for the rotary function other than to inspect the underside of the fly. So I decided on the Regal as being a well designed and constructed piece of kit. The staff at Orvis, Ludlow could not have been more helpful, they ordered in a Regal Medallion with pedestal for me to try before I buy.
I have tied flies in sizes 18 – 10 and I am so impressed with how easy it is to go from size to size without the need to adjust the jaws. The hook hold is amazing and the whole assembly is very stable due to the weight of the base. The cut outs in the base keep hooks safe, beads in place and damsel eyes no longer roll off my table and onto the floor.
Am I pleased with my Regal, you bet."
Review 2 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I wish I Had Gotten In The First Place,
March 4, 2014
By: joemikeb
from Fort Worth, TX
"So easy to use, no adjustments necessary, really great grip, all in all a genuine pleasure to use. I made the mistake of buying a lesser vice because it costs less. Once again I learned you get what you pay for. The regal vice is worth every penney I paid for it."
Review 3 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy!,
March 1, 2014
By: ajangler
"First vise I've purchased and very happy with the product. After much research I decided to find a pedestal vise with a cam action jaw. Jaws work extremely well and pedestal is nice and heavy keeping the vise in place while working."
Review 4 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Vice,
January 9, 2014
By: STLAngler
from St. Louis, MO
"I recently took fly tying lessons and had the opportunity to try just about every major-brand vise. The first week I used the Regal. Each following week I made a point to try a different vise. Always kept coming back to the Regal. Hook placement is simple and the vise holds the hooks firmly in place. This is a quality piece of equipment that is built to last and easy to use. It was a great purchase, and I highly recommend this vice!"
Review 5 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vice!,
December 28, 2013
By: SaltwaterSam
from Seattle, WA
"This is a great vice, easy in, easy out. Stable as can be and fully articulating.
This is an up grade for me and there is no comparison to the old non-articulating Regal.
"
Review 6 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Best Vise for the Price,
December 16, 2013
By: Royswife
"Bought this as a gift for an avid fly tying husband. He loves it. Easy to work with and makes fly tying easier. Would definitely buy this again!"
Review 7 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best vise ever,
October 1, 2013
By: Esoetenga
from Middleton, wi
"The store employee helped me with an online purchase of this vise. The vise works awsome and it built to last a life time. Orvis made this purchase so easy and enjoyable. I love orvis, and every time I buy something there I love it even more. Thanks Orvis."
Review 8 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Regal Vice,
August 24, 2013
By: StillwaterandStripers
from Roseville, Ca.
"I needed a vice that rotates, was simple to use, and could handle flies size 2/0 to 10. This vice did not disappoint. This is the 3rd regal vice that I have purchased over the years and this is the best one yet. Easy to adjust to your preferences. I would recommend this vice to anyone who does a ton of fly tying or any beginner who wants a vice that will last a lifetime."
Review 9 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Vise!,
March 7, 2013
By: Mister99
from Jersey City, NJ
"I have used other vises but I have to say i think I finally got it right. I love the constant grip jaws and the antique look compared to some of the other brands."
Review 10 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Regal Vice is floppy,
February 18, 2013
By: troutmeister01
from Harrison, AR
"The vice seems to be well made, but the glue they use on the cork for the c-clamp gives way quickly. The cork slides off the seating. The size of the saucer on the clamp is too small for a solid seating. The old Thompson A-1 vice I bought 50 years ago is lots more stable than this vice."
Review 11 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Tying Vise!!,
February 12, 2013
By: Tuggy
from Massachusetts
"Best vise I have ever owned. Realy a great vise for the money. Not a true rotating vise but does the trick. Wish I had purchased this vise years ago."
Review 12 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful vise!,
December 18, 2012
By: matt210
from Denver, CO
"This is a beautiful vise. It has an amazingly strong grip and I've been tying hook sizes from 6 to 22. This vise will last a lifetime."
Review 13 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Design,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This is an exceptional vise. The squeeze adjustment to the jaws is fantastic. I also swap out the jaws between the standard size and the midge size, and it couldn't be easier. Truly a vise that will last a lifetime."
Review 14 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Regal vise,
January 10, 2012
By: drjayk
from Virginia
"This is an exceptional product. Well built. Easy to use with hooks of most popular sizes. Stable pedestal base. Had a cheap c clamp before. What a difference"
Review 15 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 12, 2011
By: flatsfreak
"fast, easy to use, hook holds like it is set in concrete"
Review 16 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all around,
August 23, 2011
By: WGSFlyfish
from Quitman, TX
"As an Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing Guide who covers both Trout and Trophy Bass on a fly rod, the Regal is the perfect vise for me. I tie hundreds of flies in a year and the Regal is the only one that lets me go from Size 20 Midge patterns to a 2/0 Bass flies without making any adjustments to the vise."
Review 17 for Regal Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vice,
August 11, 2011
By: mvalbano
"This vice by Regal is the pinnacle of engineering and quality. It is very simple to use, you do not have to fool around with knobs, you just pull the lever it opens the jaw and place the hook and your done.
This is not a true rotory vise, but does rotate 360 degrees. The base is nice and heavy and it has places for hooks, beads etc.
Overall this is a quality product that will last a life time."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.