Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing

With 101 fly fishing tips for the absolute beginner, this invaluable guide from fly-fishing veteran and Orvis expert Tom Rosenbauer covers everything you need to know to get started in fly fishing, from casting methods and knot tying to safety advice. A comprehensive education in a compact package, this guide answers common questions and clearly explains proven techniques, with helpful illustrations and photographs throughout. A great gift for the novice and a good resource for any fishing library. Paperback, 200 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Review 1 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Steps,
August 27, 2014
By: Peaches03
from Wheaton, il
"This book was part of a gift to 3 twelve year olds. Included 3 new rods, reels and basics to the world of fly fishing and Orvis. A life time gift to a way of life."
Review 2 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Reference,
December 30, 2013
By: WNCFishing
from Western NC
"Just started fly fishing. This book is a great reference with a lot of good information."
Review 3 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
November 29, 2013
By: FLgatorgirl
from Florida
"Looking for a beginners guide? Start at the beginning!! Start with where you plan to fish, go into gear, go into flies. Have charts for lines, leaders, tippets, knots and flies. Explain from start to fish in hand!!"
Review 4 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping it simple,
May 21, 2013
By: JerzeyJim
from Eastern Pennsylvania
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my 20 year old nephew who loves to fish and would like to learn how to fly fis after seeing me catch a 20 inch brown on a fly rod.
It is a perfect book for the new adventurest as it keeps it simple and just the basics to get started and not filled with so much technical information that would have made it confusing.
"
Review 5 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well organized,
December 29, 2012
By: Fishzilla
from Buffalo, ny
"This book is a good reference material when u are learning to cast. The book contains many helpful tips to help solve issues new casters face."
Review 6 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Okay book,
December 8, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This is a good coffee table book to flip through while watching tv. It has some good tips but is a little short on substance."
Review 7 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product for a beginner,
September 20, 2012
By: OliverW
from Greenwich, NY
"I read this book every March. It's a fantastic reference to brush up on the things that you don't think of every time you go to the river. I also made my little brother read it before I took him fishing for the first time and he caught 5 browns his first time out!
I would recommend this to ALL beginners and forgetful intermediate fishermen."
Review 8 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have purchased earlier,
June 4, 2012
By: Tobin
"I should have purchased this book sooner. It would have saved me much frustration."
Review 9 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Informative,
December 30, 2011
By: Asher
"This book is well written and useful for information on fly fishing. The book discription is true in that it helps the ultra beginner fly fisherman."
Review 10 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Informative Book,
December 29, 2011
By: Heehaw
"Provides an overarching view of fly fishing from a beginners perspective. I would have liked to have seen more on casting and the techniques involved that a beginner should learn."
Review 11 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
November 28, 2011
By: Doug2
"I have no doubt thiat Mr. Rosenbaur knows fly fishing, but the book is advertised as teaching the "Absolute Beginner". I would think the adjective absolute means that a person knows absolutlely nothing. I know absolutely nothing and wanted to learn something. Mr. Rosenbaur uses terms about the subject, but has no glossary to define them. This book obviously is for someone who already has a little knowledge of Fly Fishing."
Review 12 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All you need to know but were afriad to ask!,
January 18, 2011
By: Peteyfish
from Iowa
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very simply, this book covers the A-Z on fly fishing. As a personal book or as a gift always good for a quick review and nice read. Would highly rate this for a gift to a beginner or moderate fly fisherman! Well done and nice illustrations. Easy to follow."
Review 13 for The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green is more than a lifestyle.,
August 28, 2009
By: muzonthefly
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This book is perfect for the begiiner. I was as intimidated by the sport of fly fishing, as a spawn running salmon is looking into the jaws of a an Alaskan brown bear. I purchased mine in a small book shop in Rangeley Me, and I haven't looked back since. Pardon the pun, but I'm hooked. Bravo to Tom Rosenbauer, this book is exactly right. My brother in law liked it so much I made him buy his own copy. Tight lines to all."