Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants

Old West style meets modern comfort. Soft, broken-in vintage-washed 7.7-oz. pure cotton twill makes these men's western pants a favorite from the first wearing; the distinctive double-faced pocket design with X-stitched reinforcement ensures remarkable durability. Men's western pants have a button-through front closure. Belt not included. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
3.94 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
3
38 of 50(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Review 1 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal!,
April 10, 2014
By: ColoradoJack
"I've been looking for casual pants that are rugged, but also comfortable, casual yet stylish enough for social occasions. Voila! Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants. Right waist size, right inseam length. What else is there? A good deal, all around."
Review 2 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
3 Stars But Had To Returned Them!,
March 21, 2014
By: PartlyCloudy
from Virginia
"The pants were of great material and seemingly high quality workmanship. Had I been able to keep them I'd have awarded at least 4 and maybe 5 stars. However, despite the fit at the 34 waist (a bit generous but OK...I usually wear 33 or 34, am 5'8", medium build) the WIDTH of the pant legs was HUGE! From the crotch all the way down just absolutely way too wide and very baggy, at least for me. If you like 'em real wide this is a good choice.I would have liked them otherwise, despite also hoping they were available in a lighter tan color rather than the dark kind of English military khaki shade"
Review 3 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite work pants,
September 19, 2013
By: RJRanch
from KC
"I now own these twill pants in every color offered. The pants are very comfortable plus look great whether visiting a construction site or attending an owners meeting.. I appreciate the custom hemming option as well as the cuff or no cuff option. I choose the cuff."
Review 4 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort!,
July 29, 2013
By: LADUCKHUNTER
from Baton Rouge, LA
"Bought these just to kick around in. Very comfortable. Only drawback is the color. Not crazy about it. I have the dark khaki which I really like. These colors (green and navy) make them look more like work pants. But, I can live with that. They really wear well. I have the pressed with crease. Hold the crease well and does not wrinkle too much.."
Review 5 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants!,
July 23, 2013
By: RJRanch
from KC
"Very happy with the fit of these pants. I like them so much I bought two pair. The customized hemming is a nice feature as well."
Review 6 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice pants,
June 25, 2013
By: larynx
from rural PA
"they look and fit great. Not baggy at all. immediate compliments"
Review 7 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants,
June 4, 2013
By: Anonymous
"A very cool and relaxed fit for summer. The colors are easily matched and the cuffs make a positive fashion statement."
Review 8 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sante Fe Washed-Twill Pants,
May 17, 2013
By: PicklesBT
from Houston, Tx
"Pants fit well, true to form. Pockets are oddly cut, tend to pull when you have something in them. Washed twice, still stiff"
Review 9 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer pants!,
May 16, 2013
By: droF
from Novi, Michigan
"These were just what I was looking for, a lighter weight, well made casual slack for summertime usage. the quality and design is what I've come to expect from Orvis.
Sizing was spot on.
"
Review 10 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 styling flaw,
May 5, 2013
By: SSA77
"The legs are way too wide, but the styling, detail, fabric...all great"
Review 11 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not up to standard I've grown to expect from Orvis,
May 3, 2013
By: DAVESAN
from Portsmouth, R.I.
"a fuller cut than I like. Small point, but the pants arrived with both legs creased on the sides rather than in the front and rear as is universally the case. Strange! But easily corrected by spraying and ironing.
Tailoring I requested was done perfectly.
I probably could have returned them as "not what I expected." But having had them tailored (cuffed), I thought it unfair to return them.
Orvis service is outstanding."
Review 12 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
born to short,
May 1, 2013
By: laibn
"The pants were fine, but I asked the sales person that if you can''t hem them to 30", please send them to me not hemmed and I will take them to a local tailor. He said no problem,we can hem them at 30". Of course they arrived hemmed at 32" Also I ordered 2 shirts @Medium. They were too large. I returned them for smalls and received two more at Medium. I am a fly fisherman and I love Orvis but this recent experience was not professional."
Review 13 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Printed color pleasing; actual color, not so much,
April 19, 2013
By: Dorvi
from Los Angeles, CA
"The pants fit okay, but I was very disappointed in the color, which I expected to be some shade of blue. Instead, it was more of a brownish purple... that didn't go with any shirt I own.
(I should have believed an earlier similar posted complaint, and thus avoided the return hassle.)
I returned these for the Desert Green color."
Review 14 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not bad. Not great but not bad.,
April 18, 2013
By: Cuester
from Denver, CO
"I like the color (the desert green). Fits fine. Quite well made. Not real stylish,but good "knock around" pants. I've been wearing them this week (with clip on suspenders) to do repair work around the house and they've been comfortable. As my stars say, "Average."
On the negative side, I was surprised that the material is somewhat stiff. Not exactly "Soft, broken-in vintage-washed" as advertised. I'd think something marked "surf washed" should be pretty soft. These are not. And I now know that 7.7 oz material is not as thin and summer-weight as I thought it was.
The care suggestion in the pants wants me to turn them inside out and wash in cold water ... what is that about? Fat chance that will happen. I did it the first wash, but after that I washed them on warm and right side out with no difference.
These are sort of like wearing a new pair of blue jeans only not so heavyweight. I'd probably like them better if they'd been about half what I paid for them. They're that kind of pants."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mostly what I expected,
March 28, 2013
By: Lancaster
"The fit is fine, but just a bit on the generous side. The finish is as expected. I was expecting something more in the green shades. This green is much more of a silvery sage. Not bad, but just not what I was expecting."
Review 16 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Pants,
March 21, 2013
By: fitze
from Tunkhanock PA
"I have worn these a bit and they fit well and have a modicum of style. The pockets are a bit different but so is the style. Please bring back the original Zambezi Twills...They wear like iron and style to boot..."
Review 17 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the same,
December 29, 2012
By: SCSteve
from Greenville SC
"I bought this item because there is another item that has same name but different color- actually, only the design is similar- the pant is a different fabric and not at all as nice as the canvas khaki I bought originally!"
Review 18 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit,
December 28, 2012
By: homestager
from Park City, UT
"These pants fit very nicely. The washed blue color looks dark purple is some lights. We are exchanging that color for khaki."
Review 19 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Santa Fe pants,
December 22, 2012
By: nanuqsue
from Las Cruces, NM
"The color in the on-line catalog was a lighter color than showed up in the shipping. A very dark blue, almost black, pant showed up. The cotton was a little stiff as well. The size was correct and I was able to wear them right away--just not with the shirts I had intended to."
Review 20 for Santa Fe Washed-Twill Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Workhorse Slacks,
November 6, 2012
By: Pope
from Richmond, VA
"These slacks are smart-looking, no-nonsense everyday and rugged (nice, but too casual for business casual)."