Orvis Ratings and Reviews

River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles

Our best-value wading fishing boot now with our EcoTraX™ rubber, PosiGrip™ Stud sole to reduce the spread of aquatic invasives and give you secure traction in saltwater and freshwater terrain. PosiGrip Screw-In Studs with tungsten-carbide tips cut through slime-covered rocks and make navigating slippery surfaces safe and easy. Lightweight comfort, support, and ankle protection. Foam-padded insole, tough Cordura® nylon upper. Wading fishing boots in olive. Whole sizes: 4-14. 52 oz. in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Updated review,
December 10, 2013
By: devronmac
from Banffshire Scotland
"I reviewed these boots shortly after I first bought them after only one day of use. I have subsequently used them now for two seasons and they are holding up well. They provide excellent traction on grass and gravel and even on slippery rocks they are quite satisfactory provided some care is exercised. My only complaint with them is that they lack ankle support and toe protection is not as good as they could be. For the price however they have been quite satisfactory and a good introduction to rubber soles. For heavy duty work however the studs are pretty essential."
Review 2 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
River Guard Navigator,
January 13, 2012
By: devronmac
from Banffshire Scotland
"I have always used felt studded soles but with so much concern about the spread of invasives I decided to give these boots a try. I was reluctant to spend a great deal until I was satisfied that the sole makeup of these boots would work for me. I wore them for the first time yesterday but did very little heavy duty wading, however the boots provided very good grip on grass and gravel but for me, at the moment, the jury is still out>>> Time will tell whether they will hold out with my fairly heavy duty usage. First impressions indicate that these are quite good and well made and whilst comfortable probably lack a bit of ankle support.They are similar in appearance and construction to the Orvis Clearwater boots that I have used in the past. I will update this review in the light of my experience over the 2012 fishing season."
Review 3 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fit,
December 15, 2011
By: rsb1
from hudson valley, ny
"I think these were a great deal. Nowhere else will you find removable studs and this quality sole at this price point. Not here anymore either. I was fortunate to find them at a local dealer who still had my size. Hopefully they will hold up as I've only used them twice so far."
Review 4 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Shoes,
October 5, 2011
By: MIKEC4W
"Have not fished with them yet BUT I have tried them on and they are the most comfortable Wading shoes I have ever owned. A Perfect Fit!!"
Review 5 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
need more studs,
August 5, 2011
By: quack
"The wading shoes are great. They are comfortable,easy on-off, good sole material. However, wading montana's rock creek this summer with higer than normal water I wish they had more studs, at least twice as many. Please consider this very strongly."
Review 6 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jury is still out,
July 27, 2011
By: dilbert
from Ashford, Kent UK
"I have mixed feelings about these boots. They were incredibly comfortable when saltwater fly-fishing without waders, but with stocking foot waders they were very painful on my arthritis-damaged feet - in spite of being two sizes bigger than my street shoes. I am going to try cutting down the wader-feet as they are huge, so the jury is still out on that one. The studs were hopeless - totally worn down after just three days wading in a small Scottish salmon river."
Review 7 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
June 30, 2011
By: seamonkey
from Westchester NY
"I wanted a pair, but they've been discontinued...:( so i got a small size for my daughter. She loves them, and reminds daddy that she has the boots he wanted.
good sole, good spikes, good d-ring eyelets, great style. i recommend them (especially at the sale price)"
Review 8 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boot, like waking around in street shoes,
May 12, 2011
By: PORTHOS
"Ordered a pair of Orvis stocking foot waders size 12, and thought the boots should be same size. A little too snug of a fit. I would recommend a boot size one size larger. I sold my too small 12s to my fishing buddy and ordered size 13 boot. worked out great. Very stable footing especialy on rocks and underwater slippery stuff."
Review 9 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor,
April 21, 2011
By: pjtrout
"Fished Slovenia for one week with the new boots. Poor ankle support. No toe protection resulted in very badly bruised big toe. Lace started to fray. Insole started to peel fabric on first day. Rubber joint started to open at one toe cap. Sort of boot you could purchase in a Chinese market stall for less than ten pounds."
Review 10 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
January 26, 2011
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought a pair of these River Guard boots from my local Orvis dealer to replace my felt sole boots. With all the news of different diseases in the rivers now, I did not want to spead anything. These boots are great. Little different feeling while on the rocks, but I have gotten used to them now and they fell good."
Review 11 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband Loved Them,
January 1, 2011
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Gift for my husband. He loved them! They fit, he likes the replacable spike things.
Just need the weather to thaw out so he can give them a real try. I suggested he wade around in the bath tub to test them, but we decided against that ideal! (just kidding)
"
Review 12 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great value!,
October 15, 2010
By: Brooky
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"These are a great value and it was like I was a four-wheeled vehicle! The only down side was that it has poor ankle support."
Review 13 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value Boots,
October 14, 2010
By: Kydra
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These boots were more robust than I expected and supportive. They perform well. One suggested area for improvement: the rubber grip layer will most likely peel off at the toe as a result of stubbing your foot against the inevitable rocks after a number of wading sessions. The rubber should be integrated with the toe cap."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Next to the Wooly Bugger, my best purchase ever!!!,
October 2, 2010
By: daub
from Boscawen, NH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have tried to save money and gain traction on the slippery rocks and finally gave in to purchasing a boot that I did not have much faith in. I wanted the performance of felt and the added security of studs for swift water wading. When I purchased the boots, I did so with the idea that if they did not perform as needed, I would return them. What a great surprise!!! Look at the flow reports for the Salmon River on Thursday 9/31/10 and you will see why I am impressed... My worries never included positive traction, only increased flow rates and my ability to turn around against the current.
Comfortable even for a 4E width foot in neoprene."
Review 15 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sole came off in stream,
September 28, 2010
By: detroit2jax
from Saginaw, MI
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the River Guard Navigator wading boots 30 July and used 7 to 8 times. The last was my last trip of this season to the South Branch of the Au Sable. Second step in and off the sole went. I sent them back just the other day in exchange for same pair so hopefully just a fluke. The shoes fit great, provide excellent grip and I do refer them. Just check the soles before you go out if you already own a pair."
Review 16 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be careful on size,
June 10, 2010
By: Muddlerman
from Williamstown, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Unlike a previous poster, I found these boots to be way oversized. I wear an 11.5 or 12 street shoe, so I ordered size 12. Even with 2 pairs of socks and neoprene booties, my foot moved around inside the boot--which ought to have been labeled 13 or 12EEEE. Otherwise, the boots are great. I LOVE the EcotraX rubber soles and the screw-in tungsten carbide studs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than expected,
May 21, 2010
By: lespaul
from CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I wanted to help the cause to stop the aquatic distribution of organisms but was hesitant about the traction on the river bottom. Well to my surprise, these were very good. Better than expected, The sizes are perfect, order 1 size larger than you normally would for your shoe size. Perfect fit. You can add studs as well and replace worn ones easily. Nice boot for a reasonable price."
Review 18 for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice boot,
May 13, 2010
By: pttomk
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered and wore this boot on a recent trip to the Au Sable. While I did not encounter a large number of slippery rocks, the boots did provide better traction on the slippery logs and limbs under the water. Comfort was very good. Toebox provided more than enough room for waders and two pair of socks for warmth. I did add Velcro ankle wrap gravel guards the second day of the trip which provided better ankle support."
Ratings-Only Reviews for River Guard Navigator with EcoTraX Soles
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1