Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Economist Reading Glasses

A fun, thick style with a frameless top for an unobstructed view over the frame. Frame: 5⅛"W, Lens: 1"H x 1¾"W. Tortoise front and temples. These distinctive reading glasses are handcrafted with top-grade optics and flexible hinges to stay comfortably in place all day. UV-protective lenses. Hard eyeglass case included. Reading glasses are available in 1.5, 2.0, and 2.5 magnifications. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Economist Reading Glasses
Review 1 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First pair of reading glasses,
January 18, 2014
By: Vann
from Raleigh, N.C.
"Orvis's Economist Reading Glasses are my first pair. I've needed reading glasses for awhile, but avoided them because I didn't like the design and look that I saw at most retailers. But in several recent visits to my Orvis store, I kept eyeing the collection. I like my new glasses because of their stylish, sophisticated look. Saving up for a second pair so I can keep one at home and one at work."
Review 2 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
in love!,
January 11, 2014
By: girlinglasses
from Stilwell, KS
"I had hoped they were as cute on as I imagined...and they were! They are unique and fun plus well made! Who could ask for more! I think they are men's, but I love them anyway."
Review 3 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Librarian Slippers!,
December 31, 2013
By: KnittingChurchLady18
from Franklin,MA
"I like these glasses but they are a bit wide in the frame for me. Due to this, they slide down my nose even though the screws are as tight as they can be.
I am not sure what to do, but plan to take them to an Optical store for some adjustment. Otherwise, I love the way they look and the lenses are great"
"
Review 4 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent glasses,
March 18, 2013
By: Dazberry
from England.
"Stylish and well made reading glasses. Supplied with a good protective case. No lens cloth supplied despite the price. Whilst I feel they are somewhat overpriced I would still recommend them."
Review 5 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good,
January 21, 2013
By: kilo6109
from savannah ga
"I gave in and purchased a non box store pair of reading glasses. i hesitated at the price a little but on receiving these glasses and seeing ( pardon the pun) the difference i was truly amazed. I am not a one for fashion but my wife says i look cute in them. my problem now is i need a few pairs as i tend to leave them at home. guess i will hint for my birthday, !!!"
Review 6 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Fit,
January 17, 2013
By: npanxx
from Atlanta
"I bought a pair of these reading glasses while in England last year and really liked them. Unfortunately I lost them around Christmas. I order another pair from the Orvis website but when they arrived they didn't fit correctly. You would have to have a head the size of a bowling ball to use them. I called customer service and got another pair sent to me. Same problem! I took this pair to the local Orvis store and exchanged them. Even then, of the glasses in stock in the store, many of them were badly out of shape. Manufacturer needs to do a better job of quality control."
Review 7 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
November 25, 2012
By: Shopper63
"I was disappointed in these glasses. They appear to be sized for a man, as they were too wide, therefore, slipping down my nose and off. My face is on the broader side of an average female. Also, to use as readers, the lenses were too high. You couldn't look over the top if you needed to."
Review 8 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
October 10, 2012
By: Reviewer37
from UK
"Usual orvis quality with nice solid feel and good optics. Only point to be aware of is that although dimensions are spot on arms seem to widen 2cm - so may need some adjustment."
Review 9 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real good Readers,
August 29, 2012
By: gallg
"Comfortable and good looking what more could you ask for in readers."
Review 10 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Below Average,
July 26, 2012
By: GazMan
from Kansas
"I ordered reading glasses that arrived bent. Now I need to take time and send them back and wait for a replacement pair. This is the second item in a row which I had to return an item. Also, I have had a difficult time trying to obtain an Orvis credit card, after my old one was canceled, due to a split with you and Chase bank. I have canceled my Orvis catalogs and will no longer purchase orvis goods."
Review 11 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality and style,
June 12, 2012
By: CAlawyer
from Bay Area, CA
"As the title indicates, these are of very good quality and style. My only complaint is that they are a little bit heavy. Overall, I consider these to be a good buy."
Review 12 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Glasses!,
May 3, 2012
By: Golfingguy
"If you are looking for a comfortable and good looking pair of reading glasses...these are them! Your friends will ask you where you got them and your kids won't think you look old. Enjoy"
Review 13 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Needs sizing options,
January 30, 2012
By: EnglishSpringerowner
from Detroit, MI
"I very much like the product design, but the frame width was definitely too small for my face and a larger size was not available, so I needed to return it. Given the product price, I would also appreciate more choices: 1) a darker tortoise shell; and 2) a higher magnification than 2.5."
Review 14 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hatchet faced me,
November 7, 2011
By: psasc
from Charleston, SC
"Very fine product, but too wide for my face, so I returned it."
Review 15 for Economist Reading Glasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish specs2,
July 19, 2011
By: AngusMcTavish
from Surrey [the original], UK
"I bought this second pair, so I could find the first pair when I mislay them. They're just as good too!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Economist Reading Glasses
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1