Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology

Patent-pending SonicSeam™ technology, our lightest weight most supple fishing waders are breathable and as comfortable as chinos yet rugged too. And they pack down in their own stuff sack, perfect for carry-on travel and backcountry angling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Review 1 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and convenient,
February 18, 2014
By: 8wtNate
from Delmont, PA
"Great for a day on the water or even around camp. I do a lot of float trips were we will be camping an portaging our canoes. These pants were a game changer for me, and really helped me simplfy my gear. Two complaints: the compression sack is too large, the pants can compress down much smaller than the bag is capable. Also, when seated the fabric at the seams behind the knees seems to bunch uncomfortably and gets pretty tight around my calf and knee. Eventually i got used to this and with some breaking in it is not as bad. They are very comfy for hiking and have proven to be pretty rugged so far, i am pretty rough on my gear."
Review 2 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful and Fast!!!!,
February 11, 2014
By: LoganBark
from Pitsford NY
"I went in to my local Orvis store with a gift card from Xmas. The sales team found what I was looking for fast and got me on the phone with a rep to place my order so I would avoid shipping cost and that was that. I was told my order would arrive in 5 to 7 businesse days but I had it in 3!
Love my new wadding pants and can't wait for some warm weather.
"
Review 3 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick Change,
January 28, 2014
By: JohnJon
from Grand Lake Stream, ME
"Great for those quick casts you just have to make on the way home from work."
Review 4 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best waders,
November 25, 2013
By: HighCountryFlyFishn
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
"I am a large man, 6'3", 285, and size 14 foot, a former college athlete from way back when. Finding the right fit in things like waders can be challenging at times. Thank you Orvis for the pack and travel wader pants! Your xxl is perfect and will fit even larger than me. Love them for spring and fall wading. Just fished in a blizzard here in Colorado with them, heavy weight longjohns, and med weight wool socks...5 hours in the water and never once got cold. They have held up well since spring and are "my only waders". Thanks again Orvis."
Review 5 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Price-Performance Relationship,
October 16, 2013
By: SmallStreamAngler
from Europe
"These waders fit and are like a pair of Levis jeans! Very comfortable and not as big as other products in size M. Would definitely buy them again."
Review 6 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 20, 2013
By: ShefffieldFlyFisher
from Sheffield England
"I ordered a pair of medium Pack and Travel Wader Trousers online on Monday and they were delivered on Thursday. I emailed a query on Thursday evening about the product and had an answer within the hour, that’s customer service - Thanks for your assistance Dan G. The trousers look to be well constructed albeit somewhat generous in the waist area for my size -5’11 and a 34 waist. I suggest the actual waist measurements be included in the sizing chart."
Review 7 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough to please, guy.,
September 9, 2013
By: LeoLion
from Texas
"I did a considerable amount of wader research before deciding on the Orvis SonicSeam technology. I was going to order a Chest high pair, however, the day I was ordering was also my 70th birthday. Although I am in excellent physical shape, I decided to be more realistic about my personal safety in the future. As Dirty Harry (Clint Eastwood) said, "A man's got to know his limitations". Thus, I decided on the Waist high pair. Wading to crotch level is good enough. As a bonus, they are lighter in weight, and easier to put on. I ordered size Large. My normal shoe size is 11 and these are a bit snug around the toe -- otherwise they would be 5 star."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product sizing strange,
August 28, 2013
By: TommyGee
from Delft, Netherlands
"Bought these for some travel to Slovenia and the US and wanted something lightweight and easy to pack. They are great quality and pack small. No issues so far.
Only problem (which is why 4*) is the sizing. I chose Medium Long and although it should fit my feet they are rather tight! Hopefully they will stretch a little."
Review 9 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
May 4, 2013
By: GeorgiaTrout
"These are the best thing since "sliced bread". Light, comfortable, wear 'em all day, easy to get into - I love them."
Review 10 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wish I Could Love Them,
April 30, 2013
By: MarchBrown
from Fort Worth, TX
"I've been looking for a pair of wading pants for use during warmer weather both at home and while traveling. The Orvis Pack & Travel pants seem to be a good value but the sizing on them is just crazy. I'm 6'1" about 180 and was first suggested to get a Large Tall. That was a mistake as the length was so long they would never have worked. I then exchanged them for a regular large after another conversation with an Orvis rep. The sizing is fine in the waist (still a bit bigger than the sizing chart would lead you to believe, even with heavier clothing on underneath), the lenth was perfect but the booties were huge! I mean seriously these are supposedly sized for 9-11 (per the sizing chart) but a person with a size 12 foot would have easily worn these with room to spare. I couldn't even wear them with my wading boots which fit perfectly with my regular waders (too much bootie to try and fit in the boot). To add insult to the whole situation the Large pair were shipped from an Orvis store and clearly had been through the "try on" wringer more than a few times. They had just been tossed into the box (no attempt made to fold them neatly or anything) and the wading belt wasn't intended for this pair of waders as it wouldn't go through the belt loops so I'm guessing the one they should have had went missing at some point. I'm very disappointed as this just isn't like Orivs so I'm not sure if these are old stock or what (I've been told they are out of stock in the warehouse), but I guess I'll be returning a second pair and looking elsewhere for a pair of wading pants."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wader Pants,
April 6, 2013
By: DonC
from Plano, Texas
"I was looking for wader pants as a backup to my chest waders. I wanted something for when the river or lake water was to cold to wet wade but didn't require chest waders. These waders are great. I am 6', 210 lbs and the large fit me very well. The neoprene bootie has more than enough room for heavy socks and the quality of the stitching and seams is excellent. I am recommending this to my fishing buddies and to anyone else looking for pant waders."
Review 12 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beware of waist size!,
December 12, 2012
By: davem1
"The waist of these wader pants was excessively large. I am 5'9" and 155 lbs. with a size 31-32 waist. However, the size Medium measured 42 inches in the waist (!) and the excess could not be adjusted with the belt. I don't expect a "trim fit" by any means, but the current sizing seems incorrect and needs addressed. However, I was impressed with the quality of the material."
Review 13 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They do it for me.,
October 31, 2012
By: Scotch1
from Midwest
"At my age (67) I don't wade in deeper than my waist, anymore, and seldom, that deep. So these wader pants are just the thing for me and the ease of putting them on and, later, packing them away is a big plus for me. The medium size fits me (5' 11" and 155) to a T and the sculpted sock slides effortlessly and comfortably into my boot. If you could see me, now, you'd notice my big SMILE. My only suggestion would be to add a large ripstop cargo pocket to each thigh -- then I'd be in hog heaven."
Review 14 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
October 3, 2012
By: TheMurph
from Mill Creek, Wa.
"I purchased these for warm weather wading and they performed great. Nice to find good fitting waders for me at 5`7. Very happy with this purchase."
Review 15 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wader is nice, but delivery is bad,
July 23, 2012
By: malcos1951
from Japan
"The wader is very nice. Very light and suitable for hot season. However, it took 3months after I ordered. I waited with patient"
Review 16 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Waders,
June 5, 2012
By: BlackZ06
from Central Penna
"I've only had these waders for a month, and have worn them fishing a dozen times. These aren't the first waist-high waders that I've owned, but so far they are definitely the best. I walk a lot and they are very lightweight and comfortable. You hardly notice that you are wearing them while walking. At first I was concerned that being lighweight they might not be durable, but now that I've used them a dozen times, they look like they will hold up well to normal conditions. I'm also 5"11"/210lb with 29" inseam. I would have preferred an XL short but it's not available. I got the XL and they fit fine. I also tried an large short. They weren't quite large enough and were only slightly shorter. Being short legged some of my other waders bagged in the knees and caused excessive wear. On these waders the small amount of extra material bags slightly above the booty so chaffing isn't a problem. The top of the wader is just above my navel which is plenty high for any wading that I typically do. I rarely wade as deep as my crotch. No buyers remorse with this product."
Review 17 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
May 21, 2012
By: DriflessJohn
from SE MN
"I'm an avid fly fisher and spend about 100 days per year fishing small streams. I love the comfort of waist high waders like these, but durability of other brands has been an issue for me.
I'm on the short side and typically the seams on the inside of my legs sag a bit and wear. With wide range of sizes available for this product, the design with seams on the back of the leg, and the overall quality of materials and workmanship, I expect these will prove much mroe durable than other similar products."
Review 18 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice!,
April 13, 2012
By: NVflyflicker
from Elko, NV
"Very well constructed and comfortable. You cant go wrong with these waders. I ordered large tall (I'm 6'5" tall, 230 lbs., size 12 boots). I like the extra room but the belt rides about mid-stomach and the booties are a bit roomy. Probably should have ordered the regular length."
Review 19 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pair of waders,
April 10, 2012
By: NewbeeinDC
from Virginia
"Got these waders a couple weeks ago and took them out for a long 2-day fishing trip. Extremely comfortable, breathable and pack very well. I'm 5'11'' with a 32 waist and a Medium-Regular fits perfect. A must buy for anyone looking for an all around solid wader."
Review 20 for Pack & Travel Wader Trousers with SonicSeam® Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size Carefully,
March 21, 2012
By: CChmiel
from Binghamton, NY
"I actually purchased these a few times and had to keep returning them. The size chart is a little off I feel. They are sized way bigger than the chart says. I bought medium long, then medium, then smalls. The small fit me perfectly. I am a 6'0 young man with size 10.5 feet and weigh 155 pounds. The waders are very stylish and work great just make sure to get your sizing right! Enjoy"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.