Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used by family on trip,
April 14, 2015
By: Oryctolagus
"I gave two as gifts when family left on camping trip. They say it came in handy and they will take on a long trip this summer. I plan to order for use myself this summer when I travel."
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 1, 2015
By: Gisfishing
from CT
"Great product that is easy to use and comfortable."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everone Should Have One,
March 20, 2015
By: MichaelM5533
from Martinez, CA
"I wish I had been using this my entire fishing life. The buff is so versatile, providing great protection for neck and ears. I have given them to my teenage daughters and insist they wear one when we go fishing."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Interesting product,
March 4, 2015
By: JSJr
from Atlanta, GA, USA
"I've only had an opportunity to use this in colder weather, and it works well--provides wind guard and seems reasonably breathable. I am a bit skeptical of its usefulness in hot weather, at least to cover nose/mouth."
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's,
February 21, 2015
By: Brian41
from Pennsylvania
"1. It has a greener shade. I thought it was going to be a off white tanish color. I showed it to my wife and I enlarged the picture on my computer and I can barely see the greener shade. 2. When I touched the product it felt rougher and not as stretchy as I thought it would of been. I put the buff on and went outside and shoveled snow. I had it up over my nose and when I was breathing out of my mouth the material would get wet so I closed my mouth and breathed through my nose. I have worn the buff a couple of more times in the past couple of days and it does keep my neck warm. The price was right but I am positive I will make my next one out of a old tee shirt. So if you can sew make your own, if you can't buy one."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolute Best,
February 17, 2015
By: BelizeFlyFisherman
from Houston, TX; San Pedro Belize
"I have owned "neck gaiters" for use in the tropics from three manufactures over the years; this is head over heals the most versatile and best performing. It is just the right length and diameter to comfortably shield the face and nose, while guarding the neck to under the collar. I used it to hold my hat on in a 50 mph open boat ride with no concern. you can wear it a dozen ways depending on sun direction, wind and activity."
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOOD STUFF,
August 15, 2014
By: papa75
from santo domingo,dominican republic
"THIS IS MY THIRD SCARF FROM BUFF SINCE IT HAS BECOME A NECESITY IN THE FISHING TRIPS THAT ANA GRACIELA MY DAUGHTER AND ME MAKE TO SAONA ISLAND FLATS FOR MACABI AND PALOMETAS.
GREAT DESIGN,GREAT SUN PROTECTION.GOOD STUFF FROM
BUFF.
"
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skeptical but thoroughly impressed,
August 13, 2014
By: MattBarnes
from Houston, Tx.
"Until buying this UV protectant buff, I have to say I was not a believer. I've been throwing flies off the cost of Rockport, Texas, for years without any neck/lower face protection, and never believed a buff or gator would make a difference. Using this buff the last few weeks, I've not only noticed less sun damage, but have been amazed by the buff's capacity to keep my overall body temperature lower during long mornings wading through the flats. The fabric has a moisture "wicking" component that keeps my neck and face cooler than ever on the water. I would recommend one of these buffs to anyone who has trusted Orvis to provide helpful accessories in the past."
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile and effective,
August 11, 2014
By: CaneFisher50
from Midwest USA
"Never used much more than the occasional neckerchief until my doctor put me on a couple of medicines that make the skin very sensitive to the sun. Decided to try this buff, and it is pretty amazing. Heck, you can use it in over a dozen ways for protecting head,face, and neck. Even helps keep me cooler. Glad I got a couple!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for UV Buff®
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2