Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
85 of 86(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 9, 2014
By: troutfly
from Australia
"In Australia with our burning hot summer sun, this product provides wonderful protection whether fishing the flats of the north to the high country streams and rivers. It is also cool to wear with lots of configurations and looks great !"
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Facesaver,
November 18, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Who would have thought something so simple would make life on the water so much better. I have always been reluctant to give one of these a try until I went on a redfish trip in Louisiana. Pull this over your face when jetting out to spots to prevent wind lash, getting sunburns, and to keep your face warmer when it's cold outside. The light material is super breathable and doesn't restrict breathing at all. I'm even using it to prevent mosquito bites in particularly buggy trout rivers and use it when I'm fishing the surf. Wonderful product!"
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the Buff,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've spent days on the flats and pounding river banks on local waters without ever getting my face/neck burnt. These are great for sun protection and some can even be stylish, if that's your thing. Very lightweight. Only problem I've ever experienced is fogging up sunglasses when pulled up too high. Still, the benefits are much greater than the one negative."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Must Have!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bolous
from SE Minnesota
"Wear them year round. Can't wait for winter season fly fishing."
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made and useful,
October 15, 2014
By: 550mara
from New Orleans and Key West,FL
"With a dermatologist as my wife, I hear less about sun damage after purchasing and using this product."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Buff is best bang for the buck in the universe.,
October 3, 2014
By: Poodie
from Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
"With my camo Buff, I'm the coolest and most comfortable guy on the rugged waters off Cape Cod. Tuna, striped bass, big blues and friends can't wait to get to my boat!"
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a quality product, no regrets.,
September 29, 2014
By: Fredrik
"Delivers what it says it will. It keeps sun and bugs off your face. I've even started wearing it while sleeping during cooler weather camping"
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for all seasons,
September 25, 2014
By: irishflyer
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Really have enjoyed using my UV Buff from Orvis. As someone with fair skin I use it all the time to prevent sun damage. It also does a great job keeping you warm during the fall into winter. I even use it running or hiking."
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Indispensable Item,
September 16, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I wear my buff every time I'm on the water. From providing a bit of warmth when wrapped around my neck in the pre-dawn hours to covering my face, ears and neck when the sun is up - this is now one item I never leave behind.
Its very light and sized to cover everything. I also was surprised how cool it is when worn over my face and head.
And I really like the pattern on my Steelhead buff."
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous protection,
August 27, 2014
By: Ghostbuster
"The Buff protective neck/headwear was truly a lifesaver on a recent flyfishing trip in the Caribbean. We waded for bonefish all day every day for a week in flat sandy bottom water. With my Buff and a hat I was totally comfortable and didn't fry at all. I had recently had some skin surgery and was cautioned not to be in the sun at all. Thank you for this terrific product--it totally saved my trip and allowed me to catch a lot of beautiful bonefish! I knew I was on the right track when I met our guide and to my surprise he was wearing one too! They are just terrific."
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed,
August 11, 2014
By: michigantroutfanatic
"Product shipped fast and arrived before predicted date the material is very soft and the detail is outstanding looks just like the picture and really does keep you cool. Water droplets roll right off and it dries very fast. I have multiple fishing buffs and this one is my favorite by far. For sure buying more from Orvis, you won't regret it. Highly recommended."
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the Lone Ranger,
August 5, 2014
By: bambooBDP
from Vermont
"Black flies, buzzing female mosquitoes, bright sun on dappled water, or just hiding from your spouse while bending a rod, this is the configurable answer. Just don't wear it into the bank."
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wicked Awesome!,
August 1, 2014
By: telern
"I upgraded to an original Buff from a smaller/shorter neck gaiter.
To have the Vermont logo on it makes this purchase one of my best finds!
Fishing here in CO the Buff does what the other reviews report; it keeps the bugs off my neck/face/ears and protects me from the sun.
You won't be disappointed. Especially if you're from Vermont!"
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
July 29, 2014
By: DrBothwell
from Punta Gorda, FL
"The UV Buff greatly extended my fishing time. I was able to fish all day in the hot Florida sun in the Gulf of Mexico no sunburn, and less dehydration.
Will probably purchase another so I have one in the boat and one in my tacklebox."
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a wonderful protection,
July 16, 2014
By: moni
from Medellín - Colombia
"It is a wonderful protection, do not know how you can not be without it before."
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sun protection & cool!,
July 12, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"I've seen guys with buff neck gators on before however always thought they would make you hot. Not true, this not only keeps you cooler in hot sun (go figure, standing in the middle of the San Juan River) and provides sun protection for your face. Because of this I now use a lot less sun screen because the Buff covers my ears and most of my face. Great equipment."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple cheap effective,
July 10, 2014
By: FishInPhilly
from Philadelphia, pa
"It looks great, wears comfortably (even above 90 degrees) and keeps you cool. No bugbites, no nasty sunburn on the back of my neck, and all cheaper than most in this fad. Cant beat it."
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Colors Available!,
June 26, 2014
By: HelenLove
from Northern Michigan
"I absolutely love my buff! Lightweight and durable! As a woman sometimes the colors are all very masculine but Orvis provides an array of many colors and designs for everyone's liking! A great product and would recommend to all fishermen!"
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
June 14, 2014
By: cjhouston
from Houston, TX
"does what its supposed to. protects me from bugs and sun."
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versitile,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I bought mine for backcountry skiing. It is great to wick sweat away on the climb up. You can make any head wear out if it. Hat, scarf, face-mask...
Now I use if fishing to keep mosquitoes away. It is very comfortable and keeps me from having to put insect repellent or sun block on my face."