Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
69 of 70(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a wonderful protection,
July 16, 2014
By: moni
from Medellín - Colombia
"It is a wonderful protection, do not know how you can not be without it before."
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sun protection & cool!,
July 12, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"I've seen guys with buff neck gators on before however always thought they would make you hot. Not true, this not only keeps you cooler in hot sun (go figure, standing in the middle of the San Juan River) and provides sun protection for your face. Because of this I now use a lot less sun screen because the Buff covers my ears and most of my face. Great equipment."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple cheap effective,
July 10, 2014
By: FishInPhilly
from Philadelphia, pa
"It looks great, wears comfortably (even above 90 degrees) and keeps you cool. No bugbites, no nasty sunburn on the back of my neck, and all cheaper than most in this fad. Cant beat it."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Colors Available!,
June 26, 2014
By: HelenLove
from Northern Michigan
"I absolutely love my buff! Lightweight and durable! As a woman sometimes the colors are all very masculine but Orvis provides an array of many colors and designs for everyone's liking! A great product and would recommend to all fishermen!"
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
June 14, 2014
By: cjhouston
from Houston, TX
"does what its supposed to. protects me from bugs and sun."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versitile,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I bought mine for backcountry skiing. It is great to wick sweat away on the climb up. You can make any head wear out if it. Hat, scarf, face-mask...
Now I use if fishing to keep mosquitoes away. It is very comfortable and keeps me from having to put insect repellent or sun block on my face."
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A crucial item to have,
June 5, 2014
By: Schuyler
from Henderson, Ny
"I bought this mainly to keep the black flies from biting my neck and it did its job! its very comfortable and very breathable."
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, stylish and super practical,
June 2, 2014
By: Brook2013
from Luton, Beds
"Not only has this Orvis logo'd Buff been super practical and stylish....the service from the Amersham store was second to none. I've worn it for the last week both at sea and fishing the dam walls of Cyprus for carp and it's down the job fantastically. Thoroughly recommend this product"
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional and comfortable,
May 31, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I do a lot of salt water fishing and am proned to sun burn. the buff is very lightwieght and comfortable. it is very breathable and can be worn for extended periods of time. I would highly recommend for anyone who spends a lot of time in the sun."
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
May 25, 2014
By: mrsbass
from southern IL
"I found this to be very versatile and comfortable to wear. The products website has very easy to follow video demonstrations on the many ways to wear it."
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Colorful AND Useful!,
May 9, 2014
By: leahsmom
from vermont
"I bought this for my daughter as a headband/scarf. The colors are great. I really love that it is lightweight and that there are pattern choices for everyone. Fashion or fishing or hiking. Cool."
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buffed,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I'd been holding out for a while for one of these. I'm pretty happy with the graphics on the buff."
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
March 15, 2014
By: Jrskos91
from Lakewood, WA
"A necessary item to prevent sun damage when out on the water all day. The buff provides complete coverage and protection. Also, it keeps your fishing cap on your head as you motor from one fishing spot to the next."
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 13, 2014
By: Wise50
from Pa
"This is the second one I have bought just in time for the winter that does not end. Warm and comfortable for a brisk walk in the morning.
I highly recommend this product."
"
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied,
March 7, 2014
By: Stmitch72
from Rogers, AR
"I was glad to see that the colors depicted in the catalog matched the product when it arrived."
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
March 3, 2014
By: 7slvfishfly
from Houston, TX
"Great product for keeping the sun off your head. It can be worn in a number of ways to protect you for UVA and UVB while keeping sweat out of your eyes, etc. Good for ladies , too - keeping hair up to avoid getting caught in anything. Off-shore, in-shore, and anything in the sun."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buff,
February 24, 2014
By: JOWPAC
from Dayton, Ohio
"Plan to use buff on trip to Keys. Looks great! Like the Orvis logo"
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 21, 2014
By: striker5
from Florida
"Next to my orvis fly rod best clothing item I own!"
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In the Buff,
February 21, 2014
By: Trailjs
from Minnesota
"I purchased a neckie UV Buff that has worked wonderfully over the last few days in extreme sunshine. It kept the sun off my neck and kept me cool all day."
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works For Me,
February 21, 2014
By: MiddleAgeGuy
from Larchmont, NY
"Bought this buff for a trip to Florida. On several of the fishing shows I watch, the folks are wearing them. I decided to try it and for a reasonable amount of $ it provided protection. I came back without getting burned on my ears, which has happened before. Will use this summer for sure."