Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 57(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buffed,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I'd been holding out for a while for one of these. I'm pretty happy with the graphics on the buff."
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
March 15, 2014
By: Jrskos91
from Lakewood, WA
"A necessary item to prevent sun damage when out on the water all day. The buff provides complete coverage and protection. Also, it keeps your fishing cap on your head as you motor from one fishing spot to the next."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 13, 2014
By: Wise50
from Pa
"This is the second one I have bought just in time for the winter that does not end. Warm and comfortable for a brisk walk in the morning.
I highly recommend this product."
"
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied,
March 7, 2014
By: Stmitch72
from Rogers, AR
"I was glad to see that the colors depicted in the catalog matched the product when it arrived."
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
March 3, 2014
By: 7slvfishfly
from Houston, TX
"Great product for keeping the sun off your head. It can be worn in a number of ways to protect you for UVA and UVB while keeping sweat out of your eyes, etc. Good for ladies , too - keeping hair up to avoid getting caught in anything. Off-shore, in-shore, and anything in the sun."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buff,
February 24, 2014
By: JOWPAC
from Dayton, Ohio
"Plan to use buff on trip to Keys. Looks great! Like the Orvis logo"
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 21, 2014
By: striker5
from Florida
"Next to my orvis fly rod best clothing item I own!"
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In the Buff,
February 21, 2014
By: Trailjs
from Minnesota
"I purchased a neckie UV Buff that has worked wonderfully over the last few days in extreme sunshine. It kept the sun off my neck and kept me cool all day."
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works For Me,
February 21, 2014
By: MiddleAgeGuy
from Larchmont, NY
"Bought this buff for a trip to Florida. On several of the fishing shows I watch, the folks are wearing them. I decided to try it and for a reasonable amount of $ it provided protection. I came back without getting burned on my ears, which has happened before. Will use this summer for sure."
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good deal,
February 21, 2014
By: thenobleangler
from virginia
"Great price though lengthy backorder.
Haven't used it yet but know fishing buddies that have benefited greatly. Look forward in using it at my next overfishing trip and this summer.
"
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking buffs!,
February 20, 2014
By: ladycove
from Swan Valley, ID
"Bought two of these for the grandkids who come fishing for a week every July with their grandpa...they are going to luv these!"
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality,
February 11, 2014
By: girlgonefishin
"I am never disappointed everything I purchase from Orvis is made very well."
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gotta have one when fishing in strong sun,
February 10, 2014
By: KeokukTed
from Colorado
"I won't fish without a Buff when I am fishing in strong sun and wind. It is great to wear around the neck to keep from getting burnt and to pull up over your hat to keep it from blowing off."
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable product,
February 3, 2014
By: Hedgehog
"Nice washable cool product. When I wear it with the full face coverage application, it is much more breathable than I thought it would be. I am all about sun protection and these get it done. Also very clutch for fishing in windy conditions, pull the back up over your hat and you are set."
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfortable,
February 1, 2014
By: Guadaluperiver
from San Antonio, Tx
"Looks Great, Feels great , Fits great, definitely a great purchase."
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection Where You Need It,
January 27, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"The buff is light, airy, and with a collared shirt and any hat provides complete protection of my head, face, and neck. The other thing I like about the buff is that it's comfortable and long enough - I've had some that aren't.
I got the steelhead pattern, which is very cool. And waiting for the Orvis pattern.
Having had a couple of bouts of skin cancer due to too much childhood exposure - I now consider the buff as mandatory as a rod and reel. A lot of protection for a low price."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great UV buffs,
January 24, 2014
By: BigEarl
"I do a lot of saltwater fishing. These buffs are great when traveling across choppy seas and keeping the sun and wind from burning your face and neck while fishing the flats. I bought 4 of them, The new colors are really cool looking."
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honeymoon Buff,
January 22, 2014
By: Nokelax3
"Bought this Buff for our honeymoon to Belize. Can't wait to get out on the water and get after some permit, bones, and tarpon!"
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold Weather Too,
January 17, 2014
By: PM2GA
from Indiana
"With the return of the cold weather and winter winds, the Buff keeps my neck warm and is easy to pull up over my face when needed.
Really makes a difference on a harsh morning.
"
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Get One!,
January 14, 2014
By: megalopsatlanticus
from CT
"I've bought four. Need I say more? The only shortcoming is that if you wear a low-necked shirt, there isn't a good junction between the buff and the upper garment (you could potentially get burned here). Other than that, looks snazzy, very comfortable, and haven't burned in the Bahamas or Mexico."