Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.776 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
75 of 76(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous protection,
August 27, 2014
By: Ghostbuster
"The Buff protective neck/headwear was truly a lifesaver on a recent flyfishing trip in the Caribbean. We waded for bonefish all day every day for a week in flat sandy bottom water. With my Buff and a hat I was totally comfortable and didn't fry at all. I had recently had some skin surgery and was cautioned not to be in the sun at all. Thank you for this terrific product--it totally saved my trip and allowed me to catch a lot of beautiful bonefish! I knew I was on the right track when I met our guide and to my surprise he was wearing one too! They are just terrific."
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed,
August 11, 2014
By: michigantroutfanatic
"Product shipped fast and arrived before predicted date the material is very soft and the detail is outstanding looks just like the picture and really does keep you cool. Water droplets roll right off and it dries very fast. I have multiple fishing buffs and this one is my favorite by far. For sure buying more from Orvis, you won't regret it. Highly recommended."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the Lone Ranger,
August 5, 2014
By: bambooBDP
from Vermont
"Black flies, buzzing female mosquitoes, bright sun on dappled water, or just hiding from your spouse while bending a rod, this is the configurable answer. Just don't wear it into the bank."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wicked Awesome!,
August 1, 2014
By: telern
"I upgraded to an original Buff from a smaller/shorter neck gaiter.
To have the Vermont logo on it makes this purchase one of my best finds!
Fishing here in CO the Buff does what the other reviews report; it keeps the bugs off my neck/face/ears and protects me from the sun.
You won't be disappointed. Especially if you're from Vermont!"
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
July 29, 2014
By: DrBothwell
from Punta Gorda, FL
"The UV Buff greatly extended my fishing time. I was able to fish all day in the hot Florida sun in the Gulf of Mexico no sunburn, and less dehydration.
Will probably purchase another so I have one in the boat and one in my tacklebox."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a wonderful protection,
July 16, 2014
By: moni
from Medellín - Colombia
"It is a wonderful protection, do not know how you can not be without it before."
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sun protection & cool!,
July 12, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"I've seen guys with buff neck gators on before however always thought they would make you hot. Not true, this not only keeps you cooler in hot sun (go figure, standing in the middle of the San Juan River) and provides sun protection for your face. Because of this I now use a lot less sun screen because the Buff covers my ears and most of my face. Great equipment."
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple cheap effective,
July 10, 2014
By: FishInPhilly
from Philadelphia, pa
"It looks great, wears comfortably (even above 90 degrees) and keeps you cool. No bugbites, no nasty sunburn on the back of my neck, and all cheaper than most in this fad. Cant beat it."
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Colors Available!,
June 26, 2014
By: HelenLove
from Northern Michigan
"I absolutely love my buff! Lightweight and durable! As a woman sometimes the colors are all very masculine but Orvis provides an array of many colors and designs for everyone's liking! A great product and would recommend to all fishermen!"
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
June 14, 2014
By: cjhouston
from Houston, TX
"does what its supposed to. protects me from bugs and sun."
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versitile,
June 11, 2014
By: TenaciousP
from NJ
"I bought mine for backcountry skiing. It is great to wick sweat away on the climb up. You can make any head wear out if it. Hat, scarf, face-mask...
Now I use if fishing to keep mosquitoes away. It is very comfortable and keeps me from having to put insect repellent or sun block on my face."
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A crucial item to have,
June 5, 2014
By: Schuyler
from Henderson, Ny
"I bought this mainly to keep the black flies from biting my neck and it did its job! its very comfortable and very breathable."
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, stylish and super practical,
June 2, 2014
By: Brook2013
from Luton, Beds
"Not only has this Orvis logo'd Buff been super practical and stylish....the service from the Amersham store was second to none. I've worn it for the last week both at sea and fishing the dam walls of Cyprus for carp and it's down the job fantastically. Thoroughly recommend this product"
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional and comfortable,
May 31, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I do a lot of salt water fishing and am proned to sun burn. the buff is very lightwieght and comfortable. it is very breathable and can be worn for extended periods of time. I would highly recommend for anyone who spends a lot of time in the sun."
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
May 25, 2014
By: mrsbass
from southern IL
"I found this to be very versatile and comfortable to wear. The products website has very easy to follow video demonstrations on the many ways to wear it."
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Colorful AND Useful!,
May 9, 2014
By: leahsmom
from vermont
"I bought this for my daughter as a headband/scarf. The colors are great. I really love that it is lightweight and that there are pattern choices for everyone. Fashion or fishing or hiking. Cool."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buffed,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I'd been holding out for a while for one of these. I'm pretty happy with the graphics on the buff."
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have,
March 15, 2014
By: Jrskos91
from Lakewood, WA
"A necessary item to prevent sun damage when out on the water all day. The buff provides complete coverage and protection. Also, it keeps your fishing cap on your head as you motor from one fishing spot to the next."
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 13, 2014
By: Wise50
from Pa
"This is the second one I have bought just in time for the winter that does not end. Warm and comfortable for a brisk walk in the morning.
I highly recommend this product."
"
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied,
March 7, 2014
By: Stmitch72
from Rogers, AR
"I was glad to see that the colors depicted in the catalog matched the product when it arrived."