Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

UV Buff®

Protect yourself from the sun's rays while minimizing moisture loss with a simple accessory that's even more versatile than you might think. Made of high-tech Coolmax® Extreme fabric, the UV fishing Buff helps regulate your body's temperature, too, keeping you warm on chilly morning outings, and promoting cooling on hot days. Effectively blocks 95% of harmful UV radiation. Odor-resistant Polygiene® technology. Fishing buff can be worn in a variety of configurations, including as a face mask, hood, beanie, neckerchief, headband, or balaclava. Polyester. Washable. Spain. Fishing buff one size; 20⅓" x 9⅝".
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
105 of 106(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for UV Buff®
Review 1 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Buff,
May 1, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"Good material and well made, fits just right. This one is lightweight, perfect for staving off the Florida sun and rolls/folds up neatly to stuff in one or the other pocket of my vest. The color doesn't really match any of my fishing togs, but hey, fashion is secondary to fucntion, right?"
Review 2 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buff,
April 16, 2015
By: Sandis
from Norfolk, VA
"Nice gadget to avoid face burn during long fly-fishing hrs..."
Review 3 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sun and fun protection,
April 9, 2015
By: Teralani
from Panhandle Florida
"Great versatile scarf for sun protection, wind, and hair protection. Would recommend it if you are an outdoor person in both winter and summer for protection with style."
Review 4 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buff review,
March 27, 2015
By: Ruddcatcher
from Uk
"Ive been searching for a cool buff that went with a blue flats shirt for sometime. This one is spot on- thanks"
Review 5 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works as promised,
March 25, 2015
By: Susansq
from Los Angeles
"I am sensitive to temperature extremes. This neck ware/headware keeps me comfortable in cold and hot weather and is very attractive. I have two in different designs. I like it enough to send this one as a gift and am considering purchasing another design for myself. It is easy to launder and doesn't need ironing."
Review 6 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
March 23, 2015
By: Lovetodryfly
from Newbury Berkshire
"Great quality and value. great for fishing in cold winds and bright sunshine a fantastic fishing accessory"
Review 7 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
March 11, 2015
By: stevic
from Kent
"fantastic item so versatile and easy to carry a must have item when outdoors very comfortable and looks great i wish i had one years ago ! five stars Orvis i must buy another !"
Review 8 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UV Buff Rocks,
February 17, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"needed something to provide a bit of warmth in the winter and sun protection in the summer, and the Orvis buff is perfect for both applications. Slightly stretchy makes for an easy and comfortable fit, works like a charm and looks very spiffy."
Review 9 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good protection,
February 10, 2015
By: FishermanMontana
from Montana
"Although fishing season has not yet begun this year, I plan to use this product to protect my skin from the sun. I think it will do the job well."
Review 10 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable UV Buff,
February 2, 2015
By: DevNull
from Salt Lake City, UT
"Extremely comfortable buff. After wearing it for an hour I almost forgot it was on. Light weight so I don't expect it to be too warm to wear on hot days. Long enough and stretches enough to wear in many formats."
Review 11 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buff,
January 23, 2015
By: tocold
from Sheffield
"Brought to protect from sun not used yet but seam ok fits well and say it had uv protection"
Review 12 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multiple Uses,
January 12, 2015
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"I just love this product. I bought this as I am from Scotland and the weather here can never make its mind up. I don't like wearing scarfs are they are too bulky and restricting, so I opted for a Buff and I'm so glad I did. It can be pulled over the face when there is a cold wind and it really does make a difference and breathing through the material is not a problem. I know this is a UV protection product, but it's so much more than that. Buy one and don't be dissapointed."
Review 13 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful and adaptable,
January 1, 2015
By: fionn
from Scotland
"I have worn Buff neck 'gaiters' for several years and find them a useful item; spring, summer, autumn and winter. Once on, you tend to forget they are there unless you choose to cover up more than just your neck.
I particularly like the range of patterns that Orvis has made available.
"
Review 14 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
December 9, 2014
By: troutfly
from Australia
"In Australia with our burning hot summer sun, this product provides wonderful protection whether fishing the flats of the north to the high country streams and rivers. It is also cool to wear with lots of configurations and looks great !"
Review 15 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Facesaver,
November 18, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Who would have thought something so simple would make life on the water so much better. I have always been reluctant to give one of these a try until I went on a redfish trip in Louisiana. Pull this over your face when jetting out to spots to prevent wind lash, getting sunburns, and to keep your face warmer when it's cold outside. The light material is super breathable and doesn't restrict breathing at all. I'm even using it to prevent mosquito bites in particularly buggy trout rivers and use it when I'm fishing the surf. Wonderful product!"
Review 16 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the Buff,
October 31, 2014
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've spent days on the flats and pounding river banks on local waters without ever getting my face/neck burnt. These are great for sun protection and some can even be stylish, if that's your thing. Very lightweight. Only problem I've ever experienced is fogging up sunglasses when pulled up too high. Still, the benefits are much greater than the one negative."
Review 17 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Must Have!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bolous
from SE Minnesota
"Wear them year round. Can't wait for winter season fly fishing."
Review 18 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made and useful,
October 15, 2014
By: 550mara
from New Orleans and Key West,FL
"With a dermatologist as my wife, I hear less about sun damage after purchasing and using this product."
Review 19 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Buff is best bang for the buck in the universe.,
October 3, 2014
By: Poodie
from Chatham, Cape Cod, MA
"With my camo Buff, I'm the coolest and most comfortable guy on the rugged waters off Cape Cod. Tuna, striped bass, big blues and friends can't wait to get to my boat!"
Review 20 for UV Buff®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a quality product, no regrets.,
September 29, 2014
By: Fredrik
"Delivers what it says it will. It keeps sun and bugs off your face. I've even started wearing it while sleeping during cooler weather camping"