Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock

The easiest way to keep your car seats clean and dry! We designed our durable seat hammock specifically for the dirtiest dogs. Crafted of heavy duty polyester, the protective hammock features a water-resistant coating on both sides to ensure that no moisture gets through to your vehicle's upholstery. A grippy, slip-resistant surface on the bottom keeps the hammock in place. Quick and easy to install. Adjustable headrests required for installation. Polyester. Hose off or spot clean. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.687 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (227 reviews)
5 stars
175
4 stars
42
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
222 of 227(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Review 1 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have bought a long time ago!,
October 8, 2012
By: BOSMB
"The XL fits perfectly in the back of my small SUV. Doesn't slide around, the dog loves it and it protects the seat."
Review 2 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't Be More Pleased,
February 13, 2015
By: Thornapple
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I wouldn't let Barley, our yellow lab, in our new car until the seat hammock arrived. It is well made, easy to install and remove and fits our 2015 Tiguan perfectly. When you see the dirt on the hammock instead of the seat, it is obviously a great solution. Because of the design, it actually makes a safer place for Barley on her "ride-alongs"."
Review 3 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this back seat hammock alot.,
January 30, 2015
By: Burtacus
from Madison, WI
"This seat hammock is a nice product.
I was looking for a quick, easy, and moderate costing solution to keeping the rear seating in my brand new Subaru Crosstrek protected from the dirt, mud, and hair of my 8yo Chow-Lab mix Chacho. It works great. The fabric is light and durable and pleasing to the eye. My dog loves running in the woods all year long which means a lot of dirt gets brought into the car on the ride home. As soon as I get home it is super quick to un clip the anchor points around the head rests, pull the hammock out in one nice pouch, and then shake the debris away. I like the fact that this hammock also keeps my dog from trying to step over the center console into the front seating area when left alone in the car briefly. The hammock dries pretty quickly as well after being washed. The slits provided for seat belt buckles is a nice feature.
"
Review 4 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
January 29, 2015
By: Jkforney
from Marion, Ohio
"couldn't be easier. We put a blanket down for softness for Zoey.
Four snaps will undo the entire item, roll it up and slide it out the door.
Couldn't be easier. Haven't needed to hose it off, only shake and fur takes a hike."
Review 5 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase!,
January 28, 2015
By: EEnola
from Tampa, FL
"This is an ideal accessory for any SUV and an owner of a dog. I have two Shepards and they are dirt and sand magnets. I can take them in the car, keep them safely harnessed with the seat belt openings and keep my leather seats clean. Even better, I can hose the cover off and hang it to dry on the patio without any additional gadgets."
Review 6 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous!,
January 28, 2015
By: MollyandLucy
from Milwaukee, WI
"This seat hammock is perfect! It allows for our Newfoundland and Golden Retriever to ride comfortably in our SUV while keeping our seats clean! It also keeps them safe!"
Review 7 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding quality,
January 27, 2015
By: Tobydog38
from Northern California
"Although the seat hammock has not been tested by my 120# dog yet, it appears to be far better quality than others I have seen in the stores. Attaches easily to headrests. Time will tell if it holds up to paws and dirt."
Review 8 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protects your seats,
January 20, 2015
By: sd136405
"Fits well and is built well. This will prevent your dogs from ruining the seat and keeps the dog from falling."
Review 9 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
keeping my car clean,
December 19, 2014
By: ebcabunoc
"I bought this on sale and for the price it was exactly what we needed for our back seat. I threw it on our coach when I opened it and our dog instantly loved it ha."
Review 10 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saved my car!,
December 17, 2014
By: Fishfinatic21
from Philadelphia, PA
"This has saved my car from a certain beating many times. I usually take my dog to the beach and it easily protects my leather seats from the sand and saltwater. Highly would recommend to anyone who likes to travel with mans best friends."
Review 11 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seat Saver,
December 14, 2014
By: CvilleCathleen
from Charlottesville, VA
"Bought this for new Subaru Forester to save all the vacuuming time I'd spent on previous car. It is a GREAT purchase- saving tons of time. Our dog is frequently wet, so the waterproofing was a must for us. To prepare the back seat for passengers, all we have to do is unclick the fasteners, roll up the hammock & stash it. Have not tried hosing it off yet."
Review 12 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A vehicle essential,
December 13, 2014
By: MrChris
from Gallupville, NY
"I bought my first of these waterproof seat protector/hammocks last Feb and within a day or so of getting it had to take my Springer Spaniel to the vet. He had ingested sunflower seed from the feeder and he was blocked up...could keep nothing down. He grabbed a drink just before jumping in to my new car and two minutes later he threw up all the water. Impact on the car seat? Zero. I was able to pull over, get him out the passenger side door (on a very short line) and carefully pull the seat hammock out. Everything he threw up poured easily on to the ground. A quick wipe with a towel and we were good to go. When I got the new truck, I knew immediately I'd get one for it. The fabric is not cuddly like his beds but I wanted protection from muddy feet and hike-dirty body and this is it. I bought extra large for my 3 series BMW sedan so the edges of the seat were covered and I'm glad I did. If you have a car (or truck) you care about and a dog or dogs that get dirty, this is your ticket."
Review 13 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Washable & More,
December 13, 2014
By: Bailey4841
from Western NY
"Most of the time our 70# Black Lab, Bailey, rides in the extended cab of our truck. However there are times when she needs to ride in our car and this hammock serves us quite well. Not only is it washable, it also deters her from hopping into the front seat."
Review 14 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
December 7, 2014
By: Trishy
from Minnesota
"I bought the extra size for my large SUV and it is perfect! Great quality and easy to put in and take out."
Review 15 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent car seat protection,
December 6, 2014
By: BeeEllis
"This is a great car seat protector. I already have the quilted one which is brilliant and bought this for wet dog days! It is a great size and covers the whole seat well. I use one end as a hammock and the other end covers the base of one side of the rear seat and it works well.
Very good quality and waterproof.
Haven't washed it yet however if it is like the quilted one it still looks new after being washed several times.
Highly recommend both covers.
"
Review 16 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality hammock,
December 3, 2014
By: clong
"Been very pleased with the hammock so far. Havent needed to wash it yet so i dont have an opinion on that. Its sturdy, feels of good quality and has held up well since i bought it. I bought the longer XL so it covers the bench seat completely in my subaru forester. the pockets lay down by hte seat so they are not of much use and i think the hammock would be better without them. Im curious to see if fur falls through the slits. overall very happy so far."
Review 17 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lady's Mom,
December 3, 2014
By: penguinlover
from lagrange in
"Easy to install, used one of the cushions to fill in gap, fabric quality is great"
Review 18 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very satisfied,
December 1, 2014
By: ThomasAL
"I was very satisfied with this hammock seat cover. It is very durable and high quality. My only complaint is that it does not have anything to keep it from sliding forward on leather seats."
Review 19 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dog love it,
November 30, 2014
By: gregpatey
"My dog loves this hammock, keeps him safe while in the back seat of my truck, and is durable enough to hold my Great Dane."
Review 20 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yes with caveats,
November 27, 2014
By: 50Acres
from Midwest
"We have two medium-large dogs and bought this seat cover 1.5 years ago to go with a new truck. Our hope was that this cover would contain dirt, keep the seats in good condition, be durable enough to last 5-6 years, and be attractive enough to not frighten away would-be passengers.
Overall, the seat cover has done an excellent job at containing dirt, a passable job of maintaining seat condition, and an abhorrent job at the last two goals - durability and appearance.
To be fair, we put a lot of wear on our seat cover over the last 18 months. We spend a lot of time in the woods and water and get fairly muddy and wet in the process, and our dogs do much the same.
Perhaps it's not surprising that this seat cover looks worn out after less than two years. It's been hosed countless times, and it never looks as good afterwards. The finish has dulled, so even when it's clean, it looks dirty. A few months ago we noticed the straps are starting to fray.
Maybe spot cleaning would preserve the appearance better, but it doesn't make sense to spot clean when the entire cover is covered clumps of mud and paw prints.
We previously had the microfiber seat cover and appreciated its appearance. It also has holes to accommodate seat belts, making it easy to switch from a dog hammock to a seat cover for passengers. The downside of the holes, however, is that dirt falls through onto the seat and can become ground into the seat if you don't frequently remove the cover to clean.
The seats are in much better condition than they would be without any seat cover. However, the bottom of this seat cover is rough, and every time our dogs move, the cover scuffs the seats. We put a softer layer in between the cover and the seat to prevent this.
Finally, on a positive note, it does a great job of trapping water. Numerous times after swimming or playing in the snow, we have opened the door to discover a puddle of water collected on the seat. We are able to pour it off easily, and because the seat is dry, we just snap the cover back into place. Compare this to the microfiber cover that absorbs the water, leaving the seat damp, and the hours it can take to dry the cover before re-installing.
Overall, I would buy this product again, but I'm disappointed because I have to replace it much sooner than expected."