Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock

Created specifically for the dirtiest dogs. Crafted of heavy duty polyester, the protector and hammock feature a water-resistant coating on both sides to ensure that no moisture gets through to your vehicle's upholstery. The bottom sides also feature a grippy, slip-resistant surface to keep them in place. Quick and easy to install. Polyester. Hose off or spot clean. Adjustable headrests required for installation. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (174 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
170 of 174(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Review 1 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should have bought a long time ago!,
October 8, 2012
By: BOSMB
"The XL fits perfectly in the back of my small SUV. Doesn't slide around, the dog loves it and it protects the seat."
Review 2 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit,
July 24, 2014
By: BelgianStorm
"Perfect fit for my Volvo XC60. Covers the seats completely. I got the XL and it covers the edge of the seats from slipping dog feet as my dogs load and unload."
Review 3 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 17, 2014
By: BigDog21
from Indiana
"Great product, covers all of the rear seat in my 2013 fusion. Keeps the hair in the seat cover and the hair comes off easily."
Review 4 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So happy :),
July 16, 2014
By: jloo
from Missouri
"I shopped for quite a while trying to find the perfect back seat protector for my car. My interior is dark gray cloth, and I have two white dogs! This hammock is just what I needed to save some serious vacuum time every trip I brought the "kids" along. I drape a towel around the edges of the seat by each door, then put the hammock on top. Every inch of the back seat is covered. The pups like it-my lab lays right in the hammock part. It has also helped with him wanting to come up front with me. One more thing-it stays in place! The backing grips the seat cloth. I am very pleased with this purchase. You get what you pay for."
Review 5 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
July 15, 2014
By: Ellen436
from Chico, CA
"I bring my two black labs and their two best friends (golden retriever and Australian Shepard) to the lake frequently and this item has saved my car!"
Review 6 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
July 11, 2014
By: Gracie1604
from Herrin, IL
"I purchased the water-resistant seat hammock for my new car because I have a beautiful, active Labrador that sheds a lot. My dog loves it as she can ride in comfort, and I love it because it fits perfectly over the headrests, protects the backseat, and contains the shedding to a smaller area that I can simply remove and throw in the washing machine."
Review 7 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect seat protector,
July 5, 2014
By: fishingfam
"We bought this seat protector to replace another one we had. This one is very heavy duty and fits well - edge to edge in our full size pickup.
We thought it might be slippery, but the dog had no problem with it.
"
Review 8 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad,
June 18, 2014
By: MELK
from Copper Harbor, MI
"This is a nice looking seat cover that installs really easily and seems to protect my leather seats well. Don't be fooled into thinking it will keep your dog in the back seat - not a chance without training. Also my smaller dog usually jumps under it and I have to find him to put him on it. Still it's a nice, protective seat cover."
Review 9 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Fits,
June 17, 2014
By: Tripod1
from Ottawa Lake, MI
"This is the only seat protector my wife would allow me to use on her crew cab Ford for my upland dog. It actually fits and protects all of the seat."
Review 10 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 16, 2014
By: CoopsDad
from Dallas, TX
"Product is exactly as described--fits perfectly in my Tahoe. Clips solidly around the headrests--well made."
Review 11 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love the quality product,
June 11, 2014
By: sanche11
from Quebec
"I have a toyota Matrix and the size small is a perfect fit. I love and i recommend this product. It's very thick et easely whashable."
Review 12 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Problem solved,
June 11, 2014
By: cyclingpeace
from Cincinnati, OH
"I was regretting buying a car with cloth seats until I purchased this seat cover. I have four heavily shedding dogs and love to take them on trips to the park and hiking but hate cleaning the car afterward. This solved that problem. It is easy to install and easy to stow it in the back when not in use. It does not completely stop the dogs from getting into the front seat however... but it makes it a little harder."
Review 13 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping my pet safe,
June 6, 2014
By: Windancer
from L.I.NY
"I no longer fear my dog Maggie being hurt if I were to stop short and she and she fell between the front and back seat. We love our pet and wanted to protect her as much as possible."
Review 14 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durable solution,
June 5, 2014
By: Jacquemacd
from Buxton,ME
"This seat cover is ample in size to cover the entire back seat of a full size pickup and does repel water. It absolutely does the job. The only drawback I can see is that the material is slippery and the dog hair does not adhere to it in any way which means it goes everywhere in the truck."
Review 15 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great dog tool for protecting car,
May 28, 2014
By: bghoneybadger
"easy to install, waterproof, and also helps to deter my pet from trying to get into the front seat. My puppy is safer and so is my car!"
Review 16 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for dog (and your car),
May 27, 2014
By: Balones
from Fort Worth, Texas
"I love the hammock. I got the XL and it fits my Jeep Grand Cherokee perfectly, overhangs on the sides for optimal cover. My dog enjoys his personal hammock and can still hang his head out the window. I am also enjoying the isolation it provides so he doesn't jump up to the front seat. Great overall purchase."
Review 17 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 20, 2014
By: mudfly
from Maine
"I looked a lot of hammocks before purchase and thought feature and quality surpassed all others and I was right great job or is for superb product"
Review 18 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sturdy Product,
May 19, 2014
By: YodiesMom
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is an excellent product - very well made and very strong. It does have a strong chemical smell when it first comes out of the bag, but leaving it in the fresh air for a day or two takes the smell completely away. My dog was not the least bit skittish sitting on it. I woudl highly recommend this!"
Review 19 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WPG in a VW,
May 2, 2014
By: WPGGirl
from Atlanta
"So far so good. I was worried about not covering the entire seat from side to side, so I did go with the X-large size (61" width) for my new VW Passat (2014), which measured 57" from door to door. It's a little too big, so it drapes over the sides of the seat a little bit (but the Large size is only 51" and would have left several inches completely unprotected). This turns out to be good because I really wanted something that would protect the sides of the seat as well, especially when my dog is jumping in and out of the car. However it does lead to a bit of bunching on the seat-back which presents no functional issues, but is not appealing to the eye.
If Orvis decided to re-design, the only improvements I would suggest would be: 1) No seatbelt openings; it's a dog hammock so there's no way people are going to sit back there with it, and it's just a potential for hair and dirt to fall through the holes. 2) Attach small "flaps" to the sides of the section that covers the bottom seat... that way the sides of the seat are protected while the dog is jumping in and out. And 3) Make the underside soft and protectant for the seats (brand new leather seats!). To be clear, there has **not** been any damage to the seats, and I'm not sure if there ever would be, but I've been nervous about removing the large towel I have under the hammock. I'm worried about the underside of a seam scratching the seats or the non-slip surface sticking to them. I would prefer the large "anchor" handles I've seen on other hammock and seat cover choices.
Over all, the hammock suits my purposes well (Other than the weird smell invading my amazing new car smell, but that seems to be fading)."
Review 20 for Water-Resistant Hose-Off Seat Hammock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant quality,
April 29, 2014
By: Shirley08
"Really happy with the Seat Hammock. Works perfectly for my dog and kept the car clean picking up plants at the nursery."