Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue

The easiest on-and-off boot—now upgraded with EcoTraX™ rubber soles to help stem the spread of aquatic invasives. The Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges gives better traction in the boot with legendary stability thanks to our hunting boot welt construction to minimize torsion and keep your ankles from rolling. They last a lot longer than competitive boots, too. All-synthetic construction resists shrinkage and expansion and wards off damage from rot, mildew, or sun. Support panels and main toe and heel made of rugged polyurethane. Recessed side-panel stitching prevents thread abrasion. Heavy-denier nylon uppers. Padded collar. Same durable zipper for easy on-and-off. PosiGrip™ Screw-In Studs included with each pair for better traction. In gray/olive. Imported.Men's whole sizes: 7, 8. If you are a half size, or prefer heavier socks, order the next larger size. 4 lbs., 6 oz. in size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
90 of 97(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Review 1 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
April 8, 2014
By: Charliezha
from Rowland Heights
"It is a good price for me to get confortable experience in the fishing"
Review 2 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy On Wading Boots,
February 6, 2014
By: mrgen
"I like the easy on off zipper. Zipper on this pair sticks a little but some paraffin fixes it. It is a little heavier than other boots you can find but well constructed. I am physically active and don't hike great distances to fish so the extra weight is no concern. Solid soles and not felt so these are legal in my state. A good buy for the price."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Boot,
January 15, 2014
By: Love2FishAK
from Alaska
"I've used these for two seasons now fishing in them from our Alaskan Spring breakups through our Fall flurries and they just keep getting better. At first the zipper was a little stiff and I was starting to think I made a bad choice but as the 1st season went on, they broke in nicely to include the zipper working smoothly on demand.
This past season while on a float trip, I easily removed the studs so as not to puncture/damage the raft tubes.
Another thoughtful feature is the "once drawn tight," lace lock down and release idea.
These boots may be a little heavy for some people (solid), but I find them comfortable with great ankle and foot support. I'm 5 '7", 155 lbs. I've even had to run down stream chasing raft oars in them. A two mile hike and then spending all day fishing is not uncommon.
A bit more costly than cheaper boots but certainly worth it for the differences in quality and design."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sooo Comfortable,
December 4, 2013
By: HappyHobbit
from Suffolk England
"I bought a pair in the Town Hall sale and loved them so much I bought a second pair. They are very comfortable and the side zip makes them very easy to slip on and off which is a great help with wet neoprene feet. The sole has great grip and with a second pair I now have no worries about transferring potential problems between fisheries
highly recommended
"
Review 5 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Boot - Great Traction on rocky bottoms,
November 11, 2013
By: Boloni
"What I love about these boots when I first got them is the great traction I got when wading. I'm a small guy 5ft 6 and weight 130 pounds so I need something with very good traction on the water as I don't want to go tumbling downstream. The rivers I wade can get quite dangerous as well and I need the best traction I can get possible. The boots provided that traction for about 1 year and when the rubber started wearing off, it got really slippery even with added studs. The reason I'm giving this a 3 is because it is not as comfortable as other boots I have worn. My feet get pretty sore after a day out with them. Also, I really hated the zipper. One of the guys at the local orvis store boasted of the zipper system, but I had a really hard time zipping it up when my boots were dry. It's pretty inconvenient spending 5-10 minutes trying to put the boots on. This is why I give it a 3. Other than that, the traction it gives is awesome and I feel really safe wading the rivers. Because of the issues with the zipper, I think next time I'll get the Riverguard Ultralight boots."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy On-and-Off,
September 3, 2013
By: drojas11
from Washington, D.C.
"I've had these for a year. Compared to my old Simms boots, these are a great pair. They are easy to get on and off, provide great ankle support and with the screw-in studs, great traction even on shale bottom streams (i.e. Erie, PA). I would highly recommend these to anyone."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 6, 2013
By: Minnesnowta
from Duluth, MN
"I bought a size up from the shoe size I normally wear and it fits perfectly with the waders I have. Great traction and more reliable than felt bottoms."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy On; Easy Off,
July 27, 2013
By: Fizzix
from Stanton, TX
"Really like the easy with which you can get these boots on and off. It really makes it simple to gear up when you get to the river. I also have some problems with "weak ankles" due to football in high school; I really like the support that these boots afford you and would highly recommend them just because of that, but the icing on the cake is the ease that you can get them on and off."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grips slick rocks like a cat on curtains,
June 25, 2013
By: ascended6
from Sterling Heights, MI
"I love the zipper makes gearing up stream side a snap. The comfort and support are like no other, and the studs provide incredible grip on all types of substrate."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot,
June 11, 2013
By: Bobby67
from Dahlonega, GA
"This is a good boot. The rubber bottoms are more durable that the felt and perform just as well."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good support and traction,
June 10, 2013
By: FishMKE
from Milwaukee, WI
"These boots have really good support and are super easy to get on and off thanks to the size zipper. The only issue with that is it occasionally gets stuck. The studs on the bottom of the soles do a great job of gripping to rocks and pebbles for a non-slip confident wading experience."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots!,
June 3, 2013
By: RRJacobo
from Pinson, Alabama
"I couldn't ask for a better pair of wading boots. Very comfortable. Makes wading a pleasure.
RJ"
Review 13 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save the streams,
May 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Greenville, NC
"Excellent idea,I hope the use of these new soles will prevent transfer of pathogens and that others will give up felt soles and join the party"
Review 14 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wading boots,
May 29, 2013
By: CherryBomb1
from Bennett Springs MO
"These boots are great, Good grip on rocks, good support and easy on and off with the zipper"
Review 15 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Initial review--tried for the first time,
May 26, 2013
By: Robert1213
from Longmont, CO
"These truly are easy on, easy off. I tried for the first time last week and think they will be great.
Much more stable in the water than boots I had been using, I used on a stream and in a lake. They are a bit heavier than I am accustomed to, so walking and climbing when not in the water will take time to adjust. Looks like they will last for long time."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy and Comfortable,
May 19, 2013
By: Dave41
from Round Rock, TX
"Got these boots last year after reading mixed reviews but, have had good experiences with Orvis products in the past. They have been great! The studded soles hold like velcro in lots of different conditions and the easy off feature is definitely a plus."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Match,
May 15, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"I bought these to match up with Silver Sonic waders and of all the boots I tried at my local Orvis store these fit the most comfortable with the neoprene booties. They offer fantastic ankle support and sure footing in the fast waters of the Pacific Northwest."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good boots,
May 13, 2013
By: CapeFish
from Cape cod, ma
"So far so good, boots are exactly as detailed. Ordered size 13 and I wear size 13 sneaker, fit perfect. Been out 5 times so far in harsh rocky terrain and have not lost at stud yet. Boots have met my expectations."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first wading boot,
May 13, 2013
By: Ketil
from Avon, CT
"I have never had a wading boot before and so far the boot is meeting my expectations. It is comfortable and gives me a secure feeling in the water. We will see how it works out in the long run."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction like a 4WD,
May 2, 2013
By: sircastalot
from Burney, CA
"This is my first boot that is rubber with cleats. Having used felt for the last 40 fishing years, I was a bit apprehensive about leaving felt. However, these boots are incredible. Great traction over rocks and moss. Very impressive. I'd recommend them to anyone"