Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Fleece-Lined Deep Dish

Our Fleece-Lined Deep Dish is the ultimate in spacious comfort. Generously sized, it's perfect for dogs who love to stretch out, and is ideal for multiple dogs who enjoy lounging together. Soft Berber™ multitone fleece top provides a designer look; microfiber cover features an antistatic coating to prevent shocks in dry environments. In light brown. 4" thick. Spun-polyester fill. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.837 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
30 of 49(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Review 1 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Oops,
October 22, 2013
By: Efon
from Barto, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The dogs received their Deep Dish extra Large Bed for Christmas last year. It has not held up. The fleece interior sheds and they now have two bald spots. Also the stitching has not held up I have to go and find an extra strength thread to try and repair it. Very disappointed with the product."
Review 2 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Take note,
December 14, 2012
By: Boxerss
from FL
"My 3 dogs absolutely love the bed and have plenty of room. The only problem is that the soft curly fabric on the top part sheds terribly and ends of all over the house, especially if you have a dog that likes to scratch around before they lay down. If you wash it, it will shed worse and fill the washer and dryer with fluff. The things we endure to keep our pets happy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed,
May 7, 2012
By: Robby102
from Denver, CO
"I purchased this bed for my Chihuahua and she loves it. She can curl up in a corner or stretch out. Either way, she enjoys the way the bed cradles her. I wish I had bought it sooner."
Review 4 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Dog Bed Ever Purchased,
May 1, 2012
By: Sooke
from Beaverton, OR
"The fleece cover sheds quite a bit a first, but after the first few weeks not so much. The worst attribute of this bed is the filling. After our dog lay in her new bed for about 30 minutes the filling completely compressed to the point that I had to purchase a piece of foam to put under her bed. Although the catalog says the polyester fill is easily machine washable, the label on the internal cover says to remove the filling before spot cleaning. On calling customer service for clarification, the rep I spoke with seemed unfamiliar with these instructions. I would like to return this product."
Review 5 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
VERY Disappointed,
January 25, 2012
By: KENTX
from Texas
"This is the third bed purchased through Orvis. The first two (different than this one) were awesome beds. This bed's fleece has shed like crazy since I took it out of the box and is all over the floors. I have to vacuum every day. It was purchased for our 10 year old doberman and the filling is horrible. I called Orvis and they are sending the same bed to replace this one.....(insanity) Or offered to refund my money. After reading the reviews I am surprised that they haven't removed the bed from the website. :("
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do Not Purchase!,
January 21, 2012
By: Trishe
"My dog loved the bed, I did not. Unfortunately I bought the bed prior to reading the reviews. As others have stated, the fleece on the bed started "shedding" within a few weeks of purchase. Orvis did an upgrade on a replacement bed for free."
Review 7 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No, but...,
January 9, 2012
By: MelKelLex
"I wish there was a "maybe recommend" button! We purchased our XL deep-dish about 18months ago...our two 75lbs labs rather share one big bed than have their own. They love their bed so they'd vote "RECOMMEND". However, from day one, the deep dish has shed...and it continues 18 months later. Unfortunately, now there are huge bald spots where the fleece has been worn off. The bed lost its shape months and months ago and maybe I should have contacted Orvis then but it didn't really seem to bother the dogs. Now that there are huge bald spots, the sides are flat and the bottom of the bed is completely without fluff--I realize my mistake. To have paid this amount of money for a bed and to have it literally fall apart in such a short time is a shame and waste of money. Shame on me for not heeding other's reviews or listening to my "little voice" telling me to contact Orvis weeks after my purchase."
Review 8 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replicated test,
December 15, 2011
By: rumen8
"I have two dogs and they both love this bed. I bought two iin size LARGE My Golden in 75 pds and my shepherd is 95 pds..... both beds have plent of room..... I do kinda wonder if I could have bought a smaller one but we have the room."
Review 9 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful gift for aging dog,
November 17, 2011
By: Jodispeaks
from Rochester, WA
"I wondered with anticipation as I unpacked the dog bed. Would Jodi, an 8 year old Rhodesian Ridgeback with some arthritis, love it or not. Well, it took about 30 seconds of sniffing, and she pronounced it the best bed ever. She looks so peaceful and content. It makes me feel good to know that this small gesture is having such a positive impact on her life."
Review 10 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Solution,
November 12, 2011
By: Diander
from Rockford, IL
"This bed has solved the problem of our Golden Retriever trying to sleep on our bed! He is comfortable and so are we!"
Review 11 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Happy,
November 7, 2011
By: unhappyinCT
from Connecticut
"I too purchased this bed last winter. Looked great! After a few short months last year and just taking it out this year for the cold months our 40 lb soft coated wheaten terrier is practically lying on the floor again. The fluff of the inner pillow and bolster are so flat and out of shape. The fleece is also worn off in quite a few places. She is not a destructive dog yet this bed for the price we paid certainly has not stood up to Orvis's claim to quality!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved it.. then disappointed,
September 15, 2011
By: Beaglemum
from France
"Bed was a huge success when it arrived. Dog loved it and it looked very smart. But within 2 months the fleece had worn very thin. This I could accept as Betty has a tendency to scrabble about a bit before settling.
Then disaster struck! One evening she started chomping tentatively on one corner. Within seconds she'd gone through the material.
I know it's not a tough chew model - but I didn't expect the material to be unable to withstand a very brief chomp (I watched it happen and it took no time at all.. by the time I got up to tell her to leave it the hole was there.)
Sadly this lovely bed is now languishing in the garage. Funnily enough.. all of her other beds (she has two in her crate and another one in the lounge) are unharmed despite similar occasional pulling - and they were a quarter of the cost.
Very disappointed. The design is fabulous, but the durability - in my experience - was very poor.
I wouldn't describe my dog as a chewer (all of our furniture is untouched) but I would only consider a tough chew option if I get another expensive dog bed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 4, 2011
By: trinkie
from Essex ... England
"This is the best bed we have ever bought for our dogs .... it was meant for our golden retriever ... however the dachshunds prefer it to their own and will either climb on top of our golden or get their first and she has to lie on the floor ... we must save up for another one for the dachshunds..... excellent buy ..."
Review 14 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
August 15, 2011
By: Jay77
from VA
"I searched forever to get a decent bed, finally found this one and it's great. Daisy loves it."
Review 15 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
July 29, 2011
By: mausman1
"I purchased two of the extra large beds. Within one month of owning the beds the lining separated on both where the bolster (pillow part) meets the bed. At this price I am extremely disappointed that there isn't enough fabric used or the stitching isn't strong enough to prevent this from happening. Over the years I have purchased many good quality beds through Orvis. I would not buy these again nor would I again purchase any bed with a bolster (pillow) around it."
Review 16 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what was needed,
June 25, 2011
By: HarrysMom
"I have a dog and my husband and I share custody of another one. Pete is a 15-year old Border Collie and his hip muscle is almost none existant. This bed is just what he needs for those times when he just aches too much to lay on the floor. The Pomeranian mix likes it, too."
Review 17 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the money,
June 17, 2011
By: mockbird
"I am really surprised Orvis is still selling these dog beds. We purchased a medium and a large at the price of $367.00 (not including shipping). We have had them for about 4 to 5 months now and they started shedding from the get-go. I have washed them now 5 times and put them in the dryer in hopes they would quit shedding. I also vacuum them every single day but to no avail. They are nice looking and the dogs look mighty comfortable in them, but it really is an inconvenience to clean and wash them so very often. I am sorry to Orvis as everything I have ever gotten from them is of high quality, but these beds are really not worth the price."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for her disappointment. We offered substitute covers for the Fleece-Lined Deep Dish beds, which satisfied our customer. Our goal is to make sure this item is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 18 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice, deep, oversized bed,
June 12, 2011
By: LucysHuman
"I bought this as Lucy's second bed so she has one upstairs and one downstairs. An eight year old rescue Pitt Bull with patellar luxation, this is by far her favorite, most comfortable, bed. Her other one is the bagel bed which I would give a 4-star rating because the padding separates and leaves flat spots. But this one with the bolsters is staying together. The padding is not separating and the bolsters are staying upright. Be aware this is an oversize bed. Lucy is 60lbs and she is happily swimming in the sea of room the large bed gives her. She would have been just fine with a medium. I'm purchasing a medium one now for the study. My dog has had a tough life. As her happy, safe retirement home, why shouldn't she have a bed in every room? And this bed does the trick. THANK YOU, ORVIS."
Review 19 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not built to last,
May 25, 2011
By: aliceh
"I purchased this bed last fall and it was backordered until Christmas time. I have bought previous beds from Orvis and expected the same quality especially given the price point. We immediately noticed lots of shedding from the fleece lining and several holes after only 2 or 3 months of use. The bolstering also started to give recently as well. It's definitely not the same quality that I have come to expect from Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 7, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized this cover shed so badly. Orvis offered to send a new cover to this customer at no charge to replace their current cover. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service has forwarded this feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item.
Review 20 for Fleece-Lined Deep Dish
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 23, 2011
By: Rested
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"When new the bed looks wonderful, however after only a few months it began to shed horribly. The Base filling flattened and shifted so there was very little cushioning left. After a few more months the bed covering became so thin we were afraid to wash it. Dog did like the bolster though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.