Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant

Keep the biting bugs at bay in style with cool, comfortable, 100% nylon pants treated with Insect Shield. Two side pockets: one with zipper, one with hook-and-loop closure. Converts with a quick zip to 10" inseam shorts. In light khaki. Washable. Do not dry clean. Imported. Even waist sizes 30-44. 32" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Review 1 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ExOfficio Ziwa,
September 10, 2014
By: Gibsoncrt
from East Greenwich, RI
"Not a good fitat all. Not what I expected from ExOfficio. Inadequate pockets, much too long in the length and a very skimpy fitted convertible pant.
I returned them and asked Orvis to waive the return fee as they were totally not what I expected. Customer service did remove the return fee.
"
Review 2 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chiggars and ticks,
July 18, 2014
By: CaptMichael
from Mathews, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am reclaiming an old farm house and buildings from 15 plus years of neglect. The trees and growth were beginning to claim the structures and in the trees and growth are thousand of hungry mosquitoes, chiggers and ticks. Until my wife found the ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant I would remove 50+ ticks from my legs every day after work. after a few days the chigger bites would show up and the scratching and itching were unbearable not to mention the oozing sores and scars. My legs still look like I have the pox. I love! love! love! these pants. the light weight and moisture wicking fabric make doing this hard work bearable. I also have a long sleeve shirt."
Review 3 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for active lifestyle,
May 15, 2014
By: BMonk
from Stamford, CT
"These pants are great. I am on my second pair after ripping one of the pant legs sliding into third base during a softball game, but these are very light weight, comfortable, and versatile. I have worn these on hikes, while doing yard work, and batting .702 in a local softball league and the only person they dissappoint is the opposing pitcher as he sees me crossing home plate."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant,
April 4, 2014
By: MrChad
from Minnesota
"I chose the Orvis product over other similar products because of the bugs away feature and the overall fit. The waist band expand ability is just right. The zippers are also of good quality. The only thing I would recommend as a user is to have a wider right leg Velcro pocket. I have large hands and fingers and I would prefer another half inch. These are a great pair of pants!"
Review 5 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
February 4, 2014
By: Prezz
from NY
"Great pants. Lightweight, quick drying, elastic waist. Orvis needs more trousers made of this material!!"
Review 6 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort Perfection,
December 23, 2013
By: panhandle72
from Northwest Florida
"Have found these convertible pants absolutely the most comfortable slacks for playing golf. When the weather forecast calls for "multiple layers" these pants are the perfect match. Light weight for long pants and the "cargo bermuda" shorts keep you cool once the temperature rises. Perfect golf attire for those transitional weather months. Only drawback is the need for more color options."
Review 7 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing slacks,
November 12, 2013
By: Wupp
from NY NY
"The slacks are very versatile: ability to switch into sorts; expandable waistline for comfort; breathable & quick drying"
Review 8 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great convertible pants,
July 12, 2013
By: MGinABQ
from Albuquerque NM
"I do not "fit" well in most women's pants or jeans if they are fitted at all. I basically have no waistline so the built in curves in women's items don't work for me. I generally always buy men's jeans and some cargo shorts. I bought two pair each of these pants for my husband and me, as we are headed to Tanzania for a safari in September. They wash nicely and dry quickly. DO NOT PUT THEM IN THE DRYER or if you do, have it on the coolest setting possible, as they shrink in length."
Review 9 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Pants but...only if your leg length is 32"!,
July 8, 2013
By: banjodenny
"I love these pants...very cool and comfortable with the summer heat in the 90+ degrees! The fabric is strong and wears very well. The only criticism I have is the length. My pant length is 30 and the 32 inch inseam (only length available)drags along the ground. I guess I will have to get them altered at an additional expense."
Review 10 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light weight easy to pack,
December 30, 2012
By: Dajovet
"These pants are light weight and easy to travel with- lots of pockets and good for insect repellent"
Review 11 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
December 29, 2012
By: gigi52
"My husband loves these pants. He normally wears them as shorts. He loves the light weight of the fabric. The insect repellent is a nice feature, although he's never focused on whether it really repels insects or not."
Review 12 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
terrific tropical trousers,
December 28, 2012
By: Grayling1
from Bristol, UK
"These are very comfortable and lightweight pants that give the impression of being hard wearing. The zips etc are sturdy. It is too soon to rate them for wear and tear but I look forward to wading the warm salt waters with them."
Review 13 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great pants, wish they had more colors,
June 25, 2012
By: hangli
from Ottawa, Canada
"Pants are very light weight, comfortable and easy to wear. Only complaint is that they only come in one color: light khaki, which is so light that any dirt is very obvious. A true khaki or brown or dark grey would be an improvement."
Review 14 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for trout fishing,
May 10, 2012
By: bvanlent
from Mount Shasta, CA
"I got these pants for a June fly fishing trip to go back and forth from lodge to water. They worked great and were very comfortable as shorts hiking in the full sun or complete under waders in the 48 degree river."
Review 15 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it!,
January 13, 2012
By: PoisonOkie
from OK
"I am taking these to a hot and humid climate, they are light-weight, and very comfortable. I am very satisfied with this product."
Review 16 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight Pants/shorts,
January 12, 2012
By: wheaten
from Washington DC
"Tried pants on at home before a trip. The lightness was great. Look forward lots of use in future."
Review 17 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and functional,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"These pants are super light weight and great warm weather or wading pants. They are very comfortable and the quick dry capability is impressive. The easily removable legs are an added convenience, especially during the hottest months. Really happy with this purchase."
Review 18 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable relaxed fit.,
June 3, 2011
By: Bellum
from Edmonton,Alberta, Canada
"I received these as a substitute for and at the same price as another type of convertible hiking trouser that was on sale, but Orvis did not have my size in stock.
I was apprehensive about the fit at the waist but this was dispelled upon the first try on. The fit was comfortable and relaxed with extra width afforded by a built-in expandible waist. Yes!!!
The material is super thin yet appears very stong.
I cannot attest to the insect repelling qualities as we are having a very light mosquito season this year, but the built-in repellant is non-objectionable.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa Convertible Pant
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5