Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet

The most abrasion-resistant nylon fly fishing leader and tippet on the market. It features all of the advantages of nylon elasticity and suppleness while reducing the risk that fish will break you off on rocks, debris, or coral. Incorporates a high knot strength and comes in a new clear color. Provides enhanced turnover power for big, heavy flies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Review 1 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shock tippet for big fish,
July 28, 2014
By: flyfisher2
from Billings, Montana
"Surprisingly small diameter for strength of material. Right amount of suppleness. Easy to tie knots. Very low price compared to fluorocarbon. A best buy!"
Review 2 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toothy critters,
June 4, 2014
By: Obgynkenobi
from Edmonton Alberta
"Fishing for walleye and pike on our home lake this sure beats wire fumbling and stands up. This past weekend, 30 pike and 8 walleye with only one precautionary Tippet change and no fish lost!"
Review 3 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong leader,
March 10, 2014
By: Cdcaddis
from Acklins Island, Bahamas
"Good quality leader with abrasion resistance diameter. Helps hanging onto big bonefish if thet swim over coral in shallow water."
Review 4 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good stuff,
November 22, 2013
By: breakaway
from Tulsa, OK
"10' 16# on 8 wt., 10# -15# tippet. Turns over striper flies in windy conditions. fished mostly in very rough rocky river bottom. Long lasting. Not prone to wind knots. Low memory. No complaints. Please don't ever discontinue."
Review 5 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pike and bass leaders!,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"Awesome durability and wear resistance. I used these all summer on freshwater game fish with excellent longevity."
Review 6 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet,
October 18, 2013
By: Quarfy
from Amherst, NY
"I find this tippet works great in the rocky bottom fast water of the lower Niagara River. This is a most challenging test for a leader and tippet. The abrasion resistant product from Orvis is a must in these challenging environments."
Review 7 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst leader for Salmon,
July 8, 2013
By: Maure
from Sept-Iles, Quebec,Canada
"Strength OK- all other features poor.
Too limp-remains curled once the fly is tied on.
Difficult to use any good salmon knot.
Impossible to thread and tie a # 10 or smaller atlantic salmon fly at dusk
due to lack of color.
Lost 2 nice salmon with this leader
"
Review 8 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
April 9, 2013
By: RetiredSteelheader
from Albany, NY
"Leader and tippet was easy to handle, tied effectively, and handled well with casts. Strong effective line that performed well in challenging conditions."
Review 9 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AR+ Really Held Up...,
October 9, 2012
By: flyboy54401
from BRULE, WI
"I put a new AR+ Leader and 30" of AR Tippet on last Thursday morning and fished 3 days on the Bois Brule in Northern Wisconsin for Steelhead, Salmon and Spawning Browns. I lost 3 flies all weekend and believe me, they were stuck! Breaking this line off was not easy, at times I would get my fly back with the hook bent before the leader or tippet broke. Good Stuff"
Review 10 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Orvis product,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"I grabbed a few of these earlier in the year for targeting pike for the first time on flies. I noticed right away the leaders were very tough and harder to cut through than my normal SS and Mirage leaders. I lost every pike I had, but not because of my leader failing..just bad hooksets! Overall a great toothy critter leader for a great price. Will just have to see how it holds up to some big fish in the future."
Review 11 for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AR Laeder and Tippet,
June 4, 2012
By: Bobby3
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"Excellent material, as a newbi to fly fishing all help from store and live chat very helpful. After reading articles on leaders and tibbit material "Orvis" is the leader on quality and stands behind product."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Abrasion-Resistant Leader and Tippet
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1