Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hometown Puzzle

Put your house in the middle of a 400-piece custom jigsaw puzzle! Created using Delorme mapping, a precise and detailed image is created of your hometown—covering an area of 6 miles east-to-west and 4 miles north-to-south—with your house right in the center. To make getting started a little easier, the center puzzle piece is shaped like a house. This completely unique puzzle makes a great gift and is a fun and challenging activity for the whole family. This custom hometown puzzle is available for US addresses in the contiguous 48 states only. 12¼" x 18⅛". Please note: this item is shipped via the U.S. Postal Service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
29 of 36(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hometown Puzzle
Review 1 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ft Col,
April 12, 2014
By: WVDALGal
from Dallas
"Pieces are smaller than expected. And maybe a little thinner.
It arrived much sooner than advertised. Some other catalogs have it a little cheaper but they were handy online at the time I needed it,
Overall, decent product."
Review 2 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique gift idea,
January 30, 2014
By: OnlyTheBest
from NJ
"Bought this for a family memeber who's hard to shop for. This was something I knew they would not have. Very nice product. Just takes some time to arrive since it is custom made."
Review 3 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique gift!,
December 17, 2013
By: jthoma25
from Saline MI
"The "hometown puzzle" is a unique gift that can be enjoyed in many ways -- as a memento, as a puzzle, and as a gift. The puzzle arrived sooner than promised. It is well packaged and compact."
Review 4 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hometown Puzzle,
December 17, 2013
By: BBHokie
from Charlottesville, VA
"I love this puzzle. Does not include a map, but that just makes it more fun to put together!
The pieces are small, may be hard for an older person to put together."
Review 5 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
December 12, 2013
By: bbw61
from Burlington, KY
"This is Christmas present for my son-in-law who loves jigsaw puzzles. I am so excited to give this to him and see the completed puzzle."
Review 6 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lakes,
January 11, 2013
By: NearALake
from Lake Champlain, VT
"We received this as a gift and enjoyed putting together the first half of the puzzle, although it would have been helpful to have a printout of the puzzle area of a map.
However, when we started working on the large lake next to our house it was very frustrating. The pieces were too similar. We couldn't tell if we had the correct piece until we tried to add another piece."
Review 7 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very unique gift,
January 3, 2013
By: JodyD
"For someone who has everything! A personalized puzzle is quite special."
Review 8 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique gift!,
January 2, 2013
By: CaitieM
"Great idea! Ordered this for myself and am really enjoying putting it together. Good quality. Will order more as gifts, and it comes very nicely boxed. Didn’t order it until beginning of December, and it arrived a week or so later. Great service. Well done Orvis."
Review 9 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Gift For Those Difficult To Shop For,
December 29, 2012
By: FlyFshrOfCT
from Norwalk, CT
"Searching for a gift that was different yet personal is not an easy task. After exhausting possible avenues, I came across Orvis' Hometown Puzzle. Immediately I knew that this gift would be a smash with the giftee and something they will always remember and perhaps look to Orvis to make one for them to give away also. You would think it's an easy puzzle but when you see the map and the limited variable colors you quickly realize that it will be a challenge to finish and not a simple child's puzzle. I highly recommend this puzzle to those seeking to find a unique gift or for themselves. It will definitely not disappoint."
Review 10 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great idea, poor execution!,
June 19, 2012
By: Janmt
"We bought two last Chrismas: one for a gift and one for us of our cabin location. The most striking thing this company overlooked was not to print off a guide map! How hard (costly) would that have been to make a copy for the puzzle builders! The second problem is that the print quality is very poor! Looks like ink running out on draft quality. Perhaps we got unlucky, but it did not appear as in the example.
A very frustrating puzzle experience which seemed like a great idea...at the time. Our gift recipients said the same and that it was not worth the aggravation to complete. This could easily be improved upon with better ink and a guide!"
Review 11 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 2, 2012
By: jc60
from Louisville, KY
"Although a bit pricey, it made for a great gift! The pieces didn't fit tightly which was sometimes frustrating but all in all, we loved it and have recommended it to many friends. It was great fun to see the details of our neighborhoods, including schools that our children attend."
Review 12 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift idea, but...,
January 1, 2012
By: Deeds
from Arkansas
"Please make sure when you order this you have plenty of time before you need it. I ordered mine on Dec. 5, but didn't receive it until Dec. 31. It even said order by Dec. 5 to receive in time for Christmas. I was a little disappointed that it did not get here in time."
Review 13 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than a book,
December 30, 2011
By: JEdward
from Chicago, Il
"This is special for anyone difficult to shop for a unique gift. Beats a book, PJ"s or anything that you like to be relaxed doing and surprised at the same .time."
Review 14 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome puzzle,
December 30, 2011
By: Rockland
"The puzzle was a gift to my husband. The map is actually of our weekend cabin and he absolutely loved it."
Review 15 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift for a Family,
December 30, 2011
By: WelliesFan
from Norwich, VT
"I purchased this puzzle as a gift for my fiance's family and it was the biggest hit at Christmas! Our address was a cute house shaped piece that was the center of the puzzle and since the house is on the water the nautical chart aspect was a lot of fun. The only issue we had is that it takes 3-4 weeks delivery so order with plenty of time. It also does not come with a photo of the completed puzzle so make sure you know your area well! We had a wonderful time putting this together and are thinking of framing it now that it's complete! This is a great family keepsake."
Review 16 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Gift,
December 29, 2011
By: monigermany
from Chicago
"Fun gift for the person on your list that has everything !"
Review 17 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Should Have Waited For Christmas!,
December 6, 2011
By: CarlE
from Columbus, OH
"Gave this puzzle to my In-Laws as an anniversary present a couple of months ago, and they love it! Not sure how to top this one for their Christmas gifts, but will certainly being ordering some more of these wonderful puzzles for others on my list. What a great idea."
Review 18 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
November 27, 2011
By: HappyShopper69
from NYC
"What a wonderful way to share surprise and delight by buying this original gift - a hand-made jigsaw map centred on a loved-one's home. Since Maurice Snr received his he's been buying them for his friends too. It's the perfect recommendation."
Review 19 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
hometown puzzel,
November 22, 2011
By: Rockslide001
from York PA
"I wish the scale was bigger. part of the FUN was going to be able to see the neighborhod from the ariel view, however the scale is so small you cannot recognize anything. Great concept, but disappointing that I couldnt see my childhood home with ANY level of detail. Thanks for the opption to provide feedback."
Review 20 for Hometown Puzzle
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Gift,
November 21, 2011
By: ENoord
"This makes a unique gift for someone who is hard to shop for. The puzzle is a bit small but I knew the dimensions going into the purchase. It would be great if the manufacturer could expand the puzzle to at least 500 pieces."