Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants

Keep the biting bugs at bay in style with cool, comfortable, lightweight pants treated with Insect Shield. Insect Shield® is made of permethrin, a synthetic version of a natural insect repellent found in chrysanthemum plants. The Insect Shield process binds permethrin tightly to fabric fibers, resulting in effective, orderless insect protection. In addition, Insect Shield also offers sun protection up to SPF 30, is EPA registered, and lasts up to 70 washings. Quite possibly the perfect travel pants, these lightweight nylon pants are stain-, water-, and wrinkle-resistant, pack easily, and are quick drying and moisture wicking. Plus, they convert to 10"-inseam shorts with a quick zip. Easy-access mesh-lined zippered pockets. Nylon. Washable. Do not dry clean. Imported.Sizes 4-16. Regular: 32" inseam. Petite: 29" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Review 1 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight convertible pants,
August 25, 2014
By: Buzzbuzz1
from Venice FL
"Lightweight, easy to pack. We are limited in weight we can pack, so I am getting two options for one"
Review 2 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pants for any weather,
July 24, 2014
By: galefb
from Sylva, NC
"The nice thing about these pants is that you can start out with them on in cooler mornings and zip off the bottoms to continue into the afternoons. Fit is very good as well and true to size ordered."
Review 3 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel & sports pants,
July 15, 2014
By: AbbeyDog1
from Tallahassee FL
"Perfectly sized light weight pants that can adapt to weather changes. Easy to wear and pack. I will use these for both tropical and cooler climate outdoor sports trips when traveling.
True to size.
"
Review 4 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good,
June 27, 2014
By: carol1936
from wisconsin
"Looking forward to using them in Africa. Have not worn them yet."
Review 5 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fit.,
June 16, 2014
By: woodsbunny
"I am pleased that they are roomy and plenty long for me. Haven't had any ticks."
Review 6 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wish I could clean them,
June 16, 2014
By: EABPas
from Pasadena, CA
"Seemed like lovely material, light, strong, soft, nice to wear, good fit. Wore them for an 11 mile hike, and swore I'd go buy two more pairs. Then I noticed that I'd sat on a tree branch that had some soot on it from a fire, and put them in the washer. They came out looking just as dirty as when I put them in. Tried stain remover. No dice. A real shame but now I don't want to wear them because they really look awful. They are still highly functional, but looks matter too!"
Review 7 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoy wearing it...,
June 10, 2014
By: schwartzicol
"I thought the pants fit well. It was a perfect length for petite 4. Looking forward to wearing them a lot during the summer months."
Review 8 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
May 28, 2014
By: Hrish
"Regular size fits better than petite for me. Very comfortable and versatile. I'm taking these on safari and they roll up very well to pack. Tried out the insect repellant feature at the ballpark and no bites! I recommend these pants. I bought through the store and both shipping and the cost to get hemmed at a local tailor were included! Great service!"
Review 9 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pants for a buggy area,
May 20, 2014
By: tomSFF
from St. Petersburg, FL
"I purchased the Ziwa convertible pants for my granddaughter who is doing research in a mine in Glenallen, Alaska. The mosquitoes are fierce and she reports that the pants are effective in protecting her legs. I'm a long time fly fisher and have found the new bugaway pants very effective in protecting my legs. The products carried by Orvis meet the needs of 3 generations of members of my family."
Review 10 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Pants,
May 12, 2014
By: fromles
"Super comfortable for gardening and outdoor activities. Very lightweight and cool enough to wear as long pants in hot weather if you want to protect from ticks when sitting on the ground or kneeling and working. True to size."
Review 11 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as expected,
May 12, 2014
By: dh500
from Maryland
"Good quality and fit. This was my first Orvis purchase. I am 5"4" and normal weight, and I ordered size 8 with 29" inseam. This product fit just fine. I will be well prepared for my next trip with this item in my suitcase."
Review 12 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Convertible Pants,
July 29, 2013
By: bubbs
from Cheshire, UK
"I already have a pair of these trousers which are so comfortable and versatile that I needed another pair. I love wearing them when I go walking in this lovely sunny summer that we have been enjoying recently. Well done ExOfficio!"
Review 13 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderpants,
July 9, 2013
By: StellaCartography
"Nice light trousers, love the zips that convert the trousers into shorts and give you more room for boots."
Review 14 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light as a feather,
June 4, 2013
By: OrvisBuff
from Staffordshire, England
"Lovely fit with this product and am looking forward to the weather to be nice enough to use them as shorts. Too early to comment on it's ability to keep bugs at bay, hence the 4 stars instead of 5"
Review 15 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely to wear,
April 16, 2013
By: bubbs
from Cheshire, UK
"When i tried theses pants on they were really comfortable. They are so versatile with the zip off bottoms. I know that I will enjoy wearing them."
Review 16 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good at sale price,
March 15, 2013
By: hwilliamson
from Glasgow
"Like most Orvis products these days, I would not have paid full price for this one - similar items can easily be found for much less.
However,it appears to be an excellent garment and will be a very useful addition to my trekking collection. It has everything I would want to help me tackle my next trip!"
Review 17 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugs Away Pants,
June 5, 2012
By: prius
"Perfect pants for our our hiking and monitoring trails. Keep those pesty critters off our body."
Review 18 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
February 1, 2012
By: Milomama
"These are great pants -lightweight, fit well and loaded with features like bugs away and SPF. Perfect for cool mornings and hit middays."
Review 19 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
functional, not gorgeous,
December 3, 2011
By: CAnative
from SF Bay Area
"I bought these for a trip to a place where malaria-carrying insects are a concern. The pants are certainly not for fashion, but they are breathable, lightweight, and pack well--and although I have not tried out the anti-insect aspect yet, I am confident (from other reviews) that this feature is effective (it's worked for my husband on similarly-treated clothing). Considering they are petite pants, they do run long, but because of the zippers in the bottom outside side seams (so they can be opened), they can't be shortened easily. However, their long length will help with insect prevention. Their "convertability" is helpful for people who want shorts."
Review 20 for ExOfficio® BugsAway® Ziwa™ Women's Convertible Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect pants for a hot and buggy day fishing,
June 29, 2011
By: JaneZ
"I haven't had the opportunity to test these pants on a stream yet. The material is very light, perfect for a hot summer day fishing. I've worn other items with insect shield and they worked great to keep the bugs off. I expect these pants will work just as well. The only thing I would change is to add more elastic or adjustments in the waist. These are big around the waist for me."