Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros Aluminum Pliers

Crafted of rugged and super-lightweight T6061 aircraft aluminum stock with cutters made of AUS-8 stainless steel with a grooved pattern for the greatest durability and cutting power without the weight. Cuts Spectra™-based lines, mono, and wire easily, and they're corrosion resistant. The ergonomic grip fits the hand perfectly for a non-slip grip even with wet hands. In your choice of two popular sizes. Both handle the toughest cutting and hook-removing jobs. Ocean-blue pliers are 7½" long with stainless-steel cutters, rounded jaws. Olive freshwater pliers are 5½" long with stainless-steel cutters and needle-nose jaws. Sheath and coil lanyard included with purchase of the pliers. Each comes with replacement cutters, wrench, and screws in the package. Please note that when purchasing the sheath separately, the lanyard is not included.Freshwater pliers (olive)Saltwater pliers (ocean blue)
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Review 1 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pricey but worth it,
November 22, 2014
By: HookedMarlin
from New Jersey
"I have owned these pliers for 6 months. They are really useless pliers, i.e. they cut well and pop hooks well. They are heavy, which attests to their quality. The sheath is nice but he loop on the back would be better if it were larger. I popped many hooks that were swallowed deep in the fish with ease, saving both the fly as well as the fish. Appear to be completely rust proof. Although pricey, could very easily last a lifetime."
Review 2 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the Line,
October 20, 2014
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"Ok to be honest if you are looking for the top of the line pliers you can not go wrong with this set. They come with so many more extras than other companies it was hard not to go with Orvis. The sheath, the extra parts (because in the field things break), and the security cord make this an awesome set of pliers. I do wish Orvis would make these a 1/2 inch longer/bigger. But again these pliers aren't for everyone- if you want to pass these down to your kids then this is the pair for you."
Review 3 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Pliers BUT....,
August 5, 2014
By: Monk206
from Washington
"Out of the box the pliers were everything I was looking for; light weight, came with a lanyard and belt sheath and if I was only rating the pliers it would be 5 stars. However, the first thing I found out was that the belt loop on the sheath was too small to allow my wading belt through. The buckles on the belt are sewn in so I couldn't take the belt apart. It is an easy thing to fix, buy a new belt, the thing is I shouldn't have to. Before I would recommend this to a friend I would caution them about the belt loop."
Review 4 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
February 17, 2014
By: JoeyM
"The quality of the tool is impressive and better than expected. Very efficient easy to grip and handle."
Review 5 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best saltwater pliers.,
January 14, 2014
By: Rigs
from Northampton
"What a great pair of pliers, light weight but very strong. Fit tightly in to pouch but even if you drop them as a very good lanyard attached. Should get many years use out of them, espially as you actually get a set of replacement blades and jaws with them. Most other pliers I've looked at you had to pay a great deal extra to get them."
Review 6 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the Price,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I know this is on the high side for price, but this tool is truly the best pliers I have used on the water. I have the fresh water version, and it is light, sharp, and strong. Highly recommend it."
Review 7 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Quality!,
May 23, 2013
By: CharlieofMS
"Lightweight yet easy to hadle in wet conditions....."
Review 8 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unmatched Quality,
January 30, 2013
By: Captn
from Northborough, MA
"I've used a lot of pliers from other co's over the past 20 plus years and none can compare to my Orvis Hydros Pliers. They are light in weight, fit comfortably in the hand, have excellent cutters with tough jaws for hook removal and cinching down knots...the quality is superb! Included sheath and lanyard are top notch as well!"
Review 9 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Pliers,
January 4, 2013
By: ISHI
from Berkley, Mi
"I have not had a chance to put these to the test yet, but they seem to be very well made. They are lightweight, comfortable in the hand and the extra set of cutters are a nice feature."
Review 10 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pliers Done Rright,
March 6, 2012
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"The hydros "freshwater" aluminum pliers don't disappoint! They are well engineered and perform the most delicate/toughest of tasks exceptionally well. I've used them on trout and bonefish with great results. The included case and tether are also well designed. A great buy!"
Review 11 for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOOD !,
September 24, 2010
By: WoodcockRich
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Got my saltwater model yesterday, used them today, from yellow perch to musky, with bass, walleye and pike in the midle... Worked perfectly for different fly and lure size ! Ho, and they are really nice to."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hydros Aluminum Pliers
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4