Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lambskin Munitions Jacket

The full-jacket version of our best-selling Lambskin Munitions Vest. Like the vest, it's made from soft, supple lambskin and tailored long in the body so it won't ride up when you reach. Upper slash pockets, flapped lower cargo pockets. Interior ribbed sleeve cuffs keep warmth in, wind out. B-17 Flying Fortress printed lining. Two interior pockets, one with zip closure. Two-way front zipper. Men's leather jacket in cognac. Genuine lambskin. Pure cotton lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
50 of 58(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Review 1 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis Quality,
October 22, 2014
By: JFR908
from New Jersey
"Everything I expected, based on the write-up and my past Orvis ordering experiences.
My biggest concern with ordering a leather jacket was how it would be folded for shipping, thus creating creases that would be very difficult to remove.
The jacket was shipped on a hanger and in an Orvis garment bag. When I opened the cardboard box I was pleasantly surprised. NO CREASES.
"
Review 2 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
October 2, 2014
By: GeeHarris
from Cambridge, MA
"Excellent fit.
Great style points.
High quality materials.
"
Review 3 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
September 29, 2014
By: Cliftonnj
from South East PA
"Soft supple leather, great fit and a super price. Got it on sale and love the look and feel. It has just enough pockets for a winter coat. The in sleeve wind deterrent so the coat looks very classy. Bought a medium. My chest size is 42 just the right size. Highly recommend."
Review 4 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Munitions Jacket,
September 16, 2014
By: myozzy
from PA
"This jacket has quality well stitched construction, soft leather, inside cuffed sleeves deterring cold air. Good looking. Also the return policy Orvis prides themselves on is; Right On, no problems. I returned a jacket because of size , my mistake and in less than a week the product was received and a package delivered."
Review 5 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alls well that ends well,
August 25, 2014
By: ASKMD
from Annapolis MD
"I have admired this garment for a while. Finally ordered it and the Large was way large..tried Medium more satisfactory....Interestingly I haven't worn a medium anything in 35 years. When sized right the coat is smart looking, I am sure I will enjoy it."
Review 6 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sleeves too long,
August 4, 2014
By: Isismaximus
from MD
"Beautiful coat and very good quality leather. I just found the sleeves too long"
Review 7 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I was expecting and more,
April 4, 2014
By: Jage
from Houston, TX
"My wife bought me the vest version of this full munitions leather jacket six years ago and it has been the best. I love it.
Well, I've been waiting six years now to buy this jacket and the cold weather finally arrived in Houston to justify it. Well, it is absolutely everything I was expecting from Orvis and more. Same great quality, fit, and the always friendly and efficient customer service. I called the store, spoke with Ms. K Mitchell and did she get the ball rolling as my dad use to say. She located the product, called the Vermont or Virginia store, placed my order, and just made the process seamless. PERFECT. It arrived about 10 days later in a nice green Eco friendly coat protector. This isn't the first time that Orvis has gone out of there way for customers.
Houston, Tx."
Review 8 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
one day out!,
February 25, 2014
By: gpmdownunder
from Western Australia
"I have the vest which made it an obvious choice for the jacket. The leather is soft and the jacket is generally very good will do what i want it too. Appreciate that it is not too heavy making it more useful in mediterranean climate. My one concern is the bad luck I have with timing at Orvis. Bought the vest and days later the leather sale featured the vest! That was two years ago. Bought the jacket and the next day the President's sale included the jacket with 20o/o off! Having no luck with my online shopping - fortunately the items are good as is the service, though some prior notice of sales could be good?"
Review 9 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrific Service,
February 10, 2014
By: Bogeyman
from Virginia
"Purchased this coat
Arrived in 3 days
Tried on and found it was too small in the shoulders
Returned and was promptly issued a credit
Rather surprised because other coats purchased were a good fit
Service was terrific
"
Review 10 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fice coat but too short,
February 5, 2014
By: Vogel
from London UK
"beautiful leather and well made but the cut is too short - 29 inches. It needs to be 2 inches longer. Sadly I am returning the coat and seeking refund."
Review 11 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality in every regard,
December 6, 2013
By: malvolio
from Meadville, PA
"I researched leather jackets for months before deciding on a replacement for my old bomber jacket. I wanted something a bit more stylish, long enough to fit comfortably over a sweater, and of sufficient quality to last for years as I advance into old age. The Lambskin Munitions jacket seemed the ideal choice; and indeed, it has been even better than I'd expected. A large fits my frame perfectly; the sleeve length is just right for my long arms; the leather is wonderfully soft and supple; and though the jacket isn't heavy, it's perfect for late fall and milder winter days in western Pennsylvania. It is also the most beautiful jacked I've ever owned.
Just as impressive, though, has been Orvis's Customer Service. A month after I bought the jacket, an accident resulted a small patch of discoloration on the front. I contacted Customer Service to ask how the leather might best be treated; they told me that I should seek a leather specialist, but that if I couldn't find one to tackle the problem locally, they would replace the jacket with a new one. That is eventually what happened. I was astonished by the courtesy, the promptness, and the generosity of such service. I've never had anything quite like it before, and it's certainly earned my customer loyalty. Like the leather products it sells, Orvis's service has been impeccable.
"
Review 12 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly Surprised,
November 20, 2013
By: BCcrow43
from Vancouver BC Canada
"I had some reservations about ordering such an expensive piece of clothing online. Quality issues; sizing; the inconvenience of returning goods etc.
Sizing for me was an issue, I seemed to be in-between a large and a medium. I ordered the large because of chest size and waist size. However, I was concerned about sleeve length and fit in the shoulders.
The coat arrived: The quality was excellent (pleasantly surprised) but there were issues with sleeves too long and shoulder fit.
Fortunately I knew a tailor who specialized in leather alterations, and $55.00 later (well worth the investment) the coat was a perfect fit.
I am totally satisfied and expect many years of wear. It was worth the effort as no stores in my area sold leather coats of this quality.
"
Review 13 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 4, 2013
By: anotherguy
from WV
"good fit and workmanship, as advertised. The price matches its quality."
Review 14 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Polyester lining?,
October 22, 2013
By: Conflicted
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"According to the description online and in catalog, the jacket is lined "with our 100% soft cotton moleskin". The one I received has a polyester lining.
"Snap-adjustable cuff for secure fit & Stowaway throat latch" were not on my jacket.
I'm a little disappointed in the accuracy of the description.
"
Review 15 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Leather Jacket,
May 11, 2013
By: Kered
from Greece
"After much research I chose this jacket for its design and style, which I felt would suit my taste and lifestyle. It does and is! I appreciate the help given by Orvis regarding size as in most clothing I am a large. The precise details given led me to order a medium and it is a good fit. The quality of the leather and construction of the jacket are both excellent. I have been waring it now for 4 months and have no complaints."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect man!,
February 21, 2013
By: Ongarbridge
from Near London
"Soft, strong and sensuous. If you want to fancy your man all over again, buy him this wonderfully tactile jacket. You'll want to stroke it and smell it constantly, and see your rugged, handsome man in a whole new light."
Review 17 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice,but ......,
February 7, 2013
By: miles66
from Lichfield UK
"A really nice jacket, the chest sizing was correct and the materials and finish superb.
But......its a bit short and shows your butt.
This jacket is a bit of a strange length, longer than a bomber and shorter than you might imagine, as a result it can look a bit like a lamp shade as it stands off the hips.
Its a very subjective view, I have returned it and will exchange for a longer style."
Review 18 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Less than excited,
January 28, 2013
By: HRBSR
from Anchorage AK
"Had been watching this coat for quiet some time ... waiting to see it on sale. The time came, the jacket arrived, but I was just not satisfied with it's cut and fit ... too big at the waist and tended to "hang" on me. It really is a beautiful coat, but unfortunately I felt the need to return it."
Review 19 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sought after coat.,
January 21, 2013
By: Grayangels
from Cornwall.
"The coat is superb in every way - have wanted something like this for quite a time.
Very well made & exteremly fast delivery.
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!
"
Review 20 for Lambskin Munitions Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite jacket,
January 21, 2013
By: Michael60
from Brazil, Indiana
"Jacket is even better than described. Great leather, perfect coloring and the fit is like tailor made. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a distinctive jacket that also happens to be functional."