Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket

With a handsomely worn-in look and an easy fit, this genuine leather jacket is modelled on our popular Hamilton Sport Coat—originally discovered in a century-old gun shop in London. Distressed fine goatskin leather, soft and durable, ensures the well-loved look of your favourite jacket; the fitted shoulder and sleeve head create a perfect fit. Two exterior pockets. Power-mesh interior lining with one interior pocket. Suede elbow patches. Drawstring waist for a custom fit. Grommeted underarms. Single rear vent. In brown. Genuine goatskin leather body with 82% polyester/18% elastane body lining and 100% polyester sleeve lining. Professionally clean. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
3
38 of 50(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
leather jacket,
April 9, 2015
By: mancityman
from London
"I sent this item back because it was way too big . I expect my money back so why am I receiving emails like this? Can you confirm my money is being returned ?"
Review 2 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love my new leather jacket,
March 24, 2015
By: rcouch50
from atlanta ga
"My first time at Orvis and I'm hooked great store great service quality merchandise in my styles."
Review 3 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit!,
March 24, 2015
By: EricCD
from San Ramon , Ca.
"From Start to finish what a great experience . I needed a XL and every xl was sold out ...until i called customer service , they found a few XL's from local stores and mailed it to me. The fit is perfect , the look is even better and the first day I had compliments on the jacket. I told them Orvis Jackets! The fit and finish is worth every penny, I reccomend calling the customer service first to go over the style and measure yourself , you won't be disappointed.
Thank you Orvis Team!
Eric C.
"
Review 4 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking but shortcomings,
March 12, 2015
By: Chee
from Cambridge, MA
"The coat was nicer in the ad. As others stated the creasing, especially on the pocket flaps, was extreme. Wanted to like it but just couldn't keep it. Worth the gamble because of Orvis return policy but don't get expectations to high that you will get a perfect one."
Review 5 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why no Small Sizes,
March 6, 2015
By: Gaka
from East Longmeadow, mA
"This is a beautiful jacket, but totally unavailable in "Small" I bought a Medium and had to return it - too big. I have to believe i'm not alone, help the "little guy": make Small available!"
Review 6 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hamilton Distressed Goatskin Leather Jacket,
February 24, 2015
By: RevDrWill
from Indiana
"This is the Jacket that I've been looking for ,for several years. It is soft and supple; like a well worn jacket is suppose to be. I do recommend to buy a smaller size, they run larger. I exchanged from a XL to a L. No Problem ;the Orvis people, are Great. Great Communication. I would recommend this jacket; and I rate it a 5 Star."
Review 7 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket,
February 16, 2015
By: 1SGLloyd
"I like my jacket! Orvis did a good job of describing the jacket so there were no surprises when it show up on my door step. The fit is excellent along with the quality of material and craftsmanship. A nice extra touch is the wooden hanger and travel bag to keep it covered during the off season."
Review 8 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Standard,
February 16, 2015
By: GLTraveler
from London England
"I'm not the one who normally buys clothing without trying on first but this may change my mind. The fit is very good. I have broad shoulders and relatively slim waist so I was worried it would be boxy. It is not.The quality of the leather and workmanship is good and I am looking forward to the weather warming a bit so I can wear it."
Review 9 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket,
January 6, 2015
By: lkjhlkliij466
"This jacket fits perfect; I love the jacket. Very high quality and my girlfriend loves it... So that it better... I would recommend to anyone..."
Review 10 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb!,
December 30, 2014
By: Bobski12
from Wakefield UK
"Forget the price, you will when you wear it! For once, a garment that lives up to the sales blurb. If your after a classy looking coat with a worn-in (not worn out!) feel, just go try it on, you will buy it. The sizing is generous, so go a size down from usual if you're a UK customer."
Review 11 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb,
December 8, 2014
By: CaptainJP
"Bought as an alternative to my normal tweed for shooting, size was spot on as it allows me freedom of movement without the jacket feeling too large."
Review 12 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
$$$, but worth it,
November 5, 2014
By: GuyWithAFly
from Northern Arizona
"So I had my eye on this jacket for months before I threw down the money for it. I've had it for almost a year now, and I'm still impressed (it's my first leather jacket, so there's that as well...) I went into it thinking of it as an investment to finally convince myself to buy it. All of my other jackets might go away in 10 years, but I expect this guy to stick around...
It's stylish enough to get a little upscale when needed, casual enough to keep it laid back. I'm 6'1, 175 lbs and I got the medium, which fits me well. It's warmer than I thought, and the grommeted underarm vents are appreciated. I can't quite figure out if 3 buttons really work for this jacket, I usually keep it at two...
"
Review 13 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all-arounder Jacket,
October 16, 2014
By: brodir
from Niles, Michigan
"I waited a long time before I broke down and ordered this jacket, but now that I have it, I'm glad I did. I am a size 44 chest and a size 32 waist and a large fits me perfectly. It fits nicely and still has a bit of room for a sweater underneath. I noticed none of the creasing, loose buttons, and worn-out look I have seen complained of on other posts. It just looks a little aged, but certainly not worn out. I like everything about it-the English styling, the big hip pockets, the two interior pockets (one with a zipper, which is nice), and all the little details around the outside of the jacket. It is heavy enough to wear in all but the coldest weather, yet light enough to keep on without dying of heat when it's milder. I like it's longer length, too. I never saw the point of a leather jacket that was so short it left your butt cold. This one won't. It covers a lot of ground is what I mean, and that's what a jacket like this should do, especially since it isn't particularly cheap. I originally ordered a medium, since with Orvis products a medium usually fit me better than a large, which was usually too big. Not this time. It was a bit snug in the shoulders. I exchanged it for a large and was afraid it would be TOO big, but it fit perfectly, neither too big nor too small. Bear that in mind when ordering, but Orvis makes it very easy to exchange things, as I did. I can't say why others have had one issue or another with this jacket, but I certainly have no complaint."
Review 14 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too distressed,
January 8, 2014
By: patrickR1
from manchester UK
"I love the look of this jacket and so I ordered it. However the item that came looked battered and rather cheap for a nearly £400 jacket. The problem is the "distressing." I would never abuse a £400 jacket to the point where it looked like what Orvis are selling. Why can't orvis sell this jacket in an unstressed version? I had to send it back because to be frank I am not prepared to pay that kind of money for something which is not so much "handsomely worn in," as abused and neglected looking. I gave it 3 stars as apart from that I actually did like it."
Review 15 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top jacket,
December 3, 2013
By: Hilly37
from Portsmouth U.K.
"I have been looking at this jacket for around 6 months now and trying to justify myself spending the money on myself. At lady I took the plunge after my wife nagged me to get it s I kept on about it.
It is lovely soft leather and either dresses up or dresses down. People I have spoken to say that quality lasts and this is what I expect from this. It feels good and I have to say looks good, and also looks quality. It,s a lovely going out in the car jacket. Am I pleased , yes I am and I would genuinely recommend this and other Orvis products for quality and look.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great nock-around jacket,
October 21, 2013
By: kshunter
"This jacket was just what I was looking for. It is great with jeans and boots. Fit, style and weight is perfect. The only reason I am not giving it five stars is that one of the buttons was not sewn properly, but it is an easy fix."
Review 17 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the $$$$,
October 2, 2013
By: SWP1
from Tampa, FL
"I had to think long and hard about spending @ $450 on a jacket. I decided I would give it a try and if it wasn't 100% perfect I would return it. The jacket arrived in perfect shape, well packaged and not wrinkled. The garment is very well done and there are no loose threads or buttons. I am 6'2 210 and the XL fit me perfectly. It is very stylish and I got a lot of compliments on it. Great quality, accurate sizing, and very stylish. I would describe it as a medium weight jacket, should keep you warm in 40 degree weather. Glad I took the plunge and bought it."
Review 18 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking and good fit,
August 6, 2013
By: Allnamesaretaken
from Kingsport, TN
"If your looking for a very thin leather jacket with great looks and a good fit, this might be for you. I called before placing my order to see if Orvis would inspect the jacket for "creases" before I made the purchase. I was assured that this would happen. The jacket arrived VERY quickly. Upon opening the box and inspecting for myself, I could find no clue that this was done and the top button fell off as I was unpacking my jacket. Frustrating, but repairable. As it turns out, don't worry about the creases as the leather is thin. A day of hanging on the hanger will remove any creases or such. It's a great looking jacket and I like it but I don't expect it will last as long as the price might lead one to believe. I'll keep it for the good look but be very careful when I am wearing it. I hope it lasts."
Review 19 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Leather Sport Coat / Jacket,
July 25, 2013
By: 1Wineman
from Charlotte, NC
"I'm 6'2" and almost didn't try this garment on because I felt that it would be too short in the sleeves and overall length, since I usually need to purchase similar items in Long. Wow , was I wrong. Fits great, looks fabulous and the leather is soft and distressed looking. Jason suggested that I try it on and He sure knows his merchandise. Thanks again !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice jacket,
July 11, 2013
By: janmar
from UK
"Love the style / look
The only "con" is it did come up rather large for its supposed size (L 42-44) - I am standard 44 but it is probably closer to a 45-46, but with a sweatshirt / jumper its ok."