Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket

With a handsomely worn-in look and an easy fit, this genuine leather jacket is modelled on our popular Hamilton Sport Coat—originally discovered in a century-old gun shop in London. Distressed fine goatskin leather, soft and durable, ensures the well-loved look of your favourite jacket; the fitted shoulder and sleeve head create a perfect fit. Two exterior pockets. Power-mesh interior lining with one interior pocket. Suede elbow patches. Drawstring waist for a custom fit. Grommeted underarms. Single rear vent. In brown. Genuine goatskin leather body with 82% polyester/18% elastane body lining and 100% polyester sleeve lining. Professionally clean. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.162 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 of 37(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too distressed,
January 8, 2014
By: patrickR1
from manchester UK
"I love the look of this jacket and so I ordered it. However the item that came looked battered and rather cheap for a nearly £400 jacket. The problem is the "distressing." I would never abuse a £400 jacket to the point where it looked like what Orvis are selling. Why can't orvis sell this jacket in an unstressed version? I had to send it back because to be frank I am not prepared to pay that kind of money for something which is not so much "handsomely worn in," as abused and neglected looking. I gave it 3 stars as apart from that I actually did like it."
Review 2 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top jacket,
December 3, 2013
By: Hilly37
from Portsmouth U.K.
"I have been looking at this jacket for around 6 months now and trying to justify myself spending the money on myself. At lady I took the plunge after my wife nagged me to get it s I kept on about it.
It is lovely soft leather and either dresses up or dresses down. People I have spoken to say that quality lasts and this is what I expect from this. It feels good and I have to say looks good, and also looks quality. It,s a lovely going out in the car jacket. Am I pleased , yes I am and I would genuinely recommend this and other Orvis products for quality and look.
"
Review 3 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great nock-around jacket,
October 21, 2013
By: kshunter
"This jacket was just what I was looking for. It is great with jeans and boots. Fit, style and weight is perfect. The only reason I am not giving it five stars is that one of the buttons was not sewn properly, but it is an easy fix."
Review 4 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the $$$$,
October 2, 2013
By: SWP1
from Tampa, FL
"I had to think long and hard about spending @ $450 on a jacket. I decided I would give it a try and if it wasn't 100% perfect I would return it. The jacket arrived in perfect shape, well packaged and not wrinkled. The garment is very well done and there are no loose threads or buttons. I am 6'2 210 and the XL fit me perfectly. It is very stylish and I got a lot of compliments on it. Great quality, accurate sizing, and very stylish. I would describe it as a medium weight jacket, should keep you warm in 40 degree weather. Glad I took the plunge and bought it."
Review 5 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking and good fit,
August 6, 2013
By: Allnamesaretaken
from Kingsport, TN
"If your looking for a very thin leather jacket with great looks and a good fit, this might be for you. I called before placing my order to see if Orvis would inspect the jacket for "creases" before I made the purchase. I was assured that this would happen. The jacket arrived VERY quickly. Upon opening the box and inspecting for myself, I could find no clue that this was done and the top button fell off as I was unpacking my jacket. Frustrating, but repairable. As it turns out, don't worry about the creases as the leather is thin. A day of hanging on the hanger will remove any creases or such. It's a great looking jacket and I like it but I don't expect it will last as long as the price might lead one to believe. I'll keep it for the good look but be very careful when I am wearing it. I hope it lasts."
Review 6 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Leather Sport Coat / Jacket,
July 25, 2013
By: 1Wineman
from Charlotte, NC
"I'm 6'2" and almost didn't try this garment on because I felt that it would be too short in the sleeves and overall length, since I usually need to purchase similar items in Long. Wow , was I wrong. Fits great, looks fabulous and the leather is soft and distressed looking. Jason suggested that I try it on and He sure knows his merchandise. Thanks again !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice jacket,
July 11, 2013
By: janmar
from UK
"Love the style / look
The only "con" is it did come up rather large for its supposed size (L 42-44) - I am standard 44 but it is probably closer to a 45-46, but with a sweatshirt / jumper its ok."
Review 8 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class jacket,
May 14, 2013
By: Sailorboy
from Peterhead (Scotland)
"A fantastic well cut leather jacket excellant fit and quality"
Review 9 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Order a size smaller,
March 13, 2013
By: Gidien
"Normally I wear a large but this came huge. The median works but the sleves are still a little long."
Review 10 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Jacket,
February 8, 2013
By: HongKongPaley
from Shatin,Hong Kong
"I ordered this Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket medium size for myself,The jacket arrived it appeared well packed .
when I unpacked the box the jacket looked like it had been worn ,The leather is very supple and light-weight, size fit great perfect for me.
However,I found Two pocket of flaps and collar had become very creased.
I think they can (Orvis) improve this before packaging and shipping.
"
Review 11 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable jacket,
February 5, 2013
By: Rogerio
from Wales,UK.
"very pleased with this product,so different from the regular sports coat style leather jackets."
Review 12 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect coat/blazer blend,
February 5, 2013
By: MNChef
from Saint Paul, MN
"This is neither a heavy coat, nor a blazer, but a perfect combination of both. I love it for times when I will have to keep a coat on because I'm outside or in a place where there is no coat check, etc. and want to look nice. Doesn't get too hot or heavy. Leather is on the burgundy side of brown, and unless viewed directly from the front the elbow patches are very distinct. Looks great with jeans and the olive Orvis Microsuede vest."
Review 13 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality is There,
January 31, 2013
By: Alphorn
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"It is midway between casual and dressy - I wouldn't go out to a fine restaurant in this jacket. The leather is very soft and mid-weight. The only things I didn't like was the reddish suede elbow patches - and the lining Isn't as nice as my Bandera jacket. The fit is similar to other orvis xxls I've worn."
Review 14 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for Everybody,
January 29, 2013
By: RhodyJoe
"I would say the quality is marginal. The first jacket arrived badly creased, a problem noted by several reviewers. The stitching in the bottom hem of the jacket appeared loose and pulled out easily. Wanting to like this item, I ordered a replacement that came in much better condition. Like the look, but still trying to determine if this jacket is a keeper. Not quite up to my idea of the Orvis standard."
Review 15 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classy look,
January 29, 2013
By: parsony
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Saw this style at eton store and later ordered on line. I am only a size 40 with a small build but the medium was too tight. I called the store and reordered the large. It is wise to buy at a store for the rather expensive leather goods."
Review 16 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leather is disappointing,
January 24, 2013
By: Roseland
from Charlottesville, VA
"When I received this jacket I was disappointed that the leather was not at all like what is shown in the picture. Must be the lighting that they took the picture in, but the actual jacket's leather is more like a thin naugahyde one might have seen in a 1977 Vega."
Review 17 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gave in to temptation,
January 17, 2013
By: ErlangenGuy
from Stillwater, OK
"I had seen this jacket for months, maybe longer, but ordered other Orvis products instead. Finally gave in and got this jacket. I wear an XL and that size fit great. Good weight, not too heavy but not the lightest. Will wear well for spring and autumn."
Review 18 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
January 17, 2013
By: Andysugz
from Plymouth, Devon, England
"The jacket arrived it appeared well packed. The inclusion of a suit cover was a nice touch. However, once I'd unpacked it I found that one of the pocket flaps had become very creased. I did consider putting it under a heavy book or even carefully ironing it, but in the end decided that, for a relatively expensive item, I shouldn't have to compromise.
That aside, it was a nice jacket. The returns policy was straightforward and convenient, just drop it off at a local shop."
Review 19 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect light dress jacket,
January 10, 2013
By: Gostryter
from Ithaca, NY
"I was looking for a light and, for me, dress jacket, to wear in the spring or fall. This fits the bill perfectly. The sizing is perfect. The distressed look of this jacket adds to its charm."
Review 20 for Hamilton Distressed Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as good as I expected,
January 5, 2013
By: DiscerningTaste
from South Yorkshire
"This looked really good in the photographs but I have to say I am a little disappointed.
The leather is very soft and has a nice feel but I am am not sure it justifies the price.
The biggest issue I have with it is the cut. It does not hang right for me from the collar to the top button on both sides, but more on the left, it 'turns out wards'. This is accentuated when carrying anything in the left (or right) inside pocket.
I have had it 2 months now hoping it would improve and its too late to return. Perils of on-line shopping!"