Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt

Traditional work-shirt features with an eye on the details. Cut from fine pure cotton chambray, our signature shirt has two chest pockets—one has a button-flap closure, while the other has a button-through closure with a separate section within the pocket for a writing instrument. Contrasting orange-and-navy detail inside the neck; an Orvis fly graces the inside of the lower-front placket. Orange-thread detail on the pocket and hem. Men's cotton work shirt in chambray. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40).
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 of 46(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Review 1 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than you'd expect,
September 3, 2012
By: Baytalker
from San Francisco, CA
"In purchasing this shirt, I had expected to get a very nice shirt. This turned out to be off the mark a bit...it's a GREAT shirt in every way, and completely exceeded my expectations."
Review 2 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 3, 2012
By: rockport
"This shirt is stylish and as far as I can tell well-made. The material is somewhat thinner than I would have prefered, but I suppose it would be best suited for warmer climates than cooler."
Review 3 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable with a touch of work and fun,
August 29, 2012
By: douglasW
from Mpls., mn
"I been looking for a comfortable work like shirt, but has a touch of casual look. This work/fun shirt fits finished my search. Very comfortable and well made. Not too heavy material"
Review 4 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
August 22, 2012
By: Edgell
from Aspen, CO
"I use this shirt for both inter-national travel and around the barn, for an informal, but professional look. I purchased 3 of these."
Review 5 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition, Great Price,
August 22, 2012
By: Sheldon
"I saw this shirt on sale and could not resist buying it. My old denim workshort was almost in shreds so I thought I'd give this one a try.
I love it! It is well constricted with great attention to detail, down to the pen slot on the front pocket.
The fabric is substantial but not stiff.
I highly recommend this for the guys out there looking for a weekend type of shirt."
Review 6 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
August 20, 2012
By: flyfshg
from Mackinaw,IL
"Very pleased with the shirt. Much nicer than I expected. Looks like a expensive shirt. Good quality."
Review 7 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hi-end for a workshirt,
August 18, 2012
By: gunny
from San Francisco, CA
"This is a very hi-end workshirt-- maybe a little over the top unless you're looking to style rather than get sweaty. I ordered two. One was perfect-- very well made. The other identical shirt had a seriously wrinkled placket after washing. I've battled that with the cheap shirts, but won't stand for it with an expensive one like this so it is going back."
Review 8 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chambray Work Shirt,
August 16, 2012
By: Garibaldi1
from Minnesota
"This version is a vast improvement of the last iteration. Previously, the buttons were cheaper, the stitching was poorer, the material was of a lower quality and the fit was too tight. All this when cotton was $2 per lb. Now that cotton is down to $ .79, the shirt is of higher quality. However, the fit is still too tight compared with the version from four or five years ago when the shirt was made in Hong Kong. Additionally, the collar is larger and stands higher, which give it some of the look of a Las Vegas mafia shirt. Please go back to the styling of the Hong Kong version, because for the Orvis demographic, a relaxed fit makes the most sense, and the current long pointed and high collar went out in the 70's."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of shirt,
August 6, 2012
By: Whalebones
from Wales UK
"This is a good quality garment with good material and finish. Large was a good fit for me. One minor point is that the collar spreads a lot when open at the neck so the second button down might be a little higher"
Review 10 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No,
August 1, 2012
By: THEchrisd
from Cambridge
"Not worth the money, much better options available."
Review 11 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable,
July 29, 2012
By: Aulddiy
from Glenrothes
"Well made ,comfortable and looks good.
I wear it over shirt, as it is generous as a medium.
"
Review 12 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good with jeans,
July 25, 2012
By: TallToby
from Atlanta,Georgia
"Good fit,as always,and came out of the dryer not needing any ironing."
Review 13 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but too big,
July 10, 2012
By: AztecforLife
from San Diego, CA
"This is a great shirt but I had to return it ad exchange for a medium because the size is NOT TRUE TO SIZE. The ORVIS customer service rep. was wonderful in helping me get this done. I just received my medium size shirt and it fits and looks GREAT!"
Review 14 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If it Only Came In My Size,
July 9, 2012
By: CAConsumer
from Small Town California
"Chambray is a terrific fabric for Summer, especially if you need long sleeves for Sun protection. Years ago, they were plentiful in ultra light weight from many stores. Not now. I have looked and looked. This Orvis Chambray is the lightest I found at 3.5 oz/sqyd (with one other exception). However, it doesn't come in Tall and I need the sleeve length. I'd give it 5 Stars for quality; but gave it 4 as a protest: Orvis, we big guys need consideration too."
Review 15 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
thin fabric, size is off,
June 26, 2012
By: 1customer
from Tx
"Always order XXL in Orvis shirts and they always fit.
This work shirt should have been even more generously cut than normal. Instead XXL fit like a XL.
fabric seemed flimsy. Buttons were cool however
"
Review 16 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
June 18, 2012
By: RandyP
from Tyler TX
"This is my favorite Orvis shirt, for that matter my favorite shirt in my wardrobe! Comfortable,Sturdy,Work it, Go out in it, it will do it all !"
Review 17 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
June 2, 2012
By: Range
"I am traveling to Singapore and Japan this month and needed a comfortable, durable, useful (love the buttoned pockets), classy yet casual shirt....this is perfect."
Review 18 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nicely tailored but pricey for chambray,
May 12, 2012
By: Demian
from Peterboro NH
"The shirt has a heavy pleasing fabric unlike some. It has extra thick Italian style buttons that may not like being pressed at the cleaner-- we will see. The collar construction seem designed for buttoning the top button to wear with a tie rather than spreading open naturally."
Review 19 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Collar flops open,
March 9, 2012
By: Sarasota
from New York City
"I will not return the shirt. It is of good quality and the fabric is excellent. But it is overdesigned. The biggest negative: the collar, for some reason, flops open too far."
Review 20 for Signature Orvis Chambray Work Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like that shirt",
March 1, 2012
By: techdog69
from gulfport, MS
"The first time I wore my Orvis Chambray Work shirt (to work) I received compliments. It is sturdy, and handsome, and looks good at a game, in the garden, or at the office with a tie. Very nice. Very versatile."