Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
10
155 of 177(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband's No. 1 Christmas pick,
December 18, 2014
By: PTS95
from Chester, MD
"My husband is a SERIOUS fisherperson! This was the present he wanted above all others because he says these are the BEST boots now. This is from a person who gifted me with another pair of Orvis boots the first Christmas we were dating (His mother sent a Waterford vase!) so water whichever way. The boots kept me safe as I began to learn to fish! We find what we need at Orvis when we can find it no where else ... or at a lesser quality, which makes these Orvis boots perfect!"
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
River Guard™ Ultralight Men's Wading Boot,
December 15, 2014
By: BobMorton
from Glasgow
"Really disappointed with these boots. My wife bought them for my Xmas. They are pretty expensive and should last well over a number of seasons. In my case the soles parted from the uppers after just over a season.I could repair them but experience tells me that they will come apart after a short time. I think they will be consigned to the bin."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sure Footed,
December 12, 2014
By: Robertparker777
from Keene, New Hampshire
"Great grip due to stud design and height. They are easy to relocate or more can be added. Comfortable. Fit is true to size. My only complaint is that the laces must be tied. I'd rather they have the pull type adjusters."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boots,
November 17, 2014
By: KnoxJayson
"Orvis as always provides the best equipment and service. My old orvis wading boots were great and finally wore out. I replaced them with new and improved lightweight fishing boots which are great. They are sturdy and not real heavy. Good for being in a stream all day. Hope they help me catch more fish"
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wadding Boots rver!,
November 13, 2014
By: Fishinaddict
from Plainfield, IL
"The River Guard Ultralight wading boots I just purchased this summer at the Orvis Store in Lombard Illinois are the best boots by far that I purchsed! They are light weaght and give me excellent tracktion on slippery rocks and algea. Plus they do no have felt which I would not use due to invasive critters. I highly recomand these wrading boots."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
October 7, 2014
By: FJChalmers
from Arlington, VA
"I recently purchased my second pair of these boots, the first took 4 years to wear out with roughly 30 days a year on them. The product is durable, stable and is well worth the money."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Ultralight Wading Boots,
October 6, 2014
By: SSparks
from Denver, CO
"I looked for years before I found these about 2 to 3 years ago through Orvis. I wet-wade often but need a boot that gives me solid footing in and out of the water. I can hike in this boot in/out of the water. It's a very comfortable boot, but it sizes very large. I wear a 9 1/2 normally, but the 9 was large enough for me even wearing a neoprene booty over a sock."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boots,
October 3, 2014
By: Mathew85
from Farnham, Hampshire
"When I first looked at these boots I thought that they were lacking in ankle support but they are not they provide complete ankle support. The Boot itself is very comfy and can wear them all day without and discomfort at all."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong....,
September 24, 2014
By: Londonfisher
from London, England
"These are simply the best wading boots I have owned (and I've had many!) Finished the second season with them without any problems whatsoever. I did add an few extra Orvis studs for more grip. These boots are very comfortable and light and ideal for long hikes (in fact just as comfortable as walking boots). Very stable in fast rocky water and even slime covered boulders. Highly recommended."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Problems with soles,
September 22, 2014
By: AndyRB
from Yorkshire
"These are a very comfortable boot but there is a problem with the soles as they have a propensity to start to separate from the upper body. Mine are now doing this and two friends have had the same problems with theirs. Clearly there is an issue with the glues used to hold the upper to the lower parts of the boots."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what they should-could be,
August 13, 2014
By: rivrrat
from Fremont, Ca
"First impression of these boots were great, comfortable, good grip on rocks, but they don't seem to last very long, after 3 seasons of normal use(maybe 20-25 days a year) in rivers some of the stitching on the sides is starting to come out and the sole of one boat is coming off. These boots are pretty expensive to only last 75 days in water."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Boots,
July 21, 2014
By: fshmncometh
from Deleware County, PA
"Hi, I've been wading lakes and streams for decades wearing sneakers. I cannot tell you how many times I've slipped on silty rocks and fallen. Once I was completely submerged! Well no more. The River Guard Wading Boot holds bottom and I can wade with no concern. I thank my daughter who gave me a gift certificate to Orvis. At my age I need the stability of this boot."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice boots,
June 24, 2014
By: utflyguy
from Utah
"I've had these boots for 3 years and they've held up very well. The rubber around the toe and edge of the boot is starting to separate from the soles. But I've been hard on these boots. I wear them all the time use them for all my guided trips. The rubber Vibram soles are amazing and hardly show any wear. The studs work great and offer plenty of grip and traction. I haven't lost any studs either, which is impressive. The boots do run big. I have 10.5 feet and size 11 wading boots always work for me. These boots are very roomy and I think I could have gotten them in a size 10 and been okay. Other than that, they're light and durable. Most my other boots have always worn out after a year or two."
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Utlra light boot,
June 19, 2014
By: iflysw
from Rhode Island
"I have used these boots on the last six fly fishing trips i was on. When Orvis said light wading boot they knew what they were talking about. Fished all day with hiking in and out i was glad i bought the best."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boots work well,
June 16, 2014
By: retire2fish
from uniontown pa
"the boots were what I expected the studs help with the slippage on the silt covered rocks, they feel nice and light even after a full day of fishing"
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 10, 2014
By: Gunner61
from Frederick, MD
"Great boot. easy on and off. Clean up quickly so no issues with transfer of invasive species. Great fit to size. added neoprene gravel guard socks. Recommend this product"
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 8, 2014
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Very lightweight and very comfortable. Probably the widest fit of the many Orvis boots. A bit spendy, but otherwise two thumbs up."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boots,
June 5, 2014
By: PMGflyfisher
from Reno, NV
"These boots are great, I looked and tried all the top brands and would have paid anything to be comfortable. These do run larger then others but are great."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grip and comfort,
May 29, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"These boots have all the bells and whistles; comfort, excellent grip, waterproof and good for the environment. You can't go wrong here. Be sure to accurately size them. I have to go down one whole size....and probably could still use another half size down if it was offered."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Birthday Gift,
May 28, 2014
By: momo47
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"Birthday gift picked out by B., and then ordered by me. What he wanted, so he will love them!"