Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
5 stars
138
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
11
173 of 196(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great grip,
April 30, 2015
By: Tightline82
from Sellersville , pa
"I switched from felt soles to these boots. Light weight and comfortable while walking the banks. Grips slippery rocks with ease."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great price for a good wading boot,
April 22, 2015
By: DougDPaflyfish
from Coopersburg. Pa
"Just bought the Riverguard Ultralight wading boot with eco trax studded soles. Very comfortable and good traction, but I just ordered a set of Orvis studs to add greater traction for the ultra slippery Big Lehigh River and Bushkill Creek."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic Guide Waders,
April 21, 2015
By: AZTroutBumJV54
from Phoenix, AZ
"The Orvis River Guard wading boots are Hands Down the most comfortable and stable wading boots I've worn. The streams I fish are small, tight, strewn with cobble, slick bed rock and boulders. As I get a little older, and slightly less nimble, traction is REALLY a concern. JUST enough carbide is strategically placed on Vibram to grip without slip. The reinforced toe guard and toe box completely protect your toes from impact with rocks. Simply amazing. I actually was trying to slip and could not. One lace tightening after getting them wet and they fit perfectly all day! Accurate sizing, and VERY lightweight. Easy on and off as well. I can not wait to use them again!"
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
River Guard ultralight boot,
April 17, 2015
By: Niteguy
from Colorado
"I bought these boots at a Auth.Orvis dealer in Colo. Springs.Used them for about 15 trips,and the soles came off. Asked if anything could be done about this ,the answer was " no refund or replacement" from C.S. store or the company store in Denver. So in the trash they go."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight Great Traction,
April 7, 2015
By: Chico45
from Southeastern Ma.
"These boots are almost as light as sneakers. The EcoTrax soles with carbide studs give amazing traction while walking on algae covered logs and rocks."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Boots,
April 7, 2015
By: ASG1
from Carmel, NY
"I have not used the boots as of yet but the quality and fit is really good. I can't wait to get in the stream and try them out."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boot Review,
April 6, 2015
By: MarkA12
from San Luis Obispo Ca
"have not tried them in the water; examined them and thought they were well built and meet current requirements for stream access. The other issue is they fit I wear a size 12 and the size 12 fit great."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
April 1, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"Purchased these last month for an upcoming Alaska trip, have taken them out for a couple of test-wades in the local (FL) lakes...obviously no river rocks or gravel to test against, but the fit and comfort are excellent. I liked the lacing scheme. Did quite a bit of walking along the shore and through heavy shore cover to the point the fronts of my ankles were getting sore, but that's to be expected with brand-new boots. I didn't need the studs, but only took a couple of minutes to pop them out. Would definitely buy these again."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot,
March 31, 2015
By: barryl
from california
"Quick shipment. Boots are very high quality and fit perfectly over my waders. I am an 11 and ordered 11. Will update review after my trip to Montana."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the fifth star is on hold,
March 26, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"I only recently got these boots and so far they are just what I'd expected. The fifth star needs to be earned on the water and I've just not had them that long to validate that rating.
I have worn a pair of Orvis canvas boots (no longer available) for over 5 years. These River Guards will now be in the rotation to provide that extra support for those long days on the water that I now get to enjoy more frequently.
The sizing instructions were spot on.
"
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for FlyFishing,
March 26, 2015
By: MarceGaby
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
"Good quality. Excellent product. Comfortable to the activities of Fly Fishing"
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Security I've never had!!,
March 4, 2015
By: advbob
from NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
"I"m a small mountain stream and high lake guy with my 3 wt pack rod and have since decided I to fish big rivers for large trout and steel head. My first trip to fast and deeper water I went without waders or wading boots and was immediately convinced that they were a must have necessity and purchased the following day.
My next trip I tied them up and waded into the water to put them to the test, fished for 5 hours with no foot fatigue, very comfortable, stable and sure footed. the carbide replaceable stud and soft rubber sole worked well together to trek on all terrain above and below the water line, I will never venture without them again. Good quality, better price. Who says you cant teach an old dog a new trick.
FISH ON !!!
"
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot,
February 28, 2015
By: nmato
"Tried these for the first time last week. Very slippery conditions, but the studded boots performed very well. The light weight proved to be a plus for not having spent legs at the end of the day."
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
February 27, 2015
By: Scottie5
"I bought these boots to replace an old pair which were well past their best. I have had one trip to the river and I am so pleased them. They are much lighter than my old pair and I felt so much more sure footed wading across the shingle and rocks. I wished I had bought a pair sooner."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boots,
February 11, 2015
By: BigEsuperfly
"Fished in New Braunfels for rainbows. Used the boots and they worked great. Very comfortable and no problem walking the river. Studs on the bottom are very stable and ankle support very good."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So light yet so tough,
January 31, 2015
By: Billy4boy
from Leeds England UK
"Last year I had a trip to the river Tweed in Scotland, my old boots fell apart (Not Orvis The felt sole came off) so I bought these again from the Harrogate store, And again the staff are excellent and helpful.
So these boots they are a firm fit I wanted the rubberised soles to fit the steel cleats into, when tied up they really hug your feet. Nice touch with the rollers in lace eyes, but once in the river I have total confidence in knowing I will get a good grip and loads of good ankle support to protect against rocks and stones.
These really are very good light weight boots I regularly walk a couple of miles searching the rivers much of it in the river, climbing over all sorts. They fir great over my Sonic waders. these two items were made for me. Love them
"
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boot,
January 26, 2015
By: MTBOX
from Dorset
"After buying a few other items from Orvis and needed new wader boots so I opted for these.
Not only do they look great but feel amazing, nicely placed studs which are of great quailty, I've only ever used Orvis studs in my other branded boots.
Normally you would need to buy 1 size larger to allow for the thick neoprene sock but Orvis have thought of this so size 9 means size 9. Really good boot and well priced. 10 out of 10.
"
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight durable boot,
January 11, 2015
By: Bassfreak
from Wingate, NC
"This is a lightweight boot. Very comfortable and durable. Very good traction on rocks. Would highly recommend!"
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband's No. 1 Christmas pick,
December 18, 2014
By: PTS95
from Chester, MD
"My husband is a SERIOUS fisherperson! This was the present he wanted above all others because he says these are the BEST boots now. This is from a person who gifted me with another pair of Orvis boots the first Christmas we were dating (His mother sent a Waterford vase!) so water whichever way. The boots kept me safe as I began to learn to fish! We find what we need at Orvis when we can find it no where else ... or at a lesser quality, which makes these Orvis boots perfect!"
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
River Guard™ Ultralight Men's Wading Boot,
December 15, 2014
By: BobMorton
from Glasgow
"Really disappointed with these boots. My wife bought them for my Xmas. They are pretty expensive and should last well over a number of seasons. In my case the soles parted from the uppers after just over a season.I could repair them but experience tells me that they will come apart after a short time. I think they will be consigned to the bin."