Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (184 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
10
162 of 184(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Security I've never had!!,
March 4, 2015
By: advbob
from NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
"I"m a small mountain stream and high lake guy with my 3 wt pack rod and have since decided I to fish big rivers for large trout and steel head. My first trip to fast and deeper water I went without waders or wading boots and was immediately convinced that they were a must have necessity and purchased the following day.
My next trip I tied them up and waded into the water to put them to the test, fished for 5 hours with no foot fatigue, very comfortable, stable and sure footed. the carbide replaceable stud and soft rubber sole worked well together to trek on all terrain above and below the water line, I will never venture without them again. Good quality, better price. Who says you cant teach an old dog a new trick.
FISH ON !!!
"
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot,
February 28, 2015
By: nmato
"Tried these for the first time last week. Very slippery conditions, but the studded boots performed very well. The light weight proved to be a plus for not having spent legs at the end of the day."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
February 27, 2015
By: Scottie5
"I bought these boots to replace an old pair which were well past their best. I have had one trip to the river and I am so pleased them. They are much lighter than my old pair and I felt so much more sure footed wading across the shingle and rocks. I wished I had bought a pair sooner."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boots,
February 11, 2015
By: BigEsuperfly
"Fished in New Braunfels for rainbows. Used the boots and they worked great. Very comfortable and no problem walking the river. Studs on the bottom are very stable and ankle support very good."
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So light yet so tough,
January 31, 2015
By: Billy4boy
from Leeds England UK
"Last year I had a trip to the river Tweed in Scotland, my old boots fell apart (Not Orvis The felt sole came off) so I bought these again from the Harrogate store, And again the staff are excellent and helpful.
So these boots they are a firm fit I wanted the rubberised soles to fit the steel cleats into, when tied up they really hug your feet. Nice touch with the rollers in lace eyes, but once in the river I have total confidence in knowing I will get a good grip and loads of good ankle support to protect against rocks and stones.
These really are very good light weight boots I regularly walk a couple of miles searching the rivers much of it in the river, climbing over all sorts. They fir great over my Sonic waders. these two items were made for me. Love them
"
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boot,
January 26, 2015
By: MTBOX
from Dorset
"After buying a few other items from Orvis and needed new wader boots so I opted for these.
Not only do they look great but feel amazing, nicely placed studs which are of great quailty, I've only ever used Orvis studs in my other branded boots.
Normally you would need to buy 1 size larger to allow for the thick neoprene sock but Orvis have thought of this so size 9 means size 9. Really good boot and well priced. 10 out of 10.
"
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight durable boot,
January 11, 2015
By: Bassfreak
from Wingate, NC
"This is a lightweight boot. Very comfortable and durable. Very good traction on rocks. Would highly recommend!"
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband's No. 1 Christmas pick,
December 18, 2014
By: PTS95
from Chester, MD
"My husband is a SERIOUS fisherperson! This was the present he wanted above all others because he says these are the BEST boots now. This is from a person who gifted me with another pair of Orvis boots the first Christmas we were dating (His mother sent a Waterford vase!) so water whichever way. The boots kept me safe as I began to learn to fish! We find what we need at Orvis when we can find it no where else ... or at a lesser quality, which makes these Orvis boots perfect!"
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
River Guard™ Ultralight Men's Wading Boot,
December 15, 2014
By: BobMorton
from Glasgow
"Really disappointed with these boots. My wife bought them for my Xmas. They are pretty expensive and should last well over a number of seasons. In my case the soles parted from the uppers after just over a season.I could repair them but experience tells me that they will come apart after a short time. I think they will be consigned to the bin."
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sure Footed,
December 12, 2014
By: Robertparker777
from Keene, New Hampshire
"Great grip due to stud design and height. They are easy to relocate or more can be added. Comfortable. Fit is true to size. My only complaint is that the laces must be tied. I'd rather they have the pull type adjusters."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boots,
November 17, 2014
By: KnoxJayson
"Orvis as always provides the best equipment and service. My old orvis wading boots were great and finally wore out. I replaced them with new and improved lightweight fishing boots which are great. They are sturdy and not real heavy. Good for being in a stream all day. Hope they help me catch more fish"
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Wadding Boots rver!,
November 13, 2014
By: Fishinaddict
from Plainfield, IL
"The River Guard Ultralight wading boots I just purchased this summer at the Orvis Store in Lombard Illinois are the best boots by far that I purchsed! They are light weaght and give me excellent tracktion on slippery rocks and algea. Plus they do no have felt which I would not use due to invasive critters. I highly recomand these wrading boots."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
October 7, 2014
By: FJChalmers
from Arlington, VA
"I recently purchased my second pair of these boots, the first took 4 years to wear out with roughly 30 days a year on them. The product is durable, stable and is well worth the money."
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Ultralight Wading Boots,
October 6, 2014
By: SSparks
from Denver, CO
"I looked for years before I found these about 2 to 3 years ago through Orvis. I wet-wade often but need a boot that gives me solid footing in and out of the water. I can hike in this boot in/out of the water. It's a very comfortable boot, but it sizes very large. I wear a 9 1/2 normally, but the 9 was large enough for me even wearing a neoprene booty over a sock."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent boots,
October 3, 2014
By: Mathew85
from Farnham, Hampshire
"When I first looked at these boots I thought that they were lacking in ankle support but they are not they provide complete ankle support. The Boot itself is very comfy and can wear them all day without and discomfort at all."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong....,
September 24, 2014
By: Londonfisher
from London, England
"These are simply the best wading boots I have owned (and I've had many!) Finished the second season with them without any problems whatsoever. I did add an few extra Orvis studs for more grip. These boots are very comfortable and light and ideal for long hikes (in fact just as comfortable as walking boots). Very stable in fast rocky water and even slime covered boulders. Highly recommended."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Problems with soles,
September 22, 2014
By: AndyRB
from Yorkshire
"These are a very comfortable boot but there is a problem with the soles as they have a propensity to start to separate from the upper body. Mine are now doing this and two friends have had the same problems with theirs. Clearly there is an issue with the glues used to hold the upper to the lower parts of the boots."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what they should-could be,
August 13, 2014
By: rivrrat
from Fremont, Ca
"First impression of these boots were great, comfortable, good grip on rocks, but they don't seem to last very long, after 3 seasons of normal use(maybe 20-25 days a year) in rivers some of the stitching on the sides is starting to come out and the sole of one boat is coming off. These boots are pretty expensive to only last 75 days in water."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Boots,
July 21, 2014
By: fshmncometh
from Deleware County, PA
"Hi, I've been wading lakes and streams for decades wearing sneakers. I cannot tell you how many times I've slipped on silty rocks and fallen. Once I was completely submerged! Well no more. The River Guard Wading Boot holds bottom and I can wade with no concern. I thank my daughter who gave me a gift certificate to Orvis. At my age I need the stability of this boot."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice boots,
June 24, 2014
By: utflyguy
from Utah
"I've had these boots for 3 years and they've held up very well. The rubber around the toe and edge of the boot is starting to separate from the soles. But I've been hard on these boots. I wear them all the time use them for all my guided trips. The rubber Vibram soles are amazing and hardly show any wear. The studs work great and offer plenty of grip and traction. I haven't lost any studs either, which is impressive. The boots do run big. I have 10.5 feet and size 11 wading boots always work for me. These boots are very roomy and I think I could have gotten them in a size 10 and been okay. Other than that, they're light and durable. Most my other boots have always worn out after a year or two."