Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (224 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
38
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
12
200 of 224(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Review 1 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots!,
August 27, 2015
By: Zapper
"Light (as advertised) and wider, which is what I was looking for, than my previous boots. The roller eye at the top of the non-hook laces made tightening up and taking off a breeze. My previous boots had a padded collar but I didn't seem to miss that feature with these boots. They were very comfortable and I walked - a lot - both in stream and across terrain on my first trip with them. Long term durability is still to be determined but, I would definitely recommend them at this point."
Review 2 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations !,
August 23, 2015
By: Yellowstoneangler
from Yellowstone NP, Wy
"I have worn these boots for about 5 years now and I have been completely happy with them. They have waded from the Smoky Mountains to the Madison River and lots of places in between. I have used them for wet wading in the summer and for Fall run browns on the Madison in October when it was 20 degrees. The studs on the soles grip most surfaces very well and the boots are quite comfortable for hiking long distances on the river.
I finally had to retire them this year as they are just plain worn out but the service life has been exceptional. I would have replaced them with an identical pair but I guess Orvis has discontinued them and although they are on sale for a great price, they don't have my size (13) any more. In hindsight I should have purchased an extra pair a couple of years ago...
Bottom line, if they have your size left do not hesitate to purchase these boots especially at the sale price. In fact, but two pair and be set for a long time.
"
Review 3 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product - GREAT warranty,
August 21, 2015
By: BobwhiteNJ
from New Jersey
"I really like these boots. They are light weight and good to hike and fish in. Unfortunately, the soles starting falling off after two years of light fishing. But Orvis pulled through and gave me a replacement. I hope they went back to their manufacturer and this pair lasts longer."
Review 4 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Ultralight wading boots,
August 3, 2015
By: bigbird45
"Just received the boots. As advertised they fit perfectly over my Orvis stocking foot waders. I am planning to go to Glacier National park in Sept. and had to have wading boots other than felt soles due to prohibition of felt soles in park waters. I couldn't resist the sale price and am looking forward to fishing in these boots. Comfortable fit and great price."
Review 5 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor traction wading boot,
July 31, 2015
By: redbandtrout
from Portland, OR
"I look at wading boots for 3 things: Comfort, reliability and traction.
This review is primarily about traction and it must say it is VERY poor for a wading boot especially if you are using them in a river with algae-covered rocks. The Vibram sole is a joke. It provides no traction whatsoever. The studs would help if they were in the center of the boot instead of along the sides. This is a problem because when stepping on a rocky riverbed, you don't always get your entire footbed on the ground. Because of the minimal amount of spikes it is very easy to slip when walking until you catch the edge of a stud on the rock. Very unnerving walking on these boots and I DO NOT recommend them for river use where algae is present.
on the flip side, they are comfortable and are easy to get on and off but that does not make up for the lack of traction.
As for reliability, these boots have been used for 5 days only, but please see the other reviews about reliability issues."
Review 6 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service!,
July 20, 2015
By: TomKo
from The store in Yorktown Plaza, Elmhurst, Il
"Love coming into your store. I'm on my way to Montana in a few weeks and need new boots -- you had a great sale on them, saving me a ton, and though my size was not in the store, I got them just a couple of days later by delivery. And got some great tips from the fellow who waited on me, including saving me from buying felt bottoms that might now be illegal there. Thanks!"
Review 7 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and tough -- good boot!,
July 17, 2015
By: Gliderguy
from Carson City, NV
"I got these to replace some 20 year old Orvis leather boots that were good but heavy. These are very light and comfortable. Amazingly light. And they're tough! I'm happy with everything but the sizing guide in the catalog. I read it three times and could not understand it so just ended up ordering my regular boot size. It worked fine. I would recommend these unreservedly."
Review 8 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Comfortable,
July 12, 2015
By: Rickstr
from Hernando FL
"These are great boots. Waded for a day with the boots right out of the box with no blisters or chaffing. Comfortable with secure footing; what more could you want in a wading boot. Size runs true to your normal shoe size."
Review 9 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wide Feet - no problem!,
July 3, 2015
By: BMID
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Needed a pair of waders that would work and would not break the budget for a trip out west. I was concerned about fit and contacted support, after a few questions they suggested the best wader / shoe combo and they fit and worked great. I picked the Ultralight Wading Boot because I am on a tight budget. Used them several times everyday for over a week of fishing and did not have any issues, they fit just right without hurting my feet. Thanks Ovis!"
Review 10 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strong performance,
June 24, 2015
By: Cabindweller
from Rapid City SD
"Tried these right after they arrived. Not much lighter than my current boots, but fit was great and comfortable. Walking was easier and footing seemed secure."
Review 11 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've ever used.,
June 16, 2015
By: Shipley
from Rolla, Mo
"I have purchased too many pair of wading boots over the years, from the waaay too expensive to the bargain types. The reason for so many...there was always something I didn't like. Fit, durability, or grip. No more! These boots meet all of those requirements and more and I fish a lot. I especially like how easy they are to put on, getting me into the water sooner and into car quicker at the end of the day. They are absolutely the perfect match for my Orvis Silver Sonic waders. Finally a pair of boots that won't end up in the pile of stuff in back of my garage."
Review 12 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice boots,
June 10, 2015
By: bgut68
from Tamaqua PA
"My first pair of wading boots very easy to get on and off even at 64 years old,cleats seam to hold nicely but will have to wait for salmon season to find that out. BGUT68"
Review 13 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight Wading boot,
June 10, 2015
By: John45
from Fairfax,VT
"See my previous review of this product. I bought a pair of these for myself, then ordered two more pair, one for my daughter another for my grandson."
Review 14 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Regrets at all,
June 8, 2015
By: KCofSRTU
from Columbia, SC
"First time buyer of a wading boot without the felt soles. These boots are studded and performed wonderfully in the treacherous Nantahala River in NC. and the rivers surrounding Columbia SC. No regrets on this one, I am kicking myself for waiting so long to purchase. A big shout to Chris in Orvis of Greenville, they paired well with my Orvis Convertable Sonic waders."
Review 15 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight ...and ultra comfortable,
June 7, 2015
By: Retiredtofish
from Mishawaka, IN
"The shoes are definitely lightweight and are also very comfortable. They provide very good stream traction and clean up very easily after fishing."
Review 16 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No slip and comfy,
June 3, 2015
By: RadarDrew
from Rapid City, SD
"Headed to Alaska this summer so purchased these boots along with some Orvis waders. They are awesome. I've been wearing them on streams and creeks in the Black Hills of South Dakota and they're great on rocks. Would highly recommend."
Review 17 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Captngus
from Cape Cod Canal & fresh water ponds
"Best wading shoe I've found to date, doesn't crush my feet like other brands I've used."
Review 18 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great traction,
June 3, 2015
By: Chris9
from Birmingham, AL
"I purchased a pair of these and took them to the river last weekend. Our river bottom and banks are made of large, slimy, round rocks. The metal cleats give great traction. A word on sizing: I couldn't find any information that tells if the size listed requires adjustment. I bought the same size as my street shoes and the boots fit fine. I wore a pair of heavy wool socks with neoprene sock waders. Great value too, as I caught these on sale!"
Review 19 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"Was able to get out on the west branch was mildly concerned that I would not have the traction. Old shoes were felt with studs. Was all over the river no problems. Tongue design also make the shoes very easy to get on and off. Great product very pleased!"
Review 20 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value, bought on SALE,
May 26, 2015
By: John45
from Fairfax,VT
"First, fit was good. I wear a size 9 1/2 boot/shoe, so ordered the size 10.
Good fit with my Orvis Silver Sonic waders and a competitors waist high waders. Probably not "ULTRALIGHT" as they weigh the same as my other wading boots, which are NOT ULTRALIGHT. This sole provided excellent traction in the stream I fish, which had some algae growth due to very low water flow. But, be careful wearing these inside or driving as the studs work very well and dig/dent whatever they come in contact with.
So far so good. As a additional note, I have ordered two more pair, one for my daughter, and another for my grandson.
"