Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.451 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
9
145 of 164(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Boots,
July 21, 2014
By: fshmncometh
from Deleware County, PA
"Hi, I've been wading lakes and streams for decades wearing sneakers. I cannot tell you how many times I've slipped on silty rocks and fallen. Once I was completely submerged! Well no more. The River Guard Wading Boot holds bottom and I can wade with no concern. I thank my daughter who gave me a gift certificate to Orvis. At my age I need the stability of this boot."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice boots,
June 24, 2014
By: utflyguy
from Utah
"I've had these boots for 3 years and they've held up very well. The rubber around the toe and edge of the boot is starting to separate from the soles. But I've been hard on these boots. I wear them all the time use them for all my guided trips. The rubber Vibram soles are amazing and hardly show any wear. The studs work great and offer plenty of grip and traction. I haven't lost any studs either, which is impressive. The boots do run big. I have 10.5 feet and size 11 wading boots always work for me. These boots are very roomy and I think I could have gotten them in a size 10 and been okay. Other than that, they're light and durable. Most my other boots have always worn out after a year or two."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Utlra light boot,
June 19, 2014
By: iflysw
from Rhode Island
"I have used these boots on the last six fly fishing trips i was on. When Orvis said light wading boot they knew what they were talking about. Fished all day with hiking in and out i was glad i bought the best."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boots work well,
June 16, 2014
By: retire2fish
from uniontown pa
"the boots were what I expected the studs help with the slippage on the silt covered rocks, they feel nice and light even after a full day of fishing"
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 10, 2014
By: Gunner61
from Frederick, MD
"Great boot. easy on and off. Clean up quickly so no issues with transfer of invasive species. Great fit to size. added neoprene gravel guard socks. Recommend this product"
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 8, 2014
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Very lightweight and very comfortable. Probably the widest fit of the many Orvis boots. A bit spendy, but otherwise two thumbs up."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boots,
June 5, 2014
By: PMGflyfisher
from Reno, NV
"These boots are great, I looked and tried all the top brands and would have paid anything to be comfortable. These do run larger then others but are great."
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grip and comfort,
May 29, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"These boots have all the bells and whistles; comfort, excellent grip, waterproof and good for the environment. You can't go wrong here. Be sure to accurately size them. I have to go down one whole size....and probably could still use another half size down if it was offered."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Birthday Gift,
May 28, 2014
By: momo47
from Horseshoe Bay, TX
"Birthday gift picked out by B., and then ordered by me. What he wanted, so he will love them!"
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Large but good,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"Pros: Well made, mine last since 4+ years (50+ days fishing/year), grip extremely positive and strong, Reasonably priced
Cons: On the large scale size, so try before deciding on a size
"
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy these,
May 10, 2014
By: Goalpost
from Parkersburg, WV
"I bought these because I fish Maryland often and cannot wear felt soles there. I thought Orvis, they must be good. I was so wrong. First, the studs continuously fell out. I finally had to glue them in place, Then one of the shoe lace hooks on the boot broke. Finally, one of the soles just fell off (more glue). If you buy these boots buy extra shoe goop too, You will need it."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well worth the price.,
May 8, 2014
By: FlyfisherChris
from Oxford, PA.
"This is a very good introductory boot. Although I've only begun to use it so that I don't have any long-term experience with the boot, it is lightweight and very comfortable. As someone who has umpired youth baseball from behind the plate and had to wear heavy steel-toed shoes for protection, which can be tiring, I really appreciate the lightweight design. Since these boots do not have a leather upper they dry much quicker. The included studs are good for sandy or soft bottoms. I wanted something more aggressive for rockier areas so I added a set of tungsten studs in addition to the original studs. All-in-all, I am satisfied with this boot."
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very light weight,
April 30, 2014
By: Dave66
from Atlanta, Ga
"I had another Orvis wading boot before purchasing these ultra lights.
These are much lighter and easier to walk and wade in. I'm very pleased with these boots.
"
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big step up from other name brands,
April 30, 2014
By: JNDfromOR
from Alpine, UT
"I usually end up shooting myself in the foot going for cheaper things rather than paying for quality, but after trying a "name" brand pair of studded wading boots that had rounded studs that made me slip and fall everywhere I waded, I opted to just suck it up and pay the money for a good pair. I've always loved Orvis products and had good thoughts of older style wading boots from years past. These boots are pretty good. The studs are pretty hard and bit into rocks like none other. The stitching is pretty good and so far after a few trips, they've held out better than imagined. Overall I'm happy with them and for the price, it can't be beat by other competitors that charge more or less depending on who they are."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots!,
April 29, 2014
By: se350699
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I took them out the day after I got them, and they were perfect. Handled all terrains well.
They took longer to dry than expected, but that is not a knock."
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Impressed,
March 22, 2014
By: ElCidFlyFisher
from Arlington, VA
"Just purchased these boots and used them this weekend for the first time. Fished the Tuckasegee River, NC. Very comfortable boot, provided great mobility and traction in what was a rocky and swift moving river. Well worth the money."
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Boots,
February 17, 2014
By: Bill1955
from Connecticut, but fish in Colorado
"Very happy with this purchase. With all the various equipment for a great day of fly fishing, you don't want to sacrifice comfort and durability for price, at least not for the boots. They are comfortable, durable, and hold my grip in slippery rocks. Nothing but the highest marks for this."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New Waders,
February 15, 2014
By: Charlie841
from Georgia
"After 14 years it was time to get new waders. The experience with Orvis and my new waders has been as painless as possible. I have not used them yet, but I'm sure they will be fine. I had to purchase new boots, too, so the whole experience will be positive."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Up To Orvis Standards,
February 4, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"This boot would be great if I didn't have to send it back 3 times.The bottom rubber separated from the uppers in all three cases. The good news,..... Orvis sent me a new pair to replace the defective pair each time. This boots layered and laminated rubber bottom is manufactured the same as many of the other Orvis boots currently in stock. Most of the Orvis wading boot lineup will be discontinued by spring 2014 with a new line replacing most of these products. That's great news as the 2013 wading boot lineup was not up to Orvis standards in my opinion. I have been using Orvis fishing products for over 20 years."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Very Best,
December 29, 2013
By: Svsmd
from Queensbury, NY
"Lightweight, true to size. These are ready for the water! No struggling on those steep banks with heavy clunky boots. Orvis knows fly fishing! Go with the pros."