Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (202 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
11
179 of 202(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Review 1 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best wading boot,
May 22, 2015
By: joetrain
from Chicago, il
"this is my third pair of boots but my first from Orvis. Though I have not used them yet I can tell that right out of the box these boots are a quality product. The order was delivered right away and the packaging was great. I look forward to many years of use."
Review 2 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
May 18, 2015
By: frontrangefly
"Super light weight sturdy boots that have held up for some time. Great grip with the vibram soles and cleats. The boot is comfortable for hours on end, after miles of hiking up and down the river."
Review 3 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EXCELLENT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE,
May 18, 2015
By: MIGUELpatagonia
"I HAVE PURCHASED WADING BOOTS 5 TIMES IN MY LIFETIME AND THESE ARE I BELIEVE THE MOST COMFORTABLE I HAVE HAD. I LIKE IT ALSO THAT THEY DRY OUT REALLY FAST."
Review 4 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just do it!,
May 11, 2015
By: MickeyKeenan54
from Portrush, N Ireland
"I own a pair of these boots and my son had been keen for me to get him a pair. I held off for a while and during this time he became increasingly jealous of how comfortable they were, the support they gave for the ankles and how light they were when wearing them the whole day. Eventually I gave in and now I no longer have a grumpy companion on the river. His confidence in wading has increased and he is catching more fish because he is firmly at one with the river."
Review 5 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots with lots of features,
May 6, 2015
By: ksan
from Chambersburg, PA
"They are roomy, and accomodate the large stocking feet that are so common on many brands of waders. They are comfortable both in and out of the water. The metal inserts are excellent rock grabbers and the tread design is welcome when climbing out on a muddy bank. I've had many wading boots over the years and these are definitely the best. Highly recommend them."
Review 6 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
May 5, 2015
By: Bloxy
from UK
"Supportive, great fit, comfortable. Grip is great on polished rock, slimy river rock, grassy banks."
Review 7 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great grip,
April 30, 2015
By: Tightline82
from Sellersville , pa
"I switched from felt soles to these boots. Light weight and comfortable while walking the banks. Grips slippery rocks with ease."
Review 8 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great price for a good wading boot,
April 22, 2015
By: DougDPaflyfish
from Coopersburg. Pa
"Just bought the Riverguard Ultralight wading boot with eco trax studded soles. Very comfortable and good traction, but I just ordered a set of Orvis studs to add greater traction for the ultra slippery Big Lehigh River and Bushkill Creek."
Review 9 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silver Sonic Guide Waders,
April 21, 2015
By: AZTroutBumJV54
from Phoenix, AZ
"The Orvis River Guard wading boots are Hands Down the most comfortable and stable wading boots I've worn. The streams I fish are small, tight, strewn with cobble, slick bed rock and boulders. As I get a little older, and slightly less nimble, traction is REALLY a concern. JUST enough carbide is strategically placed on Vibram to grip without slip. The reinforced toe guard and toe box completely protect your toes from impact with rocks. Simply amazing. I actually was trying to slip and could not. One lace tightening after getting them wet and they fit perfectly all day! Accurate sizing, and VERY lightweight. Easy on and off as well. I can not wait to use them again!"
Review 10 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
River Guard ultralight boot,
April 17, 2015
By: Niteguy
from Colorado
"I bought these boots at a Auth.Orvis dealer in Colo. Springs.Used them for about 15 trips,and the soles came off. Asked if anything could be done about this ,the answer was " no refund or replacement" from C.S. store or the company store in Denver. So in the trash they go."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight Great Traction,
April 7, 2015
By: Chico45
from Southeastern Ma.
"These boots are almost as light as sneakers. The EcoTrax soles with carbide studs give amazing traction while walking on algae covered logs and rocks."
Review 12 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Boots,
April 7, 2015
By: ASG1
from Carmel, NY
"I have not used the boots as of yet but the quality and fit is really good. I can't wait to get in the stream and try them out."
Review 13 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boot Review,
April 6, 2015
By: MarkA12
from San Luis Obispo Ca
"have not tried them in the water; examined them and thought they were well built and meet current requirements for stream access. The other issue is they fit I wear a size 12 and the size 12 fit great."
Review 14 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
April 1, 2015
By: dfmarks
from Winter Park, FL
"Purchased these last month for an upcoming Alaska trip, have taken them out for a couple of test-wades in the local (FL) lakes...obviously no river rocks or gravel to test against, but the fit and comfort are excellent. I liked the lacing scheme. Did quite a bit of walking along the shore and through heavy shore cover to the point the fronts of my ankles were getting sore, but that's to be expected with brand-new boots. I didn't need the studs, but only took a couple of minutes to pop them out. Would definitely buy these again."
Review 15 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot,
March 31, 2015
By: barryl
from california
"Quick shipment. Boots are very high quality and fit perfectly over my waders. I am an 11 and ordered 11. Will update review after my trip to Montana."
Review 16 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the fifth star is on hold,
March 26, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"I only recently got these boots and so far they are just what I'd expected. The fifth star needs to be earned on the water and I've just not had them that long to validate that rating.
I have worn a pair of Orvis canvas boots (no longer available) for over 5 years. These River Guards will now be in the rotation to provide that extra support for those long days on the water that I now get to enjoy more frequently.
The sizing instructions were spot on.
"
Review 17 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for FlyFishing,
March 26, 2015
By: MarceGaby
from Buenos Aires, Argentina
"Good quality. Excellent product. Comfortable to the activities of Fly Fishing"
Review 18 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Security I've never had!!,
March 4, 2015
By: advbob
from NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
"I"m a small mountain stream and high lake guy with my 3 wt pack rod and have since decided I to fish big rivers for large trout and steel head. My first trip to fast and deeper water I went without waders or wading boots and was immediately convinced that they were a must have necessity and purchased the following day.
My next trip I tied them up and waded into the water to put them to the test, fished for 5 hours with no foot fatigue, very comfortable, stable and sure footed. the carbide replaceable stud and soft rubber sole worked well together to trek on all terrain above and below the water line, I will never venture without them again. Good quality, better price. Who says you cant teach an old dog a new trick.
FISH ON !!!
"
Review 19 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot,
February 28, 2015
By: nmato
"Tried these for the first time last week. Very slippery conditions, but the studded boots performed very well. The light weight proved to be a plus for not having spent legs at the end of the day."
Review 20 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
February 27, 2015
By: Scottie5
"I bought these boots to replace an old pair which were well past their best. I have had one trip to the river and I am so pleased them. They are much lighter than my old pair and I felt so much more sure footed wading across the shingle and rocks. I wished I had bought a pair sooner."