Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (237 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
209 of 237(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Review 1 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not very Happy,
November 13, 2015
By: MrPete
from Virginia Beach VA
"In retrospect, I should have gotten the felt soles for wading over river stones, The spikes in these does nothing to prevent me from slipping. I am very nervous about using these boots and as a result I am not at all satisfied. I have only used them once. Is it too late to change to a different type?"
Review 2 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight wading boots,
November 6, 2015
By: Michaelbass
from Somerset UK
"Received order promptly, was well packaged. They look good though not the lightest I've worn. Ankle support really good over slime covered rocks where your ankle could easily twist over. So far a good buy."
Review 3 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sad To Say...,
October 30, 2015
By: Mambo4King
from Preston, CT
"I loved these boots. I really did. I liked the way they fit, they were very comfortable, and I liked the earthy color. I really liked the fact that they didn't look like something required for a lunar landing. But,.. sad to say, I experienced the same problems some of the other folks on this blog had. The soles ripped right off! I didn't have the boots for too long a period but the soles just separated from the shell. I tried to glue them back together but to no avail. It was a crying shame to have no choice but to throw them away. They still looked new!"
Review 4 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Boots for the Perfect Waders,
October 22, 2015
By: JarheadPAO
from Bellevue WA
"Incredible traction and comfort. Dries easily due to the lace structure that allows the tongue to pull nearly all the way out. The steel studs provide excellent traction, while the rubber sole grips the river bottom. Did I mention they are incredibly comfortable?"
Review 5 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Like them but they fell apart - twice,
October 2, 2015
By: Springbranch
"I bought my first pair of these boots about 4 years ago. I liked them very much and would have recommended them without reservation. Unfortunately when they were about 2 years old my foot sunk into several inches of mud and when I pulled the boot out of the mud the sole tore loose. I had to hobble miles back to the car and the trip was spoiled. Orvis was great and offered to replace the boots without charge. I really liked the fit of the boots and any manufacturer can have a bad day. So I accepted the replacement and used that pair for nearly 2 years. You guessed it. Five miles up a river and 1000 miles from home the sole came off this new pair. Fortunately there was a fly shop near by so I only lost a half day fishing while I hobbled out (again) and drove to get a replacement pair. I liked these boots very much but I would never trust a fishing trip to another pair."
Review 6 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value Boot,
September 28, 2015
By: Mahseer
from New York, NY
"Wanted boots for my son on his first fishing trip - to Alaska. Didn't want to compromise on quality or pay too much, in case he doesn't want to repeat the experience.
The Ultralight at the sale price seemed the best compromise and they performed perfectly on 10 days of rugged fishing involving plenty of walking.
Guess these boots are heading for extinction - hope the replacements are as good.
These didn't arrive with the spare studs and stud key but not doubt Orvis Customer Service will fix that with their usual efficiency.
NB I've owned and heavily used a pair of these since they first came out. Only issue is some separation of the sole components after 10 days of wet wading in blistering heat in India.
I can't complain - virtually nothing designed in the temperate zones survives that kind of heat for long."
Review 7 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Entry Level Boot,
September 19, 2015
By: David00000
from Brooklyn, NY
"This is my first pair of wading boots so I can't compare their performance relative to others. That said, I am very happy with them. They are extremely light, seem to be very very well made, and are surprisingly comfortable. If you're looking for a great boot at a great price then you should give these a go."
Review 8 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
September 18, 2015
By: Scottfishman
from Flint MI
"Had the boots in the water 4 times so far. SO much better than the cheap GMT boots. The provide exceppant traction on slippery rocks."
Review 9 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Ultralight" they're not,
September 17, 2015
By: IdahoFlyfisher1
from Idaho
"However, especially on sale, the seem like a solid well made boot. I would have preferred felt again but with the trend away from it due to invasive species, I thought I'd try these.
But at a little over 2# per boot in my size, they are not in any way, shape, or form, lightweight!
Will not get a chance to use these in the water for a week or more but they fit true to size as recommended. I wear a size 12 (and that's what Orvis suggested I order) and with the socks I wear and the booties of my non-Orvis brand waders, they fit fine."
Review 10 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5+ seasons,
September 11, 2015
By: not2old
from SF, CA.
"Almost every weekend and longer,with lots of hiking involved.Worked in multiple rivers in Calif. (never went swimming) liked the traction of the cleats-it's why I purchased the same boots!"
Review 11 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana State College Kid,
September 9, 2015
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Bought these for my son at college in Bozeman. He has used them 3 times so far and said Thanks Mom they work great! He wears between a 12 and 12.5. I got him the 12 and they fit."
Review 12 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Most unconfortable boot I ever bought,
August 30, 2015
By: RonAR
from Arkansas
"Wore these for the first time fishing in Colorado. The toe box on these boots is too wide for my foot, even wearing wool socks and wading socks. Fabric is also too stiff to be able to lace tight enough. I am returning. Very uncomfortable."
Review 13 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots!,
August 27, 2015
By: Zapper
"Light (as advertised) and wider, which is what I was looking for, than my previous boots. The roller eye at the top of the non-hook laces made tightening up and taking off a breeze. My previous boots had a padded collar but I didn't seem to miss that feature with these boots. They were very comfortable and I walked - a lot - both in stream and across terrain on my first trip with them. Long term durability is still to be determined but, I would definitely recommend them at this point."
Review 14 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations !,
August 23, 2015
By: Yellowstoneangler
from Yellowstone NP, Wy
"I have worn these boots for about 5 years now and I have been completely happy with them. They have waded from the Smoky Mountains to the Madison River and lots of places in between. I have used them for wet wading in the summer and for Fall run browns on the Madison in October when it was 20 degrees. The studs on the soles grip most surfaces very well and the boots are quite comfortable for hiking long distances on the river.
I finally had to retire them this year as they are just plain worn out but the service life has been exceptional. I would have replaced them with an identical pair but I guess Orvis has discontinued them and although they are on sale for a great price, they don't have my size (13) any more. In hindsight I should have purchased an extra pair a couple of years ago...
Bottom line, if they have your size left do not hesitate to purchase these boots especially at the sale price. In fact, but two pair and be set for a long time.
Review 15 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good product - GREAT warranty,
August 21, 2015
By: BobwhiteNJ
from New Jersey
"I really like these boots. They are light weight and good to hike and fish in. Unfortunately, the soles starting falling off after two years of light fishing. But Orvis pulled through and gave me a replacement. I hope they went back to their manufacturer and this pair lasts longer."
Review 16 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Ultralight wading boots,
August 3, 2015
By: bigbird45
"Just received the boots. As advertised they fit perfectly over my Orvis stocking foot waders. I am planning to go to Glacier National park in Sept. and had to have wading boots other than felt soles due to prohibition of felt soles in park waters. I couldn't resist the sale price and am looking forward to fishing in these boots. Comfortable fit and great price."
Review 17 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor traction wading boot,
July 31, 2015
By: redbandtrout
from Portland, OR
"I look at wading boots for 3 things: Comfort, reliability and traction.
This review is primarily about traction and it must say it is VERY poor for a wading boot especially if you are using them in a river with algae-covered rocks. The Vibram sole is a joke. It provides no traction whatsoever. The studs would help if they were in the center of the boot instead of along the sides. This is a problem because when stepping on a rocky riverbed, you don't always get your entire footbed on the ground. Because of the minimal amount of spikes it is very easy to slip when walking until you catch the edge of a stud on the rock. Very unnerving walking on these boots and I DO NOT recommend them for river use where algae is present.
on the flip side, they are comfortable and are easy to get on and off but that does not make up for the lack of traction.
As for reliability, these boots have been used for 5 days only, but please see the other reviews about reliability issues."
Review 18 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service!,
July 20, 2015
By: TomKo
from The store in Yorktown Plaza, Elmhurst, Il
"Love coming into your store. I'm on my way to Montana in a few weeks and need new boots -- you had a great sale on them, saving me a ton, and though my size was not in the store, I got them just a couple of days later by delivery. And got some great tips from the fellow who waited on me, including saving me from buying felt bottoms that might now be illegal there. Thanks!"
Review 19 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and tough -- good boot!,
July 17, 2015
By: Gliderguy
from Carson City, NV
"I got these to replace some 20 year old Orvis leather boots that were good but heavy. These are very light and comfortable. Amazingly light. And they're tough! I'm happy with everything but the sizing guide in the catalog. I read it three times and could not understand it so just ended up ordering my regular boot size. It worked fine. I would recommend these unreservedly."
Review 20 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Comfortable,
July 12, 2015
By: Rickstr
from Hernando FL
"These are great boots. Waded for a day with the boots right out of the box with no blisters or chaffing. Comfortable with secure footing; what more could you want in a wading boot. Size runs true to your normal shoe size."