Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
155
4 stars
38
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
11
195 of 218(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Review 1 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service!,
July 20, 2015
By: TomKo
from The store in Yorktown Plaza, Elmhurst, Il
"Love coming into your store. I'm on my way to Montana in a few weeks and need new boots -- you had a great sale on them, saving me a ton, and though my size was not in the store, I got them just a couple of days later by delivery. And got some great tips from the fellow who waited on me, including saving me from buying felt bottoms that might now be illegal there. Thanks!"
Review 2 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight and tough -- good boot!,
July 17, 2015
By: Gliderguy
from Carson City, NV
"I got these to replace some 20 year old Orvis leather boots that were good but heavy. These are very light and comfortable. Amazingly light. And they're tough! I'm happy with everything but the sizing guide in the catalog. I read it three times and could not understand it so just ended up ordering my regular boot size. It worked fine. I would recommend these unreservedly."
Review 3 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Comfortable,
July 12, 2015
By: Rickstr
from Hernando FL
"These are great boots. Waded for a day with the boots right out of the box with no blisters or chaffing. Comfortable with secure footing; what more could you want in a wading boot. Size runs true to your normal shoe size."
Review 4 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wide Feet - no problem!,
July 3, 2015
By: BMID
from Grand Rapids, MI
"Needed a pair of waders that would work and would not break the budget for a trip out west. I was concerned about fit and contacted support, after a few questions they suggested the best wader / shoe combo and they fit and worked great. I picked the Ultralight Wading Boot because I am on a tight budget. Used them several times everyday for over a week of fishing and did not have any issues, they fit just right without hurting my feet. Thanks Ovis!"
Review 5 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strong performance,
June 24, 2015
By: Cabindweller
from Rapid City SD
"Tried these right after they arrived. Not much lighter than my current boots, but fit was great and comfortable. Walking was easier and footing seemed secure."
Review 6 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've ever used.,
June 16, 2015
By: Shipley
from Rolla, Mo
"I have purchased too many pair of wading boots over the years, from the waaay too expensive to the bargain types. The reason for so many...there was always something I didn't like. Fit, durability, or grip. No more! These boots meet all of those requirements and more and I fish a lot. I especially like how easy they are to put on, getting me into the water sooner and into car quicker at the end of the day. They are absolutely the perfect match for my Orvis Silver Sonic waders. Finally a pair of boots that won't end up in the pile of stuff in back of my garage."
Review 7 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice boots,
June 10, 2015
By: bgut68
from Tamaqua PA
"My first pair of wading boots very easy to get on and off even at 64 years old,cleats seam to hold nicely but will have to wait for salmon season to find that out. BGUT68"
Review 8 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight Wading boot,
June 10, 2015
By: John45
from Fairfax,VT
"See my previous review of this product. I bought a pair of these for myself, then ordered two more pair, one for my daughter another for my grandson."
Review 9 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Regrets at all,
June 8, 2015
By: KCofSRTU
from Columbia, SC
"First time buyer of a wading boot without the felt soles. These boots are studded and performed wonderfully in the treacherous Nantahala River in NC. and the rivers surrounding Columbia SC. No regrets on this one, I am kicking myself for waiting so long to purchase. A big shout to Chris in Orvis of Greenville, they paired well with my Orvis Convertable Sonic waders."
Review 10 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultralight ...and ultra comfortable,
June 7, 2015
By: Retiredtofish
from Mishawaka, IN
"The shoes are definitely lightweight and are also very comfortable. They provide very good stream traction and clean up very easily after fishing."
Review 11 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No slip and comfy,
June 3, 2015
By: RadarDrew
from Rapid City, SD
"Headed to Alaska this summer so purchased these boots along with some Orvis waders. They are awesome. I've been wearing them on streams and creeks in the Black Hills of South Dakota and they're great on rocks. Would highly recommend."
Review 12 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Captngus
from Cape Cod Canal & fresh water ponds
"Best wading shoe I've found to date, doesn't crush my feet like other brands I've used."
Review 13 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great traction,
June 3, 2015
By: Chris9
from Birmingham, AL
"I purchased a pair of these and took them to the river last weekend. Our river bottom and banks are made of large, slimy, round rocks. The metal cleats give great traction. A word on sizing: I couldn't find any information that tells if the size listed requires adjustment. I bought the same size as my street shoes and the boots fit fine. I wore a pair of heavy wool socks with neoprene sock waders. Great value too, as I caught these on sale!"
Review 14 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"Was able to get out on the west branch was mildly concerned that I would not have the traction. Old shoes were felt with studs. Was all over the river no problems. Tongue design also make the shoes very easy to get on and off. Great product very pleased!"
Review 15 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value, bought on SALE,
May 26, 2015
By: John45
from Fairfax,VT
"First, fit was good. I wear a size 9 1/2 boot/shoe, so ordered the size 10.
Good fit with my Orvis Silver Sonic waders and a competitors waist high waders. Probably not "ULTRALIGHT" as they weigh the same as my other wading boots, which are NOT ULTRALIGHT. This sole provided excellent traction in the stream I fish, which had some algae growth due to very low water flow. But, be careful wearing these inside or driving as the studs work very well and dig/dent whatever they come in contact with.
So far so good. As a additional note, I have ordered two more pair, one for my daughter, and another for my grandson.
"
Review 16 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
May 25, 2015
By: BigGuy1948
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Bought these to replace old felt sole boots that were worn out. I paired them with a new pair of Orvis Encounter waders. I wear size 11 or 11.5 shoe depending on maker/style. So I ordered size 11 boot to go with XL Long waders. Fit is very good. I have two trips to the river under my belt now with 4-5 hours of wear on each and the boots have been very comfortable. I love the studded soles. I get enough traction on mossy river stones and walking up a dirt bank is much easier than with felt. Love the boots. At my age the boots will probably outlast me."
Review 17 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best wading boot,
May 22, 2015
By: joetrain
from Chicago, il
"this is my third pair of boots but my first from Orvis. Though I have not used them yet I can tell that right out of the box these boots are a quality product. The order was delivered right away and the packaging was great. I look forward to many years of use."
Review 18 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
May 18, 2015
By: frontrangefly
"Super light weight sturdy boots that have held up for some time. Great grip with the vibram soles and cleats. The boot is comfortable for hours on end, after miles of hiking up and down the river."
Review 19 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EXCELLENT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE,
May 18, 2015
By: MIGUELpatagonia
"I HAVE PURCHASED WADING BOOTS 5 TIMES IN MY LIFETIME AND THESE ARE I BELIEVE THE MOST COMFORTABLE I HAVE HAD. I LIKE IT ALSO THAT THEY DRY OUT REALLY FAST."
Review 20 for Ultralight Wading Boot - Rubber
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just do it!,
May 11, 2015
By: MickeyKeenan54
from Portrush, N Ireland
"I own a pair of these boots and my son had been keen for me to get him a pair. I held off for a while and during this time he became increasingly jealous of how comfortable they were, the support they gave for the ankles and how light they were when wearing them the whole day. Eventually I gave in and now I no longer have a grumpy companion on the river. His confidence in wading has increased and he is catching more fish because he is firmly at one with the river."