Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles

Cutting-edge EcoTraX™ soles and special nonporous, durable and lightweight microfiber uppers help stem the spread of aquatic invasives while giving you the solid footing you need. EcoTraX soles have a proprietary Orvis-exclusive lug pattern with sharp leading edges to get better traction. Lighter in weight than competitive men's wading boots and more flexible to give the sole more contact for better footing. Rubber at the toe, sidewalls, and heel resists abrasion from rocks and debris for added durability. A hiking boot style and new lacing system adds to the comfortable fit. Removable insole. These men's fishing boots include PosiGrip™ Screw-in Studs to maximize the traction in slippery wading conditions. Imported.Sizes: 6-14. 3 lbs. 8oz. in a size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (148 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
130 of 148(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Review 1 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Impressed,
March 22, 2014
By: ElCidFlyFisher
from Arlington, VA
"Just purchased these boots and used them this weekend for the first time. Fished the Tuckasegee River, NC. Very comfortable boot, provided great mobility and traction in what was a rocky and swift moving river. Well worth the money."
Review 2 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Boots,
February 17, 2014
By: Bill1955
from Connecticut, but fish in Colorado
"Very happy with this purchase. With all the various equipment for a great day of fly fishing, you don't want to sacrifice comfort and durability for price, at least not for the boots. They are comfortable, durable, and hold my grip in slippery rocks. Nothing but the highest marks for this."
Review 3 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New Waders,
February 15, 2014
By: Charlie841
from Georgia
"After 14 years it was time to get new waders. The experience with Orvis and my new waders has been as painless as possible. I have not used them yet, but I'm sure they will be fine. I had to purchase new boots, too, so the whole experience will be positive."
Review 4 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Up To Orvis Standards,
February 4, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"This boot would be great if I didn't have to send it back 3 times.The bottom rubber separated from the uppers in all three cases. The good news,..... Orvis sent me a new pair to replace the defective pair each time. This boots layered and laminated rubber bottom is manufactured the same as many of the other Orvis boots currently in stock. Most of the Orvis wading boot lineup will be discontinued by spring 2014 with a new line replacing most of these products. That's great news as the 2013 wading boot lineup was not up to Orvis standards in my opinion. I have been using Orvis fishing products for over 20 years."
Review 5 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Very Best,
December 29, 2013
By: Svsmd
from Queensbury, NY
"Lightweight, true to size. These are ready for the water! No struggling on those steep banks with heavy clunky boots. Orvis knows fly fishing! Go with the pros."
Review 6 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
December 20, 2013
By: pc1113
"I bought these boots for my husband. He loves to Fly Fish. Most of his fishing cloths have come from Orvis. So of course when he needed new boots it was easy. He loves them. Says there are light and very confortable. Last year I got him the Fly Fishing classes out of your Millbrook store. That too was a win win."
Review 7 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not nearly good enough,
December 14, 2013
By: pescatore1
"I wear wading boots professionally. These were very comfortable - lightweight and wide. Which is why they get 2 stars. 4 or 5 stars is when they last longer than two years. Mine de-laminated. Over 200 dollars is way too much money to spend every other year. The soles need to come up around and onto the boot. This design does not work,"
Review 8 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Stitching,
December 6, 2013
By: Bloke123
"Fishing w the boots for half a season. Overall ok but the stitching quality is very poor. Both boots are starting to fall apart on the sides."
Review 9 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exellent Product,
November 15, 2013
By: OakhamOrange
from Oakham, Rutland UK
"Another excellent Orvis product. Very well constructed and comfortable"
Review 10 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boots,
September 15, 2013
By: UncleDW
from Latrobe,PA
"I have only used them on four fishing trips, but they are great for walking to the streams and rivers, they are like wearing hiking boots, after getting out of the water they drain a little slow but are not bad for walking. Great grip on slippery rocks."
Review 11 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
September 15, 2013
By: 101Fisher
from Worcester, MA
"This is my first year fly fishing, so I do not have a large basis for comparison. I tried a few other pairs in the store, and found these the most comfortable.
Sure enough, when wading, they remain very comfortable. They are extremely light and even after a long day, I do not have sore or tired feet. They provide the secure footing that you would expect from your wading boots."
Review 12 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great wading boots,
September 13, 2013
By: Williwood
from Northumberland, UK
"These wading boots are by far the best of the large range we have in the garage. This is a purchase of a second pair, bought before the current ones die, as I cannot imagine anything being an improvement. They are extremely comfortable, fit me well, don't slip around etc, etc. What more can I say!"
Review 13 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
September 13, 2013
By: Troutman1
from Addison, Vermont
"These are the next best things to felt bottom boots--- with the studs, these boots grip slippery substrats very well - plus they don't carry the invasives around like felt did. They are comfortable from the time you pull them out of the box and these boots even support my fallen arches very nicely."
Review 14 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best shoe I've worn,
September 13, 2013
By: gonfishn
"I purchased these shoes in the spring and have worn them on everything from small rocky mountain streams to larger tail waters in Pa. and N.Y. Great fit and great grip both in the stream and climbing up and down banks to get to the stream. Will be waiting to test them on the slate bottom streams when steelhead fishing comes in."
Review 15 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots for wading in salt and fresh water???,
September 9, 2013
By: Petesalmonla
from Uk game fishing sea and freshwater
"Look really Good boots
Dont know if they will fall apart in saltwater as they are just sold as wading boots??.
"
Review 16 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Wading Boots,
September 6, 2013
By: Dryfly57
from Roswell, Georgia
"Just received my new River Guard boots and had a chance to try them out after my other wading boots just gave out to excessive use.
First I just really like the design and the ability to either add or remove the cleats that are supplies. The overall quality that Orvis is known for is also what drove me to purchase a pair of these boots.
"
Review 17 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great choice,
September 5, 2013
By: HLhunter
"I debated on ordering a boot foot wader or the stocking foot. I love the stocking foot. Then a choice for boots. I chose the River Guard light weight boot. It is a great boot with excellent traction."
Review 18 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad timing for a blowout,
September 5, 2013
By: fshnl8
from High Desert, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've had this boot for about 2 1/2 years and I would say they probably have about 100 fish days in them. I was very pleased at the light weight and comfort of the boots.. unfortunately the durability is something to be desired. The sole on both boots began to separate on the 3rd day of a 9 day trip in the bush of Alaska... thank goodness for duct tape. I am not sure if they have performed as expected or if there is/was a serious flaw in workmanship/design. I haven't decided if I got my money's worth or if I need to return these for a refund."
Review 19 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent grip and comfort,
August 3, 2013
By: NPfisher
"These are my first pair of wading boots and they perform great. I tend to fish in slippery rocky streams but these boots provide stability. I'm always hesitant to buy shoes online but the size chart provided a perfect fitting boot to go with my new footy waders. The only small drawback is they seem to be slow to dry."
Review 20 for River Guard™ Ultralight Wading Boot with EcoTraX Soles
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The absolute best boots,
July 14, 2013
By: Dugie
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I have worn Simms and Orvis wading boots for decades. These boots are by far the best boots I have every owned. They are soft yet support my ankles, easily laced, and with the studs provide sure footed wading and climbing. I recommend them to everyone from guide to beginner."